We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,079)
Filter reviews
3,080 results
Traveler rating
1,689
820
348
147
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,689
820
348
147
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsribsthe salt water poolimperial suitefishcolonial poolel doradopunta emiliaa la carte restaurantsadult pooltravel clubbeach barone bedroom suitekids clubriviera sectionsegway tourcolonial buffetcolonial kantenah
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,282 - 1,287 of 3,080 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Our family went for 10 days and we met up with two other groups there. The beach was great. Nice sand, water, and always a place available. But watch out for the nude beach next door(; The rest of the scenery was also very nice. I also really like the segway tour. That was fun. The food was okay. The best food is actually in the White Sands area. The staff would usually be very nice but sometimes they would be very careless. Most of the bars are alright. Sometimes you would get a good drink, sometimes a bad one. We all agreed that the best one is at the salt water pool. The salt water pool was very fun and it's really nice there. You have to go at least once. I also liked the restaurants on the beach. The one that serves dinner was great. But it was very hard and annoying to get a reservation. We had to try many times. Room service was horrible. If you ask for something then they'll bring it after an hour, even towels. The pools were nice. We always stayed in the Kantenah/Colonial pool area because it's nicer there and it's actually on the beach, unlike the White Sands pool. For me, the resort is too big. If you have some friends there, it will not be very likely to run into them often. But I was okay with the walking. Check out took up a whole morning which was not good. We had some other annoying small problems but I can't remember them. Hopefully I covered everything. I suggest you try another resort. There is better out there.

Room Tip: We had a suite in building 57 when we got there. It was on the first floor. But they we were able to change to building 59 on the second floor which was much better. We did not have a view so if you want a view, then you have to get on the third floor to see over the trees. Then you will have a great ocean view. If you get on the right side that is.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank brohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Thanks snowlover711 for sharing your experience in our Hotel.
I really appreciate the feedback and you can be sure that we will work in the points you mention.
I wish we had a second chance to demonstrate that we provide the best service. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you decide to visit us in a future.
Regards,


Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We spent our honeymoon at the resort. The whole two weeks of our holiday were amazing. The 4 grand palladium hotels (kantenah, riviera, colonial and white sands) share their facilities (pools, restaurants, entertainment, etc...) so your choice only affects the kind of room you get.

We went for White Sand and I'm happy we did. Of the 4, it has the nicest rooms, almost identical to the Royal Suites (5th part of the complex to which you won't have access). More about that later. The pictures show the room we had, we didn't pay for any upgrades, I guess that's the most basic one.

The complex is really amazing, full of gardens, birds, lizards, etc. Most of the restaurants are on or surrounded by water. It is quite something, especially at night. The staff are extremely helpful (if they understand you) and always greeting you with a smile. I recommend you leave two dollars for the room cleaner every other day and you'll get some special touches (rose petals, towel sculptures, etc).

The only thing about the resort we didn't particularly like was the food. Most of the visitors there are from Canada or US so they didn't mind the blandness of it. But we found ourselves using only the buffets after a while. We were still visiting the alacarte restaurants (because they were beautiful), but to get actually fed we went to the buffets.

Four days before the end of our trip, we found a small bug in our room (which could have crawled in from the outside). It got sorted out quickly and we were upgraded to Royal Suites. With Royal Suites, you get loads of extra services but the accommodation was almost identical to White Sand. The bath was on the balcony and twice the size, there were two washbasins instead of one and LCT TV instead of CRT; that's about it.

The immediate area around the resort is nothing special, but if you rent a car (and i can only recommend that) a whole world opens to you. You can visit all the places where guided bus tours go, but you're not limited by their timetables and in a lot of cases you end up paying less. If you want to rent the car at the resort, show them how much it would cost you to rent it in Playa del Carmen. They'll understand their prices are ridiculous and will go down to a more reasonable level.

Taxis are cheap, always available and they have set prices for various destinations. They'll always tell you the price in advance and it doesn't matter which taxi driver you use (prices should be same). Be prepared for freezing aircon and suicidal speeds.

I also recommend that you spend at least 1 day on Cozumel (island). There's a ferry from Playa del Carmen, you can hire a scooter on the island and see its beautiful untouched beaches. We booked a snorkeling trip while still in Playa del Carmen which included the trip itself and then scooters for the rest of the day. All the snorkeling trips last about 2 hours and are well worth it. They know the spots with nice coral reef and loads of fish. Don't go for the big loud companies with shops, use the guys running around with tickets. You get better price and they they use smaller boats with fewer people. It's nicer to snorkel in a group of 8 people instead of 20-30.

Take a car and visit mayan ruins in Tulum. Then drive south by the sea and visit the surrounding little villages by the sea. It's full of foreigners but they're different kind of tourists. They're people who visit this area regularly and who can tell you where to go next.

Room Tip: white sand has the best rooms, kantenah the worst.
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank greenfruitsalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your friendly review. We are very pleased to have made your stay a special and memorable one!
It makes us happy to know that you had a wonderful vacation and we were able to live up your expectations! Thank you for sharing.
Your home away from home awaits you next time you are in Mexico, and show all the newest renovation and progress

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Beautiful extra large resort with great options for beach and pool. I was not thrilled with the evening entertainment but the food and drink were Ok. We booked White sands and I had done my research here on trip advisor, but they put us in the rooms farthest away from lobby etc in what i believe is the Riviera section of the resort. The upside is that the room was close to the salt water pool which is where we spent most of our time, and the manager sent a fruit basket to compensate. However, we walked and walked and walked,
(I like walking but?) we also spent too much time with transportation from lobby to lobby etc on the trolleys. Again, beautiful resort but hard to relax because everything is soooo spread out. So be prepared if you chose this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank dadatwork40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing us as you holiday provider. Thank you also for sharing your excellent experience at the Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa.

We are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations. We are beyond thrilled when our guests have a fantastic experience with us.
Thank you again. We are so looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future to show you all the improvements and renovations in the last years

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Well what can i say, it was amazing, the staff was the best, nothing was to much for them, always happy to help.The resort was the best we have ever seen, the food was excellent, the beach and pool area was spotless. thats all i need to say my husband and i had an amazing time and will definitely be back. thank you for making it special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2017

Dear Guest

Awesome! Sounds like you had a splendid trip here at Grand Palladium Resort & Spa. We have succeeded providing a memorable vacation.
Thank you for your feedback. This information has let us know during the years to know what we are excelling in and what we need to work on and we can proudly show a new development with many renovated facilities and a generally resort upgrade.
We appreciate your kind words on our resort amenities. Our staff is always there to assist and make your experience even greater. It’s our hope to be able to exceed your expectations once more.
We feel honored that you would return and can’t wait to see you on your next vacation!

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

There are many long reviews here, so this won't be one of them!

Beach-fantastic, cool sand, rocks in the water on 80% of shoreline. Ok snorkeling, kept quite clean

Bars-generally slow, drinks are poor, "premium" brands spoilt with awful syrupy mixers, small plastic cups or dirty glasses. In fact dirty glasses and cups made beer, wine and other drinks smell. Even in the a-la-carte, with paid for wines

Rooms-big,clean, well serviced, issues sorted quickly. The pillow "menu" is a farce. The basic pillows supplied were lumpy rubbish not fit for a purpose. "menu" pillows is a scam. Tv picture unwatchable but we didn't bother complaining.

Staff-gave small tips as usual, lager ones for nice service on last day, sparking flurry of obsequious service from the untipped.

Trips-simply a rip off. Coba (3 people-swim in cenote-Mayan family visit- £250+) Delphinus was clean, wonderful, but with pictures and video over £400. Yes pounds..for one hour. Hmmm

Site-is enormous, well maintained mostly, some wildlife, racoons lizards etc (why do people INSIST on feeding them and making them ill?)

Watch for non Mayan (ie Mexico city) entertainment/waiting staff predatory on 16 year old girls despite being told her age. 30+ year old chatting my daughter up at the table in restaurant slipped her his contact details at the table, while pouring the wine!

Oh, and it takes 2 1/2 hour to/from airport due to stops and road humps ON motorway

Would I recommend-for value, yes probably, with reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simonjcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa

We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience on our lovely resort years ago. It’s always a pleasure when our guests have a wonderful time with us.

We appreciate your kind tone and look very forward to welcoming you back again in the near future to show you the newest development and progress.

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews