We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value at a wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great value at a wonderful resort”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our second stay at GBP Coba. We were there Feb 14-21 2013. We have never stayed at an all inclusive twice before, but brought a couple with us and wanted to guarantee a good time, so we decided to re-visit Coba.
We flew with Westjet using Sunquest vacations out of Toronto.
Westjet crew were great, alot of fun. No issues at airport or customs at either end of our trip.
I had pre booked private transfer for the first time ever. Coba is a fair drive from the airport, and we didn't want to risk loosing a minute of our vacation making stops at other resorts along the way. Sometimes the provided bus transfer works out just fine, but for this trip, we didn't want to chance it.
I booked Canada comfort for $124 return for 4 of us. So a little $16 per person each way provided us with a driver meeting us at Cancun airport, nice cool lemon scented washcloths, the beverage of our choice (Corona) and a private ride in a new air conditioned van with our own friendly guide to the resort! Well worth the money in my opinion!
We arrived at the resort in about an hour. I had emailed Felix at the resort ahead of time with our room request, and our a la carte bookings. All of which were granted and arranged when we got there! Our a la carte reservation tickets were already printed and waiting with our room reservation.
We were assigned building 11 in coba. It was fine, I don't think you can really go wrong with any room. The resort is SO HUGE every room is close to something!
The room was comfortable and cleaned every day with a nice towel art to greet us daily. We left our maid a $5 tip per day for her great work. Our mini bar was stocked daily with beer and pop, and on a few days, chips and chocolate bars! No musty smell that was out of the ordinary and our air conditioning worked fine.
The meals were good, the buffet has an incredible amount of choices, however, I found i usually ate the same thing. We tried 4 a la cartes. Arlequin, Don Pablo, Mikado, and Grand Tortuga. We enjoyed them all, but Grand Tortuga the least. The reason for this was lack of staff. The few that were there worked very hard, but there was not enough staff to service the guests that were there.
We went off resort to Akumal beach by taxi to snorkel with the turtles AMAZING!! Hi light of the trip for me. Enjoyed a beer on the beach at the Lo-Ha restaurant. We also went to Playa del Carmen one afternoon/early evening to shop and see the beach. Again, well worth the trip. Very good shopping on 5th avenue, and the beach, with the ferries over to Cozumel are worth seeing. Very beautiful.
Back at the resort, we used the pools mainly, but did enjoy swimming and snorkeling in the ocean. Beautiful beach. Yes, the towel game is in full force. We saw people remove other peoples towels from their loungers if they weren't using them after about half an hour....this always led to a heated exchange!!! It's one thing to hold your lounger for a half an hour while you go eat...but all day and never use it...come on people..that's just rude!!! I don't think this will ever change though.
The Coba main pool was very lively with alot going on. The new kids waterpark seemed to be a hit with the children.
There is an occasional extended wait for golf cart transportation around the resort, the only time it was an inconvenience was when trying to make it to dinner reservations on time. Otherwise, we were never in a hurry to get anywhere, so it wasn't a problem. It helps once you figure out which carts go where. The drivers are very friendly and will help you out if you are polite.
The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful.
The only reason i didnt give 5 stars, is because of the lack of staff. The ones that are there are amazing!....there just aren't enough of them at times. And that is not the staff's fault. They all were going over and above in their service. Management just needs to hire more staff to make it a 5 star. Especially the bars and the Grand Tortuga restaurant.
I believe the Coba offers incredible value for your vacation buck. There is so much to do on the resort, as well as so much nearby off the resort. You are further from the airport, but closer to many of the attractions that the Mayan has to offer! Many of these attractions become self serve. You don't need to spend the extra money buying an "excursion" since everything is so close and easy to get to from the GBP location.
Although the resort is massive, they have laid it out very well and I never felt "crowded". It offers so much exploring of the resort over your vacation if that is what you want to do. Or you can find your favourite spot and just stay there. The resort can be as big or as small as you want it to be!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OntarioHockeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear OntarioHockeymom,

First of all we would like to thank you that you decide to visit us again, but particularly for bringing your friends with you and recommending us, it make us proud of our team work to know that you have an excellent time in our facilities and our surroundings.

The comments of our guest are an excellent tool to improve and reinforce the service, we have already send your observations to the Food&Beverage Manager in hotel Tulum and the Resort Management, as we are always looking for provide an excellent quality.

Thank you very much again for sharing your experience and pictures with us and the Tripadvisor comunity, it will be our pleasere to welcome you and your friends, again.

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,432
    3,747
    1,348
    444
    311
See reviews for
4,733
5,534
102
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,644)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I were at Coba from March 16-23. This was our 4th stay at the Bahia Complex and our 2nd at the Coba section. Once again, the staff were exceptional. A special thank you to Sid at Coba reception for getting us into a ground floor room, Felix for everything he does, Jose the smiling bellman at the Premier Lobby, Ofelia for her great service and Mauricio at the Cozumel buffet.
This trip we ate at the Gran Tortuga, Le Gourmet, Frutos del Mar, Mikado and Don Pablo. All were excellent, Le Gourmet and Don Pablo are still my favourites. We chose to eat our breakfasts at the Cozumel buffet. It's so much quieter, and has everything needed for a good breakfast. The staff all work so hard and do an amazing job considering that sometimes they were seriously understaffed.
Our days were spent by the Coba quiet pool. New this year was waiter service by the pool and a drink cart that we saw on a few different days. Nice addition!
Evenings were spent on the patio outside of the Daquiri Lounge. The music was much better this year and the volume was much improved as well, you could actually have a conversation while the band was playing. They need to look at getting more tables outside there, we counted 13 and many nights our group had more than half of them!
The grounds were immaculate as always, they are constantly cleaning, cutting, raking.
Hats off to the Bahia staff for all of the work they did in setting up for the Gaudy Shirt Night. The tables, stage, lights, ice sculpture, cake and bar. Absolutely amazing!
This is the only resort we've ever returned to, and we've been to many over the years. I'd recommend it to anyone and we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2nutz4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear 2nutz4travel,

We are fortunate to read that you and your husband have a great 4Th stay here in the Grand Bahia Principe Coba, we feel very honor that you were pleased once again with the kind service of all our wonderful team, particularly Sidharta, Felix, Jose, Ofelia and Mauricio and our beautiful, spotless facilities.

Your feedback is a useful tool to improve everyday the quality of our services, we are delight that you noticed some enhancements that we made and we will discuss your observations and suggestions with all the departments involve to have some more. It was a pleasure for us to organize the Gaudy Shirt Contest and we are definitely looking forward to next year contest, but especially your 5Th visit to your Riviera Maya home.

Sending you my kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The pictures on the website are good, But they do not give this place justice. The grounds are beautiful! Better than I'd imagined. The staff is always working on upkeeping and maintaining, we were vet impressed. Good is awesome, beach is beautiful! Expect to do a lot of walking, It will take you a couple of days to learn the layout of the entire resort because its very big and spread out. Wake up early to secure good door at pool or beach. I would stay here again!! Considering staying at grand Baha'is elsewhere in the future. Very impressed! Only thing I'd change is music selection don't let that deter u. Well worth the money!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Crystal T,

Thank you for making us and the TripAdvisor Community participants of your general impression, it is a delight to read that we have approach your expectations and that your holidays here in Grand Bahia Principe Coba were wonderful, your words are an excellent source of motivation to those who are members of our crew, it will be a pleasure to transmit your nice words and music suggestions to all the departments particularly the Animation Team.

It will be an honor that we would welcome you again here in your new Riviera Maya home.

Sending you my kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Bahia Principe Coba, we stayed there the last week of March. The resort is massive and well worth the money. There are many of restaurants, bars and pools to choose from! It really doesn't matter where you stay because you can venture to all three resorts. Do check out the Daiquiri Bar on the Akumal resort. The service there is the best! They take more time to make the drinks proper, the staff offer better customer service, the overall atmosphere is classier. They have a nice band that plays in the evening too. We highly recommend both Italian restaurants, as well as Le Gourmet restaurant. We did not enjoy the Brazilian restaurant on Coba grounds. If you are a wine drinker please bring your own bottle or buy a bottle from the restaurant, it is well worth it. The wine they serve on the resort is not good at all (served from a beer tap and cold!). The disco is ok, however, we enjoyed the band playing outdoors just outside the disco better. Coba has the best rooms if that is what you are into! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Coba has the best rooms! Akumal has the best drink service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Katie G,

First of all I would like to thank for having the courtesy to write your experience in the Grand Bahia Principe Coba.

Your comments are a very important motivation for all the members that composes our excellent team. We will enlighten to our personnel of your pleasure for their kindness services, particularly the Daiquiri Bar crew, they will be very happy to read that you were pleased with their services. Please be assure that we have sent your observations regarding the wine to our Food&Beverage Manager.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just got home from Gran Bahia Principe Coba, an amazing resort and the best all inclusive we have stayed at. We have only positive remarks for this resort. We were met by Nadia Makhova a Guest Services Manager who assured us that anything we wanted would be available to us.
Our room was in building 25 overlooking the quieter pool. The room did not smell musty at all as we had seen in many Trip Advisor postings. The food was very good in all the buffets with so much choice that there was something available for everyone’s palate. We ate at La Gran Tortuga (Brazilian), Le Gourmet, Arlequin and Don Pablo. We thank Hector Martinez for his continuous leadership in the Food Services. Everywhere we went we saw him as he was ensuring that food was at its’ best with amazing presentation.
We had a fiesta for Apple Vacation guests and met Felix Schlokat, a Guest Services Manager who went out of his way to ensure we were happy with everything in the resort. On our last evening we had a gala dinner, just for Apple Vacation guests at El Pescador.
We loved the large size of the resort because we could do something different everyday. The beach was best at Akumal resort and the pools were great.
We also want to thank Apple Vacations for all the perks we so enjoyed and to Nadia, Felix, Hector and Jorge, thank you, we will never forget you!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the quieter pool are in the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear MarilynH,

Thank you for taking part of your time to share with us and the Tripadvisor community your experience here in the Grand Bahia Principe Coba during your visit to the Mexican Caribbean. One of the most important aims for all our staff, is to provide our guest an wonderful and unforgettable holiday, we are more than happy to know that with you we approach it, we will communicate their especial mention to Felix, Nadia, Hector and Jorge.

We wish you all the best for back home and we are looking forward to welcoming you back here in your new Mexican Home,

Our kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Coba resort in November. Now we are headed back in June.. We check in June 23rd not even six months later... I hope we get the service we received in November.. I know we will, I love this place.. Coba is away from the high school partying that goes on in cancun, it is a very classy place with great people and worth every penny.... I hope Victor is still there as he treated us like royalty from day one our last trip... See you guys soon.. Can't come soon enough!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heatguy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear heatguy82,

As always it is a pleasure to read your comments about your time here in Grand Bahia Principe Coba, we are very happy to hear that you have already planning to visit us again, Victor will be very content to know that you still remember his service.

Looking forward to see you in June!

Sincerely,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at the Bahia Principe Coba the week of March 6 -13th, 2013 with my two teenagers. From the moment of arrival to departure, everything was excellent. We were greeted by Sidharta at reception/checkin with a warm and friendly "Welcome Home" which is given to returning Bahia guests having stayed at any other Bahia's world wide. Did not feel rushed in any way, all was explained and all of our questions were answered.
I have to say a huge thanks to Felix, Nadia, and Jose who run a great resort, make things happen and make you feel like you are coming home.
This is a large resort (4 in 1) with Tulum and Akumal closer to the beach, Coba in the middle and Sian Kaan across the road on the golf course. No matter where you are the trolleys are running continually and you can grab a lift to the beach or wherever very easily. Even from Coba it is only a short walk to the beach.
The whole resort is very clean and well kept. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and clean. Everything is replenished daily and timely. The restaurants, buffets, and a la carte restaurants are all top notch. I highly recommend trying Le Gourmet, Mikado, and Portofin's. Consider booking these ahead of time or on arrival. The buffet at Kukulcan has something for everyone on a grand scale and the Cozumel on a smaller more quieter side. The La Casita is open 24-7 and never busy but the service and food are great.
Rene at the Hibyscus quiet pool bar was friendly and accommodating looking after your every need all day long. The big pool has lots of things happening all day long.Make sure you hit the Cancun Lobby bar in the evenings for an after dinner specialty coffee - awesome. Although not required or expected at all, leaving a dollar or two for the maids, or other service you receive means so much and I certainly believe gets you exceptional friendly and thankful service. The evening shows are actually quite well done and very entertaining.
The beach is good and you can walk a decent distance if you choose. Some areas off the resort while walking have coral in the sand but flip flops will get you through no problem. Snorkelling along the bouy line reveals a fair amount of colourful fish. Take the collectivo to Akumal, 10 minutes away, and snorkel there to see the sea turtles and sting rays.
Getting around the Mayan is easy and safe. Lots of cabs (about $30. a cab full to Playa del Carmen) or grab the local bus system (collectivo) which is $3.00 per person each way. It's safe, fun and efficient. Just tell the driver where you want to go. The lobby staff and Bell boys will get you going in the right direction.
A great resort and a wonderful vacation. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 22, 3rd floor overlooking the quiet pool. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harry3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Harry3,

We are very happy that you and your daughter's have an excellent time here in the Grand Bahia Principe Coba during your visit to the Riviera Maya. We are pleased to know that from your very start you enjoyed the kindness and esprit of service of all our team members, Sidharta, Felix, Nadia, Jose and Rene will be very proud to hear about their especial mentions. Thank you very much for taking part of your valuable time to share your experience with us and the tripadvisor community, we will be more than happy to welcome you and your family again,

Kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
12.3 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing