We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice 100% satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent choice 100% satisfied”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I spent my weekend with my fiance at this hotel its an excellent hotel friendly staff we ate at the hotel's buffet, thanks to Samuel Lopez. We had an outstanding service. Will surely come back soon. Very nice and clean. thanks also for the reviews on trip advidor really helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sandystevens84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sandy,

We appreciate that you took part of your time to share your experience here in Grand Bahia Principe Coba, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us, we will enlighten our crew members, particularly Samuel of your satisfaction. It would be a pleasure for us that you return to visit us here at the Riviera Maya

Yours faithfully,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,473
    3,792
    1,369
    463
    322
See reviews for
4,823
5,561
102
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,663)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at the Bahia Principe Coba from May 11 to the 18th, 2013. My husband and I went to the Mayan Riviera 5 years ago and didn't really like the resort and didn't find the staff very friendly. We decided to give it one more shot and stay at the Grand Bahia Principe hoping that we would have a different experience. What can I say, our trip was amazing. This resort did not fail us one bit. The grounds are immaculate, the food was amazing, drinks, rooms, pools, service and everything else was top notch. Everyone at the resort was super friendly and I did not want to leave and am missing it right now. There was so much to do as you could interchange the other resorts. I think that my most memorable experience would be swimming with the dolphins. The only disappointment for myself and my husband was the beach. We have travelled to Cuba 9 times and the beaches there are much more beautiful. But this did not hinder our vacation as this resort made up for it in everything else they had to offer. Thank you to the staff for making our stay enjoyable and we will definetly be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in 8a which was very central to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tigerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear tigerOntario,

We really appreciate that you and your husband chose Grand Bahia Principe Coba for your second and recent visit to the Riviera Maya, we are very happy to know that you had an excellent time with us, it is one of our main objectives to fulfil the expectations of our guest and we are very happy to know that with you we did it.

Please be sure that we will transmit your nice word to all our team members, we expect to have the opportunity to welcome you again, here in your new home in the Mexican Caribbean.

Receive our warmest regards.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynolds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My friend and I were looking for a 3 night escape from the cold, rainy, grey weather in Illinois, so we booked this trip May 6- May 9, 2013 to Riviera Maya, wanting to spend less than $1,000 each for the entire trip. This resort was the perfect choice. With our booking, we received one night for restaurant dining, and we chose Portofinos for an Italian meal at Coba. For our other evening meals, we tried the different buffets at each resort. We ate breakfast and lunch poolside at the snack bars. For exercise, we did not use the shuttles between resorts, so we got lost quite often. The experience was full of laughter. By the 3rd day, we finally found the most direct route from our room to the pool. The pool outside of our building had continuous activities, so we opted for the "quiet" pool to read and talk. Coba is not on the beach, so if you are looking for a room actually on the beach, you will want to choose Talum or Akumal. We were able to access the internet on our iPhones in the resort lobbies for free. We took this trip without our husbands, and we felt very safe at this resort. We were not interested in sightseeing or shopping, so we did not leave the resort. We arrived before check-in time, so we could not go immediately to our room. We received our wrist bands, so we were able to relax and have lunch and drinks until our room was ready. The rooms were very spacious and clean, and the resort staff was beyond helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful. The clientele is very international, so we heard many different languages spoken. We will definitely return to this resort again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryD6529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Mary,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking part of your time to share with us and the tripadvisor community your experience from your recent visit to the Riviera Maya. For the Grand Bahia Principe Coba family it is a delight to know that you were pleased with our installations, and that you had an unforgetable and relax holidays.

Looking forward to welcome you and your friend again here in the Mexican Paradise for an other wonderful experience.

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I visited Gran Bahia for the 3rd time between May 12 to May 20 2013. The services have changed dramatically, and not for the better. We notified the resort in advance of our returned visit, with small requests that were ignored. We spoke to approximately 15 different guests, all agreed the services are not reflective of a 5 star resort. First time guests were upgraded, yet loyal customers such as my wife and I were not acknowledged. When we approached staff for hot water in the morning, staff were rude and unhelpful. When selecting the a la carts, we were given very few options for times to eat, yet the a la cart restaurants were half full most of the times. The resort seemed to be completely understaffed. In the evenings, we were waiting 15 to 20 minutes to receive the drinks we ordered. The services were much better at Akamul than Coba, which is reflective of the overall management at Coba. We signed up for the Priveledge Club tour, and the sales pressure was unreal to commit to purchasing the time share on the spot. On several occasions, the bar on the beach was unstaffed for several hours, leaving guests without basic services. I have read many of the reviews, and it seems that the hotel guest services only respond or comment on positive reviews. I would like to see them respond or comment on this review. We stayed in Villa 31A, room 33114.

Paul & Anita from Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Paul and Anita,

On behalf of the Grand Bahia Principe Coba team, we would like to apologies again for not approach your holiday expectations, we are truly sad that even our Guest Service Manager , Food&Beverage Manager and the Hotel Director himself, try their best, we could not fulfill your expectations.

As you personally discuss with them, we appreciate your comments as they are very helpful to improve everyday the quality of our services, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to provide a better experience.

Receive our warmest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have been to Gran Bahia Principe Coba twice and will be going again this year. If you have very high standards, be aware that this is not five star luxury, but it is a very nice place at a very reasonable price and I highly recommend it. The resort is clean and relatively quiet, and the grounds are beautiful. The beach there is perfect - there is a reef right along the beach and lots of tropical fish. The staff is friendly. The rooms are fairly standard, but comfortable and clean. We love that we rarely have to worry about anything there -- everything is included and we can just relax for the entire vacation.

There are only two negatives that I can think of -- the rooms smell a bit musty (which I'm sure has to do with the humidity and can't be helped) and the food is only mediocre (lots of variety but somewhat bland - nothing special). I recommend reading the forums here to get comments on what restaurants are best and other tips for a better stay.

If you go here, I highly recommend a trip to the ruins at Tulum. It is only about 15 minutes away and one of the most beautiful places I've ever been.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houswhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear "houswhit" ,

On behalf of the Grand Bahia Principe Coba team we would like to express how much we appreciate that you take part of your time to share with us and the tripadvisor community your experience from your visit last June to the Riviera Maya.

We are very happy to read that you were pleased with our facilities, services and the hospitality and spirit of service of our crew members. The feedback of our guest is very important and we take it very serious as it is an excellent tool to improve the quality of our services. Please be sure that we will transmit your observations to the departments involve and to the hotel management.

Looking forward to welcome you a 3rd time here in the mexican caribbean.

Ilse Saldana
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danvers ma
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

this is my 5th time at this resort. i travelled with my 33 year old daughter this year. she had a great time. we stayed may 1st-16th at coba. it just gets better every time. all the staff there work so hard all day. always have a smile on their face as they say hola. the resort is spotless no matter where you go. the food at the buffet is great. you can always find something you like even if you are a picky eater. the waitstaff there cant do enough for you. always with a smile too. the alacartes are great. we ate at mikado (show table) gran tortuga dolce vita, portofino and arlequin. always good food and excellent service. the entertainment team always keeps you busy with stretching, volley ball water polo zumba and a pool party that is a little crazy. my daughter was never bored. she met alot of people there. my favorite person at the resort is felix
he is the man. he goes out of his way to make sure everything is going right. any problems he will fix. he is an asset to this resort and knows how to make people have a good time. we swam with the dolphins, went to explor for ziplining, and playa del carmen for shopping very safe to do this. we took a colectivo with no worries. there is no better place to spend your vacation and be treated like a queen. the rooms are spacious and the fridge is filled daily. the maids always make towel animals for the bed (what a talent) the check in was fast as was the check out. everyone always has a smile on their faces. it is a beautiful resort and i will be returning next may 2014. thanks to everyone there for making our vacation a special memory

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redhead5362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear "redhead5362",

We are very pleased to read that you and your daughter enjoyed the activities, the facilities and the hospitality of our team. We would like to express how much we appreciate your loyalty to Grand Bahia Principe Coba, that it as become your home here in the Mexican Paradise. We will share your nice words with all the members of our great work family. They will be very happy with your satisfaction particularly Felix.

Looking forward to your 6Th visit in May 2014,

Sending you our kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at Gran Bahia Coba. This was our first time at this resort and overall it was a good affordable vacation.

Pros:

Beach was nice - did not have a problem finding chairs/umbrellas and we enjoyed the wave-free ocean (some spots towards Akumal beach were more rocky than Coba beach). Had to take the tram to the beach - too far to walk. Food and drink very close to beach area. Drinks were made well (not too weak at all) and the bar service was good.

Overall grounds are gorgeous - very well manicured. Iguanas and coati roaming everywhere.

Although the resort is spread out, we did a bit of walking (our choice) but trams were always available when needed.

Golden upgrade was worth it - included Premere lobby and computers at (best part of the upgrade) and an extra al la carte restaurant. The Club Golden lobby was closed throughout the duration of our stay so I cannot attest to that portion of the upgrade.

Pools seemed to be everywhere - we spent most of our time at the beach but we noticed that umbrellas were reserved very early (7am) with towels at the pools. There were quiet pools and one with a dj.

Areas of improvement:

You get what you pay for - especially in terms of the food. We are pretty picky healthy eaters (I am a vegetarian) and we had a difficult time from the start finding food that tasted good. I ate salads most of the time at the buffets...The mexican food was probably the best choice. The desserts looked good but tasted all the same (like cardboard). Most of the better choices ran out quickly (especially at breakfast) and were not replenished at all. The service at the buffet was slow and most of the dining facilities (including a la cartes) did not have ac.

The a la carts were hit and miss but most were better than buffets. Le Gourmet was our favorite and the service there was exceptional. The all of the restaurants there should emulate this place...

Our room had everything that we would need but there is definitely a musty smell that you will take home with you. Our housekeeper Laura was veryfriendly and was available when we needed. We had to ask for our fridge items to be replenished (multiple times and days).

People working at the resort were friendly but we found that things were not very clear - For example, when we arrived to to check in the golden lobby was closed and they just dropped us off at another lobby and took our luggage without telling us what was going on. Then someone someone tried to take us back to the airport once we located our luggage. You often have to ask mutiple people multiple times to get anything done or questions answered.

The drive from the airport is long but not unbearable. We used Lomas travel for our transfers and they were phenomenal - extremely professional, organized, punctual and provided top-notch service (even helped us with our luggage and checked us in at the airport upon our departure). The resort is very large and can take a few days to become oriented. Once you find the shortcuts, getting around is MUCH easier. We went to a few of the shows for something to do in the evenings as there was not too many options for after-dinner entertainment. The resort seemed very family friendly and had accomodations for all types. The resort draws a diverse crowd from all over the world and we met a number of great people while we were there.

Room Tip: We emailed ahead of time to request a 3rd floor room. Although we were given a 2nd floor room, it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelInspector420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear "HotelInspector420"

Thank you very much for your detail feedback and nice pictures, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your Golden Package, our facilities and wildlife around, furthermore we would like to express how useful your comments and observations are to our improvement program, as in Grand Bahia Principe Coba we are always looking for excellency.

I would like to share with you that our Housekeeping departments it is not in charge of filling the minibar, we will transmit your observations in order to take the necessary actions to prevent this from happening again.

We hope to have a second opportunity to provide you with an incredible experience,

Kind Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
143.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
143.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
166.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
155.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,655 reviews
149.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
148.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BP Travel USA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing