We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hi my wife and I and 2 friends stayed at Principe Tulum on the 20th Oct for 2 weeks,
First of all can I say we enjoyed our stay and the hotel grounds were immaculate and the beach
is very nice and I can not understand why people complain about this yes you do get a few rocks
but after all this is a ocean and not a bath.

We have been to Mexico quite a few times and stayed in the Riu Hotels and to be honest
the Bahia chain could learn a few lessons from them.

At the Riu hotels you are greeted and shown to your table which is already set.
The Bahia you are greeted but then you have to try and find a table and quite a few times
we then had to wait for it to be set.
To be honest I think all the staff at the Bahia work really hard but they are quite simply
understaffed,

The food in the buffet was fine but repetitive we enjoyed all the a la cartes very good food and
service.

I also think they could improve by having a bar where you could sit and relax to 12.00pm
The lobby bar shuts at 11.00pm the staff worked really hard but once again they were still are understaffed and you then have to go to the haceinda which shuts at 12.00pm this was ok
but somtimes it would be nice to stay in the same place.

Room tip block 23 top floor over looks the dolphin pool. we would also would like to thank
Maria our maid who found our safe key and handed it in and kept the room spotless.

This is my honest review and dont let it put you off this hotel I am sure you will have a good time.

Rickywok,
Leeds, U.K.

Room Tip: Block 23 top floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rickywok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member:

On behalf of the management and all the staff of the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Resort, we would like to send you our warmest appreciation for choosing to be guests in our resort. We realize that there is a myriad of other resorts for you to choose from and we are grateful because your choice was to spend your special vacation at our resort.

Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services and make sure our entire guest feel welcomed.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our resort sometime in the near future. Please, do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance at: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Kindest Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,577)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,600 - 5,606 of 12,576 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a 7 night holiday at Bahia Principe Tulum. Does not disappoint! Lots to do, food was great and the staff was super friendly and alot of them spoke english. There is a Dolphinarium right on the resort with a free show everyday at 11am. We have stayed twice at the Bahia Principe in Punta Cana and the one in Jamaica also this one might be our favourite but they are all so great! We will definatley be back and be bringing our family group that travels together. See you soon Mexico :)

Room Tip: The higher floors you can see the ocean its so close
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissashaynejamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Melissa:

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a review on www.tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

On behalf Grand Bahia Principe Resort,we would like to thank you for visiting a “Principe” again. Your nice notes have been shared with our staff.

We thank you for the good publicity to family, friends and other future travelers and hope to see you back soon in the GBP México. Please inform us prior to your arrival to accommodate your requests.

Kind regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is the first time that I've ever been to Mexico and this resort so I wasn't really sure what to expect. Well this hotel definitely exceeded my expectations. My significant other and I were pleasantly surprised.

Resort we stayed at - Gran Bahia Principe Tulum
There are three hotels on this resort that you may have access to (Tulum, Akumal, and Coba).

Here's a rundown of the important things on our list...
1) Location: This resort is around 1.5 hrs away from Cancun but Tulum is located right on the beach.
2) Check-in: Quick and easy with a welcome drink while we were being checked in.
3) Service: Friendly and helpful staff. They also provide entertainment by the pool or at night by the bar.
4) Food: Buffet had a good selection and the A La Carte restaurants that we tried also had great food. For the A La Cartes we ate at Mikado (Japanese, entertaining and good food), Pescador (Seafood, good food as well), and Arlequin (Gourmet, this was my favorite!). The A La Carte restaurants that we picked were at Coba or Akumal but Tulum had one of the bigger Buffets with more selections. There's also a snack bar open during the day with hot dogs, pizza, etc. close to the beach and pools.
5) Beach: I love being right on the beach and walking there every day during our trip. Beautiful scenery but be aware this is a rocky beach. The resort staff do work hard to keep it clean and remove as much debri as they can.
6) Check-out: Quick and easy as well. A room statement was left in our room the day before we were leaving to give us the option of doing an early check-out the night before. The statement is in pesos and there is a $5 USD donation to the ecological foundation that is automatically added to your bill but you can choose to have that removed during check-out if you prefer. As well, there is a charge of $50 pesos per day to use the in-room safe and for our peace of mind we did use this service. But we never had any issues with our safety or losing our belongings throughout our trip. At check-out you can pay your bill with a credit card, cash, etc.
7) Transportation: There are golf carts that go around each hotel on this resort to transport guests. They came frequently and had designated areas for pick-up/drop-off. There are also designated golf carts to bring guests and their luggage to their rooms or to the lobby.
8) Shopping: There's a market area inside this resort and Playa Del Carmen is about half an hour (or so) away and we did our shopping at both but closer to the end of our trip.
9) Pools: There are three pools for the Tulum resort area - two are more family oriented and the one is used for playing games and dancing (it also has a swim up bar).
10) Spa: You can get a massage by the beach or indoors and can be charged to your room or paid in cash, credit card, etc at time of the service. Tip: If you would like to get a massage by the beach I would recommend going directly there to book your massage instead of the indoor facility.
11) Rooms: We had a standard room with 2 double beds. They do have firmer beds but this wasn't an issue for us. A/C and fan worked great. We had a balcony and stayed on the second floor. Maid service kept the room clean and in-room bar service kept the fridge stocked.

For the A La Carte restaurant you will be eligible to go to three if you stay a minimum of 7 days and we alternated our reservations to help us not get tired of the buffet right away. We made our reservations right after we checked in at their "Public Relations" desk and for around 8:30 pm just in case we had any excursions and we didn't want to worry about missing it. We did have to make a minor change with one of our reservations after but had no issues with making changes. They do advise that if you are late for your reservation they will only hold it for 5 mins but this may depend on the season and how busy they are because we were running late for one of our reservations but that restaurant let us keep our reservation with no fuss.

There is limited entertainment at night, the bar at the resort had some nights where they had a dance floor and others with karaoke but this would end by 11. But the bartenders did serve good drinks! :) Most of the time we were too tired to stay out too late after our excursions so can't really complain about this. They do recommend going to Playa Del Carmen if you are looking for more of a night life. They also have a theatre that has different shows from 8-10 every night for another type of entertainment.

We booked our excursions through our on-site travel agent representative and they are located close to the lobby at the "Hospitality" desk. Our rep provided useful information and prices for excursions. We went on three: Chichen Itza, Cozumel, and Xplor. All of them were amazing in their own way. I would also recommend going to the welcome meeting with your rep day after your arrival especially if this is something new just to help you get more information on what to do and see around this area. There's also a dolphinarium on-site where you can watch a demo around 11:30 am every day and this is only for guests of this hotel.

There is construction going on closer to the lobby (a new building) so there is going to be noise but this didn't bother us from our room.

As well, tipping goes a long way. :)

Well, I hope this review has helped you. We would definitely recommend this resort to our friends and family. Thanks for making our first (and not last) trip to Mexico a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellimac0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest:

We want to express our appreciation for sharing with us and with other Trip Advisor users your gracious feedback regarding your visit to the Grand Bahia Principe Resort and for letting us know that we have exceeded your expectations.

It is nice to know that you have enjoyed our service and the hotel facilities. It was with a great pleasure to read your review and complimentary comments. We thank you for your observations and we are sure those are also valuable for other readers.

We all are looking forward to welcome you again at your second home at the Mexican Caribbean.

With best regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We traveled here several years ago for the wedding of our friends and we still remember it very fondly. It is a bit of a distance from Cancun and that makes the arrival take a little longer, but its location turned out to be perfect and was very close to the Tulum pyramids as well as Xel-ha, an amazing water park and snorkeling lagoon. The beaches here were fantastic and because the resort was not close to other resorts, there were not very many people around so it was quite peaceful. We really enjoyed the restaurants and while we did try a couple of the a la cartes, we were quite happy with the buffets and the snack bar (and the snack bar hours during our visit were much better than what we have ever encountered at other resorts since). We haven't been back to the East coast of Mexico since this visit, but the next time we plan a trip in this area, we're looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Sean:

We appreciate your preference in visiting the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions and suggestions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We have already sent your nice words and thanks to the departments involved and in the name of the whole Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya resort, we want to thank you again for your valuable comments and for convincing other future travelers to visit our resort.

Please write us a little message before your next visit and we will do all our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kind regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went to Bahia principe tulum last week and it was awesome. Everything is there nice big beach, bar pool,great food,very nice room,awesome animation team. There's nothing bad to say about that place. U can stay on the resort and not getting tired or bored because is so big and u always have something to do and u have space everywhere,dont have to hurry up to have a place on the beach or in the pool. Animation team is so awesome keeping u alive and theres a DJ who put some nice music to make a good ambiance. We probably gonna go back soon !!!!! Special thanks to the animation team Mystico,super mahia,rasta man,Ricky martin and the all the others..... Scorpion King Will come back soon

Marko ( paulyd1@live.ca)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Marko:

It sounds great that you had enjoyed yourselves during your visit to the Grand Bahia Principe Resort and that you had left behind for a while the bustle of everyday life.

We appreciate that you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: nice beach, delicious and varied food; good rooms, friendly and efficient staff. Your recap has been shared with all the team. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay and please do let me know when you come for a second visit.

Thank you for the time you took to add your opinion at this website.

We sincerely look forward to your return.
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My Mother and I have just returned from the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum – Diamond Club (Nov 1 to Nov 8, 2012). I have travelled extensively throughout the Caribbean and Mexico and this was the most disappointing experience I have ever had.

Although the grounds and the pools are beautiful and the beach is lovely, water access is poor and rocky! Be prepared for some wild life. Iguanas are plentiful and so are raccoons and another animal that looks like a cross between a ground hog and a rabbit…watch out for the raccoons that try and get food through the full length glass windows in the restaurants. You may wish to bring OFF bug repellent for the mosquito’s.

It may have been the time of year but there were lots of children. There didn't seems to be any adult only areas where it was quiet.

There are a number of things to watch out for…..

Airport Transfer - Our 2 hour transfer from the airport in a 10 seat minivan, without working seatbelts, springs coming through the seats and a faulty transmission which almost caused several accidents.

Reception - We arrived at the Diamond Club reception desk at 4:00 p.m. and were greeted rather curtly. We were told that our room wasn’t ready and after waiting another 20 minutes, we were escorted to a room which had a king size bed rather than 2 double beds as requested. Returning to the reception, I was told that I could have a cot as there were no other rooms available (the resort was only at 85% capacity). After exchanging some unpleasant words with the clerk, we were escorted to another room.

Rooms - Our newly assigned room had 2 double beds however, the bathroom and balcony were dirty, the room was damp and musty and the fridge was not stocked and was filthy. The view from our balcony?... a 12 foot wall of vegetation. The beds were comfortable however; I suspect there were BEDBUGS as I had recognizable bites each morning. The most disturbing was to be woken up at 12:30 a.m. with a COCKROACH crawling up my arm.

Food - A la Carte – Mikado. It took us almost an hour to transfer between resorts and had 3 transfer points were we had to change cars. We had a reservation for 6:30 and we were told we had to wait for the remaining 10 guest to arrive. We waited in the lobby with another couple for about 10 minutes and then were ushered into a “show room” where there were already 8 people seated. The menu was quickly handed out and before we had a chance to even review it, we were pressured for our order. The “showmeal" was extremely disappointing and the food quality poor.

A la Carte – Don Pablo was outstanding! The atmosphere, level of service and the food would rival any high end restaurant in Toronto.

A la Carte – Tequila was passable for dinner….good for Breakfast

A la Carte - Gourmet Arlequín - the service was poor, the food was not very good and my 83 year old mother was extremely sick afterwards.

Buffet….wide variety but you have to arrive when it opens and check you food carefully. We found bugs in the bread area and the grill served RAW PORK….and when I say raw, I mean raw, not pink.

The staff in the buffet restaurants and housekeeping were always pleasant and accommodating.

The trip back to the airport was as bad as when we arrived and we were glad this trip was over.

The afore mentioned issues were addressed with the Sunquest Travel Rep at the hotel, our Sears Travel Rep in Canada as well as with Resorts food manager, customer service and housekeeping.

This was my second trip to this resort and my third to the Bahia Principe Resort chain. I will not return to any of the Bahia Principe Resorts!

Room Tip: Carefully check your room before you unpack
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jo-Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Relaciones Publicas at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Jo-Ann:

We want to thank you for your constructive feedback and suggestions left on the tripadvisor website of your recent visit.

Regarding the room assignment and cleaning, we have revised the experience written with the departments involved to avoid this experience from happening again in the future and corrective measures have been taken. Also the comments about the food and beverage department have been passed on to the managers in charge to improve the cooking quality of the show cooking meal as well as the grill section in our main buffet.

We are happy to read you have enjoyed the kindness of our restaurant and housekeeping team, as well as the hotels gardens and pool areas.

Although we understand the third experience in our resort was not as the previous ones, we hope to receive another chance to serve you and be your host again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Well, once again we have nothing good to say about this hotel! This was our 4th trip and we took new friends again, who were all very impressed. There is absolutely nothing bad to say about this venue. Food was great (buffet and a la cartes), scenary, pools, entertainment, beach. They have updated the furniture in the rooms and now have flat scvreen tv's. Air conditioning worked great, service in the rooms and at all locations on the resort was top notch. It was evident that they will do anything for you to make your vacation memorable. Customer service at it's best. For the first time, we left the resort and took a ride to Playa del Carmen where we walked around and shopped for a few hours. It was lots of fun and a great little town to wander around with untold number of little stores and booths. Got some great deals on booze, t-shirts and jewellery. This hotel will continue to be ouyr only destination when going to Mexico.
The only short coming, and no relection on the hotel is the 2 1/2 hour bus ride to and from the airport!! But, it is worth the wait.

Room Tip: We always ask for building #1 or #2 which are both close to the pool, buffet and bar!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TREDLindsay_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member:

On behalf of the Grand Bahia Principe Resort, we would like to thank you for visiting us again. Your nice notes have been shared with our staff, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.
We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to have served you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly, is very motivating our managers and staff to keep on going the extra mile, we thank you for highlight our services, rooms, shows as well as the food and is really nice heard that you enjoy your vacations among us.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back for a fifth stay to your second home at the Mexican Caribbean; we will make sure your stay is nothing else but an excellent experience again.

With Best Wishes,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
144.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
166.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
155.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,717 reviews
134.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
148.9 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250 | Local B, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $170 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing