We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th visit to Grand Palladium...Love love love this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
calgary, alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“4th visit to Grand Palladium...Love love love this resort!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Since this is our 4th visit to the Grand Palladium (Whitesands X 2) & (Kantenah X 2), I'll keep this review short as I don't want to repeat myself from previous reviews. . It is still our favourite resort and never disappoints....best beaches (walking & swimming), best lobbies, best live entertainment & overall great food. Absolutely best bang for your buck!... We did the Segway tour again (2nd time) .... Mr. G....You're awesome!...
I keep looking at booking other resorts for a change of scenery, but honestly, I know we'd be disappointed as the Grand Palladium has everything we are looking for in a resort. We love the fact that this resort is built in a jungle, We love the open air lobbies. Most of all, we love the beautiful beach, with all the palm trees, palapas and NO CHAIR GAMES!!!!! Great for snorkeling or swimming. Only disappointment this trip would be that it was our 35th wedding anniversary and was hoping we'd get an upgrade (especially since this was low season), but oh well, we still had a fantastic time and will return next spring. We've also been to the Bahia Principe Akumal, Catalonia Royal Tulum, Valentin Imperial and Dreams in Mexico....Palladium once again wins out!....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ritacalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear ritacalgary,
It is nice to see reviews from repetitive customers like you.
Thank you for your good comments and I hope you make your fifth visit very soon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    740
    327
    133
    70
See reviews for
926
1,185
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Another fantastic holiday,in fact our best yet. We were located in WS block 57 for which firstly I must thank once again Mr Edgar Espinosa Arias for helping us with prior to our arrival. It is central to everything which is great when walking is a problem.
We found things/places in the resort that we somehow missed the last 3 years!!! Unbelievable but true!
We cannot fault anything,food in buffets and restaurants have enough choice for even the fussiest of eaters. Housekeeping is excellent,the shows were fun,especially the White Party and the new Rock Forever show in the Riviera....that was so so good.
A bit of advice to adult non-swimmers you can stand up everywhere in the Whitesands/Riviera main pool but if like us you prefer the Colonial pool which is steps away from the glorious beach buy a float as the pool mostly is quite deep unless you enter at the far end where the water aerobics is held.
We would like to give special thanks to Nidia who runs the Black and White Club,Santiago, Valentine and Alex at the Colonial bar who are very entertaining and always smiling. All the staff are always friendly and greet you with a smile whereever you go.Well done to the entertainment crew who my 19 year old son has got to know over the last 4 years and would love to join!!!
We hope to return again.

Room Tip: Have stayed in the Colonial,Whitesands twice and Royal Suites. Colonial/Whitesands central to everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beverley456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Beverley456,
Thank you for your review and your good comments about our staff.
You can be sure they will be very happy when they know they have been mentioned by you.
Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent 10 days at this hotel. Our friends had purchased the buy-in travel club and we were going ask guests. We were told that this entitles you to being treated like "royalty" and first class.

Initially, we were excited by the photos and reviews.

Within a few hours at the resort we realized that there would be issues that surfaced time and time again during our stay.

Housekeeping was inconsistent. The first day we were there we had human hair (not ours) in the sheets. Our rooms were not always cleaned properly.

The first night we were there the air conditioning broke down in the room. We were told that 74 degrees is the norm for all of the rooms and it doesn't get cooler. 74 degrees in a hotel is ridiculous and after sweating for much of the night we were finally moved to another room - at 11pm. The fridge was also broken.

The second room also had a broken AC and fridge. They fixed the fridge and never could get the AC to work properly.

Every time we tried to call the front desk for repairs or towels we got a busy signal. This was a theme and typically it meant that we would have to keep dialing - sometimes for up to 10 minutes just to get through to the front desk.

We were most excited about the food. To say the least it was less than average. The Chinese/Asian was American Beef Stew called "Red Curry", the Ribs place was pre-cooked food straight from Sysco. Gross food and if you're going stay away from the "nice restaurants".

There were nights that we waited 45 minutes for the train. When we asked for transporation in the golf cart (2 were idle) we were told that they were "out of battery."

These were just a few of the issues - and every single time they would apologize but things would never get better.

I have since corresponded with the "Director" and just like his staff - he apologizes and promises that "next time will be better."

No thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank NewY0rkTravelMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
In this Hotel works a lot of people who does a great job in order to provide the best service.
I don't feel it is fair to try to get a compensation or otherwise say that would write a bad comment on tripadvisor or other webs.
I'm sorry but we don't work like this.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Grand Palladium White Sand resort and Spa in Mexico was beautiful. It had 5 lobbies to use, pools everywhere you look. The restuarants were great, and the beach spectacular! The resort was beautifully maintained. The flowers, the landscape and everywhere you looked was beautiful. The rooms were very spacious, and very clean. The marble floors were everywhere. Outside and inside. You could eat off the floors. The staff were very friendly and made you feel at home. I would recommend this resort to everyone. The spa they have was top of the line. I would go back in a minute.

Room Tip: We went with 6 family members. We had 3 suites. They were beautiful and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DianeMontalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear DianteMontalvo,
Thank you for your good comments. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I just got back from the White Sand less than a week ago. Im from New York and this is my 7th trip to the Cancun area. I’ve also been to the caribbean more than 10 times so I know what to expect. I stayed with my wife and two boys ages 12 and 15. First the good parts the resort grounds are beautiful and very well keeped and the beach is very nice. The gym was excellent won of the best I have seen in a resort. My room was large 2 double beds and a pull out couch, seating area, deck and large bathroom. Now for the bad my bed and pillow were as hard as wood the sheets always had a funny smell to them. The resort had very little to do at night. I tried to go into the sports bar and play pool on several nights but there were always kids as young as 5 running around in there without adult supervision till midnight. The parents would just drop them off in there and leave to watch a show or go drinking. They would play hide and seek and climb on top of the pool tables. The sports area was very nice they had basketball, tennis, soccer and miniature golf but it closed at dark even though it had lights. The teen club never really had any other kids in it. I was at this resort for 7 days and found only one other person from the USA which is fine but no one really spoke English. You had German, French and Spanish so most entertainment and food was based on them. The food was not good and im not picky at all. At breakfast the pancakes and french toast were hard very hard not fresh. They had an omelet station but again he didn’t speak English so it was hard to explain what you wanted. My wife wound up eating fresh fruit and yogurt almost every day and the kid’s cereal. The only bright spot was the Japanese restaurant excellent but you need to get down to the lobby early to get a reservation and you could only book one day ahead. During the day there were things to do snorkeling was excellent and the salt water pool is really cool. They had volleyball at 4:30 every day but at 6:00 they would take the ball back even though 12 people still wanted to play. The resort is also enormous its 4 resorts in one and about 4000 rooms and tons of walking and me and my wife workout every day and it was alot for us. They did have golf carts and a trolley but not enough. I’ve stayed in the Cancun area 7 times before and loved it. I would not recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nervousNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Good afternoon nervousNewYork,
Thank you for your review, it definitely will help us to improve our services.
Regarding our sports center you can play football or tennis during the afternoon-night (till 9pm).
If you require the lights to play tennis or basketball, there is one person uncharged who can help you.
We do have many people from USA. It is true that last weeks we had many people from Europe but we also have many Canadians and Americans during most part of the year. Apple vacation bring many customers to our Hotel.
I hope you visit us soon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariemont, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Grand Palladium White Sands for our honeymoon and it was fantastic! I loved that the buildings were only 3 stories, instead of the un-appealing high rises at other resorts. The food was mostly fantastic -- only dislike was the desserts -- the grounds and pools are beautiful and clean, and the list of activities goes on and on!
The resort grounds are huge, and it did take about 1 day and a half to figure out where everything is and how best to get around, but it was an adventure! The nightlife ends around 10pm, but there is a 24hr bar on the beach or you could take drinks back up to your room. We actually woke with the sun most days anyway, which is completely unlike us at home.
Alcohol quality is just OK...house wines aren't very good, but you can opt to buy bottles of wine and there's a small selection of liquor and beer. This won't ruin your stay.
It's been almost 2 years since we've been there and we've been YEARNING to go back! Just need to find that monetary deal...

P.S. Daniel was our favorite bartender in the White Sands lobby :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Amanda P,
Thank you for your time to write a review.
Just to say that the nightlife doesn't finish at 10pm! We have our daily entertainment show in the Riviera Theater at 10.15pm I specially would reccommend the "Rock forever show" every tuesday with the Quarzo Band.
After our shows we have the disco open until 2am. You have to see all this in your next visit please!

See you soon,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I vacationed to the Grand Palladium White Sand Resort in the Mayan July 20 - 27, 2012 this year for a Wedding. It was my first time on the East Coast of Mexico, but prior I have been to many resorts throughout Western Mexico, Dominican, Costa Rica and the Bahamas and Virgin Islands. I have never experienced such frustrations as I did at the Grand Palladium. We had pre-requested a room with double beds - only to arrive and see one. The room had a 'pull out' couch - which was really just a feature to take the cushions off and sleep on them on the ground. We tried several times to call House Keeping for extra sheets - only to get a busy signal every time. After 1 day of sharing a king bed between 3 of us, we went to the main reception, only to receive very rude and inconsiderate service and NO help at all. We asked to be even compensated with a simple spa voucher (considering we spent 3000+ to stay there and were completely unhappy) and we were dismissed. The beach was beautiful but the resort was unaccomodating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Nicole T,
I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience in your visit to our Hotel.
All our Jr.Suites are composed by a King size bed or 2 double beds + a sofa bed. I'm sorry you didn't know about this prior to your arrival.
I'm sorry you could not contact housekeeping, we have front desk service in all our Lobbys 24h per day and they would have helped with anything you would need in the room.
We can't offer free spa vouchers as all the rooms are the same so I'm sorry there is nothing we could do regarding this.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
23.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,908 reviews
6.3 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Akumal
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#13 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium White Sand are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa (excluding the Royal Suite facilities). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Palladium Hotel Group, Despegar.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium White Sand Hotel Akumal
Palladium White Sands
Grand Palladium White Sands Resort
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing