We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Oasis Tulum(Akumal)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14,269)
Filter reviews
14,269 results
Traveler rating
7,874
4,056
1,469
500
370
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,874
4,056
1,469
500
370
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier lobbycozumel buffetle gourmeta la cartesfishgolden lobbysnack barplaya del carmenquiet poolakumal beachshow tablemichael jackson showmain buffetother resortsgreat resortdon pabloactivity pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,029 - 6,034 of 14,269 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We got rained the first 3 days ( note ) if it rains dont wait, look for shopping either in the resort or outside, go get your sovenirs out of the way.
Have not tried the room service ( not sure there was one)
Beach can be from rocky at places to very decent in others...( there are 3 resorts that share their facilities)
I found Akumal Beach to be more spectacular than Coba ( where I stayed) then Premier and last Coba,
As another traveler has mentioned ...no A/C in the restaurants but some if not all have huge windows that slide open and with a breeze it OK.
Make sure you reserve in ahead of time your a la carte dinners and then double check the reservations, our last night we were suppose to have a reservation that was either not put in place or put under a different rm number...
I found the directions you get from some of the staff a little vague and not quite accurate.
We did tip the house keeping and our room was imaculate for a 2$ a day ...
If you are looking for a trip , you can ask one of the guys that work there ( there are the ones that try to get you to book trips and other activities-)
We went to Mexico via Apples and they encourage you not to speak to others ( which is fine too) but you can make arrangement on your own and get them to take you with their personal car to say to see the beach with the turtles for just $ 20 as in oppose to double if not more...just ask around they need to supplement their pay and is a win / win situation
As far as the food goes ( Akumal) has a better selection , Coba seemed to be geared for families with kids so in our case it worked just fine, but you should not go to Mexico for food but for the sea and beach ...
Bottom line I would go there again!

Room Tip: Each vila holds about 4 suites ( or six) we were in 24B which was quite close (next to) swim up bar that closes at 6 PM (!) and front lobby. I assume the lower numbers are closer to the beach...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariusDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Marius,

Thank you very much for taking part of your valuable time to share your experience and recommendations with us and the tripadvisor community. we are very happy to read that you enjoy the facilities of the three hotels in our complex and all our services, for the Grand Bahia Principe Coba team will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon here at your Mexican Caribbean Home.

Kindest Regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels on the Mayan Riviera,

Ilse Saldaña
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Weve just got back really enjoyed the hotel the staff were very nice and accomadating from the bar staff, waiting staff and the cleaners nothing was to much trouble (and a few tips every other day dosen't go amiss you will find your mini fridge filled and your drinks around the pool brought to you on a regular basis if you want). The hotel has plenty of varierty so there should be something to offer everyone. We were told to book our meals in the al a carte as soon as we got there we ignored this advise so we didn't get the times in the restaurants we wanted our own fault but they still managed to fit us in at other times. don pablo and the mikado restaurants are a must lovely food lovely staff. The grounds are beautiful and well kept the place is spotless our only downside to our hols was the mozzies the place was infested with them while we were there which nobody can do anything about, bring plenty of sprays with you, if you can get past mozzies you will have a lovely trip

Room Tip: we had a junior suite superior larger than the average room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wibblesCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We are grateful that you take part of your time to share your experience and beautiful pictures with us and the Tripadvisor community, it is always a delight to read that we have meet our guest expectations, please be sure that we will transmit your nice words to all the members of the Grand Bahia Principe Team, we will be very happy to welcome you back here in the Mexican Caribbean.

Receive our kindest regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience on the Mayan Riviera,

Ilse Saldaña
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We vacationed at this location early April 2013. The resort is very well kept and looks like paradise. Although some rooms seem far from the beach you can get there by shuttle in just minutes. We had no problems getting chairs for 4 at the beach. The water was beautiful and although many locations in Riviera Maya have rocky shores this one is perfect. The resort consists of 3 hotel complexes so if you like walking you have quite a strip of beach at your disposal and you can eat at any of the buffets along the way.
This resort is very well kept. The food however leaves much to be desired. The buffet is fine and I actually preferred it to the specialty restaurants. The Italian restaurant was terrible and ran out of steak by 8pm the night we were there and we heard that the night before they ran out of lasagna. We also tried the Japanese restaurant. That was actually good. However we did not get a "show" table and when reserving nobody mentioned to us that we needed to specify we wanted one. My mistake I guess. Nightlife is somewhat lacking. Bars close too early and not really anywhere to dance. As far as location we were minutes from Akumel beach and the sea turtles, by cab, and had a wonderful day visiting. We also were very close to Xelha and enjoyed our day there.

I also had an issue with the A/C unit. The room smelled extremely musty. I wish I had thought about it more when I was there but many of the reviews I had read remarked that there was a musty smell and I took for granted it was normal. When I arrived home I had lots of problems with some asthma and I am sure it was from that. I wish I had taken a better look at the A/C because I am not the only one who has noticed it. My suitcases smelled terrible when I got home vi don't think that is normal and I urge the hotel to look into this. They have a beautiful place but I do think this is an issue.
Service in the restaurants needs to improve also along with quality of the food. Last year I stayed at Ocean Turquesa where the food was excellent but the beach was horrible. You can't change the beach, but you can improve your food and your maintenance on A/C

All in all though I had a wonderful time and would consider going back. However I would request another room if it smelled as bad as this one did. It was not normal. I suffered for about 3 weeks upon my return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Darlene,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your holidays during April here in Grand Bahia Principe Coba, we are happy to read that you were pleased with our effective internal transportation, grounds, beach and facilities.

The comments of our guest are very important pleased be sure that we have address your observations to the departments involve such as Food&Beverage and Housekeeping. We are very sorry that you did not share with us the inconvenience that you had with your room during your stay it would have been a pleasure to assist you.

We hope to have a second opportunity to provide you with a more pleasant experience.

Ilse Saldaña
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I took a 10 day vacation here with our 4 year old son from May 25-June 4th. Let me start this by saying this the first hotel review I write, however I have been to at least one all-inclusive per year since 2005, mostly in the Cancun-Riviera area so I have a vantage point to compare. In a nutshell, Grand Bahia Pricipe Coba is definitely not a 4.5-5 star resort like Secrets Excellence or Iberostar Grand, but it doesn't pretend to be. It's also a step-down from hotels like Riu Palace, Grand Palladium, or any of the Iberostar properties. The grounds are nice, but the service is just not there in Coba. The two other hotels on the property, Tulum, and Akumal has slightly better food and service (as well as better location), so we ended up spending most of our time there. Coba is very large, > 1000 rooms, the other two are smaller and weren't nearly as crowded. I will also add that we are decent tippers and it doesn't take much to make us happy, so the problems that we had with the service are directly related to this specific hotel. In the end we had a decent time, but sure had to work hard at it. I will break down the details below.

Hotel: The grounds were very nice, best part of the hotel. Clean, neatly trimmed grass, and plenty of tropical plants. They had a few different animals that run around all over the place. Coatis which are the local variation of Raccoons with long noses and slim bodies, Iguanas, and some kind of mammal that look like a mix between a rat and a squirrel. The property is very large but it's possible to walk anywhere given enough time. They do have trams that run about every 10 minutes to cut down on walking time, however in our experience it was sometimes faster to just walk from our building to the beach, a 5-10 minute walk. The trams frequently did not have room on them in busier times of the day. This property does not have a free hot Jacuzzi or sauna. There is a small gym though.

A major issue with the hotel, at least at this time of the year is there is no AC anywhere other than the rooms. Not in the lobbies, or the restaurants, or the theaters. When it's 90 outside and 60% humidity, it would be nice to have to put it mildly. Also, we had a few days of hard rain, and all lobby and restaurant roofs leak like crazy. Puddles of water everywhere with the staff frantically running around and mopping.

The crowd at this hotel was a bit different than what we're used to. The majority of the guests, I would say about 70% were from UK and Canada with the rest being from the US and elsewhere around the world. Other hotels we've been to have more travelers from the US and continental Europe. Mostly younger groups and also many families in Coba. In general we saw very few people tip and the crowd in Coba was very blue collar with most people having plenty of tattoos, etc.

Lobbies and bars: The main lobby in Coba was nothing special. Over-crowed most of the time with not enough tables in the lobby bar. The lobby bar is the only place in the entire hotel where you get waiter service. The Premier lobby, which is located between Coba and Akumal is smaller and less crowded. Various smaller bars are located throughout the pools and in the theater (no wait service). They did not have enough bar-tenders to keep up with demand resulting in long lines and grouchy clientele. It was very rare to see more than one bar-tender at a bar. As far as drinks, they were not watered down, but quality was very inconsistent, most likely due to overworked bartenders. You won't find any top-shelf liquor here. Jose Cuervo for tequila, Smirnoff for Vodka, Bacardi for rum, and Red Label for scotch are as good as it gets. Dos Equis is the the only beer available.

Food: The food was ok. A large selection of mostly mediocre items, although some of the grilled meats were quite good. The main buffet in Coba was by far the worst of the restaurants. Very large, crowded, less food selection than Akumal/Tulum, frequently runs out of verious popular items, and not nearly enough waiters to get any kind of service. We had the misfortune of eating a few meals here, and every time it was a major struggle even get one round of drinks to your table, if you even manage to flag down a waiter in the first place. We frequently saw a single waiter serving 15-20 tables. Not good. The buffets in Akumal/Tulum were much better in this regard, and had a little bit better food selection as well. The specialty restaurants were ok. Not really better on quality but at least the service was decent. We tried the Brazilian, Mediterranean, and Seafood restaurants. Word of advice, do not order steaks in the restaurants, they are very low quality.

Beach and pools: The beach is nice and long. They have many palapas but even more people so get there before 10:00 AM to get loungers in the shade. The water is nice and calm since they built barriers around the swim area to keep out the waves. Many small rocks in the water though throughout the whole beach. We frequently saw tropical fish right by the beach, so a decent place to snorkel. Each hotel has a loud "activities" pool as well as a quiet pool without any activities or loud music. Akumal has the best quiet pool while Tulum has the best activities pool right by the beach. Coba has the largest activities pool with the most drunk people in it.

Activities: The hotel is pretty good in this regard. They have Zoomba and other dancing in the afternoon on the beach as well as at the pool, many competitions and games by the pool as well as at the beach, beach volleyball, pool parties which can get kind of crazy at Coba with plenty of tequila consumed. Live music by the lobby in the evening followed by decent shows at 9 or 10 (depending on which hotel). They also have a club shared by all the hotels on the property which we never got a chance to visit.

Room: The rooms were nice but not fancy. Ours was on the 2nd floor. They do have Jacuzzi tubs though. Spanish style decor. The bed was somewhat on the hard side. Expect to be woken up in the middle of the night by drunk people yelling when they're coming back from the club. Room service decided not to clean our room the day after we arrived. After calling the front desk to complain our room, the room was cleaned decently there-after.

Customer relations: We did go to customer relations after the first couple of days do address our concerns with service, etc. We spoke to Anna, who I think is the one that responds to reviews on here. She tried to be helpful but in reality nothing got done to remedy the situation. No offer to move us to one of the other hotels on the property which weren't overcrowded. She also gave us some bad info by telling us that we could dine at the neighboring Sian-Kaan adults only property "with a reservation" (unprompted), but wasting 20 minutes each way on the tram to get there, were were politely told to screw off as of course it was not part of the all-inclusive.

One last thing, a word of warning. They try to up-sell you by having you join something called the "Club Premier". It's like a mix between a time-share and and having extra benefits at the hotel such as beach-front rooms, access to exclusive bars with waiter service, and better service in general. There is a multi-year $$$$$ commitment involved. It basically boils down to paying big bucks to have the same features/service as you can get at other better hotels for free. Seriously guys?

Room Tip: If you want quiet, 2nd or 3rd floor, as far away from the main lobby and activities pool as possible.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Alex,

Thank you for sharing your detail review of your 10 days experience here in our resort, we are happy to read that you and your family enjoyed our beautiful grounds and the wildlife around, the facilities of the 3 hotels of our complex.

We have had a meteorological phenomenon during your stay that unfortunately caused some damage in our Hotel, which was not in our control, 5 days with strong raining that become into Tropical Storm “Andrea”.

We are very sorry that we could not meet your and your family expectations, wished we could assist you with the inconveniences that you mentioned here when you approach two of our guest service for other matters. We appreciate that you share your observations with us and pleased be sure that we have address them to the hotel management.

It will be an honor of us if you decide to visit our resort so we can provide you with a more enjoyable experience,

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Can not find anything bad to say about this resort. Fantastic time great food staff very pleasant and helpful. Rooms cleaned everyday, grounds and beach spotless .Well done . Agree about transfer to resort with earlier comments. Disagree about the bartenders they were brilliant

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rovers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We are very happy to know that you had a fantastic time here in Grand Bahia Principe Coba, it is always a delight to know that our guest were pleased with our clean and beautiful facilities and grounds and great service. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sending you our kindest regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Riviera Maya

Ilse Saldaña
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews