We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coba Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coba Wow!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We just returned and can't wait to return. A beautiful resort about 8 minutes by shuttle to the beach from our room (leisurely walk would be about 15 minutes). Nice entertainment in the lobby and theatre and sooo relaxed. Beach was beautiful and we always found lounges. 99% of the people we met were on the same wave length and had a great time. The only exception was some grumpy old couple who complained that their shrimp was shrimpy, the crabs had crabs and his wife was a b$%^&! Service was excellent and although some of the locals weren't well versed in English, they did their best. Food was amazing and it didn't matter if it was a la carte or at one of the many buffets. Excellent all around!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank earlybirdcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you foryour review about your stay. It is delightful that you enjoyed all the facilities we have at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Our main goal is to satisfy our guests. Therefore we are glad we met your expectations.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,437
    3,749
    1,348
    447
    315
See reviews for
4,743
5,536
102
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,648)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Third vacation at GBP Coba and we will go back again. Perhaps a few helpful hints that you are able to take away for your own trip. First of all thanks to all those that post their experiences as it helped make this trip a lot better.

GBP Coba can be a bit of a trek from Cancun airport. With a little bit of research from other postings we booked Canada Transfers to pick my wife and I up from the Cancun airport and return us - yes, just the two of us. First class team and highly recommend taking advantage of this. $117.00 round trip and saved an easy one hour of sitting on a bus, pulling into several hotels. Returning to the airport on departure day, the bus was departing at 530am to pick up and stop all the way back to Cancun. We were picked up at 6:45am Canada Transfers at COBA and were at the airport by 7:50am.......way better than sitting on a bus. (Unless you want to see every resort again).

Living in Ontario, we worked our trip to fly directly from Hamilton Airport. This was offered through AirTransat Vacations and made the hoidays start and end perfectly. We will look to stay away from Pearson (Toronto) for future vacations. Very stress free plus we were in and out quickly. Kudos to the staff at Hamilton Airport and Canjet. They do a great job.

GPB Coba. You will read plenty of good things about this place and for a reason. This is our third time and we will indeed be going back. Yes there are things to improve on but you will not find a staff that is more dedicated to keeping the place spotless, and to make your holiday great. There is a repeptive nature to the food as with every all-inclusive but if you can't find something you like inside three giant buffet areas on the complex, you aren't that hungry.

We upgraded to Royal Gold Club Members this year. With this we received;

> Exclusive Golden Lobby Check in. (Go directly to this lobby. leave luggage with Jose at COBA entrance and it will arrive at your room).
> Small Lobby but very easy to talk to staff for advise and an exclusive bar for Golden Club members.
> Free Lock for your room safe. ($5 per day otherwise)
> Robes, slippers, beach towels in your room upon arrival.
> We were given access to the GBP App before we arrived, however it will not let you book your restaurants until you are signed in with room number confirmed. (fun to see but fairly useless)
> We also received a fruit bowl and bottle of tequila in our room.

We were in building #23. 3rd floor. Plenty of room to chill out. King size bed and seating area. Very centrally located. We enjoyed being close to the lobby and activiites. Noise was there on a few nights but everyone else has to enjoy their holiday too. Thanks to Elenna for the great job on our room. (please tip a couple bucks and give those trying to make your stay great by leaving notes). Also......in-room refrigerators work way better when you take them out of the enclosed wooden cabinet. Did this upon arrival and the result was nice cold drinks all week.

The Beach Chair Game. You hear about it in many reviews. Yes, people reserve chairs and go do other things. If you arrive at the beach before 9am, there is a good chance you will not have an issue finding a couple chairs and nice shady umbrella. (You will need the umbrella later in the day). We witnessed those showing up at 11am and were upset to not be able to find seating and umbrellas.

COBA Beach (which is a short ride from Coba Lobby) and is located near Akumel Lobby (sounds weird but trust me). Take the carts to COBA Beach and enjoy the day. Staff keep the games going, the Yoga, and tunes playing. We did not participate but enjoyed watching others have fun do it.

And finally.......day trips. We took the Collectivo (Public transit) from the Hacienda (near entrance) to Playa Del Carmen. Cost was $4 per person and was a lot of fun - small van with the locals. Hint: do not wear a Leafs/Raptors/Blue Jays hat on 5th Avenue in Playa. These guys do their homework and will eat you alive trying to lure you into their stores.

The other day trip we took was a taxi to Tulum Beach (in the town of Tulum) about 25 minutes south of COBA Resort. We were dropped off at Ziggys Beach. Spent several hours and treated like gold. Miles of white sand beaches and very few people on it. It was truly spectacular. Worth the cab ride and quiet beach day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Brent,

It is a pleasure to read your review regarding your third stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We are proud of the offort of our staff because you enjoyed one more time the visit our hotel. It is an honor that you trusted us your holidays again.

We will be more than honored to welcome you back.

Cordially,
Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The resort itself is top quality!

All the buffets are excellent! Lots of variety every day!

The beach is very clean! But not enough chairs on the beach to accommodate such a large traffic of people.

Lots of things to do!

Smoking is allowed everywhere, even in the Snack bar, even right at the ordering stand! This was disappointing as we couldn't enjoy the evening snack bar because most people around you are smoking, and eating at the same time. For non-smokers, this was completely disappointing!
You can't just move because food is not allowed to be taken outside of designated eating areas... so you're stuck. You have too eat very fast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ILVMEXICO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for taking time to share you experience at Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts. It is a pleasure to know that you had great holidays. Everything we do is for our guests to enjoy.

Even though there are specific areas for smokers, we have reviewed your suggestions to take actions where is necessary.

We would be honored to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you like big all-inclusives, then this is the resort for you. Coba has over 1,000 rooms and that's only a third of the complex that includes 2 other resorts, Akumal and Tulum. Trolley get you from one to the other. We liked Coba even though it was located further away from the beach. Plenty on pools to sit around, large and small. Bars and buffet restaurants are scattered throughout the complex. Our favourite bar was the Daiquiri Lounge which was spacious and very elegant. If you like beer, it is one of the few bars where you can get an amber Dos Equis. Liqueur coffees are also prepared quite spectacularly, flaming are they pour like a waterfall from one vessel to another. Our room in the 29 block was large and well stocked in the mini fridge and the bathroom. The cleaning service was variable but ok and towards the end of the vacation, the a/c went on the blink. Food was also mixed. The best a la carte restaurants we went to were the Italian, Japanese (get the show table), and Gourmet. Shows were generally entertaining and varied. The Fiesta Mexicana help on Thursdays was mediocre unless you would like to try the mechanical horse, yeeeee haaaaaa! If you like snorkeling, there is a secluded beach past the southern end of the resort. You have about a 20 minute walk over crumbly coral but it is well worth it. Coral reefs just off shore with shoals of fish (we saw a couple of rays). The dive centre is also recommended for scuba divers. Very competent PADI instructors. We recommend the Dos Ojos cenote dive and the day trip to Cozumel for 2 dives is well worth it. We also took the day trip to Ek Balam and the Cenote Maya where you repel down into it. It was a long trip but worth it. Overall a great vacation at Coba.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank watermark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion.

We are happy to read that you were pleased with our facilities and the service.

We would like to welcome back soon.

Sending you our kindest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I went with my mom & Dad for a vacation!!!! The location was little far from the airport ruffly 1hr 30min give or take!!!

The Buffet Food Was the same thing every Day for Breakfast lunch and dinner. We Had Nice Weather except for 2 Days Cloudy!!!!! I must say the " A La Carte" Dinners where really good!!!!!! The Main Coba Beach was super nice... Alot of fish if u bring a piece of bread they will go around you and eat it really neat experience!! Even tho they say not to feed the fishes! Alot of people do it!!! If your looking for more Pictures of different kind of the fishes.... Just go over the stump that separates the ocean with the beach you can take really nice pictures with a waterproof camera and its not deep at all just ruffly waist deep.... just really alots of Rocks!



I went swimming with the dolphins a little expensive but super Worth it!!! they just like to pressure you about getting pictures they take which can get a Bit Pricy!!!!!!!

As for taking a picture with the animals they bring on the beach i only got to take a picture with the parrot which i was bummed out because i wanted to take a picture with the Tucan and monkey never saw Them !!

As for the Bedroom you have to tell them more than once to restock your fridge with whatever pop you want or how many bottles of water you want!! Sometimes they dont even Put what you ask!!!

I must say The WIFI SUCKS! The FREE ONE!!! Don't Try to Skype or upload pics on Facebook its impossible and takes forever!! I wasen't able to skype with my family!!! We even had the Golden Club and Still the same Issue!!!!!

As for the Maintenance of the place the guys where working Alot so upkeep for cutting the grass and so on was Pretty Good!!


The drinks are Wicked!!!! But the bartender they had only 2 people doing bar-tending when there was a Huge line up! Took forever!! To get our Drinks!!!


Im not sure if i would go back!!! But its a Family Oriented resort not a good place if u want to get away from the lil ones!! Just Saying! :)

The spas where Pricy diden't go even with a 40% Off!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the unit 20 A Main floor which was pretty nice and decent room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Browneyegirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank for sharing your comments. It is a pleasure to read your first experience out of your country. We are very happy that you enjoyed our facilities and you had a good stay.

The most important for us is the feedback of our guests. We have reviewed your observations with the hotel management to take actions where is necessary.

We will be honored to welcome you back.

Sending our kindest regards
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

It was our second trip to Coba, and it's been a blast again!
Great staff, great food, housekeeping is fantastic.
Some people got a stomach problem: wash your hands, and don't consume double of your normal daily food amount.
Some people found a hair on the toilet seat and scream: it's horrible resort.
Common guys, be fair.
Some people complain that not everybody speaks good English, stop here: the Americans are not a majority in Mexico anymore: French Canadians, Spanish, Russians are prevail.
It's a good 5star resort.
Will come again with no questions

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smalltravelagency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us again and for sharing your copinion. We are glad to read your comments about your second stay.

It is a delight to read that you were pleased with our facilities. Your nice comments about us make us feel we have reached our goal.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was our 2nd time to this resort. Last year we stayed at Tulum and this time at Coba. Bus ride from the airport is long, but we didn't stop at other hotels, which was a bonus.
Check in was a breeze. We found the rooms at Coba bigger than Tulum. Food was great, staff are all very friendly and the resort is very clean.
Kids really enjoyed the water park and the pools. We found the water in the pool a bit cold, but once you are in its fine.
We went to Tulum ruins and Akumal beach by taxi on the same day. The driver waited for us at both locations and took us back to the hotel. I would recommend going to both these places, if you want to go outside the resort.
Overall..we had a great time here and would come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Nadil,

Thank very much for taking time to share your point of view. We are very happy that you had a great time at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

It is very rewarding that your vacations at were beautiful memories. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your second stay with us.

We would like to welcome you back at any hotel of our chain.

Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
12.3 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing