We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were 3 couples traveling from Dec 15 to Dec 22. A week prior to departure I send a request for us to be in the same building, etc. The request was very promptly acknowledges before our departure and all our requests were granted, we couldn't have asked for more.

The resort is huge and very beautiful, you keep finding little surprises as you walk about. The little trains and golf cart are very practical to get around.

Room:
We had a suite which was great! Lots of space with 2 separate rooms as well as LCD TVs, not that we watched much. We did have issue with the shower head and it took a few days to get it sorted out, part of the problem may have been communication (language as well as reaching the right person), eventually they replaced the shower head. We never had towel art, which we don't care for but the other couples seem to be a little disappointed. Our room seem to be the last one cleaned (we tipped $5 / day), one day we gave up by 5:00 and told her to just give us fresh towels.

Food
We had no problem getting reservations for the Japanese nor the seafood restaurants, we lined up fairly early and got all our requests. We dined in the a la carte every night, arriving around 6:30 we never had to wait more than a few minutes.

Breakfast was always at the buffet, it does have a good selection. We noticed that they have people with radios in the buffet, to call in what needed to be replenished.

Lunch location varied each day depending where we were.

Shows
The show was hit and miss, They had one for the 'End of the world' that was exceptional! We also seen one based of the 'Pirate of the Caribbean' that was very good. We did not go every night so I can't comment on the rest of them.

Grounds
Beautiful! Lots of wild life, beautiful birds (keep looking for them). The have containers with fish food (around lobbies) so you can feed the fish. There is also a pontoon boat that you can ride around the man made river/lake.

The salt pool was awesome! Everyone enjoyed it and actually went snorkeling in there, great for first timer.

The snorkeling is definitly best near the Kantenah just outside the swimming rope.

SPA
We did not use the services just the facilities and it was very relaxing. One couple got a massage and enjoyed it. BTW you just charge it to your room no need to carry money or credit card.

Activities
We didn't partake in lots of activities, we did the Segway tours, which we all enjoyed and would love to do it again.
Mini Golf, the course is very hard as every holes are on a bump so if you don't get if first shot, you'll have to work your way back
Riffle - We tried only to be told that it was cancelled that week!

Overall
We would definitely return to this resort, This was our first time traveling off season, so not sure how that would affect the service at peak time.

Enjoy!
Thank you Grand Palladium for making our vacation so special!

PS: Contrary to what is listed in the Palladium Addict website, the buffet does not seem to have theme nights (we even asked and they had not idea what we were talking about)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank di2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear di2,
Thank you for your review and the information of the different aspects of your holidays in our Resort.
It is nice that you enjoyed your vacation and I hope you visit us soon.

Regarding the buffets we do have themed nights (monday-asian/ tuesday-french/ wednesday-fisherman/ thursday- gala night/ friday- italian/ saturday- mexican/ sunday-spanish)

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    680
    314
    130
    66
See reviews for
834
1,064
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just got home from our family vacation at the White Sands and would NOT recommend this hotel. First my daughter had $120 stolen out of her locker at the spa, I had my purse taken in the lobby and then to top it off as we are trying to check out this morning at 6am the one person they have on check out says the Visa machine is down. They made us pay cash for all of our expenses. Thankfully we had money on us as some of the guests were running to the ATM machine on the resort. The bill was incorrect as well there was an extra charge at the spa and extra bottle of wine at dinner that we did not have the pleasure of drinking. If we refused to pay them the cash they said they would not let us get on the bus for the airport that was leaving as we were haggling over the bill. This was suppose to be a memorable vacation as it was the first time we had all travelled as a family in about 7 years but unfortunately I am thinking we may remember it for a different reason. If you go to this place be warned!

Room Tip: I would recommend another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Cathie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Cathie R,
I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience in our Hotel. Regarding the spa I will pass the information to our security department, it would help if you did your report during your stay.
The keys of the lockers are given in the spa reception, recently we have found that many people is using the lockers without the keys so they keep open during the time they stay in that area.
Regarding the check out I'm sorry, we could have accepted the VISA and call the bank to do the transaction. I'm sorry if the cashier didn't find other solutions if the machine was not working. We have 4 ATM in the resort anyway but I understand the cashier should have helped with this.
Thank you for your review, your comments really help us and we will improve those aspects that will make us provide a better service.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just came back from our Wedding at Grand Palladium white sand. Everything was wonderful and we are glad that we picked this hotel for our wedding.
Special thanks to the wedding Coordinators, Grace and Venessa for all their help (and patience). They really took care of everything and made the evening carefree and special.
For photography, we worked with Claudia Rodriguez and her team and could not ask for a better photographer.
We have been to the hotel before and liked it enough to come back for the wedding. We liked that it is big (VERY BIG); so you do not feel confined; plenty of space for walking; never feels crowded; always plenty of beach chairs. Our group was relatively large (30ppl), yet they were able to place us in the 2 buildings that we requested, and allowed us a later check out.
Of course, as with all hotels, there are some issues - here, the ocean floor was disastrous, i guess not much can be done about it. Large rocks, muddy water - water shoes are a must. The pool was very large, but very cold.The food at the a la carte restaurants is very average (compared to other 5* hotels we have been to); the buffet selection is good.
Grounds are imaculate, SPA is one of the best i have been to, numerous activities for adults and kids; love their kids club.

Room Tip: White sand; Building 57 (preferable corner rooms 5731, 5730)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12345-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear 12345 Toronto,
It is nice to see that you had a wonderful wedding. Our wedding department really does a great job. I will pass a copy of your review to the wedding department Manager, she will be very happy to read it.

Thank you and please come back soon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was the most spectacular vacation we ever had. A lot had to do with the resort, the service was first rate, all the staff were super friendly. The layout of the place, though, daunting at first in it's size, soon became easy to find your way around. Do yourself a favor and explore the grounds on foot, they are kept immaculate and you will miss a lot of the scenery and local color if all you do is hop into a shuttle or the colorful trains that continuously roam the four corners of the grounds. You can always grab a shuttle if you feel lost or get tired.There is such an abundance of pleasurable things to do and see that you never have to leave the resort. Pools,bars,eateries everywhere, beaches that go on forever. If you end up having too much fun in the sun there are always shady places to layback and relax, and if you must call it a night and sleep for a few hours in a bed(waste of time in my opinion, too much to see and do, day and night) you will be impressed by the rooms,suites or whatever accommodations you selected. Everything is super clean and luxurious. Many thanks to all at the resort that made our stay extremely pleasurable, especially to Pedro, Luis and Wilma. Hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a poor room at this resort, we saw a couple of different styles, all of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Gary A,
Thank you for your review, I will pass your comments to Pedro, Luis and Wilma. They do a great job as the rest of our staff.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am writing this review in English as I guess many more people can understand english than any other language. But my native language is spanish so pardon my english.

The Palladium complex is about one and a half hours away from Cancun airport. The road is very wide and straight with little traffic. The resort is surrounded by local flora and fauna. Rooms are large, clean and well stocked. Overall very attentive personnel. If you enjoy walking you may need a map to organise yourself as the Palladium complex consists of 4 or 5 different hotels. The beach is rocky on some areas but there are other large sandy areas. If you wish to enjoy a longer walk along the beach you can do so too in the Kantenah side.
Excellent food, you don't have to have diner on a buffet restaurant if you don't wish. But you may do so on a themed restaurant, such as Punta Emilia on the beach of the Riviera/White Sand area. Excellent seafood here. There are other themed restaurants but this was the nearest one and of course I like seafood! And breakfast was awesome! Everything you can think of for breakfast!
Overall excellent resort with all you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JaimeMall0rca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Jaimemall0rca,
Thank you for you effort to share your experience in our resort. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please visit us soon.

Gracias,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orfordville, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our daughter got married here in Jan of 2011which was absolutely beautiful. Our stay was Grand! If you are thirsty, turn around and ask for a drink, if you are hungry, turn around and get food. The staff is so courteous, we had our granddaughter with us who was only 17mths at the time and the staff would make her little things out of her napkins, she absolutely adored the attention. We plan on going back in Jan or Feb or 2014. I think if we had our choice we would work for this resort and move to Mexico...thats how much we loved it there

Room Tip: All the rooms were wonderful, you can't go wrong picking one over the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Jackie R,
Thanks, it will be fantastic to see you next year.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This was my first trip to the white sands and I will definitely go back. The service was excellent every where we went. The staff was helpful with directions,suggestions on tours and places to go. The food was good in the buffets but better in the restaurants.the rooms were spacious and bright. The only thing I feel could improve is, for what you pay to stay there they could provide free Internet in the rooms $10 a day or $7 an hour is a bit much.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Drew I,
Thank you for staying in our resort. I am happy you liked the Hotel.
We have free wifi in our lobbys and in many areas of the resort. I hope we could have it in the rooms soon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
6.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
0.8 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#13 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium White Sand are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa (excluding the Royal Suite facilities). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium White Sand Hotel Akumal
Palladium White Sands
Grand Palladium White Sands Resort
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing