We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in a relaxing atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in a relaxing atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. The biggest disappointment was the beach area. There is plenty of beachfront property but parts of the beach are too rocky to swim in and others are protected from the waves and beach erosion via large objects off the shore. The water itself is very nice, clean and clear but too shallow to swim in. I prefer a beach with waves and depth for swimming capability. This beach is not one where you can swim in but rather walk in and cool off if you need to.

The food was good. I liked the Japanese restaurant the best. I mostly ate at the buffet which was good. Alot of the same foods from day to day but they tasted good.

There are many great pool areas! I found them to be more relaxing than energetic but there are times when they can be lively. I would have liked to spent time by a pool that was also beachside and played music but the beachside pool areas were rather quite and did not play music. The pool bars were great but, again, it was more of a relaxed environment as opposed to a lively, energetic, music-playing, type of atmosphere. All-in-all, very nice pool areas but just quiet.

Room Tip: The resort is HUGE!! Try to request a room closer to the beach if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank junior070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We are thankful that you had decided to trust us your holidays.

We are very proud of our job because your comments show us that we fulfilled your expectations and you really had a great time with us.

We would like to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera.
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,437
    3,749
    1,348
    447
    315
See reviews for
4,743
5,536
102
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,648)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We just returned from our 6th annual Coba stay. It is a much different resort than it was 6 years ago.
The most drastic change is that it has morphed into a resort catering to families with children. I would estimate the kid count tripled in the last two years and they don't stay at the kids water park and kids clubs. Say goodbye to the quiet restaurants and beaches.
Other negative changes:

*A casino has replaced the live music bar adjacent to Coba lobby.

*Unlimited free lobby wifi is no longer offered. If you don't pay for an upgrade you are limited to (1) one hour block of time per day. If you check your email over breakfast you are done for the day.

*The ever helpful Public Relations person Felix Shlokat gone. (Reportedly moved to the Tulum portion of the resort.) The new PR person at Coba is Andreinna Lobo. She was nice and tried to help but she seemed to be stressed out and suffering from poor hotel policies.

*They overbooked the resort, raising havoc with room and linen shortages and causing an overworked staff. The resort tried twice to get us to move to another resort to alleviate the
problem. During our prior stays we got towel animals daily in our room. Not so this year. We assumed the maids were too busy. After 3 days of no face cloths and hand towels we had to become very insistent with several guest services staff before this need was finally met.

*The "protected" coral reef at Coba beach continues to die and there is little aquatic life there to attract a snorkeler any more.

*Evening entertainment remains difficult to find. Once you've seen the live theater shows no one really wants to see them again. We liked one of the live acts in the Daiquiri bar (Luis and Omar) but on other nights in the same bar the music was a dreadful solo keyboard player specializing in sour notes. Some nights there was no music to be found at any of the bars.

The food choices remain good, although the buffets are trending toward the growing children demographic, with french fries and burgers in abundance.

Don't get me wrong. It's still a beautiful location with some friendly hardworking folks: Shout out to Cozumel buffet staff: Jesus, Miquel, Anna and Elena. Premier Lobby staff Anna and Jose.

IF you are looking for a resort that caters toward families with children Coba will most likely will work for you.
Those looking for a quiet, relaxing tropical experience might want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: 3rd floor corner rooms are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kainay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We are thankful for the time you took to share your experience. We appreciate your opinion about your recent visit.

We are extremely sorry that this time we did not meet with your full approval in some of our facilities. However, we will review your suggestions to take actions where is necessary.

We would like to welcome you back. We will do our best to pamper you.

Cordially,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed Jan 26-Feb 2nd 2014 and have thought about returning every since!
We have stayed at several all inclusive resorts in Mexico and can say that this one takes the cake. The place is huge- we kept getting lost- but beautiful. Just wander around and enjoy your surroundings. The food was the best we have ever had at any AI and despite daily trips to the gym and zumba on the pier (I highly recommend!), I gained 4 pounds!
Everything was perfect. Yes, the chair game is played here, but just drag some around and make the best of it. When you get the the "coba" section of the beach, go to the right- there are plenty of chairs a 1-2 minute walk away. There are rocky areas in the beach, and there are some really gorgeous areas too- again, enjoy your time and explore! The buffet was so great that we only ate at one restaurant- the Mikado Japanese- and it was delish! We just didn't like having to have dinner at a set time, and the buffet really was exceptional.
Rooms are large and very clean, all the staff was friendly and welcoming. Coaties (?spelling) are everywhere, so are agoutis and beautiful birds and large iguanas.
Arrange transportation from the airport prior- we used USA transfers and it was 135bucks for a private transport for 3 of us both ways and it only took an hour to get there. So much better than riding to multiple resorts and waiting on others.
Also bring more sunblock than you think you need :) 30 bucks a tube gets a little old!
We absolutely loved it there and am dreaming of next year's return.

Room Tip: We prefer first floor rooms d/t the patio and interaction with nature
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jcook45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We are happy to read the reviews from our guests. Thank you very much for your appreciation.

It is a delight to read that you enjoyed the facilities and the beauty of the resort. Your kind comments are the best reward we can receive.

Once again, thank you very much.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Cordially,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our very first impression was good...the beauty of the Front Lobby, no line of waiting to check in, quick delivery to our room and since it was 2:00 a.m. the bell boy patiently waited in the doorway for us ( three 60ish yr. old friends whose husbands do not travel) to set our 'stuff' down, take a look around and delivered us to the 24 hr. snack bar. Since we were 3 people, we expected two of us to share one double bed and flip a coin every night to see who gets to sleep alone BUT we were very pleased to find 3 of everything in our room including BEDS! The rest of the week was really great...food, cleanliness, staff was amazing, entertainment, drinks, trains for transportation, grounds keeping and house keeping all exceeded our expectations. At no time did feel like the staff were expecting or were pushing for tips. We wouldn't hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Ted,

It is grateful reading that you had enjoyable holidays at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful that you were pleased with all the facilities we have here. Our main aim is to satisfy our guests with the service.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon

Best regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in The Riviera Maya
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is the third time that we have vacationed at the Gran Bahia Principe Coba and we were not disappointed! Even though the hotel did not receive our room block request from Transat, they accommodated our request on the second day. The move was painless. The staff was very friendly and responsive to any of our requests. The grounds continue to be well very maintained and attended to. Even though the resort is very large, there are many shuttles to take you wherever you wish to go. The staff at the Coba buffet were excellent, especially Neyfi and Manuel. We ate at four al la carte restaurants and the Pescador was by far heads above the others – the best meal and service. Our waiter, Rafael ensured that we were well taken care of during our meal with prompt service and attention. We observed Joel Ajar, the manager, personally welcoming every guest and attending their table. This was not obvious at the other al la carte restaurants. We highly recommend the Pescador restaurant if you want high quality service and excellent meals. Understandably there can be some glitches with all resorts but we found these to be minor. Can’t say enough good things about this resort and we will definitively be returning with family and friends in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyB1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Judy,

First of all we would like to thank you trusting us your holidays and sharing your kind comments about your experience.

Our main aim is to fulfill our guests’ expectations. These nice comments about us make us feel we have reached it. We are happy you had fantastic holidays.

We would like to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONTARIO
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just returned from a week in paradise at the BPC and a very large resort having the use of 2 other properties! We did use the facilities for the most part at the Tulum having other friends staying there. This property is 1 hour and a half from the Cancun airport but when you take an early flight out, not so bad. We did book the Royal Golden upgrade & would recommend. If we return to this property, we will stay @ the Tulum or the Akumal closer to the beach - too much walking!

FOOD - ALL food was amazing but preferred the Tulum breakfast (having bacon and evening buffet also excellent)
ALA CARTE BOOKINGS - did not work out for us with available times. Who wants to eat @ 9pm or 10pm for dinner. We tried accommodating our group of 9 and NO luck. When the upgrade states guaranteed 4 a la carte bookings does not mean our time preferences at all. We loved the Japanese show as our favourite al a carte dinner.
BEACH - very warm and you can walk quite far on this stretch of beach. Take a float of some sort if you like the beach. We were down early to save our lounge chairs but we always used them. Some people save chairs and never come back during the day - not ok!!
ROOMS - always clean and very roomy which includes stocked fridge with beer, water and soft drinks. There is a safe and plenty of room but you pay extra if you have not booked the upgrade.
SERVICE - always very helpful & friendly at all bars and restaurants. Be sure to take a thermos for your drinks especially if you enjoy the fancy frozen cocktails like pina colodas, daiquiris etc. keeps all drinks cold for a long time.
TIPS - always took care of the bartenders, tram service, maids and minimum $10 US for a la carte dinners
DOLPHIN SHOW - a friend travelling with us enjoyed this right at the Tulum and we enjoyed watching the show
PLEASE BEWARE of privilege club in the resort - this is a TIME SHARE without a doubt and they tell you differently will only be 90 minutes and took 3 hours when all said & done. We were very disappointed and should have known better with a previous experience a few years back.

Have fun on your vacation. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask. Cheers :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 5B room #30525 on the 2nd floor. There are many iguanas wondering around steady...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pbsdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We are very thankful to read your nice review. We truly appreciate your compliments regarding our facilities.

It is rewarding that you had a good time and enjoyed all the facilities along the stay. It was a pleasure to have hosted you.

Regarding your suggestion, rest assured that we are taking actions where is necessary.

We would like to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Riviera Maya.
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is the second time we have vacationed in Riviera Maya/Akumal and both experiences were great! The first time we stayed at the Barcelo Maya and that was amazing , but we wanted to try and mix it up a little . We chose the Grand Bahia Principe Coba based on the reviews on here and the fact that they fun things there for our 5 year old daughter .
First of all the drive from the airport is a little long and is something to keep in mind , i guess it depends on how many people are on your shuttle from the airport . Ours took closer to 90 minutes only because we had to stop in Playa Del Carmen , which is kinda off the main road a little . No big deal though . Once we arrived check in was smooth and easy , very friendly staff and answered any questions we had . We tried to book meals at the restaurants , but all the times were a little too late . The room was great , very spacious with a nice bathroom and close to the pool, lobby and main buffet . There was no smell in the room despite what i've read on other reviews. They even had Disney Junior channel in the room too , which our 5 year old loved !!
The pool area we mostly hung out at was the main Coba pool and the kids water park which were both excellent and always had something fun going on in . The kids water park was great plenty of slides for all ages . If you have your heart set on that perfect spot by the pool you will have to get up early to reserve it , even though it says not to .
The Beach is a short ride from the main lobby and the shuttles are always only a few minutes away . We never attempted to walk it , but i'm sure its walkable .The beach is great , with lots of fish to see also . The water is crystal clear and calm and shallow , perfect for the little ones.Once again people will claim their spots on the beach under the palapas which is a little annoying , especially if they sit unclaimed for hours and hours , but there's always loungers along the beach available .
The buffets are great , plenty of choice and the wait staff are always flying around trying to keep your drinks fresh . We liked breakfast mostly for the omelette station !!
There's also plenty of places to get your drink on too , I'm usually a beer drinker , but when i'm in the tropics i like to try all the different concoctions they have . I also took a bubba keg for my drinks to cut down on more trips to the bar and it keeps your drink nice and cold !
Overall though , we cant wait to go back .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Mike,

It is a pleasure to receive your kind review regarding your stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We are thankful that you took the time to share them with us.

It is great that you enjoyed the variety of our facilities. It is really gratifying knowing that your stay full of bliss and your family could enjoy all the facilities along the stay.

We cannot wait to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Riviera Maya.
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
12.3 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing