We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but not Great teresab”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good but not Great teresab”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at a Grand Palladium. We've been to the Grand palladium in Punta Cana, the Grand palladium in Jamaica and since we haven't been disappointed with The Grand palladium chain, decided to stay at the White sands. We were promised a "Superior room location" with Transat Distinction collection. We were given a room in building 54 which was not the best location as far as the beach and pool were concerned.... a far walk to the beach quite early in the morning if we wanted chairs in the shade. That was the only inconvience and that the resort is too big, we didn't even get to see the whole resort in a 2 week stay
Everything was spotless, the staff was friendly, the food was great, we really enjoyed our stay.

But for a 5 star and the extra price, we really did not have many extra perks compared to those in the 4 and 4.5 hotels in the resort except for the guaranteed reservations at the restaurants.

Room Tip: We were not given a choice.... were simply given our room key at check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teresa48b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear teresa48b,
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry if it was not 100% what you expected. It will be fantastic if you give us a second opportunity, I'm sure we will demonstrate you that we have the best service.

Regards,


Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    761
    336
    137
    72
See reviews for
966
1,251
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from our 7 th trip down to the grand palladium white sands, Mexico. First let me say we love the staff. we only had a few problems with them. The ala carte lady at the white sands was hard to deal with and not helpful. It was a inconvience for her to book our ala cartes.no big deal only had to deal with her 3 times for 10-15 min. At a time. Our major complaint is with the condition of the resort. This last time we really noticed how run down the rooms and public areas are. Nothing has changed in the last 7 years, that includes all decor in the rooms, the linens etc. the linens are worn and tired. They even had holes in them. All the chairs in the public areas need new cushions.especially the ones in the buffets and main lobbies.building need to be painted. This is all superficial stuff but when you re paying prime rates to stay at the resort, you expect it to be up to snuff.we expect minor problems with any trip and we had few but nothing to ruin a vacation.i know that they have just finished renovation the kantennah side of the resort. While we were ther they put in more sand at the volley ball area and around the beach bar at the colonial pool.started to paint a portion of a wall, but never finished.i also understand that the colonial area is next to be renovated. Would really like to know what is to be done. These problems cannot be controlled by the staff at the resort, it has to come from head office and upper management.would really
Ike to know what the plan for renovations are. We love the staff and the area, but having a tough time deciding weather to return for our 8th time or is it time to find another resort.

Room Tip: If you have a family, it's a great place to go. Still had a fantastic time ,just disappointed wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kmcaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Kmcaulay,
I'm sorry you had a bad perception of the maintenance of our resort. The fact that we are renovating the rooms in the Kantenah and the Royal Suites sections doesn't mean that we don't take care of the rest of the resort.
We will renovate the Colonial rooms and we are going to extend the Royal lobby. The rooms of the WS and Riviera will be next.
Regarding our areas we are finishing the painting of all the buildings in White Sand, Riviera and The Royal Suites and we daily repair palapas, bridges, keep gardens...
I understand that there are many things that a customer can't see but you can be sure there is a hard work of many people to keep the Hotel in good conditions.
We have around 3000 customers right now in the hotel and our 200 maintenance staff daily have to repair or attend many reports.
I hope you visit us next year, it will be a pleasure to meet you personally and have a coffee.

Regards,


Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks from 5th November, we were dropped off at the White Sands check in area and were given a room in the Riviera section in villa 60, room 6013 on the first floor. Check in was quick and easy and we were taken to the room by buggy. When we got to the room, it wasn't quite like the photos from the website as the jacuzzi was in the bathroom and not in the middle of the room as we had thought. We called reception and they offered us a look at another room but they only had twin beds, we had a look and glad we did as we actually preferred our original room as the rooms that had the jacuzzi in the room also had the bathroom in the room too which felt a bit strange. Our villa was ideally located, it was the closest Riviera villa to the pool area and receptions etc. There are 4 reception areas in the hotel, so the resort is huge, you can get a train from the different reception areas but sometimes it is quicker to walk. The first morning we walked over to the Colonial restaurant for breakfast - due to the Thomson meeting being held here, as I cannot eat white flour I found that the breads had ingredients on them which helped loads as I found one type that I could eat, however the next day we went for breakfast in our area in White Sands and they didn't serve this bread in this restaurant which I found slightly bizarre, so we had to walk over to the Colonial side each morning to have breakfast which was a little irritating as we had our own restaurant on our doorstep. We spent our days at the pool on the White Sand side, after 2 days of being hassled by the pool side entertainment - they do not leave you alone - if they took no for an answer and left you alone it would not have been too bad, but they don't and they announce games over and over again shouting over a microphone all day long, when no one gets up to join in, then take the hint! We spent the rest of our days around the adult pool which was heaven compared to the main pool, better sunbeds, quiet area and the guy behind the bar often walked around to see if you wanted any drinks. Be advised though that there is limited beds, around 20-25 so you have to get their early to get one! One afternoon our room hadn't been cleaned, we called reception and asked if we could have some clean towels and glasses whilst we were out for dinner, we came back later that evening and still nothing had been done. The choice of food in the restaurants for lunch/dinner wasn't too bad, we could always find something to eat. We did try the a la carte restaurants, the only ones we liked were the Japanese (went 3 times and make sure you go to the cooking tables - that was amazing) and the Brazilian. The Chinese was awful and the waiting time in the steak house was ridiculous. We went into Cancun and Playa Del Carmen whilst we were there using the public transport, you pick up a collectivo bus from outside the front of the hotel, its a small mini bus but was safe and cheap to use. In the evenings we found that 2 of the 4 reception areas had live music whilst the others were quiet. The live music was quite good sometimes but it finishes early to allow the stage show entertainment to start which was a shame as these were awful and we would have preferred to be able to listen to the music all evening. We normally spent our nights in the Riviera reception area where the stage show started later at 10pm. The drinks were ok but we think that they are watered down although we did ask for bottled water on our first day at the pool and they said they didn't have water to give out, so we had to take it down from the room each day instead. The wildlife around the resort was fantastic, was amazing how much you could see when you walked around.

Overall we had a good stay, it wasn't 5 star by any means but 2 weeks in the sun in winter did the job - the weather was great - rained a couple of times for 20 mins in the afternoon but apart from that it was hot. Travelling with Thomson was horrendous and we will never use them again for long haul flights, the gluten free meals were a joke, fruit and a rice cake and the cabin temperature on the way home was so hot that you almost felt faint and the crew were not interested in trying to rectify the situation. Would we go back, no, but I don't think we would go back to Mexico again anyway, if we did we would stay the other side of Playa del carmen nearer to Cancun as its nearer to get out and about if you wanted to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelwez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Kelwez,
Thank you for your feedback, it will help us to improve our services.
Regarding the gluten free food, we have an internal procedure and as soon as any of our customers tells us they are allergic to any food or if they can't eat gluten, our Food and Beverage Director gives them a card explaining the procedure and helping them to identify or request special food for them. I'm sorry if you didn't have this information, we always try to improve our services and we learned this from the feedbacks we received.

Regards,


Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the White Sands Palladium last week.

Food, accommodation and on site amenities were all excellent.

Recommend to spend the extra money to enable visits to all of the a la carte restaurants on the property.

Even though the beach was too windy for swimming and snorkeling, there are many fine opportunities in the vicinity -- Alkumel for example.

Local trips are very do-able on your own because the location is safe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Vine M,
Thank you for your review, please visit us soon.

Regards,


Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Mayan Riviera Feb 24 - March 3, 2013. I won our trip through a local radio contest and when I heard it was at a Grand Palladium resort, I knew I wouldn't be disappointed. We have stayed at the Grand Palladium in Punta Cana and enjoyed our stay very much, so we knew what to expect.
Check-in went well. Our room was nice ( we stayed at 5312 ) corner suite. The buffet was what we expected, the same type of food but something for everyone. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the A la Carte restaurants ( we preferred the Steak House, but enjoyed the Ribs & More and the Japanese just as much).
We booked two excursions; Coba Maya Encounter where we explored the Maya ruins,walked through the jungle, went canoeing in the lagoon, rappelled down a cenote and went zip lining. We also enjoyed a lunch prepared by a local family. Our second excursion was at Xel-ha Natural Wonder; went snorkeling down a lazy river which was nice but we were disappointed that we did not see alot of fish. I would recommend Xcaret if you want to see more marine life. We did however enjoy taking a nap at Xel-ha as they had secluded areas with hammocks.
I enjoyed a massage at the Spa, highly recommend this and you can use the baths at no charge. They also have a beautiful secluded pool.
If there was one thing I would complain about is I had to pay $22.00 for a feather pillow. The pillows they offer you in the rooms are the most uncomfortable pillows. When I inquired about obtaining a different pillow, I was given a pillow menu where I could choose different types of pillows for $3.00 a day charge! I could not believe that the Resort would take advantage of their guests and charge to have a good night sleep!
Although my husband and will most likely not return to Mexico, we would most likely choose a Grand Palladium Resort whenever possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Julie O,
I'm happy that you had a great stay with us. It will be a pleasure to see you next year.

Regards,


Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We travelled to Mexico and stayed at the Grand Palladium White Sands resort from February 11th - 18th. It was our first time in Mexico and at the Grand Palladium. Previously we have stayed at the Gran Bahia chain in Punta Cana and Jamaica.
Wow, the wild life makes it seem like I am somewhere tropical, besides the weather.
The rooms were clean.
The staff friendly, and the food very good.
But! And this is what the lower rating comes down to. The upkeep of property...lounge chairs broken and discarded into bushes at the adult pool area. Washrooms were lacking necessities such as toilet paper and seats! Important especially for a woman who sits for all occasions.
The beach area...this is a big factor for anyone who is planning on swimming in the ocean. It smelled so bad, like sewer and bird poop. The beach is very rocky so if there is any wind at all, it is dangerous to go in. The few areas that were relatively rock free had so many people clumped together that it was hard to just swim and have fun. Spent most of our time at the pool area if we could find seats that weren't broken.
The pools had a lot of debris in them, not encouraging to go in.
I would definitely go back to Mexico but not to thenPalladium :-(

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Dawn, W,
I'm sorry you had a bad experience during your vacation. One of the things we receive most of the good reviews is that the Hotel is clean and kept well. I'll take note of the points you mention and you can be sure we will reinforce those.
It will be nice to have a secong opportunity if you decide to visit Mexico next year.

Regards,


Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

After reading reviews here I was a bit nervous because people either loved it or hated it! We had a late check in so no delay in getting checked in. We were told we had been upgraded to the Riviera Suites, had been warned about this happening and it wasn't good.(made me even more nervous as I was the one who booked this resort for everyone) When we got to our rooms we were very surprised they were great! It was clean and huge, we apparently got the Governors Suits! The next day toured the place on our own and were very pleased with the whole resort. It was quit relaxing and clean.
The food was a bit of a disappointment on our first dinner reservation. But it went uphill from there. The meals seem to get better.The staff were great we had quit a few laughs with them.
The only thing I would say is negative about this resort is the inconsistencies. For it having the high star rating it has it is very inconstant. I know this sounds petty but beds not always turned down, coffee not left in the room, dirty dishes not taken away, these things didn't happen every day but there was always one or another happening. Also the fridge did not keep drinks cold.
The beach, yes, there are rocks but we just wore our water shoes and were fine the water was beautiful well worth the rocks!
Would I go back probably not but I wouldn't discourage people from going either. Overall it is a nice resort.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend you upgrade to have reservations as there are sometimes up to 2 hours of a wai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Rosa H,
Thank you for coming to our Resort, I appreciate your good comments and I hope you visit us soon.

Regards,


Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
22.9 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
14.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Akumal
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#13 Family Hotel in Akumal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium White Sand are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa (excluding the Royal Suite facilities). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium White Sand Hotel Akumal
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort And Spa
Palladium White Sands
Grand Palladium White Sands Resort
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing