We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge resort, amazing time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Background: First time in Mexico (Jan 16-23, 2004), 2 times in Cuba (Cayo Coco/Holguin) and 2 times in DR (Punta Cana/Puerto Plata)

Resort: Consists of 4 resorts in one HUGE area. Three you can visit (Coba, Tulum and Akumal) and Sian Kaan which is adult only (sneek in only - a must see) Coba is furthest from the beach, yet its beach has the best sand and less rocks. Tulum/Akumal look a bit better, since everything (pool/beach/lobby) is more tightly packed together, which results in better photos. You get free access to (Coba/Tulum/Akumal) resorts any time of day. Shuttle service is very frequent, will take you almost everywhere in the 4 resorts.

Beach: I've seen better in Cuba and DR, but I'm sure other places in Mexico have amazing beaches (Like the Tulum Mayan Ruins beach - truly breathtaking)

Food: Lots of selection, you'll always find something you love. Tulum buffet has most to offer - go there!

Pools: Why would you spend your time there??? Go to the ocean!

Kids Aqua Park: Nice park, water is not heated, could be a bit cold for some. Located in Coba

Drinks: A lot more selection than in Cuba or DR.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EugeneBeygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Eugene,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write your review. Your comments are very kind and they make us feel proud of our effort.

We are delighted that you had spent your holidays with us, but the most important is that you really enjoyed your time here since the goal of all the services we offer is that our guests are comfortable and satisfied.

It would be an honor to host you again soon.

Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels on Riviera Maya
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,046 - 5,052 of 13,762 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had a wonderful time, the staff was very attentive, I would definitely go back again. Only real problem I had was the jacuzzi was cold. The sea water was beautyful but the floor was rocky, this was a little difficult on the bottom of my feet.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floors, they may be more quiet. The guests above me were up all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Helen,

We are thankful for your nice feedback. It is delightful to read that you had a wonderful time.

Our goal is to make everyone’s experience memorable at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. It is great that you enjoyed your time with us.

We would like to welcome you back.

Cordially,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Some of the reviews and pictures don't do this place justice, i was expecting to be attacked by animals and having a dirty old room like many of the people are saying but i was blown away by my stay there. Such a clean, beautiful and big resort. The food is great, the drinks are great and the staff is even better! Had the best time by the Coba pool and its all mostly because of the amazing entertainment crew. If you have the Chance to meet Gabriel, Valdemore, Luciano, Edward and all the rest you are very lucky. They certainly helped into making my stay there even more memorable! Definitely going back, one of the greatest trips I've ever been on!

Room Tip: Room close to the main pool at Coba is best because then its closer to the lobby, no need to take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiseleMou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Gisele,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for trusting us and sharing your kind comments. It is a pleasure to read about the amazing time you had at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Our main goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations. Reading your review about us make us feel we have reached it.

It is a delight that you were pleased with our facilities and the service of the staff members. We will be more than happy to transmit them your greetings.

We would like to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We would never have planned to go to Mexico for vacation but
we went for a wedding.In the first 24 hours we decided we loved
it. The house keeper we had was Jaqueline,she was wonderful,
We had a server in the El Pescador restaurant, Ivan, best server
EVER! The wedding was lovely, had a great time. But while we
were at the wedding,my grandson's I pad went missing from my
daughters room. It had been hidden so whoever took it knew it
would be in there and they just had to look for it. I was totally
disappointed that a multi million dollar business like this one did
not offer to compensate a single mom and her 7 year old son,
in some way. I know that during a single day there are at least
3 different people entering your room, one fills the bar fridge, one
cleans and another brings chocolate in the evening.I was in my
room one evening and a young man entered without so much as
a knock. When he saw me he asked if I would like some chocolate.
I was not impressed at all.I would love to return to Mexico again,
but not to this resort, I cannot believe that with almost 50 people
attending this wedding and the money that was generated by this
trip, that something was not one for this child. I continue to be
shocked and with the lack of compassion shown by the management.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chchjhjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your comments. It is an honor that you had celebrated the wedding here. We are very happy that the service of our staff pleased you. We will forward your comments. They will be delighted to receive your words of appreciation.

We are truly sorry regarding the incidence that you reported. Nevertheless, we would like to mention that we have a rigorous internal security procedure and the results obtained showed that our housekeeping or beverage departments have different schedule to clean the room from the loss time described, which was demonstrated by the electronic door lock examination.

It is also important to remark that each one of our employees has a very strict security check every time they enter or leave the hotel and they are by no means allowed to carry any bags or other personal belongings to the hotel areas.

Every staff member has a locker assigned to them and has to leave all personal belongings behind before entering the resort premises and they cannot leave the hotel with any belongings unless they have a signed sheet from the housekeeping manager and Security manager if any guest left a gift with a note for them.

Kindest regards
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Overall, Grand Bahia Principe Cobe is a wonderful resort. Perfect get away for my husband and me! All staff were very helpful and went out of their way to ensure we were happy. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Rosanna,

I would like to thank you for sharing your nice comments. We are really delighted to read that your holidays were wonderful.

Our main goal is to delight and please our guests. We are proud of exceeding out your expectations.

We would like to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here January 13-21st 2014 (8 days) royal golden club -
Check in was a breeze
Hotel room was superb , always kept clean and spotless
Beach & pool were very clean no complaints
Food was excellent except for the Italian portofino restaurant ordered linguini and it came like wall paper paste (overdone )refused to eat it and was offered another choice
The mikado was excellent except for chicken satay which was cold , but otherwise show table & food were superb !
Kudos to the following club car drivers who provided exceptional service - highly recommended to ask for any of them
Emitrios
Rudolph
Emmanuel
They surely provided excellent service and need to be promoted !

Stayed: January 2014
6  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Hearty thanks for sharing your experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. Your satisfaction is the best reward we can receive.

We are delighted that you were pleased with the facilities. We will send your compliments to the staff.

We would like to welcome you back.

Cordially,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Well it's been just over a month since we got back home from the Coba. We spent 10 glorious days there from December 10-20.

We travelled with 44 members in our group. From ages 6-56. We had a great time as usual.

The staff at the Coba are truly their greatest asset.

Food was great and never went hungry, beer and spirits flowed freely!

We emailed the resort before going and got everyone into the same villas which was awesome.

Looking at booking our 8th trip to the Coba soon.

Any info required message me.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank edmontonbeachfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We are honored that you had choosen us one more time.

We are happy that you and your party enjoyed your time here and the friendliness of our staff. That is why our effort worth it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.7 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#15 of 22 in Akumal
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
1.0 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $140 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing