We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Nearby Hotels
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$219
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$335
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$467
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Que Onda(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (14,262)
Filter reviews
14,262 results
Traveler rating
7,871
4,054
1,467
500
370
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,871
4,054
1,467
500
370
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier lobbycozumel buffetle gourmeta la cartesfishgolden lobbysnack barplaya del carmenquiet poolakumal beachshow tablemichael jackson showmain buffetother resortsgreat resortdon pabloactivity pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,433 - 6,438 of 14,262 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Room was a decent size and food was good overall. A la carte restaurants are overrated. It's hard to get a reservation and most of the time the buffet is just as good. Our room had a terrible mold problem and smelled terrible. Tried to get another room but desk clerk said they were full. Probably could have gotten another room if I tried everyday, but why should I have to? They should have offered. This is a 4.5 star hotel? Now that I'm home all my clothes smell of mold, even after washing.

Didn't appreciate getting hit up for condos and such every day. Also, resort seems to appeal mostly to overtanned, drunk baby boomers and young douches. Overall, a decent resort and a nice beach (go to the Tulum beach for the most privacy). And it took 2.5 hours to get there from the Cancun airport. Not fun.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brewr69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Brewr69,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel resort. It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are very concerned to learn about your disappointing experience and are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations.
As the hotel is located in the middle of the beautiful Mayan jungle, the humidity in the rooms it is something that our Housekeeping and Maintenance department do their best to eradicate this issue.

We expect to have the opportunity to welcome you again to be able to offer a more charming experience,

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a wonderful 9 night vacation at the Bahia Akumal. At first, we were worried about the massive size of the property. However, the layout made it seem much smaller. There was always space at a pool or on the beach. It never felt overly crowded or busy. The grounds were spotless, & the pools very clean. They offer both "activity" & "quiet" pools. We found the Coba quiet pool, quite relaxing. The property was beautiful with a lot of plants and animals. The staff were helpful and went out of their way to make our trip perfect. (We tipped often & they never acted like they were waiting for us to do so) The food was great. We made dinner reservations on our 2nd day and had no issues getting the options we wanted. The location is ideal if you want to snorkel or visit any of the area day parks which include cenotes, zip lines, caves, Mayan ruins and much more. If you desire a carefree all inclusive vacation, the Bahia is the way to go. We plan to return next year for a longer stay.

Thank you to the Bahia staff for making our vacation fabulous in every way!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeninidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Jeninidaho,

Comments like yours help us to improve our service every day. Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here at the Gran Bahía Príncipe Coba. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit at our facility and we will enlighten to our personnel of your pleasure for their kindness services.

We expect to have the opportunity to welcome you again here at your new Mexican Home.

Yours faithfully,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel was great. This is not my first rodeo, I have travelled tons, Europe, Mexico, Caribbean, USA and Hawaii etc. The staff was amazing. The food was good, yes they have buffets but also pool and beach restaurants along with gourmets. The key is to use the variety.

If you want to go to the beach either go early or after 1pm the crowds clear out then. If you like clear aqua water that has fishies and white sand beaches, here's your resort. If you like great service, here's your resort. If you like complaining here's not your resort:)

Yes beds are hard, but comfy. If you like soft ask for a topper, no problems. The only thing that sucked was the 5$/day safe price...say what?! Yes 5$. If you have delicate feet you may want to consider water shoes, it can be a bit sharp. I have princess feet and I was fine without them.

Go here. Experience for yourself how good it is. I am not sure what spoiled, heightened case of self entitlement planet some of the bad reviewers come from. This resort was great! We are going back and we are going to get married @ this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Saskatatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Saskatatoon,

First of all i would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba for your holidays, we appreciate that you take part of your time to share you experience with us. It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit at our facility and the friendliness and service of all the Bahia Team. We will share your nice words with all our departments,as comments like your are a very important motivation for all our crew. It is an honor that you decide to make us part of such important moment of your life as your wedding, we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I just returned from the Coba, stayed feb 25-Mar 4. Overall I had a fantastic time at the Coba, with a few minor problems. I traveled with a friend, and upon arrival we were checked into a king bed room. We notified the front desk, and asked if we could be moved. We couldn't that night, or the next day, and finally on the 3rd day of our trip, we were told another room was available, but we have to check out at 11am, stow our bags, and check back in again at 3pm. As we had plans for the day, this was not ideal. In the mean time, we had requested a cot be brought up to the room. We were assured 3 times by the front desk manager that a cot would be made available. The cot never appeared. Guest relations phoned on the 4th day to tell us the cot would be brought up, again, it never materialized. In this time period, we had an issue with out shower not working for 2 days in a row. It took 2 complaints to the front desk for this issue to resolved. When the shower issue was resolved, we decided to stay in our original room, it was clean, well kept, and spacious. Thanks to Gabriella (our housekeeper), for being so wonderful to us!
The resort was easy to get around, with use of the trolleys. The entertainment staff on all 3 properties are wonderful. They work extremely hard to keep guests amused and laughing. Special thanks to Ever and Charlie at Tullum, you both are fantastic employees! You always kept the party going:)
Mikado @ Coba was the best a la carte, definitely reserve the tapanyaki table. Miguel and Raoul were the best servers and chef! Also go and see Ruddy at the Music bar @ Coba, its a great time, and Ruddy will make it worth your time!
The Grand Bahia Principe Coba is completely worth it, and the staff is great.....however the front desk staff could be more accomodating and understanding of guests needs.

Room Tip: From what I hear from other guests, specific room requests are ignored. Ours was, but you can try. Rooms beside the pool and upper levels have a better view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelbelle_970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear kelbelle_970,

Thank you for making us participants of your general impression. Your feedback is welcome and valued.

We will review your comments with all our departments but especially the Front Desk and Public Relations in order to take the necessary actions to reinforce the service, also we will enlighten Gabriela of your pleasure for her kindness services.

We expect to have the opportunity to welcome you again to be able to offer a more charming experience here in the Grand Bahía Príncipe Riviera Maya.

Sending you my kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at this resort (room 32331, busy corner but well situated around everything) from Feb 26-March 5th. The hotel, the grounds are fabulous. I do not want to complain at all about this. We reserved our "a la carte" restaurants on line before going. It was great, no waiting in lines.
Our first incident happened when we dined at Portofino's. Their was a special on "Gazzela" wine which we all liked so we figured it would be worth the 20$ to buy it. WELL! It was a bad bottle to say the least. The maitre D did not want to change it, then proceeded to say that all the bottles were of the same year 2010. It's a "New Wine" and has to be served within a year!! any ways, we ordered another bottle of Pinot Grigio, it was bad also. At a 5* you would not have this, or at least not have an argument from the staff about it. Second incident was when we stepped into the "Premiere" area of the beach to simply get a glass of water at the bar. The bartender told us not to come back to this bar it was for Premier club members only. !! All inclusive duh!! It's OK, their beach was very slanted....
At the fish restauant "Pescados", i ordered Gruper. It was not Gruper, just white fish. It was good, but not Gruper.
No turn down service before bed, which I like because, they come in and make sure their is enough water in the room for the night and fresh (or fold the used ones) towels.
The buffets were very tasty but repetative. Go to the Cozumel Buffet. Quietter and very good.
The trollys come very often to go to the beach and around the complex.
We used the gym every day. Very good. It was actually better than I have seen in some 5*.
Lobby bar very good, actually all the bars are good. All in all, it was a nice hotel, would I go back, maybe if the price was right but I can usually get a real 5* at the same price. So if your not too picky on your food, they it's a fantastic place for you!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelercp102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Travelercp102010,

First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay here in the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba.

We are truly sorry to read the incident that you described in the Portofino Restaurant, that certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years, we have reviewed your comments with the Food&Beverage Manager and Housekeeping Department to introduce corrective actions and improvements.

Our aim is to be able to obtain the maximum satisfaction of all our clients. We are very sad of knowing that with you we did not obtain it. Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future.

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews