We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bahia Principe Cobe 2 time!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just returned from Coba for the second time and it was so much better then in may of 2012, A must do is the Japenines the show its amazing but all the food is great at all three resorts!we eat all buffets ,breakfest as we were royal at coba we had our own place very nice and quite!!!!
If you can up grade to Royal clus you get a little more for your money!
We didnt do any tours with the resort as its too much money ..so we would just get a cab and go ourselves, we went to akumal beach to swim with the turtles and saw a eagle ray, lots of pretty fish its a must do!! 25 u.s at do this and 125 at the resort..also did tulum ruins this time it was 17 dollas for cab and 8 dollars to get in...we did coba two years ago and that was 125.00 each on the bus and it is 1.5 hours away.tulum is 15 mins
we travels with no kids but there is so much for them to do and a huge water park which was not there last time, also a casino and a club , there is so much to see its hard to do in a week, so we did 10 nites at royal coba and 3 days golfing for 1480.00 all in!!!you cant beat this prices for what you get...Rooms are huge resort is huge and lots of baileys for coffee lol premium drinks and no water added!!over all great place happy to see the staff again and cant wait till feb 2015 for our group of 30!!! holo!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chasityb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We are happy to read the reviews from our frequent guests. Thank you very much for your appreciation.

It is a delight to read that you enjoyed the facilities and our service made you feel confortable. Your kind comments are the best reward we can receive.

Once again, thank you very much.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Cordially,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,711 - 4,717 of 13,832 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

We all had a wonderful time at the Coba. The wedding facilities were out of this world.

I would recommend this resort to anyone for a vacation or destination wedding.

The a la carte selections were just amazing easily better than many restaurants at home.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrandoeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Brando,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you took to share you nice review with us. It is great that your holidays at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts were amazing.

The best reward is to read that our guests are pleased by the effort that we make every day.

We would be honored to host again.

Warmest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had an amazing time at the Coba, thank you to all the staff. The resort was huge, we knew this before going however surprisingly we loved the fact that there was so much to do and so many places to go. There was a organized system to getting around to all 3 of the resorts and there always seemed to be an accommodating cart driver to take you wherever you wished to go. The staff were very accommodating, friendly, and warm however were overworked in the buffet dining rooms and around the pool bars. Recommend bringing cooler cups/mugs so that you can enjoy a drink without having to continuously venture to the bar. The Coba is farther from the beach although there was a cart often to take you down to the beach and back. If you wish to be closer to the beach I would recommend Akumal or Tulum. The only other thing that I would say is that to get a chair/hut at the pool you had to be up by 5:30 am/6:00 am at the latest. This had nothing to do with the resort, just the people vacationing at the same time. I have never seen it quite this bad before (maybe a few more chairs/huts would help but there certainly wasn't a lack). Other than those minor things, I would definitely consider returning and would highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: I know a lot of people don't recommend the bottom floors for various reasons (smell, noise etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Carrie,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your comments since your opinion is valuable. We appreciate that you recognize the beauty resort. It is great that

We are happy you had fantastic holidays. These nice comments about us encourage us keeping doing our best.

We would like to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards from Mexico,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Took our kids 10 and 6 to Coba. We had a great time, room was nice and big and clean but the beds are very hard and this makes sleeping uncomfortable. Food in the buffets are good and the al a carte restaurants are fantastic. Check out the shows they offer at night, some are really good (Michael Jackson and an amazing magic show).

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Kelly,

We would like to thank you for your visit and for sharing your kind comments about your experience. It is a pleasure to know your opinion. We are happy you had fantastic holidays.

Our main aim is to fulfill our guests’ expectations. These nice comments about us make us keep working harder every day.

We will be pleased to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a one week stay at GBP coba. It was overall a nice stay, but it was the first time where I, as an English speaking adult tourist was a minority. I would say 50% of this complex was full of children and then 25% French speaking people, and the last 25% was everyone else. I felt as if most of the employees spoke very little English, and you always had to tell them if you spoke English or French. The food was good and plentiful, but the smell of the buffet made my stomach turn. It got a bit repetitive after one week, minus our a la Carte's which I can't even recall what they were called due to their lack of memorable food. Whatever you do, do not take the free trip to playa del Carmen as they make you go to an over priced jewellery store for close to two hours, and not much time on 5th avenue. Spend the money and take a collectivo or taxi!! The resort was huge and the carts come in handy as after two days of walking everywhere, you are tired and just wanna get somewhere fast and not spend hours getting there. The resort needs more signage, as we got lost trying to find our a la cartes! Overall it was a good resort, typical, I can't say I would go back though.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tayv1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We appreciate that you had shared your opinion about your stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resors. Thank you very much for trust us your holidays. We always do our best to make our guests comfortable. We are really happy that you had nice vacations.

Your suggestions regarding the free trip to Playa del Carmen are more than welcome. However, it is important to remark that it is an external enterprise and we are not linked to the prices.

We would like to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

don't like writing long reviews but this is needed.
Let me start by saying this place is HUGE!! 3 resorts together and one on the other side of the highway (the Sa'an Kiaan) so be prepared to get hopelessly lost at least a half dozen times or more.
We booked with a wedding group of 78 people for a destination wedding and decided to get the gold club "upgrade". Gold club should be a consistent thing. 2 of 3 groups who booked the upgrade were given champaign, chocolate and chips in their fridge daily. One was not (lucky us, we were the left out ones) Being a paid upgrade it did have turn down service but no pillow menu and no reserved beach or pool seats. Some of the perks were you don't have to rent the lock for your safe and you had beach towels in your room. Yay. (Better not loose them as they are $25 each to replace, and are not changed out by the maids. You have to exchange them at one of the scuba booths by the pools) The bed we had was ROCK HARD it was tempting to sleep on the floor, the tile seemed softer than the bed. Others from our group had nice ones. The English TV channels were a DVD on repeat. Must had watched Star Wars 10 times in our stay. (3 full days of being room bound from sickness contributed to the high tally) The price Mark up in the hotels shops is DISGUSTING. $9 for a bag of chips you can get in town for $2?? $29 cigars (Montecristo #2) that are sold for $9 at other resorts?? Gold club does not include complimentary internet in the room ($45 US A week, PER DEVICE!) And can not be charged to the room. The same food being served EVERY day for all 3 meals. Having only 1 concierge working the gold lobby causing up to 45 minute waiting times (booking dinner reservations) while he tries to sell the damn time share program!! Making people use the same taxi to return to the resort that they left in for Playa, and only allowing 4 hours to return to the cab or be forced to negotiate an extra charge for the extra time and return trip. I have NEVER had this before! Pool and beach chairs being "reserved" via towels, despite there being signage saying this isn't allowed, the staff does NOTHING to enforce this.. causing many spats being had by our group of 70+ and other guests. No mango available in the fresh fruit portion of ALL the buffets ( Coba Akumal and Tulum), Room service food was bland and despite coming from the snack bar did not offer the full menu for delivery (the best was the pizza, so you can guess what is not deliverable) There was bird poop on our balcony and railing from day 3 that remained there for the rest of our 2 week stay. Should it not be cleaned off the balcony/railing?? We managed to get sand in our sheets on day 8 and it remained there for the duration of our trip as well, gross. We were given a notice that we could try a few nights stay at the pariaso beach resort (different hotel chain) an we found out this was due to the hotel being grossly overbooked. Full bus loads of new arrivals were sent away from COBA to Tulum (rooms that are less than 1/2 the size). This resort supposedly has the same rating as the El Dorado but certainly does not deserve it! I found this resort to be a 3 or 4 star maximum!! 2/3 of our wedding group wound up becoming sick for a few days.This trip is my 6th time to Mexico and I have never been ill until this resort. They say you can brush your teeth with the tap water but not to drink it...... But try filling the bathtub. The water is a yellowish brown!!! Wouldn't even brush my teeth with it, felt gross enough showering in it. the US dollar bank machines were almost always out of money or service. There is only 1 per lobby, causing it to become an hour long ordeal to get cash to spend on the excessively overpriced items at the shops. If you want me to buy things at the resort then LET ME GET ACCESS TO MY MONEY. I understand the shops take VISA but would rather pay in cash so I can receive small US bills for tipping the staff. The front desks (all of them) do NOT provide bill breaking for tipping money. This being said a LOT of deserving resort staff went with no tip as I didn't have any small bills to tip them with!! They also do NOT have a supply of water bottles. You must go to the bar for a glass of water. Only water bottles you can get are the 1.5 litre ones from your room, these are a real treat to carry around in a bag. Speaking of bottles, one family from our group was with their 2 year old daughter. Trying to get milk for hre bottles was ALWAYS a battle. Even at the buffets and restaurants! The wedding setup was AMAZING for the beach ceremony and the Hibiscus dinner was great! Dinner being held by one of the pools caused many people walking through our reception during dinner, speeches and dance, no signage saying private function was posted. Oh and if you want to party after 11PM you must relocate everyone to the Disco.

On the positive side the Hacienda is a great touch! Sure beats "market day" that other resorts do. Everything in our room worked perfectly (A/C, coffee maker (when coffee was actually re-stocked) tv, phone, hair dryer and lights) 99% of the resort staff is polite,friendly and eager to help. The grounds keeping crew does an AMAZING job. The resort is beautiful and extremely well maintained. It would be helpful to advise new arrivals that if they are gold club to get on a cart to go to the other lobby to avoid waiting in 2 check in lines (as we had to do). The bell boys did a great job in assisting getting luggage to and from the rooms for check in and out, as well as helping to locate which train to take to get to certain areas of the resort (or where to WAIT up to 1/2 hour for them). The spa was incredable but a tad pricey (the gold club 20% off definitely helped). Great resort if this is your FIRST experience in the all inclusive vacation lifestyle. But for avid travelers like my wife and I it was QUITE disappointing. We will NOT be returning to a Grand Bahia Principe property again (big loss as we vacation 2-3 times a year) For the amount of money spent per person take a 10 day vacation at the El Dorado Royal (adults only) in lieu of a 14 day here.

Stayed: April 2014
4  Thank JD80DEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user;

We are grateful that you shared your experience with us and your detailed review. We are very grateful that you visited our resort to celebrate a wedding; it is a delight to know that you enjoyed our beautiful facilities.

We are extremely sorry that some of our facilities did not meet with your full approval as we do pride ourselves on guest satisfaction. Nevertheless, it is important to comment that before purchasing the golden package it is always specified the amenities included. It is also important to remark that the prices in the shops are not linked to us since they are external facilities.

All your suggestions have been reviewed by our management team to take corrective steps where is necessary.

Sending you our warmest regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Average. This resort is huge, trolleys to get from one resort to the other and to the beach. Staff are friendly for the most part, but many did not speak much English. The front desk was lacking in numbers and service. We arrived early and knew that we wouldn't get into our room right away, however the front desk agent was totally uninterested in supplying any information. We left the line up and then realized we had to get the towel cards from the front desk, back in line again. Long lines and a lot of frustrated customers. I typically travel to timeshare resorts so was quite disappointed in the room. No view to speak of - small balcony looking at the pathway and shrubs blocking the highway. The worst part was the dampness that never went away, you could feel it in the sheets, and in your clothes. A photo from an excursion was ruined because the paper stuck together, books, magazines all had moisture in them. The tub was gross. After running water to fill it and then turning the jets on all this black gunk came out of the jets, disgusting. TV picture was bad, but didn't really care about that. It was also obvious that the room attendant expected daily tips, we would only get more towels if we left a note with money. I'm used to tipping staff at the end of the week for good service not for supplying the basic needs that you've already paid for. There were some days we were glad we had clean beach towels and there were only two of us. Food was okay, buffets were the same thing day after day. A la cartes were better but not as good as I expected. Hard to get pool chairs and even sometimes at the beach. In the week there I didn't see any lifeguards stationed around the beach. Activities staff at the pool and at the beach were great! I found the shows to be somewhat lame but I guess typical. If your tour company has a meeting set up, it's good to go to it as they will give you a lot of good info. It's not a timeshare salespitch. However the timeshare people are there so be careful what you agree to. That free massage or discounted excursion is not so free. And I would never sign up for a timeshare at only one place and certainly not this place. The Hacienda is worth checking out, great music and dancing but don't buy your souveniers there or in the hotel. Playa del Carmen has lots of shopping and restaurants from every range. We took the ferry to Cozumel, did some snorkeling and spent the day there - great day! All in all nice to get away but this resort was disappointing for the money. I would not go back, lots of other places to choose from.

Room Tip: If you arrive before check in time, make sure to get a towel card at the front desk. We had to go th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DMS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

First, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. It is great that you chose us to spend your holidays.

We would like to share with you that the humidity in the rooms is a reality we have to face in some of our rooms. It goes up and down depending on the season or the weather. It is a natural issue along the Riviera Maya and our housekeeping and maintenance department do their very best to fight it day by day.

However we have sent your comments to the head of the Maintenance and Housekeeping Departments so that they can take stronger measures to ensure this will not cause further inconvenience.

We would like to welcome you back.

Sending our kindest regards
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $160 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing