We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical lovely Mexico, only reason for low rating issues with food poisoning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Bad:
- room reaked of musty mould, (as did all my belongings upon my return to fresh air)
- the timeshare salespeople are relentless! everytime you walk past their desk which is right outside the restaurant they are talking at you to get your attention. The worst was they called our room at 7:30am and again at 9am the first day at the hotel, and again at 8am the second day. It stopped after we complained to the front desk.
- buffet food you had to be careful what you ate, got a distinct case of food poisoning twice during a 10-day stay
- The A La Carte restaurants were an absolute joke, 2 of them we left after not finishing any of the courses because the food was so bad. The exceptions are the Mexican 'Tequila' and the French restaurant 'Arlequin'

The Good:
- usual amazing landscaping
- good layout, options of quiet and loud pools, nothing is too far away to walk even the beach (10mins) and the in-resort transport is often
- Tao wellness centre (offers yoga etc classes at 8 & 9am mon-fri) was a breath of fresh air from holidaymaking naughtiness!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on top floor (less mouldy smell, better view, patio out of view of passersby) ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missmuffetadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear "missmuffetadventures",

Thank you for making us participants of your general impression. Your feed back is welcome and valued.

The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort. We are truly sorry that we could not provide you a more personalized service.

We expect to have the opportunity to welcome you again to be able to offer a more charming experience.

Truly yours,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13,734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,454 - 6,460 of 13,734 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Seventh say and it just keeps getting better!
Thank you Felix for having our dinners ready, everything was great.
Friendliest staff, super clean resort, just perfect!
We'll see you all again next year!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear "Mark B",

Your preference and loyalty inspires us to improve every day. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We will forward your nice words to all the staff specialty Felix will be very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back next year

Kind Regards from your Mexican home.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very good holiday food very good ,great selection of restaurants ,great beach calm waters crystal clear ,little fish swimming around you,If you are british take a few extra tea bags as they tend to run out of english breakfast tea altyough large selection of fruit teas.Watch out for the ATM for every transaction there are approx 13- 15% charges,take a mixture of Pesos and dollars ,yhings are a bit cheaper using domesti money but handy to have a few dollars.Although we dont have children there seemed to be great facilities for them,great excursions like Xcaret the best traditional shows we have ever seen,Tulum one of the Mayan ruins with a fantastic beach.I could go on and on but in the end great holiday great weather very attentive staff highly recommended resort.Ps dont forget the leaving tax $80 or £50

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wonderrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear "Wonderrush"

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Resort, to other travelers. It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your time at the Riviera Maya. The most important for us is to provide an excellent service to our guest. We will review your Tea comment to our Food & Beverage Manager, in other to improve it. Thank again for your nice comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

i was there february for a week ,it was amazing ,the food, entertaimet hotel^s room was verry good i will come back february again for more my be 10 -14 days .mexico is the best. i am so happy that i will come back soon on that beautiful place,i have been before in cuba dominican republic many time but this is the best place for relax enjoy and have a fun gyus

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mladen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear “Mladen m”,

Your preference and loyalty inspires us to improve every day. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your nice comments about our Resort. It will be an honor for us here in Gran Bahía Principe Coba to welcome you and your family once again next February.

Kind Regards from you already Mexican home.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Coba in October 2011. It was our first Mexico and All inclusive vacation. We were so amazed by this resort that we have been back in March 2012 and in October 2012. And the third time around was just as wonderful as the first time .
The place is very clean, the beach is amazing and the grounds are very beautiful.
The buffets and the restaurants are extraordinary. The staff is truly wonderful everybody is so friendly and helpful nothing you ask for is too much for them it seems from the guys cutting the lawn to the front desk manager . Every single employee is going way out their way to give you a dream vacation and always with a smile.
On top of this wonderful place to stay, you can take daytrips to the ruins of Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza and countless Adventure Parks in the area.
It is a large resort and if you don,t want to walk there are little trolleys to take you around.
After all you book in one of those three resorts (Akumal, Tulum or Coba )and play in all three.
So even if you don"t take any day trips it is not boring to spent a full week just in the resort.
We loved it and can only recommend it to everybody looking for an awesome time to relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: don't get to close to the highway especially if the balcony is facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bine01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear "Bine01_12",

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience here in Gran Bahía Principe Riviera Maya. Our aim is to be able to obtain the maximum satisfaction of all our clients. It makes us happy to see that with you we did it . We will forward your nice comment to our staff. Thank you again for your lovely words.

We are looking forward to welcome you a forth time!

Yours faithfully

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

.... although technically it's our third time at this complex if you count our stay at the GBP Tulum in 2009. In late 2011 we returned and stayed at the Coba, enjoying it so much we decided to come back yet again for two weeks this year, staying from October 28-November 11.
After two stays at this complex, we wondered if some of the charm might have worn off this time around. Fortunately, that wasn't the case, and in fact we're already looking forward to another visit next year.

Most of the positives of this resort have been covered in other reviews -- very clean, good food and great selection of places to eat, and above all, some of the hardest working and friendliest staff we've encountered. You have access to the facilities at all three sections of the resort (Tulum, Akumal, and Coba), and I'd definitely recommend trying the buffets at all three. Some of the menu selections are the same, but presentation and atmosphere differ between the three, and it gives you a sense of something different for those nights when you're not booked into an a la carte. In the two weeks we stayed, we only ate at a la carte restaurants on 3 occasions, so by mixing up which buffet we ate dinners at, it truly never did feel repetitive.

Yes, the property is large, but the walks through manicured grounds are lovely, and if you don't feel like walking, the trolley services are frequent, reliable, and able to get you anywhere you want to go with minimal wait times. On two occasions, drivers who were a little ahead of schedule even went a little out of their way to get us where we wanted to be. Across the board, the workers consistently make you feel like you're getting personalized service. I don't know if this is a trait the resort managers look for when they hire, or if it's part of their training program, but it's certainly impressive.

Having been to the Mayan Riviera several times, we'd already done a number of the excursions. This time we opted for the Ek Balam / Cenote tour. Ek Balam is less well known than Chichen Itza, but much less commercialized and with fewer visitors. Be warned it's just as far as Chichen Itza though, so be prepared for a long bus ride and a full day. We also took the Collectivo up the highway to Akumal Beach to snorkel with sea turtles -- highly recommended. We saw at least 6 or 8 turtles, and the whole day cost us around $25 ($5 Collectivo ride each way, $5 locker rental at the Akumal Dive Shop, and $10 for a couple of "Dos Equiis" beers!) Great value.

A few more tips -- 1) buildings around the "quiet pool" are perfectly centrally located, close to the main lobby and buffet, close to the Premier lobby, and close to the pathway leading to the Akumal lobby and the beach. 2) Most of the beach action is between the Tulum and the Coba beaches, especially the little bay between the wooden piers. But further down to the right (as you face the ocean) is the Akumal section, with it's own beach bar and a much quieter atmosphere. 3) Bring some extra cash and tip as generously as you feel able. The workers here put in long hours and still go out of their way to make your holiday special. 4) Lastly -- enjoy! You're on vacation after all!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brock09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear "Broke09",

I would like to thank you for sharing your nice comments with us, they help us to improve our service every day. It is a pleasure to read that you join your time here in the Mexican Caribbean. We are really happy to read that you enjoined the kindness of our staff. We will enlighten to our personnel of your pleasure for their kindness services.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back here at your new Mexican home,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just arrived home from a great week at the Coba. The weather was fantastic so that always makes the stay fantastic. Our room was nice, clean and taken care of early in the day (put your "make up room" sign up when you go to breakfast). There is a musty smell however, this is remedied by runnning the ceiling fan during the day. This helps to circulate the air and in a hot and humid climate, this doesn't seem unreasonable. Our bed was super comfortable, may want to ask for more comfy pillows. My darling hubby got up each day and reserved our chairs (even though you are not allowed to). He left our beach bag and a magazine on the chairs. It worked well and we used them from 10:00 a.m. each morning until 4:00 p.m. We didn't reserve them and then leave them empty all day. We were at the Coba, which is a 5 minute trolly ride to the beach. We usually ate our lunch at the Buffet at Akumel. It was great there. We reserved our dinners prior to leaving home (get Feliz's email). We were repeat guest so were able to take advantage of this. Le Gourmet and and the french restaurant at Akumel were the best. We enjoyed the meals at the Italian, Japanese and Med restaurants but they didn't compare to the "Le Gourmet and the one at Akumel. My sister in law enjoyed a swim with the dolphins and brother in law 2 dives in the caverns which as an avid diver around the world he thought was fantastic and well worth the $90 for two dives. If you are looking for a nice all inclusive hotel, with a nice beach (bring your water shoes, you can swim without them but I was glad I had mine), nice meals, excellent spanish coffees at the Coba lobby each evening then the value is here for you. The four of us relaxed and often felt like we were the only ones at the resort.

Room Tip: Bring your water shoes, be prepared for the humid climate (that can mean a musty smell in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear SD,

Thank you very much for taking you the time to share your experience here in the Grand Bahía Principe Coba. Your preference and loyalty, make us proud of our work . We have already sent your nice words and thanks to the departments involved. Thank you again for your valuable comments.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back here at your Mexican Home.

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.7 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#15 of 22 in Akumal
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
1.0 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $144 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing