We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Few Little Things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was our 3rd trip to the Grand Bahia Principe Coba. Had a nice flight with Apple Vacations on Frontier, and then a 2-hour ride to the hotel with a couple of stops on the way. Check-in was easy - we were in Building 24A on the 3rd floor overlooking the quiet pool and swim-up bar. The room was fine - king-size bed, dresser, sitting area, table and chairs, and a nice balcony with a couple of chairs. The bathroom was big enough for two of us and our stuff. The shower was a challenge to get into and out of - very high-sided Jacuzzi tub, not easy for anyone with short legs (like me). We had a couple of room issues during our stay. We did not get towels one day. We asked the housekeeper in the hallway for towels, and she said we would get them in 5 minutes. Well - two hours later we were still waiting. We wouldn't have been in any hurry except it was one of the nights we had dinner reservations and needed to shower and change for dinner. A call to the front desk and we were told they would send towels right away......and we waited another 45 minutes with no towels. We finally dismantled one of our towel animals and used what we could to get clean and dry. Later on that night, after dinner, drinks, etc., we returned to our room and finally had towels, several hours too late. Another evening, a drunken tourist knocked on our door insisting that our room was his room (not the hotel's fault). His companions managed to convince him that he was wrong and took him away, but we found that our "do not disturb sign" was missing. Again, we had to ask for a replacement several times before one of the housekeepers just took one off another room and gave it to us.
We were pleased to find that our dinner reservations had been made for us in advance with no effort on our part. We wanted to change one of them and found it very easy to do so. We ate at Le Gourmet (very good), Portofino (not our favorite - had gnocchi that were incredibly heavy and doughy), and the Mediterranean (the best - excellent appetizer buffet with a wonderful cheese selection, great shrimp). The first night we went to the main lobby to eat in the main buffet. It was pouring rain and the lobby was packed. We could not get any service to have a pre-dinner drink, and when my husband went to the bar, he found one bartender doing nothing and the other was surly and unfriendly. The thatched roof in the lobby was leaking very badly with large puddles of water everywhere, and the whole atmosphere was frenzied, loud, and not very relaxing. We had dinner in the main buffet - large selection, good service. After this we avoided the main lobby for the rest of our trip - stayed in the "premier" lobby with a nice bar, excellent service (a gold star to Ofelia who always remembered both our before and after dinner drink orders), and we ate at the Cozumel buffet. This buffet is smaller with fewer choices, but we always found something good. It was especially nice for breakfast, never crowded and always good service. We had lunch a couple of times at the La Casita snack bar near the pool - the hamburgers were awful, but they had lots of other choices. We liked the made-to-order pizza, and also liked the wraps and the selection of salads, and of course the guacamole and chips.
We enjoyed the quiet pool ("premier" pool). We always managed to find seats with some shade, although we are early risers so we beat some of the crowd. The swim up bar was fun, and Pedro, Jaime, and Ruperto did a great job serving all the customers.
A couple more small issues - quit with the vacation club sales pitch. We were not really hassled, but it is annoying to get calls and invitations for special meetings, special dinners, etc., knowing that we are not interested. Also, the shuttle service to the Hacienda is ridiculous. We went over there one evening before dinner to do a little shopping. We had no trouble getting a shuttle to the Hacienda, but getting one back to the hotel was absolutely a terrible experience. We waited nearly 45 minutes - keep in mind that the signs on the shuttles do not always reflect where they are really going - asking every shuttle "Coba Premier Lobby?" Finally one driver said yes, so we got on. He went to the Coba main lobby....when we asked him if he was going to the premier lobby he said no!! Not that big a deal, but another small annoyance. Check prices before you buy - we bought some medication at the pharmacy for $25 US and found the same thing at the airport pharmacy for $3 US!!
Overall, we enjoyed our trip. We have been to Mexico many, many times and realize that nothing is perfect. The small issues did not ruin our vacation, just temporary annoyances. We would return to the Coba, it is always a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LFS517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for sharing your review about your stay. We are happy that you had a wonderful time. We are honored that you have decided to spend your holidays with us one more time.

Regarding your comments, we will review them so that they take actions where is necessary.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Warmest regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,120 - 5,126 of 13,832 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a great time even though the temperature was not the best. Activities planned by Priscilla our Air Canada Vacations rep were exactly what we were looking for, scuba diving in the pool and in the sea with scubaquatic staff (Jonathan, Luis, Alexandro) was simply amazing, they took the time to help my wife to the max and made our experience unforgivable. Room size and cleanliness by Alfredo was perfect, buffet's offer a very good selection of food for all, quality is good for the size of a place (go Mexican, it's the best!). Pools were very cold though and jacuzzi was freezing but the sea was warm and comfortable. When you're nice to the staff, they'll go all the way to keep you smiling. The beach is rather small and there is a lot of rocks (get watershoes) and getting drinks can be quite a walk depending on where you settle yourself but overall it is a very nice place.

Room Tip: A junior suite is the best way to go wether you are only 2 or a family of 3-4, size of room and bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Yan,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities.

We have sent your greetings to Alfredo and all our staff. It encourages us to keep working hard to satisfy our guests.

Cordially,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays on the Maya Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our fifth visit to the Coba Hotel but the first time for Xmas, the main Gala dinner was on Christmas Eve and had choice of 2 times v early at 6.pm or 8.30 all by reservation and the same dinner served in each restaurant. We were in the Cozumel restaurant which was very nice and they had made a real effort to offer something for all nationalities, I wasn't expecting the traditional English Christmas Dinner but there was carved turkey with real gravy plus several other meats on offer as well as a variety of other dishes!!
I realise its almost impossible with such a large number of guests to cater for but I had hoped that at least the main course would have been served as opposed to self service buffet style, especially as it is so expensive for the Xmas & New Year Galas.

One thing that never fails to amaze me however is the number of guests who just do not bother at all to dress for dinner, even on Christmas Eve I saw people in beach shorts and flip flops! Whilst the hotel attempt to enforce a dress code in some of the speciality restaurants I feel that it is not enough and perhaps those guests who don't want to bother to dress can be catered for in the snack bar!
Otherwise overall it still remains a very good value for money holiday and of the speciality restaurants we tried they were of a high standard, particularly love the Japonese, Gourmet & Italian - but do email the Hotel in advance to reserve the dinners as they are often full by the time you get there & we met people who had been disappointed.

We found there was often a shortage of sunloungers by the coba quiet pool, leading the hotel to put notes through all guest doors and notices on the palapas asking guests not to reserve them - SO why the hotel don't invest in a few more and stack them by the pool towel hut ( the staff there have little else to do ) so that they can be distributed as and when necessary thus negating the need for people to reserve them in the first place!! Seems common sense to me!
By the jacuzzi bar close to us there were only about 10 loungers and easily room for twice that!
NB: We usually found however that there were plenty of loungers down at the far (right) end of Akumal Beach & it was really quiet in this area with its own beach bar.

If going out watch the on site taxis - I hate to be ripped off and feel that they always do the same thing by saying they have NO change, despite asking the guy (who was calling up the taxi from within the hotel at the main r/about with the tiny horse statue) beforehand how much it was and had he change for a 50, the driver then once we got to Carmen said he had none and couldn't get any, (what taxi driver should ever not have at least a small float of change!) so he wanted basically the 50 dollars for the 33 dollar trip, the locals near the rank are in on it and all go "Oh no sorry we have no change either".... I just marched across the road to the nearest shop where they were happy to change it, thus he went without a tip at all!
Return trip from Carmen was 8 dollars cheaper having used the local one.
Also the 5 min trip to Xel Ha is expensive at 20 dollars considering it is so close to the Hotel!

Trips: On a rainy day the VEA Quad trip half day was the best experience and a fantastic trip out for our 10 yr old & ourselves, well worth the money! ( see my separate review)
Xplor & Xel Ha both fabulous days out.
Ferry to Cozumel - we just went for the day trip but I would recommend doing something organised to get the most out of it.

I have given 3 stars ( would have put 3.5 if it were poss) for this trip because I felt it was not quite as up to scratch as previous visits, would return but probably not for Xmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Sue,

Thank very much for taking time to share your point of view. It is delightful that you had enjoyed your Christmas holidays with us.

It is very rewarding that your vacations at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts now are beautiful memories.

All suggestions are more than welcome. We have already reviewed them with our managers so that our service grows better every day.

It is important to comment that taxi service is a third party outside our enterprise. However, we will send your comments.

We would like to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Arrived New Year's Eve. Shuttle was fast and comfortable. Second year here. Great entertainment from early evening and one of the most amazing buffets I have ever seen. Where do they get such amazing produce and meat, seafood, lobster. Something for everyone and service was excellent. If you can't be happy here you better leave the planet! New Year's party favours and all the champagne you want. The resort is very clean; shuttles take you everywhere including beach, room, lobby. Beach is safe for children, snorkeling pretty good, and very safe. There are several a la carte restaurants and the beef steakhouse is a must, with flank steak shawarma to die for. Lamb not so much ! Wonderful small venues for breakfast and lunch. All the guacamole you can eat but you have to ask !

Room Tip: We stayed in the Royal Golden section, which has its own lobby and free internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AllanZ125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Allan,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you had celebrated New Year Eve at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Our commitment is that our guests are comfortable and satisfied. We are very proud that we fulfilled your expectations one more time.

It would be an honor to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a great experience at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba resort. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Especially Jose, the bellhop from the lobby premiere. Jose went out of his way to make sure all of our questions about the resort were answered, and that we got where we needed to go each day.

The resort is beautiful, with many pools to choose from and it is also right on the beach as well. There are free shuttles to bring you to any restaurant, beach or bar that you choose. The dining choices for dinner are pretty good (our favorite was the Mediterranean place), but there are several choices and we ate at a different place each night.

The breakfast and lunch choices are buffets, so you get a little tired of that each day. However, everywhere we went the service was great and there was a close bar to grab a drink.

The only downside was that the resort is over an hour shuttle ride from the airport. The shuttle was included in our vacation package through apple vacations, it just was a long boring ride.

If you do go make sure you see the ruins it was amazing! We went to the Thelum ruins because they were the closest to the resort but the pyramids are larger and worth seeing I'm sure.

Room Tip: We would recommend staying close to the premiere lobby. The bellhop there (Jose) went above and bey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Jaime,

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We really appreciate that you took the time to share some valuable comments about your stay with us.

We are happy to read that you were pleased with the friendliness of our staff. Jose will be delighted to receive your greetings.

We are looking forward to welcoming and hosting you soon.

Kindest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just arrived home from a week spent at this resort (Jan 4-11th). It's a very beautiful, well kept , huge resort. The only problem was that the weather was not nice all week and that wasn't the resorts fault! We checked in at the Premier lobby-very easy and quick . (If you are staying with Apple Vacations-you are not charged for the safe key).

Our room (32807) was on the ground floor. Next time, I would request an upper floor- The people above us were very noisy (moving chairs around an walking in heels?).The room was very nice, large, bathrooms were big, good water pressure and always hot water.

We ate at three of the sit down restaurants. When we checked in , they had already made these reservations for us, we were allowed to change them if we wanted . We ended up at the Pescador, La Gourmet and Portofino. All very good.

The property was huge and we did go over to the Akumal and Tulum properties. We like the Coba best. Tulum had kind of a sewage smell, but I think that was only because of how much rain they were having. I am not good with directions and had to keep my map of the place handy!

All the staff that we came in contact with were very nice.We had no issues.

The beach area is huge. I was glad they had the man-made breaks . They didn't look that great but kept the rough waves at bay. The days that we were able to go to the beach, we didn't have a problem finding chairs.

They have a bunch of pool. Very nice, clean. The water was very cold- once again probably because of the terrible weather .

Very quiet resort, if you are looking for a bit of nightlife-it isn't here. We did take the tram to the Hacienda once and those bars were not included in the all inclusive. We did take a taxi in to Playa Del Carmen and it was $33 one way. Wanted to try a collectivo but it was raining.

I would come back here for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trashedbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. It is delightful that you had great vacations.

We are honored that you have decided to visit us to spend your holidays. We are very proud of our job because your comments show us that you really had a great time with us.

We would like to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We like this resort very much and chose to stay there again on our third trip to Riviera Maya, December 27 - January 3.

We think the staff there are terrific. Always helpful and friendly. The resort is well maintained and the service is excellent.

We are always impressed with the variety and quality of the buffet in the main dining room, Kukulcan. The staff do an amazing job of keeping it going. This was was especially so on New Year's Eve, when the resort went all out, with ice sculptures and floral arrangements as well as an impressive selection of food. We didn't attend the New Year's Eve party at the Hacienda Dona Isabel later, but we spoke to others who did and they said it was a terrific party.

I want my comments below to be taken in context. We were there during their busiest week of the year and the resort was very full.

Our rooms were sometimes cleaned very late in the day. On one day, this was an inconvenience to us, as we had been out all day, needed to take showers, and had an early reservation for dinner, so we had to shower and change in a rush. We had been out since early in the morning and had left signs on our doors indicating the rooms could be cleaned.

We asked for rooms by the quiet pool, but were given rooms that were as close as they could possibly be to the clubhouse by the noisy pool. None of us used the noisy pool or its programs, and since some of us wanted to sit and read, this was also inconvenient, as I could not sit on our balcony and read, due to the noise. It seems odd that having requested a quiet area we were placed in the noisiest spot in the resort. That said, we were told the priority was to give us rooms near each other, which they were, and we understood that the resort was very full and they have many requests to accommodate. We were offered the possibility of moving the day after we arrived, but once settled in our rooms, we chose to stay. The rooms themselves were, as on our last stays, lovely and kept clean.

There are a few areas in which I think the staff are too deferential to guests. First, unlike on our previous visits, there are a large number of coati (small mammals) roving around the resort. Although signs ask guests not to feed them, we saw guests feeding large groups of coati near the main lobby and buffet on a daily basis, and not once did we see a staff person intervene. The whole situation is harmful to these wild animals and risky to guests. Similarly, there are some small jacuzzi pools that are restricted to adult guests. We saw children using them repeatedly. There are jacuzzi pools and wading areas in the large pools and a large splash pad for younger children. There is no reason why children need to be in the adult jacuzzi pools, but again we never saw a staff member intervene.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, request rooms in the villas 6, 7 and 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 155019Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for your preference and for the appreciation that you show us. It is great to read the reviews from our frequent guests.

It is a delight to read that you enjoyed the facilities and we fulfilled your expectations one more time. Your kind comments are the best reward we can receive.


It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Cordially,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $160 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing