We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hoilday and wedding !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hoilday and wedding !!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

its are first time in mexico and what a grate place it is, we desicded to get marriad there and they pulled out all the stops they did a great job to make it something we will never forget. The hotel its self was amazing the rooms were a good size and very clean we was in block 40-46 and some off the rooms had a view to die for,and all staff coundnt do enough for you they we very nice people. but the best holtel by far iv every stayed at and we will be going back thats for sure and thats why iv rated the grand bahia so high .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sam,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Bahia Principe Resort for celebrating your wedding. It is an honor to serve you during such an unique event and to know that we have made your stay a memorable experience.

Awaiting the moment of welcome you for your first anniversary. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any requests you may have to: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Wishing you all the best,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,982
    3,399
    1,288
    473
    297
See reviews for
3,784
5,484
129
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,295)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
INDIANAPOLIS
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Tulum section of GBP April 22 thru April 29. We were unexpectedly upgraded to the Hacienda Club section of Tulum as it was our 2nd stay at the resort. I will get a couple of VERY small negatives out of the way, then on to the good stuff.

The ice machines in most of the buildings were either empty or not working although I did find a couple with the lid open...duh.

Our mini-bar fridge was not cooling but was fixed upon request.

The Wi-Fi in the lobby is basically useless.

Now for the good and great!

The general attitude of every single employee of this place is unbelievable...you are always greeted with a warm smile and "Hola".

The food in the buffets is high quality, plentiful and fresh. After a full week, it can be a bit repetitive but still quite good.

The pools are nearly spotless and pool bars are staffed and efficient at turning out the frozen magic. The beach is not traditional if you are used to Florida or California beaches. There are many rocks and coral formations along the beach that make swimming nearly impossible, however, there are several protected " lagoons " that provide a more sandy bottom and a place to snorkel. The red flags were up at the beach every day so these lagoons were being heavily used.

The landscaping and grounds are continuously being refreshed so that no matter where you go on the resort, the scenery is truly beautiful.

This resort is very large but has many golf carts and trams to get you where you want to go. Tipping is not necessary nor do the staff EVER act as though they are waiting for it, but when a tip is offered, it is always followed by a thank you and a smile.

This was our 2nd trip to Riviera Maya and also 2nd stay at GBP. We agonized over trying a different resort before we finally settled on a 2nd stay at GBP. No more agonizing...I can confidently recommend this resort to anyone, anytime. The management has obviously spent a great deal of time on training a staff that provides outstanding service while enjoying their jobs.

Lastly, the resort is about an hour south of the airport but well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Tulum and Akumal sections are closer to beach while Coba has kids water park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank INDYWAHOO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member:

We feel much honored to read your kind remarks in regards of your second visit to our hotel.
On behalf of all the associates of the Grand Bahia Principe Resort, I want to express our appreciation for the time you took to write and describe your appreciations of the service we provide.

We appreciate that you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: scenic property, delicious and varied food; friendly and efficient staff and relaxing beach. Your suggestions have been duly noted and we assure you that we will bear them in mind.

Thank you for staying with us already twice, and we look forward to be able to welcome you back for a third time.

Best wishes,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Since our last review posted in November 2012, we have had the pleasure of a vacation in December 2012 and another in April 2013.

In December, we celebrated Wendy's birthday, and what a great time we had, thanks to the Bahia Tulum staff generally, and to Marcos and the staff in the Don Pablo. The entire week was wonderful, and everyone made Wendy feel very special for this celebration. Some of the staff were able to join us for dinner and some music and dancing later in the lobby bar, and we all enjoyed the evening. Even Miguel, Graciela and Maria (the morning bar staff in the lobby bar) arranged a special drink and some treats during the day. Our thanks to everyone for the part each played in celebrating Wendy's birthday. As always, the entire week was excellent thanks to all the Bahia staff. The food in the a la cartes (don Pablo; the Tequila; the Dolce Vita; the Fruitos del Mar) and the Tulum buffet was delicious, as was the service, and the Tulum lobby bar (Bar Akumal) continued to be a favourite because of the staff, the music and the drinks. Particularly enjoyable was an opportunity to bake with some of the buffet chefs. Ron, fully outfitted in chef's attire, mixed up a double batch of his favourite peanut butter cookies, with the help of Gracy, Damien and other chefs in the kitchen staff. What a fun time this was, and the cookies were great.

We returned for 2 weeks in April, and this time we were celebrating Ron's birthday. The day was indeed special, starting with a great cake a breakfast (thanks to Jamie and the buffet staff) and ending with an excellent dinner and dessert (thanks to Marcos and the don Pablo staff). Again, we enjoyed the company of some of the staff and ended the day dancing in the lobby bar. And thanks to the chef who took the peanut butter cookie recipe from April and served a "round" of cookies at dinner. And the special lunch with steak and the best Mexican pepper sauce prepared by one of the buffet chefs was delicious - we are still trying to get the recipe!!

The entire 2 weeks was fabulous. We enjoyed our room in our favourite Villa 4. The air conditioner stopped working only for a short time, was was fixed within an hour of our bringing this to the attention of Silvia and the Public Relations staff. That was our only issue during the 2 weeks. The grounds were "manicured" and looked great with all the flowers in bloom. We enjoyed the pools and the beaches, and typically spend time in all the beach areas wherever the snorkeling is best. We enjoyed the food everywhere, including the snack bars, the buffet and the a la cartes (don Pablo; the Tequila; the Tartuga; the Dolce Vita and the Fruitos del Mar) Carlos and the bell boys make sure that travel throughout the entire resort is easy. And time in the lobby bar was again lots of fun with drinks accompanied by good music.

What keeps us coming back to this resort is the staff. All the staff work very hard to make sure that guests, like us, relax, enjoy and have a good vacation. And we very much appreciate how well we are treated by everyone. And we appreciate that Gracy, Silvia, Melchor and Maxi help make some arrangements, for dinners, etc. before we arrive. Very efficiently, all is taken care of and our holiday begins as soon as we arrive.

Off the resort we travelled to the village of Tulum and to Playa del Carman - the collectivo continues to provide excellent service.

And yes, we are already booked to return for our next vacation in October.

Ron and Wendy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvergreenOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Ron and Wendy,

First of all thank you for your loyalty in Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort, we are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination once again!

On behalf of the entire Grand Bahia Principe Tulum team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your last visits and for taking the time to share your remarkable comments about our service and facilities, your kind words inspire us to consistently deliver our standards ensuring that we meet and exceed our guests’ expectations. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time during your last two visits to your “Mexican home” and that you enjoyed the baking time and the special birthday celebrations that we prepared for you. We specially thank you for the peanut butter cookies recipe, the Canadian measuring cup and the beautiful time spent with all of us.

We really appreciate you mentioning our staff, especially Marco, Graciela, Miguel, Jaime, Silvia, Melchor, Maxi, Damian, Gracy, they are great ambassadors of service in our hotel and we have already sent your nice words and thanks to all of them and to all the departments involved.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments; it is great to read that you enjoyed your room, food, drinks and music at the bar and the beach area. I would like to make a heartfelt apology about the air conditioner issue, as you know we work with a very strict Concierge express service where every request or report in the room is filed, we are glad to hear that the problem was resolve very quickly and would like to apologize for any inconveniences which you may have experienced as a result of this situation.

We are counting the days to welcome you back in October!

Kindest regards from your second home in paradise,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Asistente SubDireccion / Asistent SubDirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Bit of a late review! We travelled here in sept 2012 for 2 weeks, myself my partner and my 18 month old little boy.
On arriving we did have a slight issue as we had payed for the upgrade into the hacienda and wasnt given it and they also put us on a top floor with a buggy and no lifts!! This was quickly resolved after me getting up our confirmation and it did not spoil our holiday.

Rooms were brill and maids were fab always a different towel art every day to come back to.

Food was lovely. As far as all inclusive goes this was the best. We visited a couple of the al a carte restaurants but the only one we really enjoyed was mikado and we returned twice it was that good. We struggled with the al a cartes as they didnt have kids menus but if you havent got kids give them all a try.

Weather was outstanding and only had 2 days rain, and we never struggled to get sun loungers in whole 2 weeks we were there.

We only did one excursion which was a catamaren. It was good and i would of probally enjoyed it but i discovered i was sea sick on the trip an didnt no :(. My little boy loved it though looking at the turtles and helping to drive the boat! Again if you havent got children with you everyone was reccommending coco bonga nightclub.

Overall we would return again for a relaxing break....maybe next time we would try cancun why we did the riveria maya this time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubblesssssssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member:

Thank you very much for coming with your family to Grand Bahia Principe Resort and for writing on Trip Advisor about your great experience.

It is nice to know that you have enjoyed our service and the hotel facilities.

We all are looking forward to welcome you soon again,

With best regards,

Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Tulum for a week. We enjoyed doing very little and just relaxing. A good variety when you take advantage of the other hotels and their restaurants.
staff was quite friendly and rooms were very good. Buffets were high quality but similar to other resorts.
Best a la carte for us was Don Pablo. Excellent place.
Some advice. Book your 3 a la crates right away. We tried to book on Monday and there was very little available.
Also the same old morons put their towels on the best chairs really earlyand use them for an hour or so in the middle of the day. Our days were all quite windy so the beach wasn't as nice and none of the water sports were really available other than swimming. . However the breakwaters allowed for some calm water. Large resort but the buildings are quite spread out and it doesn't feel crowded.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank simpcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member:

On behalf of the Grand Bahia Principe Resort I want to express our appreciation for your complimentary notes regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Thank you for your kind review which you have shared with other travelers. We appreciate that you took the time to remember us.

We appreciate that you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: enjoyable and varied food; efficient staff and relaxing areas.

We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

just got back from two weeks holiday at tulum and its was amazing mexican people are probably the most friendly and accomadating people ever,the food and service was impeccable and the weather and scenery were amazing also loved the wild life .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Gemma:

We fell so happy to read that you have enjoyed yourselves and that you took the opportunity to admire the natural surroundings and wild life.

It is nice to know that you have enjoyed our service and the hotel facilities. Being a three hotel complex gives us the opportunity to have several options to offer to our guests.

We all are looking forward to welcome you for your next visit at your second home at the Mexican Caribbean.

With best regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went to the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum with 14 others for a wedding gathering from March 30 to April 11th.
The resort was all in all great. The pools were clean and accessible. The bathrooms and other amenities clean and nice.
The little carts are very handy for getting around the three resorts as the property is HUGE!
The restaurants were good to very good, including the buffet.
The staff was nice and helpful.
Our only complaint was that our room was not the greatest. Our stand up lamp was barely standing as it was broken and listing sideways...we did not even try to use it. And, our bathroom needed to be gutted; the tiles were in total disrepair and the mirror was mouldy and had big black spots all over it which made getting ready interesting. There were tiny tiny ants in our bathroom as well. They got into everything in the bathroom...a little disconcerting.
The beds were firm and very comfortable.
We didn't spend a ton of time in the room as we were always on the go, but if we did vacation there again, I would make sure we were placed in a better room.
Beach was nice and taken care of. The huge sandbags help to keep the waves down.
I didn't like having to pay for the safe...a rip off, but I'd rather be safe than sorry, so they got my money :(
The wifi in the lobby was very hit and mostly miss, and I heard that paying extra for wifi in your room was iffy as well...not worth the expenditure.

Would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worthbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guests:

First of all thank you for trusting the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Resort. We really appreciate you taking the time to send us some valuable comments about your stay with us.
All the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and the service in the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort and there is no better quality control than yours.

Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services and make sure our entire guest feel welcomed.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our resort sometime in the near future. Please, do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance at: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Kindest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
143.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
23.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
11.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250 | Local B, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BP Travel USA, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing