We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the little things......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's the little things......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home. Being a repeat traveller to GBP Coba I was a bit disappointed this time around.
The grounds as always looked great. Our room was great it was a junior suite that must have recently been refurbished. The Buffett was good. The a la carte very good. The transportation this time around was in my opinion very poor, the wait times were much longer than I remembered, the big red wagons that transport you from Coba to Tulum or Hacienda should in my opinion be outlawed due to the exhaust you are forced to breathe in. If you want a pulmonary disease ride on one of these.
The service at the buffets was not good. I am not a fancy fellow that wants or needs to be pampered but I expect a certain level of service at a a buffet wether a 5 star or a 2 star resort. In my opinion they are understaffed.
It's still a great place to vacation they could just do a little better I know they can because I've seen it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Juan,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing a detailed review about your stay with us. It is delightful to read that you enjoyed your vacations at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We truly appreciate your nice comments and your suggestions. Rest assured that will review them to make improvements where is necessary in order to offers a better service with the highest quality.

We would be honored to welcome you back soon.

Cordially,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,209
    3,592
    1,266
    413
    297
See reviews for
4,498
5,341
100
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,540)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

8th time and there will be a 9th! Fantastic staff especially Miguel Angel Vitz. He was a pleasure to see each day for breakfast and lunch. Made us feel rght at home and went out of his way to make us comfortable. The resort has everything you and your family will need to have the best vacation. New waterslide park our son absolutely loved- and kept him busy all day. Staff always smiling and all in all it's the place to be. Thanks Bahia Principe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rsiffledeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your 9th stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We are very pleased that all your family had a wonderful time. It is an honor that you had decided to choose us to spend your holidays

We are very proud of our staff effort, since they made you feel comfortable fulfilled your expectations once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

After hearing such fantastic reviews about this huge resort I was left disappointed. The resort is massive and because of that I feel it loses that personal service. My main concern was the food. After working in catering previously for almost 10 years I am aware of what uncooked or warmed food can do for you. The food was always the same and frequently cold or lukewarm. You can book up to 3 restaurants a week so I was hoping the food would improve. I must state that the Japanese and Brazilian were fantastic the food was hot and plentiful. However the Mediterranean served a moussaka that I wouldn't give to an animal. Really greasy and salty. The following evening we went to the fish restaurant. I do not like fish but they had chicken as an alternative. I bit into this and it was not cooked. When I complained I even asked to see how food was prepared and was not shown. I filled in complaints in 3 places and no one got back to me. Really poor customer service. The only other complaint was the entertainment. Maybe I had been spoiled in Cuba but here the entertainment was poor. This is the second Gran Bahia I have stayed in, the other was in The Dominican Republic. I will never set foot in one again

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with light coming in. Room smelt damp as no air getting in or sunlight. Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Karen

First of all we would like to thank you for expressing your opinion. We appreciate the time you decated to share it with us.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities such as the a la carte restaurants.

We are truly sorry that we did not meet with your full approval in some facilities as we pride ourselves on guest satisfaction. However, we would like to comment that the areas of opportunity which were described have been reviewed by our management team so that they take strong steps to improve where is necessary.

We hope you decide to visit us again; we assure you we will exceed your highest expectations.

Kindest regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

First time in Mexico and first time in an all inclusive. Stayed for 7 days in the coba resort of the group. Since it combines 4 resorts ( possibly more in the future) the place is massive but there is however frequent trams going around to get you to places like the beach, lobby, buffet etc. Being a couple in our 20s we didn't mind the walking and the exploring when required but I can understand how it can be daunting for those less able. Regarding the rooms themselves, they are spacious and comfortable though the room did have a slight damp smell typical of many tropical hotels. For first timers in our demographic, I would recommend trying this hotel out as it is a decent hotel.

We charged wifi to our credit card and at times it would drop out at times but the phone tech support would reset the connection over the phone quite efficiently.

Not sure if it was my imagination but I had a suspicion that the alcohol was switched out to a watered down mix during the evenings. If your aim is to get lit I would suggest getting some duty free liquor on your way in just in case.

Regarding day trips and tours, I would suggest hiring a car from the lobby and getting a map/gps. It is very easy to navigate the area and we went to a Cenotes and to the Tulum ruins in half a day. For those slightly more adventurous and patient I highly recommend doing it this way rather than paying for a tour!

Final note, bring some small currency for tipping the staff, even if the food is a 3.5/5 at times they go a long way in making sure you are wanting for nothing and are eager to serve.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherwin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Sherwin,

We would like to express our sincerest thanks to you since your comments are very heartwarming. It is a pleasure to know that you had an awesome time at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

It is really rewarding to read your positive review and that you enjoyed our facilities and the friendliness of our staff.

It would be an honor to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in The Riviera Maya
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I took a last minute get away and chose this resort. It was a 6hr flight, customs had a long line and it was another 1.5hr drive from the airport to the resort. When we finally arrived, we were immediately greeted and welcomed but hungry and just wanting to start our mini vacation. Carlos Tun, the front desk supervisor checked us in and was excellent. Took his time to inform us of the facilities and the resort. He informed us that we need to go see guest services to book our ala carte reservations as they are booked up quickly. There was only one agent around and helping another guest, the second agent KARINA came, sat at her desk and did not acknowledge us. I HAD to approach her to see if she can help us. When we told her the restaurants that we wanted to go to, she snapped and said you are only entitled to 1 ala carte as your only here for 5 days. We informed her that Carlos has written on our sheet that we get 2 ala cartes. She threw her pen on the desk and stormed off to talk to Carlos. She came back and said you are only entitled to 1 ala carte but I will do you a favor and give you 2. But really we are entitled to 2 ala carte whether we are there for 5 or 7 days. Karina did not know what she was stating and tried to cover it by saying "she is doing us a favor."She was being difficult and giving us reservations for 1030pm meals. When asked if she is having a bad day, she said no, when asking her to speak to her manager, she all of sudden said her comprehension of english is poor. This was our encounter for the first 15 minutes of our trip. We spoke to Carlos, who checked us in, and complained to him. KARINA had "trainee" on her ID badge and it clearly showed that she was not fully trained on the job. But being new to a company and dealing with guests, your customer service should be top notch. Carlos went out of his way to make sure that we were looked after. He left letters in our room, called to make sure that our stay was going ok and was available for our needs but also we witnessed he was attentive to all the guests needs. KARINA was one hiccup that almost turned our vacation sour but Thank you to Carlos for making it memorable. Other than Karina, the resort is beautiful, great food, pleasant staff, and clean rooms. If you need to make reservations for your ala carte and see Karina, deal with another agent, you'll get better service from them. Karina should not be working in an industry where she is dealing with customer service, and hopefully management will attend to this matter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mochamojo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing us. We really appreciate that you have taken time to share your opinion about your stay.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities and that you were pleased during your stay. We have sent your kind comments to Carlos. He is an example of the friendliness and the high quality of service that defines us.

Our main goal is that our guests are comfortable and satisfied. We are sorry regarding areas of opportunity described. We inform you that your suggestions have been reviewed with our management team and we have taken corrective actions where is necessary.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kindest regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was a guest of the Coba from Oct.12 to 26th. Since becoming a member of the Bahia Principe Club in December 2012 I had always had slight misgivings as to whether I had made the right decision. As it turned out, I have!

From my arrival in Cancun to my departure from the resort, Mrs. Anna and her team at the Privilege Club concierge office took wonderful care of me. The staff was professional, efficient and caring and always there for me when I had a question or concern. This was especially important to me as I was vacationing alone for the first time after decades of vacations with my late husband. My reasons for joining, safety and luxury, where fully satisfied. Judging by the number of visitors to the Privilege lounge there seem to be a lot of new members and I hope the Club can keep up its high standard.

The resort is lovely and particularly the main building reflects the Mexican and Mayan heritage with its impressive artwork. I am glad that much of the original flora and fauna has remained undisturbed.

The hotel staff takes excellent care of the guests and once one has figured out the lay-out of the grounds, it is fairly easy to get around especially thanks to the golfcarts small and large. The food is very good and fresh with lots of variety. I practically turned into a vegetarian at the buffets in all three of the Bahia Principes. Each one of the a la carte restaurants is beautifully appointed and most of them could easily compete in any Northamerican city. I am not surprised that many of the guests have been at the resort a number of times
All in all, a memorable experience for all the best reasons.
If you are reading this, thank you again at the Privilege Lounge!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuckyKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivilegeClub, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear LuckyKind,

On behalf of Bahia Principe Privilege Club we want to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Grand Bahia Principe Coba and your first experience as a Privilege Club member.

It is always heartening to learn that the expectations of our members have been surpassed. We are thrilled to know that Ana and the Privilege Concierge team in Mexico provided you with such exceptional assistance, as well as the hotel staff. We will be sure to share this feedback with all of them.

Your kind comments on the facilities are welcome and we are certainly happy to learn that you found the gastronomic offer diverse and tasteful.

We hope your membership continues to provide you with memorable vacations and to receive once more at Grand Bahia Principe Coba.

Best regards,

Stephany Tavarez
Customer Service
Bahia Principe Privilege Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was our 6 family vacation in your resort!! As always we have an excellent time!! Every customer service experience I had was excellent, ALL the staff were VERY friendly and helpful. Hopefully we will be able to visit your resort next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danuta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for all your comments. We feel that our effort worth it when we read that you enjoyed your stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We are happy to know that every time that you visit us we fulfill your expectations once again. It was an honor to host you on your 6th stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant experience.

Kind regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
21.0 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#67 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,394 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing