We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“exactly as described and that was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Azul Condominiums

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Azul Condominiums
Save
You added Luna Azul Condominiums to your Saves list
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
durham, nc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“exactly as described and that was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

we stayed in #5 and found it to be exactly as promised in the pictures and descriptions:a casual, very pleasant place, up on the third floor, overlooking a beautiful bay with multiple shades of blues and turquoises, hard working, friendly staff (thank you for the clean room -- hard to do with the sand, and thank you for the coconuts!!). The wind blew strongly much of the time we were there (short visit), so the temperatures were easy to take at night (only tried the bedroom ac once). Akumal is a small place, right now, but growing fast - probably not good for the environment or the small place experience that we enjoyed. Our trip was brief but beautiful, and this place really was terrific. (and yes, we did have the luck to see a turtle swimming right in front of the place).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patquirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I go to Akumal yearly. We just love this area and hope someday to retire there permanently. For a number of years, we stayed at the property next door but were disappointed on our last few visits (unfriendly manager, beach not kept clean). This summer, we decided to try Luna Azul and were delighted. We stayed in Bodega Sur, one of the studio units that is not right on the beach but right around the corner and up the stairs. We loved it! Everyone at Luna Azul is friendly and professional. The gentleman who rakes the beach works so hard and keeps the beach beautiful! Our room was always kept spotlessly clean and the air conditioning worked nicely. The beach in front is lovely with an adequate number of palapas and lounge chairs. Because this is Half Moon Bay, the water entry is somewhat rocky but if you take water shoes, you will have no problem going into the gorgeous turquoise Caribbean waters! Luna Azul is also just a short walk from La Buena Vida, our favorite bar and restaurant in Akumal. We loved Luna Azul and hope to stay there again soon.

Room Tip: Loco Gringo has great pictures and descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnzascorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in Luna Azul Unit #6 and had a wonderful visit. The unit was comfortable and with all necessary amenities but certainly more of a relaxed, beach house feel than a new uppity fancy place. We loved that. The view was incredible and there was plenty of a breeze entering to keep us cool. Akumal is a great destination to avoid the more touristy nearby areas play Playa de Carmen or Cancun (which we skipped entirely). Plan on having a car for a more comfortable stay- there are some small markets in Akumal but its a drive to the bigger grocery stores. There are also a few restaurants within walking distance. We had a great visit and yes, we also saw some sea turtles!! Hope to be back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelover365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We loved everything about Luna Azul. WE were there in Feb. and loved being right on the ocean, seeing rays and birds and turtles from our balcony and being able to relax on the beach just a few steps from our condo. It was comfortable inside but the beauty out kept us on the beach and in the water most of the time.

Room Tip: All are good rooms. They all look out on the water and the ones on lower levels are just closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curryleaf95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed in Luna Azul #1 it was awesome you walk right out to the your private patio to the beach. Excellent snorkeling there is a corner store nearby and a restruant called la Buena Vida great fish tacos on on the beach. Aukmal bay is a good walk where you will find all sorts of shops and restruants to wander around. Better yet we rented two beach cruisers at the condo for $20 a week each we rode bikes all over. This place is awesome if you want a quite relaxing time

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryanhumphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Condo #3.Great view right on the white sandy beach ,with a few steps to the carribean ocean ,you can see the turtles right from the balcony and if you swim out a few hundred meters you get to the most beautiful coral reefs and colorful fish,but the beach is quite rocky so you need watershoes,the condo is very clean but there is is some ants and could need some revive new decor,the beds are just too hard but mr Angel(attendant) was so nice to bring me a extra madrass, otherwise great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cartier35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed at Luna Azul, in Casita Norte recently. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room very clean and the beach combed every day. It was very quiet while we stayed there - we loved it!

Our room had skylights, which are a great touch - and just about everything you really needed for the little time you spend inside was available.

I heard people complained about tv and internet not working - this is the norm in Akumal from what I understand. It's also not uncommon for the power to go out - that's when you realize you should just be outside! One tip - the WIFI on the beach works faster than the one in the room - we think because the rooms are made of concrete?

We had a great stay here, and will return. Thanks Luna Azul!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
1.5 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#10 of 21 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 21 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#19 of 21 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
0.8 mi away
Catalonia Royal Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Azul Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Azul Condominiums

Property: Luna Azul Condominiums
Address: Half Moon Bay, Akumal, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Azul offers a great choice for visitors to Akumal and the Riviera Maya. Centrally located along Half Moon Bay, Luna Azul is within an easy walk to everything. The sandy beachfront location is perfect for sunbathing and offers easy access to the bay for snorkeling and swimming. Great snorkeling is just in front of Luna Azul. Each unit is air conditioned, with satellite television and wireless internet. Two bedroom, two bath units. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luna Azul Condominiums Akumal
Luna Azul Condominiums Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing