We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort for a Good Overll Mexico Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My family and I have stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe Coba 3 times. We have been to many other resorts. Next to the Excellence Properites this is still my favourtie place in the Mayan or Cancun area. It is wonderful for families, they have something for all ages. The beach water is great for swimming and snorkelling and the pools are beautiful and spotless, all having swim up bars. My favourite spot to hang out here is at the swing bar on the beach. You can't beat that view and it is a great way to meet people.

The restaurants here are all good, service is always good and the people are genuinely friendly and beautiful people. The shows are good, a little better than some of the other places we have been too.

The shopping an entertainment area up front is a great feature of this resort. You can hang and listen to music and such in the rooms areas and when you want to party on, you can take the train up there and go to the disco or sports bar. Our kids in their early 20's loved this. They also loved the 2 twenty four hour snack bars. They would go there and get baileys and snacks before coming to bed no matter what time it was. They also met lots of other young people there.

I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to try out the Riviera Maya area for the first time. A great overall Mexican experience. The one and only negative thing about this resort is the distance from the airport. It takes a good hour and a half to get there and that is without stops but it is worth it in my opinion. Just buy some cervesas for the ride and enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear "Cdickson",

Thank you very much for your nice comments your loyalty and preferences inspires us to improve every day. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We will forward your nice comment to our staff. Thank you again for your lovely words.

It will be an honor for us here in Gran Bahía Principe Coba to welcome you and your family once again for your fourth stay.

Kind Regards from you already Mexican home.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,381 - 6,387 of 13,635 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just got back Nov. 10th from a 7 day stay. If you want to be treated like royalty; that's the place to go to. Staff was very efficient,friendly and helpful. Mucho gracious to Zacarius, Omar and Maria for serving and treating my family well; especially my grandchildren William and Nigel. I had no hesitation leaving tips at each meal - their friendly smiles and their warm reception made our trip - this made a very good impression on me about the Mexican people and I with my family will come back. There was a great deal of selection with the food - like the addition of herbs - a bit of caution with certain meats i.e. if they are thoroughly cooked - with my grandchildren we had to send back hamburger patties and I on one occasion did the same with pork chops. Otherwise; excellent food. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the whole area including beach . Kudos:- to Westjet for making us feel comfortable - Ninfa for booking the entertaining restaurants a-la carte. (mainly the Japanese and Mexican for my grandchildren) - Victor and Carolina for giving good advice and greeting us -and especially to the maids that worked at the hotel rooms ; not only were the rooms clean and properly furnished with toiletries ;but my grandsons always looked forward to going back to the rooms to see what animal (made from towels) awaited them on the beds. I would be remiss not to say thank you to all the amigos and amigas that assisted us throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not have palm tree leaves brushing against the balcony - some ants migrate t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear "Russell K",

Thank you very much for your excellents comments about our hotel but specially about the services and performs of the staff. Victor, Galdina(carolina),María, Omar and Zacarias will be pleased to hear that you delight their service.

Our aim is to be able to obtain the maximum satisfaction of all our clients. We are very sad of knowing that with you we did not obtain it.It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back here in the Riviera Maya.

Truly yours,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The resort was very good with plenty of choice of what to do and where to eat. You could choose a quiet pool or a noisy pool where the entertainment staff worked hard at getting people to enjoy the activities. The resort is huge and although we were told that there were 7000 guests on site while we were there it never felt overly crowded anywhere. Each time we went to the beach we were able to get sunbeds and most of the time at the pool but you had to be a bit earlier there. Food was generally very good: the a la carte restaurants were not over booked so service was always good, and the buffet was more than acceptable. The only gripe I would have at the buffet is that the waiters at breakfast took forever to deliver the drinks they had taken the order for., but hey you are on holiday. The room was good and spacious but the air conditioning was not as efficient as some I have experienced and it could get a bit sticky at night. I found it odd that the main bars closed at 11pm although they were open later at the Hacienda. The little buses and trollies that go around the resort are very useful. Overall a great holiday and the kids loved it

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0die63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear "B0die63"

Comments like yours help us to improve our service every day .Thank you very much for taking the time to share them with us.

We have already share and review your comments and suggestions with all our departments to introduce corrective actions or improvements where is necessary. Thank you very much again for your comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back here at the Riviera Maya

Yours faithfully

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A big thank you to, Luis Perez Service Manager. Felix Genesta Avalos Food Manager. Seregio Entertainment Manager. Abesaid Manager of LaGourmet.

These people made our holiday so special and memorable, and also Ian and Mandy Brown.

The biggest of thanks, - Eric & Shirley Morley.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommended the, A La Carte Restaurants. Especially the Japanese themed one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear " Shirley M",

Comments like yours help us to improve our service every day. We have already sent your nice words and thanks to Felix Genesta, Luis Pérez, Sergio and Abesaid. Thank you very much again for your comments.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back here at your new Mexican home

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We would have rated this resort as excellent but found that the buffet selections were not quite as good as at the Tulum resort. We really like the fact that we could travel between the 3 resorts there. The transport between the resorts was very efficient and made the variety welcomed. The staff were excellent at all 3 resorts The housekeeping was very good but we were not aware that the tipping of the housekeeping staff was expected to be every day. We usually leave our tipping until our departure. Once we caught on to this, the service did improve.The dining staff were excellent and fun. We did enjoy the pool activities and as we were travelling with our disabled son they were most understanding about his participation. This included the other guests who were present during these activites. The pool bar service was very good and the poolside barbecues were a welcome change from the buffets.We did visit the alacarte restaurants in Coba (the Mediterranean one) We were not too impressed with it. We tried the seafood alacarte in Akumel and it was better. We didn't try any of the others as we were only allowed 3 per week. We were not impressed with the fact that we had to serve ourselves with salad and dessert in an alacarte resaurant. We also found that the salespeople were a bit relentless but once we attended their presentation they were just friendly. We did use their WIFI and found it to be okay but a little slow.The entertainment in the evenings was very good but as our son is early to bed, the shows at Coba didn't start till 10 so we would have had to go to one of the others to catch a 9:00 show. The Fiesta Night was an additonal charge but well worth the expense. The show there was traditional and the games were a lot of fun. Winning a bottle of Tequila was a bonus! The journey from Cancun is a bit long (1 1/2 hrs.) so we would recommend this resort if you are looking for R&R and not night life.

Room Tip: The double beds are a bit cramped as we are used to Queen and as the Junior suites come with 2 doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knighton16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear "knighton16"

We were really happy to welcome you and your family here in Gran Bahía Príncipe Riviera Maya, thank you very much for sharing with us your experience here in our Resort, the most important for us is to make our guests happy, your comments help us to improve our services.

It will be an honor for us to welcome you and your family back,

Truly yours,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at Coba, as it had 3 resorts in one... I enjoyed the beach at Tulum..

Food, drinks, entertainment were awesome...

highly recommend this resort for anything that is looking to get away, soak up the sun, walk the beach, drinks, food, entertainment, disco bar\ dancing was amazing..

Great for 19+

Room Tip: we went as a group, so we ask ed our Travel Agent to book us in the same building Unit #, just made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear "Larry S",

It is very kind of you to take part of your valuable time to share in tripadvisor your experiences here in Gran Bahía Príncipe Riviera Maya. We will forward your nice comment to our staff. Thank you again for your lovely words.

It would be a pleasure for us that you return to visit us here at the Mexican Caribbean

Yours faithfully

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The first thing I would like to say is a huge THANK YOU to Victor in the lobby of the Coba resort. Victor made our stay wonderful, he really set the standard for this resort and my wife, her friend and I were treated like five star guests from him the moment we arrived. There is no dull moment here, always something to do wether it's laying on the beautiful beach, or lounging around the pool doing many activities they have all day. There are plenty of pools, if you like to party there is the activity pool.. The pool parties are fun.. If you want to lounge and relax, there are the quiet pools.. The food was okay but that is only my opinion. Friends that we made from Canada said it was incredible.. The rooms do have a musky smell to them but other guest from akumal and tulm said there rooms weren't that great. The only problem we had with our room is that no maid service for 2 days and had to borrow clean towels from a neighbor. Shows are great, and drinks are awesome, when I needed one the service was great.. Thanks to paulino and Andreas at the pool bar best bartenders I've ever seen in my life no joke..Again thank you Victor, if it wasn't for you I would not be planning our next trip to the Gran Principe Coba after I write this review.. See you soon!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heatguy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear "Heatguy82",

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in Gran Bahía Príncipe Coba with us, your comments are really important they help us to know better the expectations of our guests ,we will review with our Housekeeping department your issues, in other to improve our service

We are truly happy to read that you delight the service of our staff specially Victor ,Andres and Paulino will be very proud of their work. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back,

Kind Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
143.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
145.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
166.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
148.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
149.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $145 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing