We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort,Amazing Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

It was our fifth vacation we spent in this resort.
Hotel room clean, transportation between Coba, Acumal and Tulum perfect.Water Park is Fantastic for children. Beach and swimming is very good.A lot of beach activity.
No problem with food and drink.
Overall rating is five.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2436YKNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for your comments. It is a pleasure to read your review regarding your stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

It is very rewarding to know that your vacations were full of fun because it shows us that our effort worth it. We are also happy that you enjoyed our facilities.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,532)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Coba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,001 - 5,007 of 13,532 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

Overall a great experience, mattress was a little hard but they gave us a mattress cover which really helped. Excellent service, very good buffet. Gourmet restaurants were underwhelming, but overall a fantastic vacation.

Drinks were tasty but you'll need to drink a lot to get drunk. We had a great time and absolutely recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayana-kad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for such a detailed review. We really appreciate that you had shared opinion about your stay.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your holidays at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. It is a pleasure to know that we made you feel comfortable and enjoyed all the facilities.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kindest Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

To start, a lot of the problems we had on our trip were not all the fault of the hotel, but I wish to share them anyways.
Our flight was cancelled, so we were put on another flight with 3 connections, made it to our destination but our luggage did not. This was extremely frustrating to deal with. American Airlines, has terrible customer service telling us our luggage will arrive in a few hours over and over again, and it did not for 3 days. The ladies at public relations in Coba were helpful, even offering to lend clothing and speak to our airline for us. Upon getting our luggage, Victor the Bell Man was extremely excited for us! He was great, he knew how we needed our luggage and how we where planning on golfing and could not without our equipment. Victor was also helpful with a lot of other things. Take our advice, pack some stuff in your carry on. we usually do but on this occasion we did not and could not find deodorant, underwear, things like that anywhere,,, it was horrible... no clothing to go out after the beach. stayed in the room. we managed to get bathing suits and summer dress, sandals, but that was about all we could find.
We woke up the next morning excited to FINALLY be able to be comfortable with all our stuff!! went to the beach and I bashed my toe on a huge camouflage rock on the beach... BROKE my toe. I hold the resort responsible for this... another 2 days of limping... HORRIBLE. I think the salt water helped it heal up. but the resort should have signs that indicate hidden rocks on beach and also paint the rocks to people can see them. I will attach a photo and if you look closely you can see my green nail polish cracked off my toe on the rock on the right side. BE CAREFUL. we also noticed lots of ppl with casts... broken arms. We assume its from rocks.

The beaches are nice, lots of rocks in the water and hidden rocks in the sand. we brought tubes which made entering the water easier especially with a broken toe. It was always a challenge to get a seat at the beach, we had to grab our chair before breakfast in order to have somewhere to sit. I would say after 10am there is no where to sit on the beach. We would head to Tulum beach, where it was more quiet. Akumal, was very noisy with kids running around.

The food at the resort is good. A lot of pizza, fries... There is some Mexican, but I would have loved to see more. The a la carts were good. My husband said the Mexican restaurant was the best. He also really enjoyed the Tuna steak at the Mediterranean.
Beware of the snack bars. I believe I had a veggie wrap that went bad (mayonnaise tasted funny) and I was sick a few hours later and had to leave the Mexican restaurant :(. If you doubt it do not eat it.

The Coba lobby is the best of all, there are lots of places to sit and some entertainment! The cappuccino`s there are fantastic! We loved them and miss them already.

We also took the collectivo a few times, costs about 80 Pesos for two with a little extra for the driver, it was a great option for transportation- We went to Playa Del Carmed and Tulum using this.you just wait on the side of the HWY and get in, pay when you get off. A lot less then taxis. Tulum ruins has an amazing beach, I think it is worth the trip.
We also managed to golf once... With not equip and a broken toe we only managed one round. Riviera Maya golf course is beautiful! We love it, it got dark before we could play 18, but it is a very challenging course. Wish we could have played more.

Our room was always spotless... That is one thing that we really appreciated, we were just in Cuba and our room was not so clean. SO having clean sheets and towels was great and made us that much more comfortable. We had some cute towel art on our bed. The bed is HARD, but after our first night we got used to it and slept like babies.

The Coatis are very cute, people should not be feeding them... If you choose to, feed them fruit and not fries and bread... it`s common sense. Iguana`s were really cool too. There are also some rodents with long legs, not sure what its called, but its pretty cool to see as well. Some cool looking birds.

The resort is HUGE... I do not think we would return. You have to take the golf carts everywhere, and that was frustrating. waiting... sometimes 20 minutes to go anywhere... I would prefer to walk to most places... With all the rain we had, it would have been nice to be able to walk from the beach to the room, but it would take over an hour to do so...

Tequila mixes were good. Try them when you arrive at the buffets... Coconut was my favorite.

It was a good trip, lots of problems with our trip- The biggest problem for us was my broken toe and that is due to the resort. Walk slow and watch where you step. you can have an amazing time here, just make sure not to hurt yourlself. HAVE FUN

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joan12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Joan,

We are thankful for the time you took to share your experience. We truly appreciate your opinion with respect to your recent visit. It is great you had a good time.

Regarding the suggestions about beach, it is important to clarify that we have not had any incident due to your comments. We are really sorry that you had had this inconvenience.

It is also important to remark that traveling can increase your chances of getting sick. For years our resort has worked with the Cristal Food and Safety company "Check Safety First", which is actually a renown British institution, that implied a system which assist and monitors safety and hygiene of food and beverage as well as its handling sanitary procedures and hygiene of employees as well as testing the water which is used for consumption for the customers.

Cordially,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I went with my two kids and was worried since my wife wasnt coming with us, how we would manage. It was a really great experience especially for the kids. They have supervised kids club from 9am to 5pm and includes a lot of fun activities. They made friends after the first day.
Food was pretty good, service was great. The only reason for not giving them an excellent review was the inefficient checkout process which took a long time.

I would definitely consider going back

Room Tip: Of the 3 hotels, (Coba, Akumal and Tulum) Coba is interior and is not beachfront. Had we known we wo...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

It is a pleasure reading your review regarding your vacations at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

It is really fulfilling knowing that you and your kids enjoyed the visit our hotel. It is an honor that you trusted us your holidays.

Regarding your suggestions, we inform you that we have already taken corrective where is necessary.

We would be more than honored to welcome you back.

Cordially,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We came Nov 26 - Dec 5, 2013, for a wedding with a large group of friends! We grew to appreciate and love the resort over the first few days, and have no complaints except the food. Service was great, except for the fact that employees seem to expect tips and give better service if they ARE tipped. We are not used to this at an all-inclusive (at Moon Palace they are not allowed to take tips - excellent service is the norm there!). We have seen the employees at the GBP even counting their tips in full view of guests. The food was ok, not excellent, except for a couple of the a la carts. Otherwise, it all tasted bland. All this being said, we will be back with our children - it is a very family friendly resort!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love_a_Great_Deal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you had celebrated a special date here, but the most important is that you really enjoyed your time here.

Our commitment is that our guests are comfortable and satisfied. Our guests do not have to tip the staff to receive a service since it is an all-inclusive resort. However, your suggestions will be reviewed.

It will be an honor to welcome your family back soon.

Regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed at the Coba from Dec. 11th-18th with my sister. This was a first experience for us both with an all-inclusive, and we were pleasantly surprised with how much we enjoyed it!
The good: Super friendly staff, close enough to Playa to enjoy the shops and nightlife off resort, delightful little critters scattered around the resort grounds, and no trouble securing loungers on the beach.
The not-so-good: Few vegetarian options at the restaurants, redundant vegetarian options at the buffet. Wished there was more on offer at the snack bar(s) than fries, bread, and other carb-heavy offerings. And if you don't book into the a la carte restaurants as soon as you arrive, you'll be stuck with 9pm reservations -- or no reservations at all.
If you're looking to mix relaxation with time in town, this is a great resort option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Jenn,

We would like to thank you for you nice comments about your stay in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. It is so rewarding to read that you and your sister enjoyed our variety of facilities and that your stay was filled with beautiful memories.

We will transmit you congratulations to the staff. We assure you that they will be more than happy to hear them.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I just want to say that this is the best hotel/resort I have stayed in, in my life. I went to Mexico as a group of nine of us ranging from ages 22-52, and were out here to celebrate a 50th birthday.

The hotel is absolutely stunning, the grounds are kept very well maintained, and you always see staff working on bits and pieces. A lot of wildlife round the hotel, lizards, raccoons, and the adorable little coati's. they just run straight past you, they are not scared of humans, we would wake up in the mornings, and they would be outside our room rummaging in the grass looking for food, we fed them on a few occasions, but got told off by a staff member as we weren't supposed to, but they are so cute, you cant resist.

There is so much to do in this resort, so many pools to choose from, we never had trouble getting beds, but that may be due to us coming later in the year and not being height of the season. The beaches are beautiful, white sand, clear water, great for snorkling.

Food in the restaurants was lovely, we always used the coba restaurant, biggest restaurant out of the 3 lobby's, never had to wait to be seated. Next time we go, I would pre book the A la cartes, we only managed to go to two, and both of those were 10 o'clock sittings, and then we felt we had to rush as the restaurants closed at 11.

Would highly recommend the double excursion Xplor and Xel ha. Amazing days out, zip lines, driving buggies, river swimming and much more. Also for a night out, try coco bongo's, show and club, great night out and very entertaining.

I could go on forever talking about what a great time I had at gran bahia principe, but you can tell from what everyone else has put on here what a great place this is. I have been back in the UK 3 weeks now and still feeling the holiday blues, I would go back tomorrow if I could. Will definately come back to this resort in the future.

Thank you to all the friendly staff at the resort, and hope to see you in the near future

Natalie and co

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Natalie,

We are thankful that you had decided to trust us your holidays. We are very proud of our job because your comments show us that we fulfilled your expectations and you really had a great time with us.

We would like to thank you for the nice comments about the staff. They will be very happy to receive them.

We would like to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera.
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
143.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
145.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
166.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
148.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
149.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $139 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing