We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent at all!!!We remained are happy with all.Spesial gratitude we express to cooks and cleaning of numbers.Very beautiful nature,is a lot of green pants and especially amusing wild animals,who very much please and lighten mood.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jornhoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Words like yours make our effort worth it, that is why in the name of all the Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts’ staff we would like to thank you.

It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your holidays and we made you feel comfortable and enjoyed all the facilities.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kindest Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels on the Riviera Maya
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13,976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,434 - 5,440 of 13,976 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here last year in Oct and again this year. Love the resort as it is big and we like to walk. Trollys come every 5 mins so if you do not like to walk no problem. Room was always clean. Loved the A La Carte Resturants. Gourmet and the Don Pablo were our favorites. If I had to say a negative thing it would be the bus ride there from the airport. Long! Heard they might be putting in a airport in Tulum.

Room Tip: Get in the game like everyone else and rsvp your pool chairs with your towls. Doesn't seem right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for this kind review regarding your stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We truly appreciate it. We are pleased that your expectative was fulfilled.

The goal of all the services we offer is to make our guests feel comfortable and satisfied. We are proud of reaching it.

It will be an honor to welcome you back.

Our kindest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just returned from a 7 day family 2 Adults + 2 Kids (10yr & 13yr).

When we arrived on October 14th, we were welcomely greeted at the front lobby desk for our check-in and given a welcome drink. Check-in process went very quickly and smoothly.

We then made our way to our room 31614 in Unit 16A, which was close to the large pool area, so we were happy. Upon opening our door we noticed a strong foul musty smell, which we reported to front desk and our SunQuest rep, and it went unresolved and no room change was possible. This was unfortunate but we were not going to let it harbour our vacation we were set out for.

Upon dropping all our luggage and changing we made our way down to the pool, which was fantastic to say the least, HUGE with tons of activities. We found each morning as long as we were out of our room and to the pool by 8:00am we were guaranteed lots of seating options, however once 8:30am rolled around, most spots were filled up for the remainder of the day. So we had our chosen spot each and everyday we spent at the pool without issue.

One thing to note was the mattresses on beds were like sleeping on a board.

The only oner negative thing for us, was we found the beach quite a trip when we are used to it being walkable, we had to take the trolley service each time, which was made quite convenient as there are constant rides going day and night to all aspects and other resorts (Akumal & Tulum).

The buffet was fabulous, excellent food and great service. Only on a few occasions did we have a bit of a search for a table, but whenever a manager saw someone searching, they had someone clean up a table immediately and got you seated. The only thing I would comment on here is the food seemed to stay the same each and everyday, so by the end of the 7 days we had enough of the buffet :). I wouldn't have wanted to be here for 2 weeks eating the same food.

The a la carte restaurants was a frustrating piece for us, we arrived on a Monday at 13:00 and promptly made our way to make reservations for the week, to be told nothing much was left at all, to the point our only option for Mikado was a 10:30pm reservation, and then to further find out that two of the already sparse restaurants were closed until further notice, so the overspill was onto the other restaurants, but was not given the option to possibly book a dinner at one of the other restaurants. We decided to take the late night reservation and were not very impressed with the food quality here as opposed to other Tepanyaki restaurants we frequent.

The rest of our week was fantastic, the weather couldn't have been better and the hospitality was great. We frequented some of the shows, and the MUST see is the Michael Jackson show, which we had previously seen in Bahia Principe Ambar in Punta Cana and was just as amazed, as were our kids sitting 2nd row!

The Playa Coba was excellent, and again as long as we were there by around 8:00am-8:30am we had no issue getting a cabana hut and chairs. Lots of music and entertainment down here and is just beside the Akumal resort, so we had no issue eating and using the pool as we wished.

You will be approached often as you walk past the Prestige (Time-share) sales people in the lobby, which was a bit frustrating and annoying, however just ignored them after the first few times.

Our biggest disappointment came with our SunQuest rep, who sold us a morning tour to Tulum, yet never scheduled our pickup at our lobby as he told us to be waiting at for 8:30am and then was nowhere to be found, the front lobby desk was great in helping us by calling the other resort (Tulum) that he was scheduled at that morning, only to be told all reps were in a meeting. So we were stuck there, paid for a tour and no pickup. The lobby assistant then went further out of her way and contacted the tour company, who then had a special van pick us up and bring us to meet up with the group. The remainder of the week we were unable to contact our rep (Renand?) and dealt with another rep in our hotel from SunQuest to determine our pickup time to head home.

Check-out process was just as well done, quickly and smoothly.

All in all we had a fabulous trip and would definitely go back again, possibly staying closer to the beach this time at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 16A Room 31614 which is a great location close to the large pool area if this is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Matthew,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. It is a pleasure that your family enjoyed our facilities. The most important for us is to make you feel comfortable.

Your suggestions are welcome and valuable. We will review them to improve the quality of our service.

It will be an honor to host you again at any hotel of our chain.

Redgards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just recently came back from Bahai. Had a very large group of 15 people ranging in age from 2-62. We had a great time. This resort is perfect for families of all ages. The kids loved the waterpark and kids club. There was an endless number pools to choose from. The Hacienda was great plAce to have a couple drinks and shop at night. The staff was amazing. Overall great experience. Would recommend this resort to anyone, as it has a little something for everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gchahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user;

We are Thankful that you shared your experience. Your valuable comments make us feel our effort worth it.

It is a delight to know that you enjoyed our beautiful facilities. It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction of our hotel standards.

Sending you our warmest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The rooms in the GBP Coba are all junior suites and are very spacious, clean and comfortable. They are just as pictured on their website. This was our second time to this resort. There are 3 resorts in one here. You have access to all of it. This includes your choice of 3 buffets. As well as a-la-carts that you make reservations for. We personally liked the Akumal buffet best.
The pools are very clean with friendly bar staff. We prefer the quiet pools. So we cannot comment on the activities or the activities pool.
The beach is also very clean. My complaint is not about the staff but rather the guests who feel that the beach sand is a giant ash tray. There are ashtrays provided, I wish people would use them. There are many palapa and lounges. However, we noticed that in the morning it may be difficult to find one available. By lunchtime the beach tends to clear out a bit and it becomes easier to find a lounge under a palapa. The beach is not far from any of the resorts. The Coba is the farthest and it was a short 5-10 minute walk, depending where your villa is. Or a short trolly ride.There are trolly type cars that run around the resort so you don't always have to walk. It is their on site transit system. The drivers are very friendly and most speak English quite well.

The water is so clear and great for snorkelling. We recommend that you take your own mask and snorkel. We have found that swim fins are not necessary and take up a lot of space and weight in your luggage. The water is so salty that you are very buoyant. Don't forget your waterproof camera. There are many colourful fish in chest deep water. As a guest you are able to use un-motorized water sport equipment for one hour per day. The problem is that you need to be there first thing in the morning to make your reservation for that day.

There are on site companies to talk to and book off site excursions with.There are many you can choose from. You can also do things on your own. There are taxis that wait at the entrance to the resort. Or you can use the local transit system called the Collectivo. These are White 12 passenger vans and they say Collectivo on the side (the name is about the size of one those magnetic signs many companies use). The cost is $3 U.S. They also wait outside the resort. Note- they too have a rush hour, and the collective is busy at this time (5 pm) They make several stops along the way. When you board the van let the driver know where you are going and he will drop you at the nearest stop. This is a great way to get to Playa Del Carmen ($6 U.S. return) versus $30-$35 each way for a taxi. You give the driver your fare when you are getting out at your destination. If you want to travel south you will need to wait on the other side of the highway.
The resort is very clean, friendly and most of the staff speak at least some English. Tipping goes a long ways here. Try tipping a worker you may not usually think to, you will get a warm and fuzzy feeling from the smile you will get.

Room Tip: All rooms in the Coba section have balconies. I think it would be a personal reason for which villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craftymom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We are thankful for your nice comments. We are very happy that you had a great time at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and that we made our frequent guests feel pampered.

It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your third holidays at our hotel.

It will be an honor to welcome you again.

The kindest Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great time at Bahai Principe at the beginning of October. Few bad things but at the end of it all the vacation was amazing.

The Bad - drive from the airport was horrible. A little over 2 hours with all the stops. Ride back to the airport was faster since we were in little vans instead of a large coach bus. It also helped that the driver was probably driving 140 all the way. The other negative comment would be the inconsistency with the minifridge. Hit and miss when you would get water or not. Anyhow, you can search out the cleaners and simply ask. A little tip goes a far way with the cleaners.

The Good - Once you got to the resort there are just too many good things to say about this resort. Beautiful grounds, great management, good food, great restaurants (reservations required), spacious rooms, lots of activities and the pools were amazing for us and the kids. You will not be disappointed in this resort (unless you are a picky person). We had medical issues on arrival and during our stay. Management was on us and helping within minutes. Charlotte Anze (fogive the spelling if incorrect) was absolutely amazing. She truly knows how to be a manager. Our vacation could have turned out much worse but with the help of Charlotte it seemed to make our vacation just fine. If I ever go back to the Maya, this resort would be my first choice. 3 different resorts to choose from and lots of activities to do at the resort or away from the resort.

Tips - if you want to be real close to the beach stay at Tulum or Akumal. If you want a HUGE pool and kids pool then stay at Coba. We only ate at the Coba buffet but the food was great there. Restaurants were great - try the Italian, Brazil and the Japanese. Great service and food at all 3. Lots of Mosquitos so bring lotion or spray. They are absolutely silent and you will get lots of bites. Head to Akumal Bay Beach if you can. Amazing public beach and you can swim with the turtles. Bring your own snorkel gear and take a cab there for $17US. Lots of fish and turtles to see here and the beach is just perfect. Golfed once at the 18 hole course and had lots of fun. Super hot so try and get out at 7 in the morning if you can. Cost is $55 for cart and $45 for club rentals. The course itself is well worth the $100. Last tip is to tip if you can. These people work their tails off to please you. I would say that about 90% of the workers there are amazing. Always get a friendly hola and smile. Servers in the restaurant were all amazing. Other than that keep in mind that you are in Mexico and relax.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Andrew,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for choosing us to spend some relaxing days and for sharing your kind comments about your experience.

Our main aim is to fulfill our guests’ expectations. These nice comments about us make us feel we have reached this goal. We are happy you had fantastic holidays and we made you feel at home.

We will be more than happy to transmit your greetings to the staff.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had an excellent vacation for our 40th wedding Anniversary.I am just going to make this short because other people already posted alot of things I would say also. Since this was our 5th visit they gave us gold bands. When it comes down to it not much different from other bands only a few perks.There are a few things I found to be not as good as previous trips. Someone had mentioned it might take a while to order a drink, this is because they only have 1 bartender on at a time most of the time.The rooms realy had a musty smell which we find it hard to get out of our clothes.We were there for 2 weeks and the bedding was not changed, it always felt wet. We hung around the quiet pool for our last couple of days, but it was not relaxing parents letting their children yell and scream for 8 hours a day, snorkling in the hot tub and splashing, you found it hard to go and get towels because a few families pulled their loungers by the pool and all the kids blow up toys where in the way..didn't they realize that there is an activity pool right beside the kids waterpark.....This was our 5th visit not sure if there will be a 6th because of parents letting their kids run wild....other people are on vacation also.Very great people at this resort..Omar at the buffet...Victor taking your bags when you arrive....and many others who made this stay great. You will not be disappointed at this resort great value..The weather was sunshine and high 80s temp.

Room Tip: Rooms in villas 22, 23, 24 are close to the waterpark and lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suesweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment about your 5th stay at Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. Our aim is to get the maximum satisfaction of all our guests, even more when it comes to our frequent ones.

We are happy you had fantastic holidays. Regarding your suggestion, we assure you that your observations are very important for us and all of them have been reviewed to take actions where is necessary.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera

Cordially,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 23 in Akumal
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $139 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing