We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Newark, Delaware
114
Reviewed July 27, 2005

This was a great resort and I only have one complaint that had nothing to do with the actual resort.

PROS-

great pool, the nicest staff EVER (way to go EDWIN), great room, food was ok, the italian restuarant was great, good drinks, good minibar.

CON-

The other guest there (the European guests were very rude...they cut in line, stared at you while you ate, and would shove to get by you) thought they were better than the American guests (obviously they had too much to drink).

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,384 - 8,390 of 13,126 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
South Wales, UK
138
Reviewed July 26, 2005

From the moment we arrived - after 24 hours of travelling - we were taken care of. Our bags and us shipped to our accommodation block situated in beautiful grounds. Throughout, our bottled water, bathroom stuff and mini bar were stocked each day. Rooms were spotless always. The hotel staff were wonderful - always smiling, extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. At the main buffet restaurant -and also the a la cartes (we ate at 5) - we were given first class service, even at breakfast. The whole complex was monitored continually, with all staff having walki-talkies. We were never far away from anything - shows in the theatre at night, live Mexican music in the restaurants and a general feeling of the customer being the most important person of all. Hurracain Emily struck the night before we were due home - right through us. The hotel and grounds were devastated but people were out working from 6am the following day - including the holidaymakers, giving back a little of what they had received during their stay. Even though the main restaurant's roof had half caved in and the weather was still stormy, we were never without food. There was no communication to the outside world for 2 days but the management and staff worked extremely hard to continue their high standard and give as much as they possibly could during what was a devastating time for them.
I can only recommend this hotel, and would return another time. Please bear in mind that their hurracain season is "June to November" but a Force 5 had not been experienced there for over 100 years.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2005

We just returned this month from the most amazing resort, it was by far the nicest we have ever been and we do travel alot around to different places. The Bahia Principe Tulum is so clean, people are so friendly. We loved the food, there isn't any thing you could have asked for but to stay longer! Renoldo is the best waiter in the world, we ate at his tables every night and look foward to going back next year.
In the evening around 9:00 pm we always went swimming in the pool, wow what great pools. Just to relax and never worry about anything. Who ever is going soon , please enjoy!

21  Thank Skydrmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2005

I stayed here from the day before hurricane Emily till we were evacuated 3 days later. This is a fabulous resort but its now quite badly damaged and will take weeks or months to recover. I took some photos of some of the damage, mostly around our building (10) and around the Tulum reception and pool area. I've been emailing these to some people but dont have the time so am posting them here.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
43  Thank thegoodwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2005

I went for vacation and Stayed at the BAHIA BRINCIPE TULUM...WOW what a resort. So well maintained,amazing and friendly staff,super clean beach and pools, Delicious food and what a variety of food you run out of space on your plate and Noooooo Mosquitos..super great if you have children they will loooove it there, I was sent hom Wednesday July 29th I am a HURRICAN EMILY SURVIVOR...I am glad I stayed there. The hotel is hurricane safe and hurricane approved, when the hurricane hit a lot of people just fell asleep as if it was nothing...I fell asleep o the bathroom floor from the noises but we all survived...The staff went Over and above their heads to keep us calm, safe and fed, they gave us sheet updates on what to do whn the storm hit, what to do before and after, they went room to room checking the metal shutters and brought us all more then enough food to pass the night,they brought extra towels and really took care of us...this resort is a 5 star resort but in my eyes and all the people I spoke to I think it should be a 10 star resort.we took in people from other resorts and locals from the street, they went to our refuge called the Hacienda. What an experience.I cant wait to go back when the hotel is 100% recovered.right now DONT GO THERE..they need people out of there to clean the Beach from the huuuuge coral rocks, the pool all the palm trees that fell the phone and power lines and the restaurant collapsed...I sure got a lot of horror pictures from the disaster...TRUST ME This hotel is the nicest and best I've stayed at and I've been to Mexico 21 times. Walking into the Lobby alone your mouth will drop.Anyway This hotel will leave you breathless and is a complete paradise.

39  Thank Carlitabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2005

We stayed at this resort in June and had a really great time.

The room was very nice. I recommend trying to get one further away from the lobby if possible as the entertainment can be loud. We were in building 10 and it was perfect. Anywhere from 8 to 16 is perfect. Tip your maid a couple of dollars a day and you’ll get extra towels. A couple dollars in the minibar makes sure you get extra beer and chocolate too.

Restaurants: We got three a la carte restaurants through the week. We ate at Don Pablo (very good), Tequila (not that great…) and The Oriental which was fantastic. The buffet is good and the menu changes each night, so you don’t get tired of it. Book these as soon as you get there to make sure you get the good reservation times. Overall the food wasn’t too bad. The 24 hr snack bar isn’t great – but usually we were so full from dinner we didn’t eat the rest of the time.

Pool: My only complaint about the pools is the constant entertainment. It would be nice if there was one pool that you could relax in and not have someone barking into a microphone to come and join some activity. The beach is beautiful. Move a little down the beach towards the Akumal resort and the water has fewer rocks in it.

Mosquitoes: The mosquitoes at this time of year are horrendous. And now that the hurricane has gone through there are likely to be even more from the standing water. Bring repellant. And don’t go for that all natural stuff. We tried that and it didn’t work at all. The stuff they sell in the gift shop is pretty good – but you pay a few dollars for it.

Excursions: Don’t book through your tour agent. Way too expensive. Go to Xel-Ha. Book online for $50. Get a cab from the lobby – it’ll be $15 for 4 of you. Or you can book through your tour agent for $90 a person. You’ll save a tonne of money. Same thing for Chichiniza (spelling??) If you book through the tour then it’s about $90 per person and you ride in a van on their time schedule. Our cab driver told us that for $150 you can have the cab for the whole day. He’ll take you out to Chichiniza (2.5 hr drive), you get in for $10 and on the way back you can stop in Playa Del Carmen, or Cancun, or any number of little towns to do some shopping. Much cheaper and nicer to do it on your own schedule than to be herded around like cattle on a tour.

Entertainment: We only went to one of the shows as we were usually eating dinner quite late, but we liked it.

Hints:
1) Take thermal coffee mugs with covers. They work great for poolside drinks and keep them much cooler.
2) The view from the parasail can’t be beat. Well worth the money.
3) Ladies – if you decide to get the braids done, they’re $90 at the beach. If you go into Playa Del Carmen for a shopping trip then you can barter them down to $20.
4) There is a bank machine that dispenses pesos at the Dona Isabel Hacienda.

Overall it’s a really nice resort. You won’t regret booking there at all! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank tphutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lancashire
115
Reviewed July 18, 2005

Well, what can I say about the Bahia Principe Tulum? I'll start on the food. The food was absolutely fantastic! The buffet was excellent, and Don Pablo did the best Ceasar Salad ever! All of the waiters were very friendly and spoke good English, and brought you drinks as fast as they could.
The activities pool was THE place to be if you wanted to have fun. Some of the entertainment staff obviously enjoyed their jobs (Noa and Sergio to be precise) and they got as many people involved with the activities as they could.
The cleaners were fantastic! My cousin and I shared a room, and we weren't exactly the tidiest of people, but the maid we had never failed to keep the room as tidy as she could.
All of the staff were polite and helpful, and spoke good English. All in all it was a fantastic holiday and I'm working on my parents to take me back next year!!!
Anyone who goes to the Bahia Principe will come back with a smile on their face!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an
2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.1 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#14 of 23 in Akumal
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250, Local B, Akumal, Municipio Tulum, Quintana Roo. 77760 | Local B, Akumal 77776, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $170 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing