We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Villas Akumal
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have been traveling to Mexico for 13 years now. We bought a timeshare at the Moon Palace but have not used it the past 6 or 7 years. It was too crowded and too noisey. We moved our location further down the coast. For the past 3 years we stayed here...right on the beach ..in a one or two bedroom condo. It is a lovely, quiet spot to rest and regroup. A beautiful beach and a short walk to Akumal bay to snorkel. We also walk into Akumal at night for dinner. The staff at Las Villas are helpful and friendly. We rent a car at the airport,make a stop at the grocery store in Playa for some food and to stock our bar. We love it here!

Room Tip: The one bedrooms do not have a porch with a beach view. This year they are locking down one of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 344 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

15 minute walk to town. Good location and family setting. Relaxing and quiet. Basic two bedroom Villa. For family living beyond beyond a week we wished we had a washing machine/dryer and much better kitchen equipped with more than one knife. Service was friendly, but inconsistent. Liz is great. Be prepared for dinner if you arrive late. Restaurants in Akumal close at 9 or 10. Our time was 6pm.

Room Tip: Junior suite is musty. Ground level is better for circulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twinkletoes03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Villas Akumal are beautifully designed, well maintained and in one of the finest locations inthe Rivera Maya. Having a swimming pool and the beach right next to your room is a real plus with small children. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhatigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is our 3rd visit to Villas Akumal and it's just as idyllic as the first time. It is a small, out of the way time-share apartment complex that's a bit pricey, but if R&R is what you seek, this is the place! It's about an hour's drive south of Cancun.
The Villas are completely furnished apartments, well-equipped for those who want to get away from it all. Cable TV and high-speed internet are included, along with a Continental breakfast.
Prepare to shop ahead of time to stock the fridge for your evening meal, unless you want to drive a few miles to the nearest restaurant.
The weather is mostly perfect and the view is outstanding, looking out over the Caribbean. Today the sea is more calm than I have ever seen it.
For the water enthusiast, there are 4 single kayaks for paddling around the bay, some surfboards if the waves are up, and perhaps some snorkling gear. For the fishermen, it's a short drive to the town of Akumal, where one can schedule an am or pm outing. Scuba rental is available in Akumal as well.
If archeology is your thing, day trips to Tulum, Cobá or Chichen Itza are possible. If you're adventurous, check out the "cenotes" or underground pools where Mayans are said to have made sacrifices.
All in all, Villas Akumal is a wonderful escape from the humdrum of home life. ENJOY!!

Room Tip: EVERY room is a good room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikesevereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went to Akumal to snorkel with the turtles which was very nice, it is only 15 minutes down the beach from this hotel. We also got to see them help dig up some of the bag turtles that were not able to make it out of the nests. They let them go later that night and we were able to watch. The night before we left we got to see a turtle come up and lay her eggs. The rooms are very spacious and having a full kitchen was nice. The internet and cable are very limited though.

Room Tip: Bring a red light if you want to see the turtles lay eggs and see them let go because they won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaKronmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

As we checked into our beautiful two bedroom condo, I couldn't help but feel an immediate sense of relaxation. The gorgeous view overlooking the pool and the ocean beyond was breathtaking!

Our condo was well appointed with nice furniture, a well equipped kitchen, 5 gallon bottle of water, good internet, and everything else one could need for their stay. Late in the afternoon we took the 20 minute walk to the main beach area of Akumal and enjoyed margaritas. In the evening we drove to the same area, rather than trying to navigate the beach and stones in the dark, and enjoyed a fine meal at Cueva del Pescador.

The staff was kind and professional...thank you Elizabeth, Milca, and Porfirio! Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night, but will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Excellent facility, with a kitchen very well equipped. Nice Ocean view, you will love it. The villa is very close to the beach, only 50 feet away.

Excelentes instalaciones, con cocina totalmente equipada. Muy buena vista del mar Caribe, les encantara. La villa esta muy cerca del mar a escasos 15 metros.

Room Tip: Pick the two bedroom ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuperGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#15 of 22 in Akumal
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1.6 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2,177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Villas Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Villas Akumal

Address: Km 104 Fracc. Akumal C, Playa Jade | Carretera Cancun Tulum, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $130 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Villas Akumal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Villas Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Villas Akumal Hotel Akumal
Las Villas Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing