We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the COBA!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love the COBA!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have travelled to the Coba 6 times in the last 2 years. We are now gold members and love the extra little touches the staff add to enhance our stay. One thing that we notice is that there is not much change over the years to the menu selections at the a la cartes. For regular patrons, it would be nice to see a few new selections. We always laugh when we are told the chef's special that evening as it is the same every day of the year. Considering the size of this resort, there is always plenty of food and the whole resort is kept very clean. The gardeners do a phenomenal job with landscape maintenance. They are everywhere constantly grooming the grounds, the beaches....... We have recommended this resort to many people and have brought our kids numerous times - we all love it! The sunsrises are spectacular!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear "Michelle M"

Thank you for making us participants of your general impression. Your loyalty and preferences make us feel honor. Comments like yours are really important; they help us to know better the needs and wishes of our guests.

We will forward your comments to all our departments to improve were is necessary.

Kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,211
    3,593
    1,266
    413
    297
See reviews for
4,501
5,341
100
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,541)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, AB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was our 6th all inclusive trip to Mexico (3 on the Mayan and 3 in PV) and I can't say this resort was worth the hefty price. For a 5 star resort, there wasn't 5 star service: you were lucky to get 1 cup of coffee served at breakfast, 1 drink served to you ALL DAY by the pool, and difficult to book all of the alloted ala cartes. And the pool was brrrrrrr cold.

Overall it was ok for our young family. A tip we found out while there is to email 2 weeks ahead to book your ala cartes. Not going to rush back anytime soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SherwoodParkTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubDirectorGBPC, sub direcrtor at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear "SherwoodParkTM"

We appreciate your feedback. We are realy sorry for tnot having accomplish your expectations during your vacation in our Hotel. Along with our Food And Beverage Manager, we have reviewed your comment regarding the service in the buffet to be improve.
Our Pools do not have service but only at the pool bar; but our staff do sometimes round to serve the guests that are located arround; eventhough it not a normal service that we have, we appreciate your comment and this will be a point to be check for our management.

Kindest regards

Melitza Freites
Sub Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Resort was beautiful in Mexico standards however the location was too far from...well everything.... We booked a golden room and were disappointed in the location of these rooms. We were constantly waiting for the carts to pick us up on average 10-15 min. depending on the time of day.Due to my husband having mobility issues we were unable to walk the 10-20 min walks required to go anywhere at this resort. The pool..the beach...to eat...to shop...anywhere, except the jaccuzzi and the bar there was closed. All the waiting we did here was the biggest disappointment.
It was a bit of a pain checking in at a different lobby. We were taken from the front lobby to another one by cart to check in then waited for another one to take us to our room then once we finally got there we waited for 45 min. for our luggage to arrive to our room. We were required to wait by the staff. Absolutely Starving due to a late arriving flight and the 90 min. drive to get to the resort, finally our bags arrived and we sat for another 10 min. waiting for a cart to take us to eat. We were not impressed. The food was average and the rooms nice but musty smelling...next time we will definately stay in Cancun. We will not be returning.
My favorite thing about this resort was the coffee bar for its latte's and caps. They were fantastic! And free...Loved it!

Room Tip: Avoid the Golden Rooms, very inconvenient location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubDirectorGBPC, Sub Director at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear "charwarner"

Let me start with our most sincere appreciation for your feedback.
Indeed our Hotel is 30 min. from the next town, surounded by the Mayan piramids, beach, cenotes and parks. I can undertstand that the proximity for Cancun will be better for some people.
I am sad that we were not aware of the mobility issues that you have; although we would do our very best to provide the most confortable location possible.
I have to mention that we have different package that guests by, and some of them included a special check in area, for a more personalize check in; nevertheless our intention, you are ginving us a different perspective of the check in procedure, and we have to see now how to improve the first impression that we are trying to provide to our guests, make it smooth and more appreciate as we intended to.

I trully appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back

Kind regards

Melitza Freites
Sub Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We just returned from the Coba and it was our anniversary trip. Once they knew it was our anniversary, they made it a special occasion for us and we will always remember their outstanding treatment. The trip was fantastic and we have no complaints. Staff were helpful and friendly, service was outstanding, food delicious, resort and beach area very clean and we felt very secure there. Will definitely return for another vacation, that will be our 6th time to Coba.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubDirectorGBPC, Sub Director at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear "DoubleRetired"

I would like to thank you for your kindness letting us participate in such special moment as it it your anniversary!!

We really appreciate your loyalty and preference.

Looking forward to welcome you back very soon

Kindest regards

Melitza Freites
Sub Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were in Mexico from Nov 15 to the 22nd .This time we decided to try a different resort, after reading all the positive review we decided to try Gran Bahia Coba this year. Our first impression were..WOW..it was huge!!..the usual resort that we stayed before were smaller..was very clean and gorgeous garden...check in was fine though what I'm missing was the details, like being new to that huge resort, yes map was given but details regarding entertainment and a la carte wasn't there and the person in the front was kinda "rushing"..but it was fine. We came to our room and found that our fridge wasn't working so we called the front desk, in less than 10 mins someone came and told us that he has to change our fridge and will be back in 15 mins...we waited and waited....and after an hour decided to go for buffet and went to the front desk to tell them about our fridge...told us that someone will be there in our room in 15 mins..so we went back to our room...and wait...and wait ...again!...that was day one...next day we decided to go for a day trip to cozumel...came back around 6pm had buffet and was so tired that when we came to our room..I was sooooo disappointed !!!..never happen to us before ever!!! we even left a tip and a box of chocolates!..and what I found when we came!...dirty linens in the side of our bed and NO TOWELS!...that was day two...the next day we went to a la carte...love the food and service was great! (buffet.. not too great..not enough staff)...especially the LE GOURMET...my husband and I would like to extend our big thank you to ABESAID ( manager of le gourmet)...He won us back...after learning of our concerns he gave us the best service ever...our last night dinner was the best!...THANK YOU SO MUCH...he goes around the restaurant , making sure that everything was fine and that everybody feels SPECIAL....thank you ABESAID!...overall our experience was fine...was easy for public transportation if you want to go to tulum or playa del carmen..just take collectivo(you can catch them by the main gate of bahia.)...only $3.00 to go to playa and $2.00 to tulum....would go back again but this time I know what to expect!!!!

Room Tip: we were in villa 3a good location...close to main lobby, 24 hour snack bar and quite pool and towels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angeldanwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubDirectorGBPC, Sub Director at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear "angeldanwinnipeg"

While sending a warm greeting on behalf of everyone at the Gran Bahia Principe Coba, I would like to deeply and sincerely thank you for sharing with us your views and comments related to your recent stay in our resort.

We are very happy to know that the personal service and attention from some of our employees, especially Abesaid, made you left the Coba hotel having enjoyed a pleasant vacation experience. I will personally express to him my gratitude for the commitment and fine work he is doing as an ambassador of the very best we have to offer, we are indeed very proud of his work and value his good work and excellence.

I pretty much regret the situation regarding the minibar and room concerns. I will appreciate if you can send me an email with the details of your stay and room number, so I can track our Express Service reports and revew the inciden with our Hosekeeping Manager, to avoid any similar incident in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Melitza Freites
Sub Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks in the Coba hotel, junior suite room. Coba is not as close to the beach as Tulum and Akumel hotels on this site, but just hop on the little train and off you go, not a problem. Food in all the buffet and Al a Carte restaurants very good, not very impressed with the Japanese one, our view only, everyone on the complex very helpful. We has 3 restaurant choices per week.
Pool towels given so no need to pack any towels. Currency can be in US dollars and Mexican Pesos, we took both, but departure tax to be paid as 700 pesos OR £40 sterling only, no $ allowed.
Planning to go again next year with the family including grandchild, very safe for children. Lovely pools

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I thought I was done for a while doing the all inclusives as you miss the local flavour some, but went to a wedding at this one and man I think they are trying to corner the market. It was like 4 resorts in one with a tram service connecting them all. 4 times the restaurants, 4 times the bars, 4 times the snack bars, 4 times the pounds gained. Golf great, scuba shop really great. Staff really know who are paying the bills and almost without exception treat you like royalty. They really have it all covered from plenty of bottled water and beer in the room everyday to some pretty great entertainment.

Room Tip: to get Right on the beach hard to get
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1963chevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubDirectorGBPC, Sub Director at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear "1963chevy"

While sending a warm greeting on behalf of everyone at the Gran Bahia Principe Coba, I would like to deeply and sincerely thank you for sharing with us your views and comments related to your recent stay in our resort.

I am so happy to read your kind words; Your comment reflect the comitment of many employees giving the hart and soul to make the memmorable vacation for our guests.

Yours Sincerely

Melitza Freites
Sub Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
21.0 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,403 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing