We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just got home yesterday from a week long stay at the Coba. We stayed at the Ambar in Punta Cana 3 years ago and really enjoyed it, and thought we would try this one out as it's the same chain again. To be honest, it was great to get away from Canada in February and overall it was good. We are pretty laid back and most things do not bother us when we go away, so this is more of an update only :)

Things that could improve:
Couple of things that were not what I would consider a 4.5 star resort, 3.5 - 4 at best
1. Beds are extremely uncomfortable - hard and you have to have them bring a mattress topper to try and make the best of them
2. Entertainment was the same thing every night. Karaoke overkill and no places to sit. There is such a lack of seating at the Coba that people sat on the stairs to the entrance of the lobby making it extremely difficult to get up and down them. Off the lobby was a "music" bar and they had the same band every night but one which they were off for the evening. Not the greatest, but hey it's what you get I'm assuming, but would have been nice to have some sort of assortment. There was a smaller location at the "premium section" of the resort in Coba, but people figured that one out and seats were also difficult to attain and again the music was the same everynight.
3. Pools - just a word of warning, if you do not get your towel on the lounge chairs by 6:30am you are SOL for the day.
4. Food - Buffet was acceptable but same thing day in day out, no variety whatsoever.
5. Beach was ok, but lots of rocks and lots of people -still able to walk it

Staff was great and no complaints at all, rooms were ok, towels limited, and lots of walking.

Overall, the sun was shining and there was no snow. I don't think I would go back to this location, but really I can't knock it. We did enjoy our stay and look forward to our next adventure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Keltray,

First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba.

We are delighted that you have spent your vacation with us and that you enjoyed your visit at our facility . All comments and suggestions are well accepted, our clients are the most important value in our chain.

Please be assured that we have addressed your review to every manager in order to take measures as we always strive for excellence in service. We will do our utmost and work to improve your next experience with us, we are looking forward to welcome you again in any of the hotel of our chain to provide you a more charming experience.

Receive our warmest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,136 - 6,142 of 13,762 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

it was my second time at this resort and i loved it even more! Activities, entertainment, food, service, beach and pools! everyone was very nice and welcoming and trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Haven't met a single rude person there (was in DR 6 month ago and everyone was super unfriendly there). Special thanks to a Russian speaking girl at Premier lobby (sorry, don't remember the name)- my friend's parents don't speak good English and she was very helpful and friendly. Victor and his animation team at Tulum - you were doing a great job - games, dances, sports - everyone had tons of fun! Akumal beach team was great as well - it was pretty amazing to see how they made all the people at the beach to participate in water aerobics. i know for sure that i will come back to this resort again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Valerie V,

First of all thank for have been chose Grand Bahia Principe Coba as your destination for your holidays and taking the time to write your positive impressions.

It is an honor to know that you really enjoyed your holidays and that we could fulfill your expectations. We will foward your lovely specials mentions to Nadia our Russian Speaking Girl and Victor and the Animation team in Tulum.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your parents again soon here in the Mexican Caribbean.

Receive our warmest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We traveled with 3 other couples from Feb 3-10. This was a roulette trip for us, and we didn't know where we'd be staying here until the Thursday before we left. We were VERY happy with this resort and any of the 6 of us would return in a heartbeat.

Check in: we arrived at 1:15 PM and were told our rooms would not be ready until 3 PM. We were expecting this and it was not an issue. they checked us in very fast and provided us all with our bracelets to be able to eat and drink. The 3 ladies we were with, fell in love with Jorge at the front desk. Look for him ladies, you will not be disappointed. :)

Rooms: Rooms are nice and spacious. they all come with the usual musty smell, what do you expect?, it's the tropics. Rooms were always cleaned very well. We had a minor issue with the pillows as they smelled rather sour. One call to the front and 3 fresh pillows were provided within the hour.

Beach/Pool: We mostly hung out at the quiet side on Akumel for the pool as there was access to the bar and the beach and bathrooms. The Beach there is not the best i have seen in my numerous trips to Cuba, D.R and Mexico, as it was rather rocky and not great for swimming, but if you take a tram or walk to the Tulum side for it's beach, you will not be disappointed. There was always enough chairs and palapa's to use, and getting up at 6 AM to reserve was not really needed.

Buffet/Restaurants: The wife and I have been to Cuba once, D.R 3 times, and Cancun twice. The buffet at this resort was by far the best we have ever had. Very big, lots of choices, and the food was actually quite tasty. Breakfast is always our favourite meal and the bacon was always plentiful and delicious. We only made it to 2 of the A la carte restaurants (you are only allowed to book 3 for the week you are there) We tried the Italian which was good, and the Mexican, which was also good. Our friends tried the seafood restaurant and were not too impressed, but sis remark that the salad bar was amazing there.

The only 1 complaint we had, and it really had nothing to do with the resort was the bus ride from the Airport. It was close to 2 hours in length. We were on a bus that had to stop and let other travelers off before we were dropped off. The Gran Bahia Principe is one of the farthest from the airport. If we had to do it again (which we might) we would definitely take a taxi from the airport directly and be there in just under an hour.

Overall the 8 of us could not have had a better trip. If we were to all go away again, we would probably go back to this resort again as it was really that good. I hope this review was helpful. Feel free to send any questions if there is anything you are wondering about.

Room Tip: Our travel agent requested a quiet room on the 2nd or 3rd floor away from the road that the trams tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear "Perianderson",

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and pictures,we are happy that you enjoyed your time here in the Riviera Maya.

For all the members of the Grand Bahía Príncipe Family the impressions of our guest are very important, we well forward you nice words with them, especilaly Jorge will be pleased to hear that you delight his service. Thank you again for your lovely words.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back here at your new Mexican home,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

we have been to coba twice in two years and plan to return many times more! this is a beautiful very large hotel complex, however it is very easy to get around with the shuttle service provided to the other areas of the resort which you are allowed to enjoy with no special upgrades. i cant say enough great things about the staff, cleanlieness, service and food! the pools are large and offer enough for family, couples, or single travelers. we do not have children however speaking with others on the resort , they praised the childrens club. the grounds are pristine, the food at the ala-carts were exellant, we realy enjoyed the asian as you can book a SHOW dinner where they cook in front of you! the beach is vast but the chairs do go quick, but at the pool we always found chairs. the shows were very proffesional, a different theam every night. cab ride into playa was 20.us. or take the Collectivo at the highway, very safe and only 1.50. you must go to the town center ( hacienda ) located within the resort for there thursday night mexican show...awsome, there is a small charge but well worth it....food drinks, great music!! as with most resorts now , there are time share people who trick you into a tour....whatch out for them in every lobby near the buffet! they will ask if you recieved your "special gift". this was our only complaint. there is a dolfin pool that you can swim with the dolfins (at a cost) but just looking was fun enough for us...free shows every day...located at tulum on the ocean. get yourself aquainted with ALL of the resort as soon as you can, so as not to miss anything. every hotel hosts different shows and music in there bars every night! the buffets have a wide variety of food....again...each hotel has different food choices, we enjoyed akumal buffet the best. have a great trip, go for ten days if you can, we went for a week and it was too short for such a great resort! i would not spend extra on upgrade to royal/golden club...you get enough without the extra money paid. viva Mexico! feel free to ask any other questions. thanks for reading!

Room Tip: a great central area close to pool and lobby central to everything is building 31. the best room wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Paul V,

Thank you very much for sharing your nice comments and beautiful comments, your preferences make us proud of our team work. We will share all your observations to all the departments involve they will be happy that we fulfill your expectations.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you a 3Th time here again in the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba.

Best Regards from Riviera Maya,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having stayed at Sandals Resorts, our expectations for the Grand Bahia Principe were not set very high. What Grand Bahia lacks in quality of room furnishings it more than makes up in the friendliness of staff. The grounds, pools, beaches, restaurants and rooms were immaculate. Although we tipped heavily, others who didn't were treated with the same gracious smile and thanks.
The golf course is both beautiful and challenging. Be sure to dine on that side after or before playing. The quality of food at Sian Ka'an is just a little better and adults only. They pour their wine from the bottle on that side which is much nicer than the watered down jug wine served at the other buffets.
Although some reviewers complained about the distance to the beach, we enjoyed our walks. We walked the beautiful shoreline and grounds many times. If you are able, walks open the possibility of seeing so much more than sitting on a shuttle bus. It also helps in shedding those extra calories consumed during the stay:) And for those who choose not to walk or are unable to walk the 5 or 10 minutes to the beach, there were shuttles constantly passing by.
I would highly recommend this property. It is not the Ritz Carlton but the staff make you feel as if you are in the nicest resort money can buy!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in building 24B. It was very quiet. You must climb the stairs if not st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VirginiaBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear VirginiaBoater,

First of all thank for have been chose Grand Bahia Principe Coba as your destination for your holidays and taking the time to write your impressions. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in our Resort.

We are delighted that you have spent your vacation with us and that you enjoyed your visit at our facility. again. Furthermore I would like to express my appreciation for your Room observations and will discuss them with our Management Board soon. Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Receive our warmest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our stay at Bahia was 1 star to say the least. I will first say that the staff was amazing and thank you for that. To begin…check in is confusing…better signs and instructions are needed for guests that are arriving. Upon arrival, we were definitely disappointed in our “5 star” room that was in need of plush towels/beach towels, a lock to the safe (ridiculous and could be rented for a daily charge). Room was sub par. Shower was leaking thru the floor and bed was hard as a rock.

First night at dinner was a disaster. Don’t put stock in the “all inclusive”. Dinner is a disaster buffet with disgusting food that I wouldn’t even eat if I was starving (being vegetarian…good luck). Drinks are a joke. We actually said that the wine was not really wine because it didn’t smell or taste like it. Go for the flavored tequila…no alcohol…promise. Not that we were looking to get buzzed…but they are definitely running a racket with watered down drinks.

Resort….totally crowded with carts running down the road constantly that you have to avoid. It is honestly like being in Disneyland. It is like being on a cruise…gross food and tons of people. The beach is overcrowded and good luck on getting a spot on the beach. We will NEVER go back and we have traveled around the world and experienced many different levels of accommodations. FIVE star is a JOKE for this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Ashley L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments about your stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba . It will certainly help us to keep focus on costumer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are very concerned to learn about your disappointing experience and are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations. Please be assured that we have addressed your comments to every manager in order to take measures as we always strive for excellence in service.

Furthermore I would like to express my appreciation for your concerns, expecting to have the opportunity to receive you again in one of the hotels in our chain to be able to offer you a more agreeable experience.

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The best hotel i have ever been lucky enough to stay in.Staff where fantastic and service the food was second to none.The beach oh my superb all in all not one moan fab hotel.i also loved the swimmimg pools so clean and the areas around the pools where well staffed.I would definitly return there and i am doing this year2013 with freinds.The acomadation was of the highest standards and the fridge was kept well stocked i also loved the people as they did not beg for tips as they did in cuba.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Lorraine T,

It is a delight to read your excellent opinions about your stay last September here in the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba.
Your comments about the performs of our services do that our work is worth it. Our aim is to be able to obtain the maximum satisfaction of all our clients. It makes us happy to see that with you we did it .

It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your friends soon here in the Mexican Caribbean.

Sending you my kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.7 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#15 of 22 in Akumal
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
1.0 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $140 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing