We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time at this resort over last 6 years, this time we noticed substantial slipage of quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
York, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Third time at this resort over last 6 years, this time we noticed substantial slipage of quality”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was our third time at the family of four Grand Palladium (once at Colonial and twice at White Sands) over the last 6 years. The one thing that really noticed was the attention to detail and cleanliness has substantially deterioted this time as compared to the other times. We had rooms for my wife and I, and one each for our adult children and their friends. While we had a great vacation, we noticed that many things had slipped including cleanliness, 5 times we didn't get towels or wash cloths (out of 21 room nights), food quality at buffet for breakfast and lunch was at a lesser quality, ala cart quality seemed better. Overall management quality seems to lack leadership and they appear to be focusing more on their vacation club (time-share) than the resort experience. For Apple Vacations, this is a golden 5 apple property, however, I think they should be at least a 5 apple (with out the golden apple notation for customer experience and quality) and might even be a high 4 apple. Even we hadn't been at this property several times in February and August time periods, I would not be a hard on this review----but we really saw a drop off in comparison.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Hello Bill G, I’m sorry that you felt our services were not as in previous stays. We work to improve our customers’ expectations so when it’s not the case it always help us to know what we are not doing ok since the first moment so we can modify or improve our services.
It would be a pleasure to receive more detailed information and of course it would be nice if you decide to visit us in a future so we can receive a better feedback.
Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
E-mail: dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    753
    334
    136
    70
See reviews for
952
1,227
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

It is a very huge and great resort.Beach is very nice with a white sand and a lot of shade if you need to take a brake from a sun,huge pool with a lot of shade as well.Food was very good with a lot of choices and for dinner a lot of different restorants:Brazilian,Asian,Italian,American,Medeterian and many more.Show was very good entertainment.Resort stuff was very friendly and helpfull and make our facation even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEREGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa

We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience on our lovely resort years ago. It’s always a pleasure when our guests have a wonderful time with us.

We appreciate your kind tone and look very forward to welcoming you back again in the near future to show you the newest development and progress.

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel has a very nice environmenet for families and friends!, the rooms are very ncie and all the amenities are located in a way that everyone ca have a nice day and access to them. The staff of the hotel is very helpful. It is a very nice complex.
The only problem in this hotel and many in mexico is the actitude and bad maners of the americans travelers now a days!, they come to try to get free stuff because they can´t aford their upgrades to a better area and compplain about it all over the place making the vacation o moments of the rest of the happy people a complete hell. They do not see the ridiculous their behavior is. Looks like they don´t even know how to treat people and makes everyone else unconfortable around them. Now a days there should be some rules that puts tehm on their place because certainly noone else in teh world agrees with them. People, learn to behave and respect the rest before you leave your home!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lacatrinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your friendly review. We are very pleased to have made your stay a special and memorable one!
It makes us happy to know that you had a wonderful vacation and we were able to live up your expectations! Thank you for sharing.
Your home away from home awaits you next time you are in Mexico, and show all the newest renovation and progress

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham,england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

First- Make sure you take Mosquito repellant, we were a bit lazy the first few days and paid for it. The repellant in the resort is very expensive, 180 Pesos. Don't let the Mosquito warning put you off, this is far outweighed by the hotel being surrounded by Mangroves. The whole place is an adventure, and it will take you about 2 days to get your bearings around the place. There are 4 lobbies, all connected by a short walk or regular Golf Buggies/Train. There is a regular free boat trip round the White Sands/Riviera, takes about 20 minutes, very nice early evening with a beer or cocktail.
Second- Don't worry about the odd negative comment on here, anybody giving this place a 1 star, please let me have your recommation because it must be truely amazing. The place is spotless, the pools are clean and large, the food is varied, hot and excellent and the rooms (we had a junior suite) are decorated to a high standard, the walk in shower was great. But best of all were the staff, the Mayans especially were a delight, always polite and friendly and joking amongst each other.
There is no point saying which a la cart restaurant is best because everybody we met seemed to have a different favourite. I preferred the multi-choiced relaxed buffets, but my wife enjoyed the "going out for a meal" a la cart places. We would go for a drink about 7pm, then call at a restaurant, sometimes we were in, or you get a pager (brilliant idea) with always "3/4 to 1 hour", we simply went back to the bar, no problem. We were 2 people though, I think large parties had more of a problem, but that would be the same anyware in the world.
We had quite a few niggly problems with the room over the fortnight, but on every occasion after ringing reception somebody was knocking at the the door within 10 minutes to sort the problem out, so I cannot really complain about that.
As I said earlier the place is like an adventure, there are covered walkways through the Mangroves, 2 Crocodile pens (I even saw a guy cutting the grass in the pen), hundreds of Iguana's minding their own business, birds that don't look exotic but sound it but my favourites were the Raccoons which hang around the White Sands end beach bar. You are not supposed to feed, but for a small piece of nacho, you will get a brilliant photo.
Oh, and in Churchills bar, there is a very large library of books to swap or take out.
Any questions, please feel free to ask.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jeff_tower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2017
Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing us as you holiday provider. Thank you also for sharing your excellent experience at the Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa.

We are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations. We are beyond thrilled when our guests have a fantastic experience with us.
Thank you again. We are so looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future to show you all the improvements and renovations in the last years

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We just return from Grand Palladium ( White Sand) and I can honestly say, it was great, the best one that we stayed at. That was our seventh trip to Riviera Maya, we had gone to Grand Pahia Principe, Grand Sirenis, Catalonia Royal Tulum, Barcelo, so we have what to compare to.

We bought our vacation true Junjet, so the transfer was whit Lomas Travel, it took us about 55 min to get to the resort and about the same tame to go back to the airoport, the new bay pass it is saves some time.

Check in was nice and pleasant. I knew ahead of time that they have open concept bathrooms so I sent a room request asking for a closed concept bathroom in one of 3 villas 56, 57 or 58. When I sent the request I was not expecting much, but fair enough I got a replay from the Front Desk Manager of White Sand Mr. Edgar Espinosa saying that they can't promise anything but they will do there best to accommodate us.
I was pleasantly surprise when checking in we found out that they honor our request and we got what we wanted.

One night I went to the front desk asking for Mr Espinosa I wanted to say thak you. He was at other section at the time but they call him and he came right over and took time to sit and talk to me about the resor. That was very nice of him and made a great impression.

Otra vez - muchas gracias Señor Edgar Espinosa, fue un gran placer conocerle!

The room ( we had Jr. Suite) was very nice and spacious it was kept very clean on a daily base. It had a huge bathroom with a nice size jacuzzi.

Buffets where very nice. I'm really very picky but I was able to find things that I like all the time. A lot of choice for everyone.
They have 8 restaurants and the best thing was that you don't need reservations. We went to the four of them and getting in was not a problem at all. The waiting time was not longer than 15-20 min. and that was just for one of them because we went there after 8 PM.
The restaurants are also rummy and very well decorated.
They have a lot of bars, all the bars at the lobbies had live music. It was a great pleasure having a cocktail and listening to the music. They also have free internet in all the lobbies which was a great thing.
Some of the bars were open 24 h. Punta Emilia was a good one and the one in front of the Colonial section was very good too. One of the bar attenders there- Daniel Dzib was always in a good mood, always making great cocktails.

The pools and the beach were very nice too. We are beach people so we didn't spend any time by the pools, but the beach, o, my God, that was the best beach I ever been to. A lot of palm trees, a lot of palapas, there was not a problem getting a palapa in the morning. Getting in the water was a little tricky if you don't have water shoes but in front of the Colonial section you don't have to have them.
Snorkeling was very good too I don't snorkel but my husband does and he was saying that the best place for snorkeling is the beach in front of Grand Sirenis, now he changed his mind and said that it was much better at Grand Palladium.

Staff was great, almost everyone smiling and saying "Hola", there were some people not in a good mood but nothing you can do about it.

Getting from a section to section was nice and easy, they have trains that come very often, you can also walk it is not far but you had to spray yourself whit repellent ahead of time.
The mosquitoes were the only bad thing, the resort was doing their best spraying, but they said this summer they have much more mosquitoes than usually. That was the only negative thing but I guess fighting whit mother nature is not easy.

We had a great vacation and until now I was not considering going to a resort that we had been to, not this time, this time was different and we definitely are going to go back to Grand Palladium.
I will recommend the resort to anyone looking for a great place with great staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nadin_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you nadin_03
It is good to know that you will visit us again.
Edgar does a really good job trying to accomodate the big number of request we receive everyday. It's not easy and sometimes people doesn't understand when it's not possible.
I will also pass your good comments to our staff so they will be happy to know about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My wife and I just returned from the Grand Palladium (GP) White Sands. This was our fifth time to the GP in Mexico and we went to the GP Lady Hamilton in Jamaica earlier this year.

This trip was great as have been all of our trips to the GP. We have stayed in different rooms all over the resort and all have been super. Over the last few years we have seen improvements in the quality of the food at the a la carte restaurants while the quality at the buffets has stayed about the same. The quality in the buffets seems proportional to how busy it is - quiet buffets can mean a greater chance of getting lukewarm food.

We had an issue with hot water in the shower but it was fixed fairly quickly and we received a follow-up call to make sure everything was working.

For the first time we had to use the resident resort doctor for a minor medical issue. He was able to fix the problem in a timely manner and was quite professional.

The grounds are as beautiful as ever. The entertainment in the theatre and lobbies was great but it would be really nice to see at least one lobby be made smoke-free. However, we have seen improvements in the amount of smoking permitted at the resort (the theatres are now supposed to be non-smoking). Perhaps the Mexican Government needs to have some better non-smoking policies so that all resorts can deal with this issue on an equal footing. To me, the staff (and guests) should not be exposed to the level of second-hand smoke that they are.

The beaches are in great shape with lots of good swimming in the Colonial and Kantenah areas. Elsewhere it is rockier/more coral but this will make for good snorkelling. The beaches and pools were busy but never felt crowded. We could always find shade when desired.

As usual the staff were great. We used the adult pools for the first time (not because we turned 18 but because we went without our daughter) and received great service from the bar staff. Virginio at the White Sands adult pool was great in particular. Always a big smile!

Check-in and check-out was very speedy and we used a private transfer (AGI) to maximize our time at the resort.

The highlight of the trip was a fishing trip out of Akumal. A big saifish was hooked but lost next to the boat. Great way to spend a few hours!

Can't wait to return but would not use CanJet again. Very, very tight seats, broken trays, broken seats, rude cabin staff, etc.

Mark
Edmonton, Alberta

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KeishaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you KeishaT for taking your time to write such a good review about your stay.
It is a pleasure to receive feedback of repetitive guest whose point of view is very constructive and they know the Hotel very well.
I hope to meet you next time you visit us!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Traveled with 2 other families. Total was 6 adults, 7 children (5-13) Ours are 7 & 5yo boys. We were all in agreement on the resort. One of the biggest issues were the mosquito's which is really out of the resorts control. Pack bug spray with your sun tan lotion. ($17 USD in store there). Issue #2: the shower and toilet have nothing more then a glass partition for a door that opens directly into the jr suite. We tried to upgrade (wasn't looking for a freebie either) but never got it. Even though your with your family there is a certain sense of privacy at certain times. All natural sounds are quite audible to all in the room. So if your modest, be prepared. Issue #3: mixed bag here; they come around with the monkey, iguana and parrot that the kids demand to have a picture taken with. They also get some candids at the beach, around the pools. When you head over to look the pictures you'll find that Disney World's picture packages aren't so unreasonable after all. They want ($21 USD per pic). Just imagine they got a dozen or so pictures of you and your kids around the resort. Do the math. 12 x $21 for pictures just doesn't make sense. I realize your at a 5 star, but please!!! Recommendation to the resort is to provide a disk for a somewhat more reasonable fee.

Biggest +: I can't say enough about the kids club. Unanticpated down time from the kids. Our kids loved it, Went everyday. The kids club staff is great, the day is structured, included pool time, trips around the resort, and they're fed. We went by a few times to see if they wanted to come out and to our surprise the answer was always no. The few times they came out for an hour or two but had (wanted) to be back for the 8pm night kid activities.

This resort is vast so not everyone is going to be close to the beach, pool, restaurants, lobbies, spa. The transportation around there with the train and golf carts is adequate. A $1 or $2 a ride they'll remember you real quick. I ran a few a miles on 4 different days so I got a real good look at the entire complex. From one end to the other and along the beach. We were in bldg 53 (right on the train stop) which is right in the middle and not on top of anything. Besides the modesty issues with the room, the room was OK with the double beds and the kids were on the pullout which was adequate. I see the problem with the pillows but wasn't an issue for us. The AC was cranking all the time. The cleaning service took care of things every day. The beach is good. Bars and food a short walk from any direction. We snorkled and used the non motorized water boats that were available. Jet ski's are available ($65 USD 1/2 hr). Segway tour ($30 USD 90 minutes). Pools are all good. they had daily activities around the pools, volleyball and water polo games. Bring your own balls for your own games will help too.

Buffets were more then adequate. There are plenty of employees but more guests so yes sometimes there were "some" service issues. If your completely honest you'll notice that everyone is trying to be accomodating and provide that great exp for you. Be patient. They're all trying to do their best. Get to the ala carte's early and you can enjoy that exp too. We went twice (6ish) and had immediate seatings. Waits when we left. After a long (hot) day on the beach or at the pool it just seems the buffets are the easiest.

The spa was a good exp. Most of it is part of the all inclusive. The train stops right there. Got there early a few mornings for a workout before the AC apparently had time to get going. But, your there to sweat, right? Took the wife to hold hands and swim around the pool, jacuzzi's, and sprays. Thought they had all that covered. Other spa amenties were available.

Room Tip: Would have been happy to know that myself
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NoSugarCoatingHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
23.0 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,889 reviews
4.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,200 reviews
6.3 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Akumal
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#13 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium White Sand are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa (excluding the Royal Suite facilities). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Palladium Hotel Group, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium White Sand Hotel Akumal
Palladium White Sands
Grand Palladium White Sands Resort
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing