We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14,262)
Filter reviews
14,262 results
Traveler rating
7,871
4,054
1,467
500
370
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,871
4,054
1,467
500
370
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier lobbycozumel buffetle gourmeta la cartesfishgolden lobbysnack barplaya del carmenquiet poolakumal beachshow tablemichael jackson showmain buffetother resortsgreat resortdon pabloactivity pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,736 - 5,741 of 14,262 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The resort is quite big and well maintained. However the shuttle service is top notch and you can easily get from one end to the other on the shuttle without waiting very long. Checking was a breeze and we were quickly brought to our room. The rooms are quite large and clean. Nothing to write home about, but above average. The pools are quite busy and getting a chair around the activity pool isn't always easy. The beach is protected by man made reefs. The water is calm, sand is a little rocky at entry, but you can wade and relax in 4 feet of water. Great for the kids. A lot of sun chairs are available and there's a bar on the beach. (Sometimes have to wait a while for a drink though) The buffet was very ok. A bit of everything except in the morning if you eat late. The à la carte restaurants were good. The service however was excellent in all of them. Evening show were sub-par.

All in all, I would go back to this resort with my children, but would choose another resort for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

First of all we would like to let you know that we really appreciate that you decide to visit Grand Bahia Principe Coba. It is kind of you to take your valuable time to share your opinion.

We are delighted that you have spent your holidays with us. It is an honor to know that we could fulfill your expectations. The goal of all the services we offer is that our guests are comfortable and satisfied.

Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Eight of us went to the Coba Sept 4-11th 2013. 4 people aged early 20's and 4 of us 40 to 50 y.o.

First off we hired Canada Transfers from airport to hotel. This was fantastic. I would recommend them any time. They were waiting for us when we arrived, we had asked for beers, water and cokes, all was there in a cooler. They even had cold wet face cloths for us. The ride back at the end of the week was just as good. It took about 1:15 hours or so to get to the hotel, it was great.

We were in building 22 and 23 which was right beside the lobby/buffet and on the other side the pool. That was good. We had a leak in our bathroom one night which was fixed that same day. My step daughter wasn't so lucky, her and her husband got a room that the AC wasn't working and was always humid. They went to tell the reception a few times, they came but never fixed it.

The service in the restaurants and buffet was fantastic. They are quick and efficient. Loved Maria. The food was good too. The wine was also good for a resort. One night we had a reservation for the Portofino, the restaurant was closed and no one told us. That was a disappointment. The 24 hour snack bar was closed the whole week we were there. By the way, no AC in the restaurants which I thought was really weird. And in September, its very humid. Lots of little mosquitos, by the way. Bring OFF and After Bite.

We all thought the resort was just too big. It usually takes us a day or so to start feeling like 'home away from home'. But that feeling never came, it was just too big for our liking. The trains are great, they come often etc. The drivers are great too.

The grounds were very well kept and the accommodation clean and well maintained.

No problem finding chairs at the pool and on the beach but don't wake up after 10. But that's not the hotel's fault, it's the guests that take many chairs per person.

So all in all, good food, great service but just way too big for us.

Lots of coatis, love those little buggers! So cute!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fireylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for your opinion. We appreciate the fact that you have shared your comments about your stay with us.

It is great to read that you were pleased by the staff. They will be more than honored to receive them.

We are truly sorry regarding the issues that you described. Please, rest assured that we have taken steps to fix it so that it does not cause further inconveniences.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Coba from 20th August-3rd September. On arrival we were taken to the premier lobby which is rather small and quite so not really for us as we have 2 children. The room was nice but the beds were tiny and there was only 3 of them. We asked for another bed for our daughter on 4 occasions but it never arrived. Me and my husband couldn't fit in a bed together so slept in seperate beds for 2 weeks, which isn't ideal! The air con was absolutely useless and I asked for it to be repaired but it was still too hot in the room! The hair dryer in the bathroom sparked when I turned it on when I first reported it to the premier lobby I was told it was normal? Really? The food was really lovely and there was lots of choice, the kids corner was great as was the fresh cooked meats, pasta and eggs in the morning! The main pool buffet restaurant is a real let down, all the food is uncovered and my husband ended up really ill and being rushed to a&e on our return. They should really operate a smaller menu but do an order and collect service like a fast food place, it would take away the risk of the food getting infected by flys. We have been to 9 all inclusive hotels in the Caribbean/Mexico and this is the first time any of us have been ill. We go away at least once if not twice a year so it's defiantly something he picked up in the hotel. I had to complain to manager in the main buffet restaurant because my daughters burger was uncooked and I was served chicken of the fresh cooked meat counter that was pink in the middle. It's such a shame because the hotel is lovely. The Japanese restaurant is amazing as are all the staff in there especially angel he was so attentive and re freshed our drinks without us asking. The staff threw out the whole hotel complex are all lovely and the entertainment team are amazing. The shows in the evening are the best I've ever seen in an all inclusive hotel! I would return to this hotel but we wouldn't eat any meat from the pool snack bar as its too risky.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annzo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for your beautiful comments. It is a pleasure to know that you had great vacations. Everything we do is for our guests to enjoy.

We are truly sorry for the problem that your husband experienced. Nevertheless it is important to remark that traveling can increase your chances of getting sick because the body needs time to adjust to water, food and air from other places, dietary changes, stress travel, etc.

For years our resort has worked with the Cristal Food and Safety company "Check Safety First", which is actually a renown British institution, that implied a system which assist and monitors safety and hygiene of food and beverage as well as its handling sanitary procedures and hygiene of employees as well as testing the water which is used for consumption for the customers. This program is based on the international method known as HACCP.
Please,accept our sincerest apologies. Rest assured we are taking corrective actions so we can offer the service our guest are worthy of.
It would be a pleasure to host you soon.

Regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just return from GBPC few days ago. Stayed for 10 nights and found it amazing! The resort itself is huge so you need to use trains for the beach but it’s not a problem and waiting time is usually 2-3 min. We read many reviews before and decide to email to the hotel to book a la carte restaurants we want and to provide with our preferences about building we want, floor etc. Surprisingly everything was as we requested. Service was outstanding, rooms very clean and large, mini bar full of soft drinks, water and beer. Drinks in bars were good and strong, mojito was the best I ever tried. Food was great - lots to choose from, desert station was really good. We tried Le Gourmet for my husband’s birthday and it was above our expectations - highly recommend to visit it, we also went to Japanese with show table and it was great, the only restaurant we don't like is Brazilian - food was good, but service is not. Beach is good, little rocky by the shore but with crystal clear warm water and good places for snorkeling. Internet is free on the lobby and working well. Shows was good as well but little below our expectations.
We went to Chichen Itza and I highly recommend this tour which also include visit to cenote Ik-Kil and colonial city Valladolid and dinner (purchased from Bahia tours on site for 75 $ per person).
Overall it was great stay and we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Buildings 23-27 close to everything
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

First of all we would like to thank you trusting us your holidays and sharing your kind comments about your experience.

Our main aim is to fulfill our guests’ expectations. These nice comments about us make us feel we have reached it. We are happy you had excellent holidays.

It will be an honor to host you in a near future.

Best Regards,
Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our fourth time vacationing in Riviera Maya area. The previous vacations were stayed at Dreams Puerto Aventuras, Grand Palladium, and Barcelo (referred to below as the other resorts). We were two families – 4 adults and 2 children, 6 and 7 years old. Thus, our targets were children-friendly and budget-friendly resorts. This year, Gran Bahia pricing was the most compelling and had the best value, so we chose it. We looked for resorts with a “water park” for children (kid pool with slides and animal structures et al). The other important factor was a calm beach for kids and with lots of fish for enjoyable snorkeling experience. The other usual factors are clean, comfortable rooms, nice restaurants with good food variety and quality, amenities, activities, service, etc. Overall, we were pleased with Gran Bahia resort and would return.

Grounds and facilities
• Go to this webpage for a layout sketch of the resort complex: resortsmaps.com/popup.html?maps/map-GranBahiaPrincipeComplex-RivMaya.jpg
• Layout – each resort has many 3-level buildings, each building has two sides: A and B. No elevators, just stairs. The buildings are painted with attractive, vibrant colors
• Size – 3 large resorts (Coba, Akumal, Tulum) + 2 smaller ones (Hacienda, Si’an Kian) in this huge complex. Seems larger than Barcelo and Grand Palladium (each also has multiple resorts)
• Well maintained trees, shrubs, plants, grass
• Wild life – coatis, iguanas throughout the resort
• Airy, expansive, open lobbies
• Comparison: largest of the 4 we’ve been to, but I found the grounds and landscapes at Barcelo and Grand Palladium to be more attractive

Internal transportation (trams)
• Many trams; efficient system
• Accommodating drivers. Late in the day, if there are not (or a few) other passengers, driver willing to take you where you want to go, even if it’s not his route
• Gran Bahia has the best tram system

Room
• Location – Coba resort is closest to the highway and furthest from the beach; actually has no beach (what they call Coba Beach is actually part of the beach of Akumal resort). Take a tram to “Coba” beach.
• Room was large and comfortable. For floor plan, décor – see photos
• Amenities – TV (CNN, BBC), coffee maker, safe box, bath robes, slippers, AC; however, no WiFi available in room
• Cleanliness – our rooms 301 and 302 were very clean. No bugs, no musty smells, no issues with beds, etc.
• Positive – our two rooms each got a complimentary lock for the safe (usually $6/day). Very nice!
• Comparison: better room than Dreams P.A. and Grand Palladium Kantenah, but not as nice Barcelo Maya Palace

Restaurants and quality of food and drinks
• Buffet restaurants have wide variety of foods to choose
o Fruits, salads and hot items from the grill were very fresh
o Dizzyingly choices for dessert; have multiple yogurts, ice creams
• We dined at these a la carte restaurants: Le Gourmet (French), La Gran Tortuga (Brazilian), Mikado (Japanese), Pescador (Seafood). Very good food quality and taste
• Alcoholic drinks were strong, not as diluted as at the other resorts
• Comparison: a la carte restaurants have the best food quality compared to other resorts, but foods at buffet restaurants at Barcelo resorts were better in quality and taste. Strongest alcoholic drinks

Service
• Check in and check out (including luggage transport) were quick. Upon arrival, they had planned for us to check in at the Coba’s Golden Lobby – second lobby for Coba and bypassing the busier main lobby. It’s much smaller, but also no line for check in or check out. Akumal resort also has a Golden Lobby in addition to its main lobby. Check in was a breeze, so we also used Golden Lobby for check out (even faster than checking in). Check in/out at the other 3 resorts paled in comparison. Barcelo was particularly painfully slow in check in/out
• Room change request accommodation – we were first assigned to two rooms in building 18, next to the highway and furthest point to the beach. Upon request, Golden Lobby manager moved us the next day to two adjacent rooms in building 3A, next to Akumal resort and closer to the beach. Very nice!
• Restaurant servers were all very friendly and interacted with us and other guests, always asking us if we need anything else,etc. Service with smiles! Bar servers (including lobby coffee bars) were quick and efficient
• Room cleaning – good; nothing remarkable. Our maid did not make animals from hand towels. Barcelo room cleaning service was better
• Tram drivers – also friendly; some are actually funny and joke around with other tram drivers when they pass by. Bell boys were quick in transporting luggage and calling taxis for us
• Excursion booking – we booked Xel Ha tour with Gran Bahia itself. They provide air-conditioned bus round-trip transport to Xel Ha and back, with a bilingual tour guide, all for the same price as at the ticket counter at Xel Ha. In other words, the RT transport and tour guide were complimentary! Sweet!
• Bottom line: Gran Bahia service was the best among the four resorts we’ve stayed at, hands down. Employees at the other resorts seemed more quiet and not as happy, and the service they provided seemed reluctant

Beaches
• Beach at Akumal resort, south of Akumal lobby is mostly rocky – not for swimming
• Tulum resort beach swim area is shallow but too narrow; good for children, not the best for adults who want long swims (okay for dipping)
• Beach Coba, next to Akumal lobby, is most scenic and best beach for swimming. However, we found little coral reef or fish. Beaches at Gran Bahia are not the best for snorkeling
• Comparison: Barcelo resort has the best looking beaches that also have coral reef with lots of fish for great snorkeling

Pools
• Many pools; attractive, appear clean, larger ones have swim up bars
• “Water Park” for children (see photo)
• Comparison: Barcelo also has the largest and best looking pools of the 4 resorts


Tips and suggestions
• Transfer to/from CUN: USA Transfers (aka Entertainment-Plus). Among lowest price, professional, courteous, prompt/punctual, comfortable vans with AC, safe drivers. $160 RT for private van for 6 persons.
• Layout plan on the web: resortsmaps.com/map-GranBahiaPrincipeCoba-RivMaya dot html
or resortsmaps.com/popup.html?maps/map-GranBahiaPrincipeComplex-RivMaya.jpg
• If not offered, then ask for a complimentary lock for the room safe box (usual price = $6/day)
• Kukulcan restaurant at Lobby Coba is largest buffet restaurant with widest variety of foods
• Eat breakfast and lunch at buffet restaurant at Lobby Akumal for proximity to Beach Coba
• The resort had assigned 4 a la carte restaurants for us (7-day stay) before our arrival. We got one of the restaurants changed upon check in. So research for the best a la carte restaurants before you arrive, then promptly request changes at check in (or before arrival). If booking for Mikado and if you want to see the chef’s cooking “show,” you’ll need to ask for it. Otherwise, you’ll likely to get just a regular table (but the regular table may end up having better tasting foods )
• Coffee bar in Lobby Coba makes the best espresso and cappuccino
• Try espresso “cortado,” (or just simply “cortado”) which is espresso cut with a little bit of warm milk. Just add sugar. We’re all hooked on cortado!
• Suggest tipping waiters, bartenders, room cleaning ladies
• The late morning exercise routines at the beach are fun to watch
• Go to the beach early or you risk not finding beach chairs. Some may think it’s rude to put towels on chairs to reserve them, but many guests do it. If you can’t beat them, join them (copying this tactic, that is)?
• Bring insect repellent. Use it before going to an a la carte restaurant with open windows for dinner. Ask for a table away from an open window! We were seated near an open window at Pescador seafood restaurant for dinner, and we became the main course for invisible biting insects (no see ums, gnats?) Had itches and bite marks for days!
• Go to Xel Ha (families with children); we liked it better than Xcaret. I have a separate review on Xel Ha

Down sides
• There are biting insects here, and we got bitten often. We did not see bug spraying trucks at Gran Bahia, whereas we saw them daily at Barcelo
• Not the best beaches for snorkeling
• Far from Cancun airport; farthest of the 4 resorts and almost to Tulum
• Too far from rooms/lobbies to main highway to take collectivo
• No in-room WiFi internet service (may not matter for many). WiFi available in/near lobbies
• Room upgrades not possible (could be due to booking through travel agency)

In summary, there are many things to like about Gran Bahia. This huge resort complex is attractive, well laid out and maintained, has an excellent tram system to take guests from point A to point B, has very good buffet and a la carte restaurants, inviting pools, and great friendliness and prompt service with smiles from its management and employees. For those where outstanding snorkeling for fish is not that important, then Gran Bahia should be on their top 3 list for consideration for booking. Among the 4 different Riviera Mayan resorts we’ve been to, we would return to Barcelo (best snorkeling) and Gran Bahia (best service).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Yellowshirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for your beautiful comments and for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We appreciate the time you took to share them with us.

Reading that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. Your comments about the friendliness of the staff are very rewarding.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience on the Riviera Maya
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews