We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunglasses!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a great trip we had! Three wonderful weeks of r&r.
I have a concern regarding the well being of employees working at the Holbox bar.
We saw them greeting, joking, chit chatting all of us tourist and making us feel so wonderful.
My concern is for their eye health, why are they not allowed to protect their eyes with sunglasses? We, the tourist are protecting our eyes with sunglasses so why are they not allowed to do the same?
Paloma, Jesus,Selene,Marie,Anna, your are wonderful and the Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an is very lucky to have you as employees taking such good care of us.
So my hope is that the Bahia Principe owner's recognize the urgent need to take care of their employees eye health!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Optibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member:

We want to express our appreciation for sharing with us and with other Trip Advisor users you gracious feedback regarding your visit to Gran Bahia Principe Resort.

It is important for us to know that our associates’ efforts are appreciated by our guests. Paloma, Jesus, Selene, Marie and Anna are a very important asset to our staff. All of our associates are appreciative when they receive complimentary comments like yours, and the fact that you have named some of them makes them feel even prouder. Your suggestions have been duly noted and we assure you that we will bear them in mind.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our resort sometime in the near future. Please, do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance at: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Kindest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,718 - 5,724 of 12,799 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have visited Grand Bahia Principe Tulum - Hacienda Section for two weeks from 20 October to 3 November with 3 other friends and we had great time. We were updated to Hacienda Section when i booked the holiday and didn't pay anything extra for it.

Our trip started with over 1 hour delay from Manchester, Uk. Flying with Thomas Cook - well what to say to that, I wasn't very happy at all, no space at all - I am 178cm and after probably 3 hours sitting i didn't know what to do, how to sit, my whole body hurt. One of my friends is 184cm and he had problems as well. The in flight films and programs - not much to watch, 4 films for 10 hours flight, only 2 of the films were kind of ok to watch.

From the airport it was almost 2 hours transfer to the hotel. We arrived around 8pm, got off the bus and were transfer to Hacienda Lobby for check-in, it was pretty quick check-in. We went to our rooms, it took about 25 minutes for the suitcases to arrive and then we went for dinner to the main restaurant.

Next day there was a meating with Thomas Cook reps - well, because i have been to Mexico before I knew what will follow {before i was with First Choice and theirs reps are local people, and there were pretty good and had lots of info for us}. Thomas Cook reps didn't say much, only what trips they have on offer. So nothing about what we could do, nothing about hotel, safety etc. What a waste of time - 45 minutes meating, nothing interesting.

Rooms - very good, cleaned every day, fridge stocked with some drinks, 2 bottles of water every day. On one day there was no water - so i went to reception carrying the empty bottles and they said somebody will come and bring some, 5 minutes later and 3 bottles of water were there.
We had two double beds - there were huge and very comfy - i don't understand how can anybody say they are not. Well, the bed were much better that what i have at home and my friend said she slept better than at home.
Bathroom - had plenty of towels and stocked with small shampoos, shower gels and body lotions.
Balconies could do with better chairs and bigger tables.
There was a little problem with air-con, water was dripping through the light and flooding the floor. I went to reception told them about it and when we came from Tulum everything was fixed.

Beach - perfect. Very long. We were in hacienda and from there to the end of Akumal Hotel it took 20minutes to walk. Lots of sun chairs everywhere. Nice sand, good waves, some stones in the water.

Bars - good. Great coctails, good service.

Restaurants - i did book some restaurants over email and i am glad i did it.
Spanish restaurant - good, we celebrated my friend 30th birthday there, even got little cake at the end, so nice from them.
Mikado - we didn't get the show table, just the normal table, but the food was really good.
Brasilian - i was told it was good, but we have nothing good to say about it. The food was OK, but the service horrible, very very very slow, we had to wait for meat 20-25minutes and after they served the chicken we just left, and went to buffet.
Main buffet - was really good, but every day the same food, service little slow, sometime it was really hard to get a table or ready clean table, because part of the main buffet was closed for roof constraction, so they had limited space. We used Tequila restaurant for breakfast and lunch mainly.


We didn't use Thomas Cook for any of the trips. We did all the trips by local collectivo. We went to Tulum, Playa de Carmen and Akumal Beach. It cost 40 pesos each way, so cheap.
Entrance to Tulum ruins was 58 or 60 pesos and you can stay how long you want plus use the beach - great beach.
Akumal Beach - 5 minutes by collectivo. We did snorkeling and have seen huge turtles, fish and sting rays.

Hotel has little shopping area - and i have to say after shopping next to Tulum ruins and Playa de Carmen, the shopping at the hotel was the best and cheapest, and you can get some good deals as well. Anyway wherever you go, every shop or seller has the same things to sell.

We haven't seen any of the evening show, so i don't know if they are any good.

We came to Mexico to have a good holiday and good time and we had great time and super great holiday, two weeks hot weather and lots of sunshine.
I would like to say big thanks to Virginie {French girl} who works as rep for JetTours {or something like that, i am not sure about the name} at Hacienda Tulum swimming pool - she is the best, when she was working there was water polo, water volleyball, beach volleyball etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katerina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Katerina:

It is very nice to read that you have appreciated our atmosphere at the Hacienda section and the amenities of this club. Thank you very much for your informative review.

Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated. We take proud of your comments about the rooms, the food, the reception and the beautiful beach. Thank you for the description of the hotel installations and service; we are always glad to read that our guests enjoy themselves and that this case was not an exception.

Do not hesitate is contacting us when if you decide to come for some more pamper.

With best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

well after reading many negative reviews on here, we have just returned fro a 2 week stay at gbp tulum and LOVED it, yes its a huge resort, but to me thats a plus as you never get bored and dont feel restricted, its a very well kept resort and the staff are amazing, the ala cartes were fab(apart from mediteranean - service was slow and food was cold) the pools where huge and the drinks where tasty and not at all watered down, the buffets had a fab variety every day and i would recommend the tulum buffet over the other 2(akumel and coba) the only down side was the long transfer to and from airport, we did coco bongos direct with hotel and was fab, as was captain hook and we also swam with sea turtles at akumel bay(down the road) tulum ruins are also nice to visit. i would recommend to anyone and defo would return.

Room Tip: we where in 1002, a ground floor, partial sea view but mainly overlooking gardens and close to snack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodielovescarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Jodie:

It is of great satisfaction for us to know that you have really enjoyed your time at the Grand Bahia Principe Resort.

It was also delightful to read that you enjoyed the food. It is important for us to know that our staff efforts are appreciated by our guests. We are proud in creating memories that last a lifetime, give unforgettable experiences to our guests and pleased to see that we have reached our goal.

We look forward to receive you in our resort again and hope you do not hesitate to contact us with any requests you may have to : info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had the most wonderful time here with the privilege club. I have travelled to this resort in the past but the extras that the club gives you just make it. The concierge's here in particular Ana, Miluska,Carla and at the private beach Javier,Freddy and Adan made us feel like royalty. Every thing we needed we had and then some. The boys at the beach took my boys under their wings and took very good care of them and the girls in the lounge went above and beyond. A la carte dinner every night, private beach with beds and our own bar, golf carts at our disposal to take us where ever we needed to go on the this large resort. I travel every year and this was by far one of the best trips right up there with our trip to Privilege Club Bahia in Jamaica last year. Best investment I ever made.

Room Tip: want the beach then Tulum want the party pool Coba
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trishp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivilegeClub, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Trishp14,

On behalf of Bahia Principe Privilege Club, we are so thrilled that you had a wonderful vacation as a Privilege Club Member. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service to our members and are always willing to assist our guests' needs. We wanted to take the time out to thank you for writing such a wonderful post about your experience at our resort. We’ll be sure to share your comments with the appropriate teams at the resort. We hope to have you back soon to continue enjoying the privileges of being a member. Should you have any additional questions regarding the Privilege Club membership, please feel free to email us at
customerservice@bppclub.com

Kind regards,
Adriana Toledo
Customer Service Manager
Bahia Principe Privilege Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Like alot of traveler's we rely on tripadvisor reviews before we travel. We are seasoned travelers who have traveled dozen's of times throughout the Caribbean and Mexico. We traveled with group for a wedding. I was sick for 24 hours as well as my wife was sick for an entire night, most in our group were fine though. It is really hard to pinpoint how or what might have caused either of our problems but we can speculate and we will.

Some of the hygienic practices that we witnessed were not acceptable. We saw a bartender spitting (3 times)behind the bar into a waste container that was located directly beside bar glasses, a cook making pizza with one glove, a bartender pouring beer with his cut finger touching the glass rim, servers that just finished cleaning, touching limes without washing hands and putting them on the glass rims, bartenders washing glasses in flithy water then rinsing them in the water we were told not to drink(several times in different locations)

Most in our group did enjoy the food, although we really didn't, we understand yes it's Mexico and the food is different, but I have been to other resorts in Mexico and the food was far superior. As far as the booze, the wine is very sub standard, ask for the good tequilia or you get the rock gut stuff, beer, well if you get it cold it's not bad for a couple of days, however you can go to the gift shop and get ice cold cans for $1..much better.

Most of the staff are hard workers and they do greet you but you can stand at the bar sometimes for 10-15 mins while there 2-3 bartender's doing next to nothing,and we tip when it is earned, housekeeping is very good and the rooms are clean. Guest services are very good, front desk staff, well we paid for a junior suite, asked when we checked in if that is what we were getting and were put in a reg. room, we returned with our confirmation and it took them 24 hours to move us and a waste of 4 or so hours to do something that was there mistake, we understand mistakes happen but 24 hours and NO APOLOGY.

The resort is huge, walking on the main pathways is challenging because they are not wide enough for all the trollys,trucks,bikes and people, heads up. The beach is nice..but yes very rocky in the ocean, we always found a beach spot.The weather was also great.The golf course is awesome, but you have to pay for a cart $45-65 pp. per round but it is worth every penny, bring lots of balls.

In our opinion this is what we would call more of a 3 1/2 star hotel, you really get what you pay for, it is more value priced. To be fair, lots of people love this place and we were really there for the wedding and that was most important, it just wasen't our cup of tea, we are more suited to a smaller hotel with better food/booze and we will pay for that. The couple of tips we would give, bring your own insulated mug, don't upgrade to a jr. suite, you gain nothing but a couch, bring pepto and imodium.brush your teeth with bottled water.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaseyMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member:

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Grand Bahia Principe Tulúm Resort and taking the time to write your impressions and suggestions, to improve the service we are offering.

We are very concerned to learn about your disappointing experience and are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations. Some of the problems you mentioned are totally under our standards and you may rest assured that we will check every point mentioned in your review to make any adjustments necessary as soon as possible.

In our hotel complex we have a severe safety and hygiene control of the International Company called "Crystal"; they are doing severe controls in all the hotels on the hygiene treatment in the kitchen, in the storage rooms, in the restaurants, bars, rooms and in every place of the hotel where hygiene is a main subject. The hotel takes the health issue very seriously.

Our goal is to work and improve every day to be the popular family resort that has been appreciated by thousand of guests and we appreciate every comment to make our services better.

Kindest regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I went to this resort for our 10 year anniversary with another couple. We absolutely loved it. We have previously stayed at Dreams resorts and we loved this much more. You get the excellent service, cleanliness & activities without the pretentiousness of Dreams. Our room upon arrival was immaculate & it stayed that way for our entire 5 night stay. There were pools for for quiet & their were pools with more "action". In the evening, the theatre always had programs that were actually enjoyable to watch. The Lobby bar was always a fun, busy place at night with great live music. This Bahia property had 3 resorts in one... most of the action was at the Tulum resort. Akumal was walking distance away so a stay there would be good too. But the Coba people had to tram everywhere & there seemed to be more of a language barrier there. Tulum had the best buffet as well. The 24hr snack bar was between Tulum & Akumal. The dolphin swim on property was very cool if you didn't participate you could still go & watch people doing it. They charged $99 for the experience which I didn't think was too pricey. The beach was beautiful. There were places with a few more rocks at the water but all you had to do was a walk a few feet in another direction and find a perfect spot... you have beachfront with Akumal & Tulum. The staff was extremely friendly. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Villa number 2, 5, 6 are closest to pools & snack bar & bars without being right on top of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KristenH427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Kristen:

Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary.

We feel glad when we read that our guests feel pampered and that you received the high end service we are committed to provide during your stay. We want to say thank you for writing your valuable appreciation regarding your visit to Grand Bahia Principe Resort.

We will be happy to welcome you and your husband to your second home at the Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wow !!! What a fantastic 2 weeks (27/10 - 10/11) we spent at GBP Tulum, everything was so well managed. Check in was smooth and quick and in no time we were escorted by buggy to our room. The staff at this Hotel are truly magnificent nothing is ever too much trouble, always smiling and happy. I cannot thank them enough for making our stay so enjoyable.
The pools are all great a little chilly to begin with but once your in they are fine.. plenty of sunbeds no matter what pool you visited and the swim up bars are most enjoyable !!!
Food was fantastic, we visited the a la cartes and the fillet steaks we had were mouth watering. Buffet restaurants - wow what a choice !!
Drinks there really is anything you want lots of branded drinks available ie Smirnoff, Absolut, Johnny Walker, Jim Bean, Jack Daniels, Beefeater, Malibu, Baileys etc.... decanters of various tequilas, Amaretto, Whisky, Rum, Brandy for self serve.
Wildlife.. lots of Iguanas lying about soaking up the sun and Racoons and a few other strange looking critters running about, it was fun spotting them !!
Beach was fine nice white powdery sand yes a few rocks here and there but plenty of stretches that are totally stone free.
Entertainment is fairly low key..we spent most evenings listening to the live band with a few drinkies and chatting with a few other guests.
Lots of Americans and French Canadians, the americans are a great bunch and comical. The weather during our stay was brilliant pretty much everday blue skys and hot sunshine temps around 90f !!

Thank you very much GBP Tulum for making our holiday a fantastic one and your staff are exceptionally hard working and make the hotel what it is !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlieandmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Charlie:

We appreciate the time you invested in writing a review of your recent stay and on behalf of the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum we would like to express our gratitude for the kind words you have submitted about us also we would like to sincerely thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements experienced during your vacations.

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to have served you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly, is very motivating our managers and staff to keep on going the extra mile, we thank you for highlight our rooms as well as the food and is really nice heard that you enjoy your vacations among us. At the Gran Bahia Principe Resort we take pride in offering our guests good accommodations and the very best in food and beverages.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back soon and trust you will not hesitate to return.

Best wishes
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.0 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akumal
Hotel Akumal
#5 of 7 in Akumal
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250, Local B, Akumal, Municipio Tulum, Quintana Roo. 77760 | Local B, Akumal 77776, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $169 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 4.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing