We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exquisite”
Villa Zen del Mar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Zen del Mar
Zen del Mar at Sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Villa Zen del Mar
Zen del Mar at Sunset
Your Private Sandy Beach
Infinity Edge Pool Directly on the Caribbean Sea
Complimentary Breakfast Al Fresco
Flat-screen TV in Living Room
Sunrise Over the Beach Palapa
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 1 - Poolside
Bedroom 2 - Luxurious Bed-Linens - King Bed
Mayan Marble Bathrooms
Bedroom 3 - King Bed and Twin Bed
Bedroom 4 - King bed and Twin Bed
Swim laps in the largest private pool in Akumal
Spa Palapa for Complimentary Massages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura T
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Truly an impressive and memorable place to stay. Extraordinary design with unique attention to details that can accommodate various moods and moments from group laughter on the main level to quiet serenity and indulgence in the bedrooms and luxurious baths. Waking up in my bedroom was one of the best experiences ever. Was given the royal treatment by the highly qualified staff. Definitely suggest the in room massages... one of the best I ever had. A beautiful refuge with magnificent panoramic bay views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: layout and attention to details in the design
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amat829
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not Very Good”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This villa was rented through Villas of Distinction and written up as "extraordinary" in every way. We found the property to be substandard, at best, and in need of major updating and repairs. The kitchen appliances were prehistoric and some non-functioning, windows were missing and the thatched roof leaked - an inch of water on the bedroom floors on the third level. The area is in the middle of major construction and the beach, although a beautiful setting, was dirty and piled with debris. We took many pictures to document the issues mentioned, and communicated continuously with the owner as they arose. Some were addressed and some were not. All in all, not a place I would recommend to any discerning traveler.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The Villa
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2016
Villa Zen del Mar has two 1,500 sq. ft. honeymoon suites with amazing bathrooms, custom-made hardwood beds and Frette bed-linens. 40 to 50 miles per hour winds and relentless rain did wreak havoc in the area and caused palapa roof damaged. This caused water to leak into the house. The traveler failed to tell the TripAdvisor community that we had the artisans that built the palapa roof rush in on a Sunday and plug correct the situation within four hours of the event. That same storm deposited significant debris on the beaches of Akumal. Zen del Mar's staff cleaned the beach as soon as the storm subsided. It is natural that such weather puts a dent on any travelers' perspective and reflects on the entire experience. Assertions that the appliances are "prehistoric" is simply untrue. We purchased a new GE Slimline refrigerator (with a special pump to make ice from bottled water) less than a year ago. We regularly replace all other appliances and have done so this past June. We will post photos of the appliances for all to see... and invite the community to come and enjoy this spectacular villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jame r
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An incomparable seaside sanctuary”
Reviewed December 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

From the moment you pass through the gate of this marvelous property, you're embraced by verdant tropical gardens, the turquoise sea, and the villa itself, which is so thoughtfully and artistically designed that you'll spend as much time marveling at its details as you will gazing at the Caribbean's gentle waves. Each of the villa's six bedrooms is a masterwork, not merely private but appointed with furniture and crafts that continually draw the eye, including spacious soaking tubs which are polished to a creamy luster by making use of the sap from an indigenous tree. During our stay we availed ourselves of local chefs who prepared tasty Yucatecan and traditional meals, and the staff saw to the upkeep of the rooms almost invisibly. The newest suites, on the third floor, are crowned in the Mayan fashion with high wooden roofs thatched with palm and grass. Between you and the sea sits a delightful pool, and of course shady areas hung with hammocks. Down a few steps brings you to a sandy beach that can be walked for half-an-hour in either direction, to Akumal center or gorgeous sites for wading or swimming. The sea's cooling breeze rarely abates.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynne S
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic Retreat”
Reviewed November 25, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment one passes through the wood gate and enters the lush courtyard of Villa Zen del Mar all stress melts away. Senses heighten upon entering the Villa as the view expands past the manicured garden to the white sand beach, coral reefs and the Caribbean Sea.
The interior of Villa Zen del Mar is a feast for the eyes. The living spaces are designed to comfortably accommodate a sizable group, ours was eleven, while providing privacy in the uniquely decorated en suite bedrooms with balconies overlooking the Sea.
The owners have a dedicated staff including a talented chef if desired. Liz and Udi will tailor your stay to meet the level of care and activity you wish. Nothing is overlooked.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Villa Zen Del Mar was the perfect base for our fitness retreat”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

In October 2015 I hosted the Inspire Fitness Retreat at Villa Zen Del Mar - what more can I say than in Zen Del Mar I found the perfect piece of paradise where my group of female fitness enthusiasts could workout, relax and enjoy the beautiful Riviera Maya.

The living areas of the villa far exceeded my expectations and the photos I'd seen just don't do it justice. The downstairs open planned kitchen, dinning and living room where of a great size and even though we were a group of 9 adults, we never felt cramped or crowded. Each of the bedrooms were very tastefully decorated in keeping with modern Mexican design. The beds were huge and divinely comfortable - you're guarentteed to have a great nights sleep! All the bedrooms were ensuite with decent size bathrooms, double vanities and plenty of hot water. All the first floor bedrooms have a massive balcony over looking the sea, and there are recliner chairs and hammocks from where you can relax and catch a few rays. The two penthouse bedrooms on the top floor are a design marvel! Seriously, when my guests who were staying in these rooms saw how gorgoeus they were, they commented that I may struggle to get them to leave at the end of the week!

The outside patio, garden, pool and beach area of Villa Zen Del Mar is exquisite and very well maintained. There are plenty of sun beds and lounge chairs all with comfy cushions and a long dinning table at which you can enjoy an al fresco meal. Again there is so much outdoor space that you'll never feel cramped or though you're searching for a quiet spot to relax.

The beach just outside the villa is small and quaint, it's not huge like other beaches along the Riviera, but you can walk all the way along it into Akumal village - about 15-20mins. The sand contains quite a bit of coral, and although it's not overly sharp, I would recommend wearing sandles or rubber soled shoes.

During our week we were very well looked after by our wonderful maid Rosa and our villa maintanence guy Jose. Rosa would prepare delicious fruit for us every morning and discreetly tend to our rooms, anything we needed - extra towels etc - was never a problem. Jose was an expert at keeping the outside looking pristine and any technical problems inside the villa he would quickly attend to. There was also a security guard at night, who we hardly saw, but this did make our group, who were all female, feel very safe.

We used the services of Chef Fernando for lunch and dinner on a few occasions. If you are a large party I would definitely recommend this as it'll take the stress out of having to prepare meals. Chef Fernando is a true expert and very good at preparing all types of dishes, for us we wanted to eat healhty and he created a menu to reflect this. Try his ceviche, you won't be disappointed!

Udi and Liz, the Villa owners were amazing in helping me to put together my retreat. I spent several months planning this and any questions I had along the way, they always repsonded promptly and in detail. I couldn't have hosted such a successful retreat without their input. During our stay, Udi stopped by a couple of times to check that everything was running smoothly and if he could assist with booking any activities. I really apprecaited this, when you're in a new place where you don't speak much of the language, having someone you can call on with local knowledge is a big help.

I would highly recommend Villa Zen Del Mar to anyone looking to have a relaxing trip and enjoy some privacy on their vacation. Akumal is a wonderful town, small and not overly touristy unlike Playa Del Carmen or some of the other towns on he Riviera. Having stayed at big hotel which was awful just down the road, this experience was refereshingly perfect! Honestly, you can't go wrong!

I will definitely be back to host another Inpsire Fitness Retreat at Villa Zen Del Mar soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service and privacy of the villa
Liked least: Not the villas fault, but organising transport (taxis) was tricky on occasion
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnnaHil
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious elegant villa”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you want top of the line accommodations, look no further. Zen del Mar is a beautiful villa where the owners have paid personal attention to every detail. Our group of ten family and friends (ages 25-65) very much enjoyed our week.

Architecturally Zen del Mar is marvelous. The photos are accurate but pictures cannot convey the overall feeling. It is visually appealing everywhere you look. It also works well for a crowd with plenty of privacy and space to spread out. The bedroom suites are equal in amenities, which was nice for our group of adults. Because the setting is so attractive, we ended up spending more time at the villa than I expected. Planned excursions, especially in the evenings, fell by the wayside in favor of enjoying drinks by the pool, al fresco dinners, and late nights under the stars. It is quite dark at Zen del Mar because of lighting regulations that help the endangered turtles. Being there during turtle nesting season was an additional pleasure.

The food provided by staff and the chef was excellent. We used the chef three times and I highly recommend him. If you are the least bit adventurous, request Yucatan specialties. He provided seafood stuffed chili rellenos in a cream sauce that were as elegant as you’d find anywhere. We also had cochinita pibil (barbequed pulled pork) served in the traditional way, a superb seafood ceviche and fajitas which will please any crowd.

Things that I often find to be lacking at ‘luxury’ rentals are done right at Zen del Mar - towels were large and plentiful; good quality bedding and sheets; nice ceramic dishware; good plumbing. The daytime staff was pleasant and unobtrusive. They were extremely responsive to requests and phoned the managers for anything that they couldn’t take care of themselves.

This is an extraordinary place that we will definitely return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing