We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Villas Akumal
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

15 minute walk to town. Good location and family setting. Relaxing and quiet. Basic two bedroom Villa. For family living beyond beyond a week we wished we had a washing machine/dryer and much better kitchen equipped with more than one knife. Service was friendly, but inconsistent. Liz is great. Be prepared for dinner if you arrive late. Restaurants in Akumal close at 9 or 10. Our time was 6pm.

Room Tip: Junior suite is musty. Ground level is better for circulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twinkletoes03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    92
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
147
114
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Villas Akumal are beautifully designed, well maintained and in one of the finest locations inthe Rivera Maya. Having a swimming pool and the beach right next to your room is a real plus with small children. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhatigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is our 3rd visit to Villas Akumal and it's just as idyllic as the first time. It is a small, out of the way time-share apartment complex that's a bit pricey, but if R&R is what you seek, this is the place! It's about an hour's drive south of Cancun.
The Villas are completely furnished apartments, well-equipped for those who want to get away from it all. Cable TV and high-speed internet are included, along with a Continental breakfast.
Prepare to shop ahead of time to stock the fridge for your evening meal, unless you want to drive a few miles to the nearest restaurant.
The weather is mostly perfect and the view is outstanding, looking out over the Caribbean. Today the sea is more calm than I have ever seen it.
For the water enthusiast, there are 4 single kayaks for paddling around the bay, some surfboards if the waves are up, and perhaps some snorkling gear. For the fishermen, it's a short drive to the town of Akumal, where one can schedule an am or pm outing. Scuba rental is available in Akumal as well.
If archeology is your thing, day trips to Tulum, Cobá or Chichen Itza are possible. If you're adventurous, check out the "cenotes" or underground pools where Mayans are said to have made sacrifices.
All in all, Villas Akumal is a wonderful escape from the humdrum of home life. ENJOY!!

Room Tip: EVERY room is a good room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikesevereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went to Akumal to snorkel with the turtles which was very nice, it is only 15 minutes down the beach from this hotel. We also got to see them help dig up some of the bag turtles that were not able to make it out of the nests. They let them go later that night and we were able to watch. The night before we left we got to see a turtle come up and lay her eggs. The rooms are very spacious and having a full kitchen was nice. The internet and cable are very limited though.

Room Tip: Bring a red light if you want to see the turtles lay eggs and see them let go because they won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaKronmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

As we checked into our beautiful two bedroom condo, I couldn't help but feel an immediate sense of relaxation. The gorgeous view overlooking the pool and the ocean beyond was breathtaking!

Our condo was well appointed with nice furniture, a well equipped kitchen, 5 gallon bottle of water, good internet, and everything else one could need for their stay. Late in the afternoon we took the 20 minute walk to the main beach area of Akumal and enjoyed margaritas. In the evening we drove to the same area, rather than trying to navigate the beach and stones in the dark, and enjoyed a fine meal at Cueva del Pescador.

The staff was kind and professional...thank you Elizabeth, Milca, and Porfirio! Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night, but will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosí, San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Excellent facility, with a kitchen very well equipped. Nice Ocean view, you will love it. The villa is very close to the beach, only 50 feet away.

Excelentes instalaciones, con cocina totalmente equipada. Muy buena vista del mar Caribe, les encantara. La villa esta muy cerca del mar a escasos 15 metros.

Room Tip: Pick the two bedroom ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullewa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Beautiful beach, immaculate villas, super friendly staff and delicious food. Couldn't ask for more. Even had green turtles lay their eggs on the private beach. Incredible experience. Great value for money. Muchas gracias Villas Akumal.

Room Tip: Some of the cheaper villas don't have sea views but most do. You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mullewa_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#21 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Villas Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Villas Akumal

Property: Las Villas Akumal
Address: Km 104 Fracc. Akumal C, Playa Jade | Carretera Cancun Tulum, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Villas Akumal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Villas Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Villas Akumal Hotel Akumal
Las Villas Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing