We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately the right choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Definately the right choice”
Reviewed June 12, 2007

We extensively researched resorts up and down the Mayan coast before deciding on the Gran Bahia Principe Coba. It was definitely the right choice. The lush setting, the beaches, the incredible staff, the service and the area’s attractions and natural beauty make it a perfect destination. We were extremely pleased with Apple Vacations and with everyone we encountered along the way that was associated with Apple. Their operation was amazing. We could not have asked for better value for our travel buck. We have already recommended it to our traveling friends and will continue to do so. As soon as we can go back, we will.

Our stay at the Coba, between May 26th and June 1st, met or exceeded our expectations in every way. Our flight out of Boston was right on time and after running the gauntlet of luggage handlers and time share hawkers, the transfer bus to the resort was comfortable and cool. The bus stopped at a couple of resorts along the way. The stops were amazingly short, as the luggage experts were well organized. Once at the Gran Bahia Principe, we were checked in at the Premier lobby and driven to our room. The check in was really smooth, not a lot of waiting, and our room was fabulous. We had emailed Jorge Garcia in advance with a room request and he came through big time. We were assigned building 27, overlooking the quiet pool and right near the Jacuzzi pool and Iguana bar. Our room was clean, and well stocked with cold drinks, waters, and plenty of towels the entire stay. The Jacuzzi tub was great. They certainly did not skimp when furnishing these rooms. The entire resort is amazing. No cheesy beach chairs, nothing broken, not a light out, anywhere. It’s a gorgeous resort, so well maintained, manicured, and appointed. Each morning we saw the pool being cleaned, and cleaned really well, with care. The lawns are stunning. My boyfriend watched one morning as staff members actually carried a lawnmower over their heads in the pool, in order to mow the grass on one of the pool’s islands. This attention to detail only served to cement our satisfaction with the resort. We had no complaints whatsoever.

The Coba staff needs to be commended. Everyone was incredible. Delaney Olinyk and Jorge Garcia in particular deserve accolades. They gave us personal attention that we hadn’t expected in a resort of this size. It is greatly appreciated.

We were certainly well fed during our stay. We ate most often at the Kukulcan buffet, the main buffet for the Coba, but did go to the Cozumel buffet a couple of times and ventured over to the Tulum buffet once evening. Others who have reviewed have noted that the service at Coba was superior to that at the others and I’d have to agree. Some reviewers had complained about the temperature of the food. I found that since there was so much to choose from, the food on my plate cooled off as I walked around checking out the selection. I realize that they need to be able to accommodate tastes of all kinds, and that they did. There was so much to choose from, although, as others have said, toward the end of our stay, we found ourselves with a “buffet is a buffet is a buffet” mindset. The mind-boggling selection did get monotonous. I would have liked to see more Mexican food, but I like to experiment while on vacation and try new things. For a la cartes, we had been looking forward to the Mikado, but found out that it was closed for the week we were there. We had checked the menus online before leaving and chose La Tortuga in Tulum, the Oriental in the Hacienda, and El Charro at Coba, with the Oriental being our favorite. The service was the best and the food – my tempura shrimp – was cooked perfectly! Again, the staff was attentive and courteous. We were away from the resort at lunchtime every day except one, where we ate at the snack bar at Akumal, where the gelato was awesome.

Getting around, at the resort and on the outside, was pretty easy with a little planning. It took a couple of days to learn what was where and how to get there within the complex. It is huge, so be sure to allow time to get from one place to another. I think all of the walking we did helped keep the pounds off, considering how much we ate. The shuttles and trams will take you everywhere, but they are a bit confusing as to which goes where and when. At night or when there were few riders, we found that the drivers were very accommodating. I ran a couple of mornings and was delighted to see a capybara and so many iguanas sharing the walkways with me.

Just outside the Hacienda, there were taxis and usually a collectivo or two. Both were easy to use. We used the collectivo - $2 each - to go to Tulum, Xel Ha, and to Playa Del Carmen. We took a taxi to Akumal beach for $10, but now know that it’s not a long walk from the highway where they drop you off, to the beach.

Quick notes on these excursions:

Tulum – $2 to get there $4.50 to get in – check out the flea market, ruins are really cool – would hire a tour guide next time and learn more about the place, definitely bring towels, sunscreen, and your swimsuit as the beach was incredible! The waves made for great bodysurfing, the color of the sea is amazing, and the view of the ruins and the surrounding area is unbelievable.

Xel-Ha – soooo cooool. Spend the whole day. Definitely worth it to pay the extra $20 for the all inclusive option and eat and drink there. The buffet for lunch was $23 on its own, never mind the occasional drink over the course of the day. So many fish to see in the lagoon. You could float around all day. Tons of them near the bridges where people feed them. Take the option of biking to where you get in to float down the river. Really neat to bike on those paths in the jungle.

Playa Del Carmen – kinda trashy, lots of street salesmen. We took the ferry to Cozumel to snorkel at Dzul Ha beach club. Beautiful snorkeling and great clarity.

Akumal beach – after keeping an eye on the Akumal beach webcam on locogringo.com, I had to see the place for myself. The whole little village was cool, kind of bohemian, a couple of galleries, a couple of funky little restaurants – Turtle Bay café was a great lunch. Lucy’s Kitchen had the best chunky ginger ice cream I’ve ever had. AND we saw quite a few sea turtles and rays while snorkeling.

If you’re questioning, as we did, whether to spend your vacation at the Coba, our response would be a definite and resounding yes.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any specific questions that I might be able to help with. My email address is cprevost@verizon.net.

  • Liked — Really well run resort - beautiful!
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
29 Thank Celeste07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,470
    3,786
    1,367
    461
    320
See reviews for
4,813
5,559
102
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,662)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2007

This is a great resort so much to see & do,All the different restaurants were amazing,the food was brill as was the drinks,great time had by all met really nice people Paul & Wendy from Manchester who were on Honeymoon,Will go back again in the near future,The rooms were really big and kept spotless there was always something different displayed on the beds made from towels,e.g Elephants, Dolls,Swans to name a few.

  • Liked — The place was spotless
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Happytraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

We have just returned back from what we can only describe as the time of our lives. This was our 1st visit to Mexico and being that it was our honeymoon was extra special, it finished off what was the best day of our lives.
After a very long flight we sailed through cancun airport and began our transfer, we dropped off at a few hotels and was very impressed with what we could see so far, secretly hoping that our hotel was as nice as the one we had just dropped off at.....we were far from disappointed, quite the opposite we were last drop off and in our opinion by far the most impressive hotel.
Junior Suite.
We stayed in a junior suite in the Coba and was taken there by Erik our bell boy who was a star, he gave us his personal number and was at our beck and call the whole time a genuine, kind caring guy.The room was immaculate, airy, great view, and very comfortable. Clean sheets, towels and minibar topped up daily, the towel art by the maids were lovely gestures to come back to and added that little extra touch.
Food.
Without a doubt don't go here if you want to watch the waistline there was so much variety each day, buffet restaraunt with themed nights, a la cartes for you to pre book (do this asap to avoid disappointment) the japanese one was out of this world with each one being authentic in it's atmosphere as well as it's quality. During the day if you do not want to go into the buffet there are snack bars to eat at or take back to your spot by the pool or failing that stand and watch the chef by the pool doing the bbq or paella too much to choose from so try them all we did.
Quality is superb!!!
Drinks
Hic up ! what can we say excellent from most top brands to all your fab coctails either at a pool bar or simply in one of the bars.
Entertainment
Again the staff were friendly, fun, hardworking and plenty going on from aquaerobics, darts, beer drinking contest where do we stop ? without being pushy if you don't want to join in simply sit back and watch everyone else no problem. That was during the day, at night professional run shows in the amfitheatre then down to the Hacienda nightclub for outside music and cheesy dances with reps and salsa (they dance everywhere) and if you like into the nightclub everything down here is all inclusive till 12pm.
Pools.
Loads to choose from and all well maintained with plenty of loungers and no rush to get one.
Out and about.
The complex is HUGE and the free shuttle buses take you wherever you would like to go on site, the beach, Akumal, Tulum or just jump on like we did after dinner and ask for a ride around to cool off this was the best way to see the complex especially with the whole place lit up at night it was just amazing.
We went on 3 x trips the best being Dolphin Discovery what an experience! we bought a photo and the dvd we couldn't resist. The dolphins are so well looked after and well worth the money. Xel Ha another fab day, a natual water lagoon,all food & drinks inc, food exceptional in the big restaurant. that was the best. Tulum and Coba ruins long day so prepare yourself, very informative though!
Beaches.
The Tulum and Akumal had beach access and the views were spectacular again a 5min trip on one of the shuttles. Plenty of loungers and again all included.
If you do decide to go and you live in the uk then it is recommended to leave your booking as late as possible as it is alot cheaper.

Overall FAB FAB FAB we are definatley going back no complaints and would recomend seeing for yourself.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — we had to come home!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank pwhutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed at GBP Coba 17th -31st May, we travelled from Glasgow with First Choice. I'll write my review in sections so you can skip to the bits of interest to you!

A little bit of background

I think it helps to know what sort of people are writing reviews so you know if they're 'folks like you'!! We are a couple who have quite different holiday ideals - I hate the beach, but he loves it, I like to sightsee - he loves to sunbathe! We like to relax and go with the flow, we enjoy good food but aren't late night partiers! We usually cruise (Celebrity/Royal Caribbean) so we are used to that standard of service and comfort - we like a bit of luxury. Okay, background complete, on with the important bit!!

Flights/First Choice

We booked our trip in November and were amazed (and gutted!!) by how much the price came down as the departure date approached - lesson learned (that doesn't happen with cruise prices!) We flew Star Class Premier and would highly recommend the upgrade. This was the best long haul flight we've ever been on. Checkin was very quick and the pre-boarding made for a relaxing start. The seat was comfortable with loads of legroom. The entertainment (10 films, at least 6 tv channels and a heap of games to play) made the flight go in really quickly. The crew on the outbound flight were superb - they kept the drink flowing and food was pretty good for airline food. The rep was nice and funny but we didn't have the need for his services in resort. The inbound flight wasn't quite as good but still better than most international flights.
One big benefit was the priority luggage handling - our cases were waiting on the belt when we cleared immigration! This wasn't done on the way home though.

Check - in

We were checked in at the Premier Lobby. This was done very speedily and the warm welcome and cool drink were much appreciated. The luggage was delivered to our room after about 5 mins.

Accommodation

We were in villa 27 (32732) We were really happy with the location - we had a nice view of the jacuzzi pool and were only a minutes walk from the quiet pool. The room is well appointed - HUGE bed (a little firm, but you get used to it!), sofa, table and chairs and balcony furniture. The air-con worked pretty well - not ice cold, but cool enough. The coffeemaker was easy to use and the mini-bar was restocked daily - I left a note with a request for more sparkling water and this was fulfilled (sure the couple of dollars helped!) The bathroom was large and spotless. The water pressure was okay in the shower and the jacuzzi was a welcome addition. The room was immaculate - the maid service was fantastic. We always had loads of fresh towels, towel animals, flowers and creative bed making!! We were pleasantly surprised by this, being accustomed to the excellent service provided on cruises.

Pools/Beach

We mainly used the Coba quiet pool as it was so close to the room. You did need to be down there by 8 to get a bed with shade but we are often up early on holiday so it wasn't a problem. The pools were kept very clean and regularly checked during the day. We liked the jacuzzi pool at the bar iguana but the stereo there was too loud in the afternoon for a post lunch siesta!
We spent a day at the Tulum pool as it was close enough to the beach for my husband to snorkel while I stayed off the sand! The pool there was a little deeper - still only about 4 feet deep though - which kept it slightly cooler. The loungers at the quiet pool were the comfiest but were no good if it rained - they just soaked up water!

We were only at the beach a few times. The sand isn't as fine as I would have expected - can be a little rough on the feet! The water is a bit rocky but water shoes aren't really necessary. The water slopes gently so there's plenty space without getting too deep and it was fine for a bit of snorkelling. There are LOADS of loungers and shades so no problem finding them at the beach at any time of the day.

Buffet

We used the Tulum, Coba and Cozumel (premier) buffet. The Tulum seemed laid out in a slightly illogical way and it was often hard to find a clear table - it was also roasting hot!! We mainly used the Coba buffet. The food was pretty good - loads of variety and on the most part hot and tasty. We usually ate between 8 and 9 and had no trouble getting a decent table and hot food. The cooked to order pasta station was really good and the 'Gala' night was fantastic - fabulous fillet of beef, shrimp, caviar etc. The desserts were a bit 'samey' but generally tasty. The egg station at breakfast was also good - though could be a little busy! We didn't realise until quite late in the trip that we could use the Cozumel buffet too - I assumed it was for Club golden guests - but it's not! It's much smaller and has a slightly smaller selection but it's a much nicer atmosphere and the A/C works particularly well! The service was excellent - more like an a la carte than the main buffet.

A La Cartes

We booked 6 and had mixed success. We had no trouble getting reservations and didn't book until the 2/3rd day.

1) Mikado - Japanese
VERY disappointing! We were really looking forward to this but it was incredibly slow. Despite them requesting that you are on time for your reservation, we were kept waiting 30 mins before we were seated. We then waited another 35 mins before we had our first course. The food was cold and the portions tiny. Everything was VERY heavily coated in Soy Sauce - too much for my taste. The tepanaki was fun but brief and not really worth the 90 min wait for it starting! It took over 2 1/2 hours for this meal and we were pretty let down by the whole experience.

2) El Charro - Mexican
This was a pleasant surprise after the previous nights disappointment. The service was warm and friendly and the food was excellent. The appetizer buffet was a great selection though it's too easy to fill up on that before you eat anything else!! The potato and red pepper soup was FANTASTIC!!

3) Oriental - Chinese/Thai/Japanese/Indian
The restaurant was located at the Hacienda so we took a little tram to get there. It's the smallest of the restaraunts and was probably our favourite. The service was excellent and the food was fantastic!! Everything was delicious and served piping hot. The appetizer selection for 2 was a fun way of trying different things and I loved the shrimp tempura - perfectly cooked. The menu was extensive and you could have had lobster for an additional fee.

4) El Pescador - Fish
We were really surprised by how good this was. I expected to like it least but it was a close favourite to the Oriental. The service wasn't so good but the food was fantastic. The tuna steak was cooked to perfection and it was a very enjoyable meal.

5) le Gourmet - French/Gourmet
This was a pretty good meal but the restaurant lacked atmosphere or character. It is also situated right next to the buffet and noise carried through. The filet mignon was well cooked and flavoursome but would have benefitted from some vegetable accompaniments. The Baked alaska dessert was fantastic though - beautifully presented and cooked.

6) Dolce Vita - Italian
This was our last and one of our worst a la cartes. The pasta was bland and overcooked, the entrees were also bland and had clearly been sitting under a hot lamp for a while. The appetiser buffet was the best part of an otherwise disappointing meal. The service was disinterested and the restauraunt was unbelieveably hot!! One to pass on I would suggest.

Bars

We found most of the bars to be pretty good. Tipping seemed to make no difference to the level of service received but we were happy to do so nonetheless. The flaming coffees in the lobby bar were fantastic - and fun to watch! We enjoyed the daiquiri bar as the live music was nice while still being able to sit outside. Some bartenders are better than others but we didn't find the drinks too watered down. The pool bar was good fun - it got so hectic it was fun to watch the bartenders. Careful where you sit though - I got sunburned down one side!! Oooopps!!

Entertainment
We only saw the Michael Jackson Show and the Broadway show. Both songs are mimed to the original tracks so at least the singing is good!! The Michael Jackson guy put on a fantastic show and we really enjoyed it. The broadway wasn't quite so great but okay entertainment if that's your thing. The animacion team all seemed nice enough and good at getting people involved.

Excursions
Despite our intentions, we didn' t go to Tulum or Xel Ha. We found it extremely hot and just couldn't be bothered trailing round in the heat! I can't believe we were so lazy but it was so relaxing!! We did go into playa del carmen. The hotel run a bus everyday which leaves the lobby at 9.10, drops you off in the centre of playa and picks you up again at 1pm. It cost $9 and was great - fully airconditioned coach and door to door service. Shopping wasn't that fantastic - loads of typical tourist junk but it was nice to have a walk and pick up a couple of souvenirs. Prices are very negotiable - happy haggling!!

General comments

The resort is incredibly well maintained and absolutely beautiful - they even have people hand picking the grass for goodness sake!! We really can't fault any part of the holiday. Okay, we had poor service a couple of times and a couple of the a la cartes weren't that great but on the whole everything was really good. We wanted somewhere we could relax, enjoy the sun, some nice food and some good drinks and we got all that and more.
I'd recommend this resort for just about anyone - the guest cohort was very mixed - all ages and nationalities and I think we will probably go back.

I'm happy to answer any questions! (ellieb0w@aol.com)

  • Liked — How beautiful and relaxing it was.
  • Disliked — That they made us come home!!!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank ellieb0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawbury, Shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

My husband and I both 28 stayed at Grand Bahia Principe Coba May 10-23. We traveled from Manchester, UK with My Travel airlines after a 28hr delay and 10hr flight we finally arrived in Mexico. We sailed through immigration and located our My travel bus for our transfer, although the transfer was long 1.5hrs it went quickly. We arrived at Coba lobby around 9.30pm and even though it was late we were still greeted with our welcome drink, which was very very welcome!! Check in was fast with no problems. Armed with our room keys and map we were put on a trolley and whisked straight to our room (31229A). The room was clean and spacious, the mini bar was full with beers, cola, water, chocolate and crisps, and was restocked daily. (tea/coffee drinkers be warned there are no facilities to make a hot drink in the room which we thought should be standard) The beds/pillows are hard but we both slept well. As previous reviews state rooms are noisy this was perhaps our biggest annoyance, you can here everything from your neighbours conversation to birds cheeping!
The grounds of all 3 hotels are immaculate, beautiful flowers, lush tropical trees and lots of wild life. The pools are nice, we never had a problem finding loungers with shade even at 1pm. Our favorite place was at The Akumal lobby pool, it has a self serve bar, close to the restaurant and the beach. The beach isn't the Caribbean beach you might expect but the water was warm and crystal clear, we enjoyed it.
We went to 3 al a carts, Mikado was our favorite the food was excellent and they put on a real show! El Charro was also good and our biggest disappointment was Le Gourmet the atmosphere was nice but the food was nearly cold. The buffet was good with lots of choice but even then we still got a little bored, we thought there should be more Mexican food with little more flavor.
We did some excursions our first was to Tulum ruins, we used the collectivo to get there, they are very easy to use, they are outside the hotels entrance just hop on! It's quite an experience so have fun!! The ruins were good but the beach there is WOW, take swim wear it's worth it. We went to Xcaret booked through our rep, we had a fun day but not sure it is worth the money, We paid $120 each, looking back its very expensive for what you get. We also did the Fat Cat catamaran trip this trip was also fun, lots of drinks and good snorkeling.
The staff at this hotel are soooo friendly and will do anything to help you enjoy your stay, They work so hard.
Overall we had a wonderful time, I would definitely stay in another Grand Bahia Principe in the future, maybe not Mexico but only because I think the world is a big place with so many places too see.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, cleanliness,great pools
  • Disliked — Noisy rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hazel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2007

We stayed at the Coba from 10th May to 24th May 2007 to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. This hotel is near perfect in everyway. It is very clean, the grounds are kept extremely well, plenty of facilities which are of a high standard, with a selection of entertainment to suit everybody. The staff are friendly and helpful. The drinks are good quality with plenty of branded makes i.e. Bacardi, Smirnoff, Jim Beam.

The only thing letting this hotel down was the quality of their food. We consider our self well travelled and not particular fussy, however, the food was of a very poor standard for a 5 star hotel. The selection was good, however it was cold and dry for the full length of stay (except the night the hotel did the questionnaire, when it was warm!) . Over a 14 night stay this proved to be a big problem. Even the a la carte restaurant’s food was cold, with the exception of the Oriental. The Oriental had a varied selection on the menu and the food was hot and tasty. We did inform the staff on more than one occasion of our views. To remedy this would be quite easy for the hotel to do. All that it is needed is someone supervising the food area, making sure that the food is changed and kept warm. The whole time we were there, we saw no one taking charge. There was a lack of cutlery and glasses, as when these ran out, it was not noticed by the kitchen staff.

The hotel was too far out to go anywhere in the evening, without getting a taxi but we took the Collectivo during the day, which was reliable and cheap as already stated. We took the ferry over to Cozumel, which is a lovely island, we also went to Xel-Ha. This has to be the best water park I have ever visited, so natural and plenty to see and do. We travelled with First Choice Premier and were pleased with their service (especially the return flight food - which was hot and not dried up).

  • Liked — The facilities were great - plenty pools and bars
  • Disliked — The food was cold and dried up
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Katco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

We stayed at the Coba May 18-25 for our honeymoon, and it was the best vacation I have ever taken!! I will try to be brief (but it may be difficult because there were so many great things about this place).

Because we booked with Apple Vacations, we checked into the Premier lobby, which is a lot smaller than the main Coba lobby. I really liked that – it gave a more ‘personal’ feel. I had emailed Jorge Garcia ahead of time, and he put us in villa 26b on the 3rd floor overlooking the quiet pool and close to everything we wanted to access. He had made out ala carte reservations for us, which was really nice. Since I mentioned this was our honeymoon, he also told me about the various “romance packages” they offered so I decided to surprise my husband by having this done. It included rose petals on the bed and around the tub, candles (which we got to keep), bubble bath and massage oil. It was a splurge, but was well worth it. We also received the honeymoon t-shirts and a bottle of tequila.

The Room – very clean, spacious and beautiful. We had an insect problem on Wednesday, but by the time we got back from the beach, it had been taken care of. Here’s a tip: if you see bugs in your room and call the desk about it, make sure you call them insects if you speak English because no one knew what a ‘bug’ was. Yes, the beds are hard but I had some of the best sleep ever here so it didn’t matter. Also, make sure you get your patio door completely closed when you come in or the air conditioning won’t come back on. We tipped the maid and the mini bar guy everyday and had everything we needed. The towel art is great!!

The Beach – I was actually very glad we were not close to the beach. You can take the trolley if you like, but we opted to walk everyday. This kept off the normal “vacation weight gain”. Plus, it was a really nice walk. We spent all day at the beach. Yes, it is rocky so bring water shoes if you have sensitive feet. I read a lot of reviews that said “bring some bread and feed the fish”, which we really enjoyed doing until we got yelled at by an Eco Bahia guy one day. There is one small sign on the beach that says not to feed them, which we never saw. Don’t feed the fish.

The pools – we only went to the pool after we got back from the beach. We would spend a couple hours there before dinner. Look for Orlando at the swim up bar – he makes a great drink and he goes out of his way to make sure you are having a good time. Yes, the towels are out before the people in the morning but we didn’t care because we were going to the beach

Ala Cartes – we went to Mikado, La Gran Tortuga and Tequila. They were all great. Use these opportunities because the buffets do get a little repetitive.

Don’t miss – The Michael Jackson Show (it was very entertaining)…. You will probably be at each of the three resorts at some point, so make sure you visit all the main lobbies because the décor is very impressive (the attention to detail is amazing)…. Also, the Akumal Daquiri bar makes the best Miami Vice (try it – you will love it)…. Check out the Hacienda at some point – we did some shopping there…. Get your picture by the photo staff with one of their animals because everyone needs a goofy reminder of their vacation…. And one more thing, we got up really early one morning (0430) to watch the sunrise at the beach….. WOW!!!

Thanks to Jorge, Orlando and the rest of the Coba staff. We will be back!

  • Liked — Just about everything!!
  • Disliked — Bath towels werre rough - need some fabric softener.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cinnamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
143.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
143.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
166.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
155.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,648 reviews
149.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
148.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, BP Travel USA, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing