We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort Complex!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our second time visiting the Grand Bahia Chain. Our first was in DR Punta Cana.
We booked through our travel agent Air Transat the COBA Golden Section for the same price as the “normal section”. Honestly there is not much difference between the two besides the fact that the Villa’s are deeper into the Coba section. We were in Villa 28B, third floor facing away from the Golden lobby.
The differences between Normal lobby and Golden Lobby were:
- Private lobby for Golden members
- Half liter bottle of tequila
- Turn down service (which didn’t happen until we complained to the staff in Golden lobby that it was not done for the first 3 days of our stay, but corrected immediately after that)
- Premium labels at the Golden Lobby including Jack Daniels, Jim, Jonny etc.. (although if requested at other bars the serving staff or bar tenders would make sure they would find it for you)
- Robes and slippers
- 4 a-la-cart restaurants (which by the way we were told we can book over the phone rather than wait in line at public relations – Not true
- Safe lock included – Not true… expect to pay $5 per day regardless of membership.
The above hardly worth the extra $100 - $150 CAD per person. (Which we didn’t have to pay, lucky us)
We traveled as 2 families 2 adults and 2 kids each (11months to 5 yrs). I emailed the resort a week before our visit to request 3rd floor (less bugs) specifically Villa 28 as it was what I thought the most quiet less traffic area. I was rite! Check in on Dec 20th.
There are two main pools, the activity pool closer to the front lobby, and the quiet pool closer to the Golden section. Grounds are kept really well, room after cleaning daily are consistently cleaned the same as you would walk in the first day. Lobby and all restrooms are immaculate considering the volume of people that use the facilities.
We found that the pool water was a bit cold to our liking (around 22-24 Celsius) but the pools are maintained very well. Pools are open from 9am to 10 pm but are empty of people by 4:30pm. Chemical treatment done after midnight for the next day.
Lobby reception regardless of which lobby perhaps needs to be trained a bit more to better service customers. I had a few incidents where I had asked for direction on and seemed that I caught them off guard, not really show stoppers but a bit frustrating due to language barrier perhaps?!?!
1. Time of check-in at the Golden lobby, they only had on access card to the room, we were the first in line with at least 6 other parties ready to check in after us. I asked why do we get only one card, there are two adults here? Response: puzzled with a pause, umm sir we only have one card here.
2. Front Lobby, we were supposed to meet our Air Transat rep the next morning after our arrival at the lobby, who was late by 20 minutes(no fault of the resort). Naturally I went to ask where would I find this person or where does this session take place. Response: one person said go left from here, the other said go right from here. The third said wait here.
3. Front lobby, Is WIFI free here and is there anything I need to do to authenticate to connect? Response from one reception person: yes you need to put room number and password. Shortly after their counterpart said, yes sir its free and you can connect automatically nothing required to connect.
4. Front Lobby, My daughter participated in one of the kids Xmas shows and was lent a costume for the show that we had to return. The kids club was closed when we were returning the costume but I asked the reception can I return this here since the kids club is closed. Response: Kids Club? Costume? Finally a more senior staff member said yes you can leave it here.
Servers at all the restaurants at COBA, AMAZING SERVICE, they clear your table as you are done you meals, fill you glasses with your beverage of choice, you ask for something and they will get it for you… AKUMAL resort they will tell you where it is.
However I would recommend the resort to consider the little kids a bit more in the restaurants by providing child size cups with lids and straws, rather than handing our daughter milk/juice filled to the brim in adult cups and then wondering why liquid was spilled all over the place. If a child is seated at the table, ask if you would like the glassware and knives to be removed both at the buffet and a la carts. Glassware, knives and table clutter don’t mix with young children.
Food selection is great at the buffet. Our best meals were at the Japanese, Mediterranean and Mexican.
We spent most of our time at the Coba Beach at the Akumal resort section. Although busy we were able to plant ourselves in any desired location.
Bottled water, Bottled water, Bottled water… The resort should make bottled water more available anywhere. Although water is available in glasses, the only way you could get a bottle of water anywhere was if you ordered it through reception which would eventually be delivered to your room.
Highlight of this trip was after the Xmas Gala in the front lobby. My two daughters were bored and exploring the gingerbread house that was constructed in the area where they had set up Santa’s chair and a path for the kids to meet Santa with empty gift wrapped boxes (about 50) boxes surrounding the area. Around 9 pm when everyone in the lobby lounge was sitting and having drinks chatting… my two daughters 3 and 5years old decided to move some of those empty boxed presents around and suddenly started building a Xmas gift fort. During this time the staff that was clearing the display that they had created for the gala outside of the lobby that included some more boxes, saw these two little girls building a fort with the entire lounge watching with smiles. The staff shortly started to bring more boxes from other displays for my girls to build more to which the entire lobby audience applauded. Thank you GBP COBA staff for putting that memory in my little girls minds for life.

Some may find my review consists of mixed feelings but I am being candid and honest. On a final note may I add that I will Defiantly NOT …………..Hesitate to visit or recommend GBP again but would stay at the Akumal section only for being closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask to face the jungles or away from the pools if you plan to stay in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Kran S,

Thank you very much for taking part of your precious time to share your experience in our Resort. The comments of our guest are really important they help us to improve and reinforce our services.

Your comments and suggestions are welcome and value we will forward to all the departments involved. Thank you very much again for your comments.

It will be an honor that we would welcome you again here at the Gran Bahía Principe Hotels & Resorts, here in the Riviera Maya.

Yours faithfully

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,546 - 6,552 of 14,090 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place has its act together for such a huge resort. Great staff, from cleaning to drivers...no need to wake up early to get a seat at the beach because it's so huge...lots of good sub-resorts.

Things you should know that you probably don't:
- Enormous Resort. But, like, really, really, enormous.
- Sand is most likely fake on the beach. If you're a sand connoisseur, you should go somewhere else.
- Good mix of non-American people: more lovely Canadians and exotic Spanish people.
- The Discotheque: picture that grimy club you went to when you were under-age. Cut that in half.
- Hacienda: a sort of post-modern take on that classic, Western-meets-Mexico film set. If you love tacky, Western films, this will be a hit.
- Food:
- Good food. Lots of selection in the buffet.
- The specialty restaurants are all really good.
- 'by poached eggs they mean hard boiled'

- Alcohol
- Can get wasted with very little effort. Mexican bar staff are efficient and courteous, although not particularly chatty or personable.
- Good local beer on draft. Word on the street is that it's dos equis.
- Common theme here: for some reason, the margaritas are totally brutal...whatt?

- Burritos
- Listen close amigos. It took us more than a week to find a good burrito; correction, any burrito. And this was in Toronto after landing when stopping for Timmy's. Seriously, no burritos in Mexico? (Also a serious lack of guacamole)

- Qeasadillas: not to be found anywhere.

- Fajitas: ditto.

- Nachos: best nachos you will find will be corn chips and this watered-down cheese whiz

- Guacamole: hard to come across - though when discovered, a delicious treat.

Room Tip: not all rooms have a view of the beach. some are very far from the beach, like coba.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thissiteisveryannoyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear "thissiteisveryannoyi",

Thank you for making us participants of your general impression. Your feedback is welcome and valued. The comments of all our guest are more than welcome.

We will share your observations to our Chef and all the departments involve. I would like to share with you the "burritos" origins, they are a Tex-Mex dish created by the Mexican families that live in the United States, is a very popular dish in the north of our country, not likely in the south. Thank you very much for taking you the time to share with us your observations.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second culinary opportunity in a near future.

Sending you my kindest regards

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

All the staff concerned with the Privilege at Bahia Princepe Coba are an asset to the company.Nothing is to much trouble and are always ready to help with anything .After being dissapointed by our tour operatorThomas Cook,we then deciede to join the Privilege Club, the service and staff is second to none ,and we look forward to taking many more holidays with Privilege Club and recommending them to others.

Room Tip: Book early with Privilege Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivilegeClub, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Susan F,

On behalf of Bahia Principe Privilege Club, we are so thrilled that The Privilege Club staff was able to assist you in order to have an enjoyable Vacation at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service to our members and are always willing to assist our guests' needs. We wanted to take the time out to thank you for writing such a wonderful post about your experience at our resort and our staff. We hope to have you back soon to continue enjoying the privileges of being a member. Should you have any additional questions regarding the Privilege Club membership, please feel free to email us at customerservice@bppclub.com

Kind regards,

Adriana Toledo
Customer Service Manager
Bahia Principe Privilege Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We are returning customers for the 7th time,stayed at the Tulum section in the past and for our Christmas holidays, we stayed at Coba for the first time from Dec 25 to Jan 1,with some friends,and we loved it.

A big thank you to goes to Felix Schlokat for arranging our stay at Coba a memorable one and to Luis Eduardo Perez for his excellent service upon our arrival at Coba.
Being our friends first time at the Bahia Principe,Luis was more than helpfull and went out of his way to make sure they enjoyed their first stay,as well as ours,he was great!

Would also like to mention the wonderful and great job Coba did with the New Years Eve Buffet presentation ,there was nothing missing,from food variety to beautiful ice sculptures, breathtaking flower arragements...it was great!!!

Also would like to thank all the workers at the Bahia, from the kitchen to the garden keepers, the room keepers,you make us want to return every year with your excellent service and friendliness!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear "guyjo",

First of all we would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Gran Bahía Príncipe Hotels & Resorts.

We are grateful for your beautiful comments. Our aim is to be able to obtain the maximum satisfaction of all our clients. It makes us happy to see that with you we did it .

Your comments about the performs of our services do that their work is worth it. We will forward your lovely specials mentions to Felix and Luis; they will make them proud of their excellent work.

Kind Regards from you already Mexican home.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed the Gran Bahia Principe Coba Dec 24-31st , 2012.
We enjoyed our relaxing stay but were sadly disappointed by the beach.
That said, the Coba is a good choice if you prefer pools and /or have young children.

Here’s my feedback:

STAFF- very friendly. Guest Services Manager, Felix, was very quick to respond to my email for advance reservations at the a la carte restaurants. We got the seating times we were after and didn’t have to stand in the long line at the resort. Waiter Jiminfry took very good care of us at El Pescador. He was very entertaining preparing the yummy, flaming Mexican and Mayan coffees.

SPA- great Mayan and hot stone massages. Comparable to high-end spas in Canada/USA. However, the staff spoke minimal English.

FITNESS- the TAO wellness center at sister hotel, Sian Ka'an, is beautiful. Whilst the yoga classes were jam packed because of the Xmas holidays, instructor Victor was excellent and made the 8 am classes worth the early wake up call. Also, much nicer weights/machines and picturesque setting at the TAO than at the small facilities at Coba, Akumal and Tulum.

ROOMS- Very large and clean. Housekeeping was very efficient. Unfortunately the bathrobes and bed sheets had several bloodstains. No complimentary in-room and beach Internet. The free service in the lobby was often slow and we even heard folks complain about the service they had paid for.

ENTERTAINMENT- The shows were good… seriously. It’s not Las Vegas but miles much better than what we have seen at Couples, Iberostar and Riu. We didn’t go to the Hacienda (night club shared by all 4 GBP properties) but I can say that is not a party resort.

POOLS- lots of them. Very well maintained and landscaped. Great resort if you are a pool person as opposed to beach.

GROUNDS- very green. We saw deer, capybaras and coatis (similar to small raccoons.)

BEACH---this is why we won’t return unless there is a really good deal. Coba and Sian Ka'an have the best sections. However, they are rocky and don’ t have powdery soft sand. Not so rough that water shoes are needed but the beach pales in comparison to Negril, Playa del Carmen and Turks & Caicos. The beach and strong waves were similar to Condado in San Juan. The “whales”/breakwater barriers do make a nice lagoon for young children to play safely and to see colorful fish. No snorkels needed. They swim right up to you in shallow water.

Room Tip: Buildings 1-4 are closest to the beach but still an easy walk to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lulu1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Lulu1974,

First of all we would like to thank your choosing Grand Bahia Principe Coba for you holidays, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the services and kindness of our staff members. Specially Felix, Victor and the Pescador Crew.

We will review your comments about the sheets and bathrobes. That certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years.

Thank you very much for taking you the time to share with us your feedback.

Best Regards from the Mexican Caribbean,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked through Expedia and got a great deal! We paid for transportation with the trip and waited for about 30 minutes for the van to arrive. After our 2 hours at the airport and our hour and a half drive to the hotel, we were excited to be there. We were dropped off at the Coba and went to the check-in counter just to be told we were at the wrong place. We had to hop on a shuttle to go to another lobby for people who booked through expedia! No big deal...but it was 1:30 and we couldn't check in until 3. So, we walked the property in jeans for over an hour. Finally we got our packet and went to our room. In our packet, there were no keys!!! My husband walked back to the lobby and got our keys. I read on here that you could only make one dinner reservation a day, but that wasn't true. We sat down and made all of our dinner reservations at once for our four nights of stay. The seafood place was not very good, the japanese was good, brazilian was good and mexican was great! All the buffets were good and had a good variety. The snack bars were lacking. Service was great at all places! The property was clean and rooms were clean. Except for the bottles of water in our room...they were opened and one was half full. They never changed them. We also had to ask for face cloths everyday! The property is huge...if you don't mind walking, it is not that bad. They also have shuttle things you can take. People reserve chairs with towels, even though the signs say not to. We went on an excursion to Xel-Ha and the ruins of tulum. The ruins was not worth it. Xel-ha was nice! The beds are hard as rocks, but we were always so tired. They had nightly entertainment, which was nice. We celebrated my 30th birthday and told them that, but nothing was done for it. Overall, I wouldn't go back just because the size of resort. Oh, they try really hard to sell you on buying a time share. We never did the tour, but they try every time they get the chance. We didn't like that!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveler4ever_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear traveler4ever_11,

Comments like yours help us to improve and reinforce our service every day. Thank you very much for sharing with us your opinions. We will review them with our Front desk and Food&Beverage Managers. We are really sorry that we did not fulfill all your expectations.

Expecting to have the opportunity to receive you again in one of our hotels to be able to offer you a more agreeable experience.

Sending you my kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just completed our third trip to this location in the last three years. Thank goodness for the staff we encountered to make the trip!.

The hotel itself seemed very disorganized from the time we arrived. Our reservation was messed up, we had two rooms, one was right with a King sized bed, the second was to have 2 queen beds, the room had a King sized bed with a cot for two adults traveling together. It took much time to get this sorted out, and we were not able to change rooms till the next day. Club Golden in Coba was not opened, even though we were told the hotel was full.

The service staff did everything they could to make our stay great, From the porters who moved our luggage and us around, Rudolfo Guerrero and his brother Christian who were always there for us! Our wait staff in Kuklakan Miguel and his supervisor Christian always made sure we were well looked after at meal time. The maid and houseman made sure the room was always cleaned quickly and efficiently and our minbar stocked when ever we needed it.

Don Pablo continues to be the best Al a Carte restaurant at the resort, followed closely by Mikado.

Evening activities were always found at the main lobby, and the staff always had the beach ready each day for our use.

Management should step back and take a good look at the people who look after the guests, they make the place! All the staff we encountered were always courteous and wanting to do everything they could to make the trip. They deserve the true pats on the back, and better compensation for what they do daily for all their guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhodesManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear RhodesManor,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience here in the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba, we are truly sorry that you fill that this time was not that charming as your previous time with us, but we are happy that you enjoyed, the kindness and service of our team. Specially Christian and Rodolfo Guerrero, Miguel and Christian. from the buffet.

It will be an honor to welcome you back a 4th time here at your home in the Riviera Maya.

Kind Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations



Kind Regards from the Mexican Carbbean,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an
2.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.7 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#14 of 23 in Akumal
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $136 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing