We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Limbach, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good value for reasonable price”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

If you want to have a very good family vacation, using all-inclusive services, the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum is definitely right place. There are a lot of facilities, suitable for each member of family. The very positive is the fact the customers can use the facilities of all three hotels - Akumal, Tulum and Coba, located in one large resort. Transportation among all three hotels and their facilities is provided by small electric vehicles, operated oftentimes therefore it is not even difficult for older people, families or handicapped people to move for a longer distances.
For us the best (nicest) pools were in hotel Akumal, the best beach was Coba Beach and best located hotel – Tulum. The food being offered in all restaurants was very good, quality and variety of drinks absolutely sufficient. Staff of the hotel was good as well, though in some occasions not absolutely professional. On the other hand, missing professionalism has been balanced by huge effort, helpfulness and positive attitude. This is really something we appreciate even more than austere professionalism. Just to share one situation. First room we got after our arrival was room in building “hacienda” No. 332. However this room was not that we had expected – very dark and non-committal. Therefore I have verified the possibility to change the room at the reception. The helpful receptionist after the short verification offered to me another three free rooms. We decided to move to building No. 4, which had showed to be absolutely right choice. The building is close to main hotel facilities, including pools as well as just some tens of meters from beach. Unfortunately we had to wait till midnight after the movement, extremely tired (after almost 15 hours flight from Europe and beginning jet lag) when the staff brought to us the missing bed for my daughter, despite I urged them at the reception several times. Such omissible problems have occurred perhaps three or four times during our stay but had been outbalanced by number of positives matters.
All three hotels are located in southern part of Riviera Maya, more than one hour ride from Cancun airport, but close to other interesting facilities – Xcaret, Xel-Ha and Xplor adventure parks, Mayan ruins in Coba and Tulum, Punta Allen and Sian Ka'an biosphere reserve, Gran Cenote, Cenote dos Ojos, Cozumel Island etc.
We would also appreciate overall natural and ecological character of the resort, though the space for improvement still exists.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludo_Limbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member,

First, thank you very much for your stay at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum and taking the time to write your impressions and suggestions for improving the service we offer.

We are grateful for your kind comments and really appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback about your stay with us. As we love to receive the positive comments, we also are taking notes about the things that we can improve and make it better for our guests.

It would be our pleasure to host you again.

Sincerely,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,924
    3,374
    1,277
    469
    290
See reviews for
3,715
5,455
129
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,282)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We travelled in mid march only just found the time to write my review.
This hotel is amazing, 3 hotels on one sight .
Not everywhere you go, do you see 3 weddings a week.
Everything is clean, no rubbish or litter in the hotel or grounds. The staff are very attentive and you can tip if you want, it certainly didn't make anyone less attentive to us. Our rooms were clean, a bit smelly/ musty from the air con but you got used to it.
Large beds, mini fridge filled up daily, towels galore, nice dressing gowns and slippers on arrival and champagne.
We were a bit disappointed that the bar area closed at 11pm, you had to make sure you had a drink to last you.
Michael Jackson show was fab.
The restaurants were amazing, we tried quite a few and were very pleased with all the a la carte however the buffet restaurants were great and you couldn't fault them really.
If you visit the other hotels the coba seems to be mainly americans and Canadians and very full on and loud, they have a casino in this part as well.
There are little trains/golf cars which transport you around the complex all run about in between the little blocks of rooms and drop you off at the door. Some of the drivers play their music and sing loud which is very funny but makes you feel happy. We used to go to the beach at the akumal end but we decided towards the end of the holiday to stay up our end and wished we had all the time , much quieter. The sea was quite rough so don't expect to be swimming out. They have large breakers, which looks like whale,s in the sea to stop the waves which helped.

It was very humid out in mexico and made trips a bit of a mission, however we did the Tulum ruins went under our own steam, but was very warm. We did the xcaret, which is like a big outdoor wildlife area lots of animals and you can snorkel the river, lunch is part of the package, it was a real good day but a lot of walking. We did have some rain, but was quite glad to get wet
This group of hotels was incredible I would definitely use them again and Mexico was very pretty.

Room Tip: We were in the hacienda gold part of the Tulum , this is the quieter part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Cheryl,

We take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have written for the benefit of the TripAdvisor. There is immense pleasure of having a guest such as your self speak in such high regard for our Hotel.

The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Kind Regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in tulum it was an amazing place, food out of this world we loved the Japanese where they cook the food in front of you
The swim up bar is brilliant and all the activities at the pool and beach are great fun
Loads to do entertainment on an evening fantastic at all three hotels
Best of all the staff couldn't do enough for you always happy and smiling
Just the most amazing holiday can't wait to go again

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Diane,

On behalf the Management and all the staff of the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, we would like to send you our warmest appreciation for choosing our hotel for your holiday.

We would like to thank you for your positive review about our services and for recommending our resort, it is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort.

Best regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We visited at the start of April 2014 and had booked to be in the main Akumal part of the complex. On arrival, we were told Akumal was full and we were being "upgraded" to Tulum. After a bit of hassle our room was very nice except that our 12yo daughter was relegated to sleeping on a sofa-bed rather than the proper bed we'd booked.
The safety-deposit box was pretty small and there was a bit of an issue with the electrics but the room was, overall, very comfortable and well maintained. The towel sculptures left every day by our maid Paty were a joy!
The Tulum part of the complex is probably quieter than the other areas - with the exception of the rowdy main and swim-up bars but we stayed around a very quiet pool with loads of shade and sunbeds available.
The staff in all areas were very polite, friendly and helpful with particular mention to the buffet restaurant staff who did a brilliant job.
The food was a mix of styles but there was always something to eat and with cooked-to-order omelettes in the mornings and cooked-to-order pasta for lunch and dinner we ate very well. We tried two of the a la carte restaurants with very different results. The Italian restaurant was wonderful with attentive service and lovely food. The Mexican restaurant was awful.....we were out in the "tent" and had very slow service. The food was bland and barely warm. Not recommended!
We did the trip to Chichen Itza and the tour guides were very good; fun and informative. We also did trips to (the much nearer) XeCaret and Xel-ha. Both were fun but Xel-ha is probably only worth a visit if you love time in the water. It's got great snorkeling and water activities to enjoy but not much else other than great scenery.
A few words of advice......utilise the "trains" that take you between the different parts of the complex as some are quite a walk but also be careful as they sometimes whiz along!;

Overall, we loved this hotel and we're already planning to revisit in a few years time

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharpy0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member:

Thank you for giving us your nice feedback about the time you had at the Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the food and the activities. It was also delightful to read that you enjoyed the service of our team. We are proud in creating memories that last a lifetime, give unforgettable experiences to our guests and pleased to see that we have reached our goal.

As we love to receive the positive comments, we also are taking notes about the things that we can improve and make it better for our guests.

It would be our pleasure to host you again.

Kindly Regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed twice at GBP in Riviera Maya...Coba, and then Tulum. We have also stayed at GBP El Portillo in Samana, DR. The service is always consistent with everyone on staff who spoke any English always ready to help. Having gone to GBP resorts three times now should tell you something. This time we would again like to thank everyone who made our stay special. A special shout out to Raphael, Yaneth, and Alberto from Club Diamond who went out of their way to help in every question we had. As well, all of the buffet/restaurant staff who worked so hard. Always smiles everywhere! The bell hops who also drove the trolleys around were great, often going out of their way to get us wherever we needed to be. The room attendants did a superb job as well.

A couple of notes to the hotel for possible improvements: the Privilege Club presentation we went on was over 2 1/2 hours, vice the 90 minutes we were told, and it was THE most "pressure sales tactic" we have ever endured. We will not be doing it again, and it should be that one "no thank you" is sufficient.

Although all the buildings have ice machines, none function and it is most inconvenient for those like me who need to keep meds like insulin really cold.

Returning guests should be told of things like after three visits you're supposed to have a gold bracelet with some "special privileges" attached. None of this was mentioned to us until the last day, and even then nothing was explained beyond the fact we should have been told. Those who also bring friends should be considered for some sort of incentive as well perhaps?

Finally, it would be good idea to consider having large monitors in every lobby showing up to date pickup/transfer qnotices and flight departure times for each airline.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank jonnymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member:

Thank you very much for your time and for providing us with your impressions regarding your recent vacation at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum.

It really makes us happy to know that you and your family had enjoyed our entire complex and that you had a great time. We are glad to hear that our personnel have left a good impression.

We thank you for writing your suggestions to improve the service we are offering, it will help us to be better every day.

We definitley love the idea of you returning to Bahia Principe Riviera Maya, it will be a pleasure for us to attend you and your family for your next holiday!!

Wish you the best,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our third visit to this resort. In particular, the staff are lovely. It's great to see the same employees year after year. Special thanks to Alfredo in the Tequila Restaurant, Liberato at the Club Diamond pool bar and Aurora in the Tulum lobby bar.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lecila5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member:

We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you for the third time here at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum.

It is for guests like you who send us some nice, inspiring words after their holiday, that our personal finds every day the motivation and energy to keep on the good work. I hope that you can repeat this wonderful experience in the near future.

You can be assured that we look forward to welcoming you “back home”!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Gran Bahia Principe made up of 3 affiliated resorts - Coba, Akumel and Tulum and guests have complete access to all three. We had a junior suite in Tulum. Attentive and friendly staff. Good food and drink selection in buffet and beach snack bar. Very clean resort. Good nightly entertainment. Two great pools and lovely beach. Great shopping at the Hacienda Dona Isabel. Will go again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed it.

Please come back and make it a tradition holiday at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum.

At this time we wish you all the best,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
11.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250 | Local B, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing