We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy 50 DB Babby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was are first time to Mexico ,what a surprise ,we hadthe best time ,Tulum resort was great we stayed in building #1 room122 great view and steps to every thing ,bar ,pool ,odetorium ,and the beach .It was my husbands 50 bd he was treated well ,a bottle of champain in are room on arrival ,the stafe was amazing thank you so much Maria for all the towell art and a clean room every day ,and to Sergio are rep.of the week we had fun on are excursion snorkling is exelent at the resort ,if you can chek out the Tulum ruins they are fantastick thank you Eric for all the mayan history.We had supper at the Tequila excellant you have to try the tequila so many diferent flavores,The Don Paplo rest.was excelent as was Fruit de mer ,and medatranian.we also visited Akumal and Coba they are beautiful resorts as well,so much to see and do the days seem to fly by last words clean clean i highly recomend .One laste thing Hola to are new BC friends from SPEEDY GONZALIS chat with you soon .Thanks to the staff Roberto Daniel Samantha and all the rest for the GREAT SERVICE woul defenatly go back . I coul go on @on@on but time to log off ,do try this resort and have fun.

Room Tip: Room122 steps to every thing ,you would think noise but by 11pm all is quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssh4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor traveler:

We would like to say ¨gracias¨ for deciding to give us an opportunity to enjoy our services at the Gran Bahia Principe Resort.

We will pass the comments to the team, they will be happy that you have noticed their services. At the same time we are appreciative with your fine impressions of our food and beverages department and would like to mention that we will be very happy to welcome you back here at Gran Bahia Principe Tulum for more nice memories and delicious drinks.

On behalf of the entire team we thank for your positive comments to us moving through this social network always consulted and appreciated by many travelers.

Please write us a little message before your next visit and we will do all our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kind regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,695 - 5,701 of 12,775 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just come back on a 2 weeks holiday, we enjoyed it very much. hotels are huge, it's actually 4 hotels combined together, so you can travel and eat at other hotels for free too.
We stayed @ tulum, hotel, but I prefer akumal hotel swimming pool (activity one). It's not too big to lose my son, and the staff are amazing there, great activity throughout the day.
Travel: we arrived @ cancun airport @ 2:30pm, didn't get to the hotel until 6pm, its way too long transfer especially with 11 hours fly there.
Food: tulum food not great @ lunch and dinner, food is very cold. But akumal is a lot better.
You can swim with the dolphin @ tulum hotel, but pictures are very expensive, but we found out, they always do ((suppose to be secret) deal, 99 dollars for all pictures and (7-10 mins) video instead of something like 325 dollars. But video is like they video the whole group of people swim of dolphin, not just you!
we went to tulum ruins, bit waste of time, but if you really like to go, just catch the shuttle bus outside the hotel, think it costs 30 peso to tulum, then around 5 dollars to get in.
Playa del Carmen: amazing, you have to go there, loved it, bus fare costs 35 peso, we did scuba diving, 40 dollar for adult, 20 dollar for kid, amazing experience I have to say, worth give it a go. My son only 6, he loved it. had fresh seafood after in a reasturant by beach, I had full body massage for 30 dollar (1hour), it's only, but feel great as it's massage bed on the beach.
Overall, def go back to mexico, not sure if we will stay at the same hotel as we always like to try new one, plus transfer was bit long for us. We travelled with Thomas cook.

Room Tip: our villa is number 20. So not humid at all, but I know other family stayed at 68 or 60, they said r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank may b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest:

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to communicate your opinion about your last stay at Grand Bahia Principe.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the resort that you quite enjoyed, however we are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service concerning the food. We have already shared it with our chef and restaurant manager in order to improve and enhance quality. Indeed, your well being and entire satisfaction is our primary goal.

Nevertheless, we do hope that you took treasured moments from your vacation at the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum back home with you.

We will very glad if you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future!

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

There is loads i could ramble on about but ; Main points hacienda /DIAMOND they are the same, perfect for anyone withmobility probs even has steps into the pool easy, all areas wheelchair friendly ,and the resturant for breakfast ,/lunch right next to the pool even with seaveiw not as much choice as the main resturants but plenty .you also have a seperate lobby so any probs sorted easy ,trains run to and from the lobby to all other parts COBA ,AKUMAL ECTevery 5mins .we stayed at the tulum part 6yrs ago and yes it has changed mainly do to the building of the coba ,sian khian , our first week was halfterm as we took our 9yr old grandson and yes it was very busy ,2nd week far far better lovely, wihth the exception of one misserable awkward guy on the checkin desk in hacienda lobby all the staff where so friendly helpful and CLEAN the whole place is spotless , ithink everyone gets bored with international buffet after 10days or so ,but you can eat in adifferent place each night and they are all abit different, as for the alacart you do need to book on arrival and everyone ichatted with agreed ,fish resturant awful?? international, OK italian COLD SLOW NOT GOOD ,don pablo LOVELY GREAT MEAL gran tortuga THE BEST we ate here 4 times steak on swords until your ful to limit.Above all this place such good value for money ,many people got it for £1020 last min idont know how they do it we payed £1300 with upgrade to junior suite only 100 more than 6 yrs ago .in feb we payed 3 times that for the maldives and actualy i prefered the climate here,wall to wall sunshine for to weeks ex food branded drinks well?? THE BIGGEST PROBLEM thomas cook are, well rubbish from start to finish ,shocking flight ,2.5hr transfer with the driver from hell after short intro from rep who knew 10english words ,they try and get money out of you at every chance ,they tell you to take pesos ,but everything including their trips are in dollars but if you get them to convert they charge you less in pesos ? beware if going to tulum pyrms get a taxi from main lobby 57pesos to get in 230 for taxi we saved £90 against their trip price .If you want arealy good day out even if you dont have children XEL-HA FANTASTIC superb organization snokel swim etc eat drink as much as you like great day ,chek out the web site before you go .one last thing the confusion with thomas cook premier seats outbound ,if you HAVE NOT selected your seat you stand abetter chance of getting the upgrade as they are issued at checkin on 1st come stupid or what ? have agreat time icant really see how could not .

Room Tip: junior rooms are at the back row of hacienda the furthest away from the pool very few have sea veiw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank backy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Big Family:

We are glad to know that Grand Bahia Principe was a good host during your family vacation.

Thank you for giving us your nice feedback about the time you had here and the activities that you had enjoyed.
The “Club Hacienda” is a very exclusive section which has extra amenities and private areas. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the privacy and exclusivity of this section and the variety of food in all the restaurants and buffets. We have taken note of the comments you made in regards to the restaurants and the reception. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. Be assured that we have addressed your letter to every manager in order to take measures as we always strive for excellence in service..

We do look for the opportunity to welcome you back again to your second home at the Mexican Caribbean.
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived at the Tulum at approximate 5pm after a 2 hour hourney from the airport, to be greeted with a cocktail or drink from the bar. Everyone we came acroos at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The first holiday ever that after 3 days I have felt chilled out.
We had the option of 4 dine out options per week, The best by a long long way was the Dolce dvita the service was over 100% nothing was too much trouble and the food was wonderful.
The other restaurants were pretty average compared to the Dolce Avita, The management of this restuarant should be given the task of training the managers of the the other dine out resturants especially the Brazilian and Meditraineo which was extremely poor service, rude staff and not good food to the extent we left the restuarants without finishing the meals.
The bar staff in all of the lobby bars were extremely friendly and helpful and made sure that we were not waiting too long before seerving us. the buffet restuarants were really nice although sometimes we struggled to get a clean table when first going in. The staff did try very hard to keep up cleaning the tables off but did sometimes struggle with the numbers although they always had a smile for us and did it as soon as they possibly could.
I would recomend this group of hotels to anyone and will most certainly go back again although not with Thomas Cook as they were the failure part of our trip, the seats on the plane the service on the plane the air hotesses seemed rude and agressive to some other passengers on the plane over the food situation on board.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor member:

First of all I want to thank you for coming to Grand Bahia Principe Resort.
We are truly glad to read that our aim has been achieved during your stay with us: making you feel relaxed and away from the activities of the daily life.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that our hotel features have really made you enjoy yourselves which means that our efforts and continuous training have achieve one of our goals.

Let me express my gratitude for writing your impressions in this website and to share them with other guests.

We wish we were given the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Wow! What a fantastic hotel. First things first, the staff are incredible, whether its the waiters, the maids or the guys on the beach collecting stones out the sea they were all so so friendly. I don't think i waked past a member of staff in the 10 days i was there who didn't say 'Hello' with a smile on his/her face. The food here is outstanding, had to pace myself as 10 days of buffets could of serious increased my waist line. So much to do outside of the hotel, with the water park Xel-Ha only 20 minutes away (if your staying in this hotel i FULLY recommend Xel-Ha). All in all a fantastic hotel in a fantasic location. And while i'm on here, if anyone finds a mans wedding ring, white gold, in the sea then please get in touch haha

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Tom:

We fell so happy to read that you have enjoyed yourselves and that you took the opportunity to admire the natural surroundings.

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to have served you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly, is very motivating our Managers and Staff to keep on going the extra mile, we thank you for highlight our services as well as the food and is really nice to read that you enjoy your vacations among us.

We hope that we will be able to say "HOLA" again and to have you back for a second stay at your second home at the Mexican Caribbean. We will make sure your stay is nothing else but a fantastic experience again. We will keep looking for your ring till your return.

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was the third time we have been to Riviera Maya, but first time at Gran Bahia Tulum. This hotel was everything we'd expected - the rooms were very good and the dining was excellent. We stayed in the hacienda section of Tulum, and ate breakfast and lunch mostly at the Tequila Mexican restaurant there - Alfredo and the rest of the staff went out of their way to look after us and the kids.

Our primary reason for staying here was for the beaches and snorkelling - Akumal public beach is only a short taxi ride away and is superb - wonderful beach and couldn't believe how easy it was to see the turtles and rays, along with the other fish on the coral reef. Xel-Ha was also very good - we jumped in a taxi to get there for when it opened at 8:30 (most of the organized tours turn up around 10:30), and had no problem spending the whole day there.

Loved this place as a family vacation resort and would not hesitate to go back.

Couple of tips:
- Take water/beach shoes, as the beaches can be rocky underfoot at the resort
- Kid's club in the Tulum resort was non-existant (from what we could see). Didn't bother us too much but we'd probably stay at Akumal resort next time as there was more going on there.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear David and family:

We are glad to know that Grand Bahia Principe was a good host during your family vacation.

Thank you for giving us your nice feedback about the time you had here and the activities that you had enjoyed. The “Club Hacienda” is a very exclusive section which has extra amenities and private areas. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the privacy and exclusivity of this section and the variety of food in all the restaurants and buffets.

Please be assured that it is an honor and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff, especially to Alfredo.

We do look for the opportunity to welcome you and your family back again to your second home at the Mexican Caribbean.

Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel was great. It's huge and part of a larger collection of hotels. With the all-niclusiive you could go to anything on any of the hotels n the group, and there are frequent trollys to take you around when needed. Also has a centralized place for all hotels with a shopping center and bars and disco. The only reason I rated a four is because the pools close at 8pm! That is way too early. I'm on vacation and shouldn't be made to stop my relaxing and enjoyment so early. Most places close pools at 10, which I also think is too early for vacation, but is more acceptable than 8. The pools are a big part of what you do on vacation, well and the beach, so this was a big disappointment for me. The restaurants that you need reservations for fill up a little too quickly, but are all worth it- so definitely make reservations before your trip. That is a bummer, because you don't want to have to committ to where you feel like eating on vacation, but trust me, you'll want a break from the buffets- although the buffets weren't bad either, have a ton of selection of different ethncities of foods to pick up, even some make as your order omellet/taco/smoothies kind of things, just nice to have a change for a few meals so definitely go to the reserved restraunts. GREAT SERVICE, all the staff is friendly and very helpful. Bathrooms were big, but lacked good lighting. Rooms were so-so, nothing fancy, but nice and comfortable beds and had firm and soft pillows to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bahia Principe
1  Thank traveler2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor traveler:

It is very nice to read that you have appreciated the food in the a la carte restaurants and the variety of the buffets. For the improvement of our facilities, we take your comments about the pools sections into consideration and hope to improve the suggestion of the openings and closing times. Being a three hotel complex gives us the opportunity to have several options to offer to our guests.

We look forward to receive you again in our resort and hope you do not hesitate to contact us with any requests you may have.

Best regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.0 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250, Local B, Akumal, Municipio Tulum, Quintana Roo. 77760 | Local B, Akumal 77776, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $172 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing