We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Nearby Hotels
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$357
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$308
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$193
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$285
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$392
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$85
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13,441)
Filter reviews
13,441 results
Traveler rating
7,434
3,715
1,419
527
346
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,434
3,715
1,419
527
346
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pablodiamond clubhacienda sectiontequila restaurantsnack bara la carte restaurantsthomas cookfishgbp tulumbahia principe tulumtulum ruinsmain buffetdolphin poolbreakfast and lunchshow tablemain poolsmaller pool
Filter
Updating list...
7,048 - 7,053 of 13,441 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We just returned from 2 weeks. We loved this resort for many reasons-food was excellent, especially the a la cartes we ate at-Japanese, Arlequin, both seafood restaurants and all with amazing service. The resort is very beautiful, exceptionally well kept and the staff is very friendly. Location is great-close to many attractions. Beach is good-a few rocks in the water but not bad. There are many activities to do-biking, kayaking, yoga, dance, jet skis, para sailing-something for everyone. Lot's of walking as it's a large proprty, but I like to walk. There are shuttles for those who don't like to walk. My only critisism is some of the entertainment in the theatre.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lams45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2011

Dear Sir/ Madame

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions and your suggestions, to improve the service we are offering.

The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort

It would be an honor to welcome you once again to our resort. Please write us a mail before your next visit and we will do our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kind regards

Melchor Loria/ Fernando Rivas
Guest Services Gran Bahía Príncipe Tulum
Dear Sir/ Madame

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions and your suggestions, to improve the service we are offering.

The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort

It would be an honor to welcome you once again to our resort. Please write us a mail before your next visit and we will do our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kind regards

Melchor Loria/ Fernando Rivas
Guest Services Gran Bahía Príncipe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed at the Tulum section from April 17/11 to April 24/11. It was our first time in Mexico and we loved it!
2 weeks prior I e-mailed guest services with our A la Carte and room/villa requests and received a reply from Fernando. He had made all the reservations at the times we requested , and said they would do their best with the room requests. (We had just asked for quiet rooms, and close to our friends)
We arrived and enjoyed the 1.5 hrs drive to the hotel, with everything being new for us, and cold beers available on the drive, it went fast. We were the first stop at Tulum, the rest of the passengers were also going to GBH, Akumel and Coba. Check in was fast, although the rooms weren't ready we quickly found our way to a cool drink at the lobby bar, and after a couple of drinks the rooms were ready.

Rooms :were clean a/c worked fine, towel art by Manuel each day was amazing. We did have an issue with the fridge not working,but once the maintenance guy plugged it in it worked :). The other rooms fridge was definitely not working tho, and it took him 30 min. or so to get it going. Villa 37 Perfect location, steps from, pool, beach and buffet.
Beach: Lots of Palapas for all 7 of us, not a problem ever! Tulum beach was rocky and Red flags up all week, had we not been so comfortable maybe we could have walked to the Akumel side and swam. but hey we were on vacation and LAZY...

Restaurants: Ala Cartes, Japanese was a good show, Mexican was good, Italian was excellent. But honestly, the Buffet was fantastic with variety! We went early, so that may account for such good variety and the temps on all food was good. Empanadas at the buffet were excellent.Loved the "square" with water feature in the center of the room. We really liked how the food area was separated from the seating area. It made a much quieter eating area.The smaller buffet was good too(Tequila Restaurant) which was open at breakfast and lunch. No omelet station there tho:(

Pools: clean, lots of chairs for the 7 of us and Omero (bartender)at the smaller pool will look after you well. Thanks Omero!
Pool bathroom was always clean and had a cleaning chart up that was filled in appropriately.
Grounds: Beautiful! Flowers hanging from building balcony's and all over! Gardeners work very hard here and it shows.Iguanas were big and lots of them along with other birds and wildlife.
Weddings: This place is very popular, seemed to be a couple every afternoon. Quiet and unobtrusive tho.
Entertainment: there was a young guy at the pool who was from Spain, who was good at getting people involved in volleyball in the pool. Lots of fun! Only saw part of 1 show, circus/acrobatics, it was good, but we stayed mostly at the lobby bar, where they had live music. Great place to chill.
We took colectivos to Playa twice- loved the Walmart prices and Fifth avenue too.!
Only negatives and they aren't huge: We wished there was room service and also when we left at 6 am we thought that there would be coffee set up in the lobby when we checked out( as there was always at other times of the day) but there was none :(
Time shares were annoying, just ignore them totally if you aren't interested, and they won't chase you :) Don't respond to the "gift letter" they put under your door.(unless you are interested...)
We had stayed at a GBH in Punta Cana, so we knew it was a bigger resort, but this one is really huge! It's sectioned off tho, so you have your own" neighbourhood".
Tip for next time:always bring extra money, you may have extras on excursions etc that you will want. ie water, bikes...
All in all we loved Mexico and wouldn't hesitate to stay at GBH Tulum again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kmerrimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2011

Dear Sir, Madame

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions and suggestions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

The comments we receive from our guests are very important to maintain and/ or improve the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort.

We thank you for the good publicity to family, friends and other future travelers and hope to see you back soon in the GBP México. Please inform us prior to arrival to accommodate your requests.

Kind regards

Melchor Loria/ Fernando Rivas
Guest Services Gran Bahía Príncipe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Just returned from a week at this hotel and it was fantastic. Wer were located at the Tulim hotel which is one of 4 on the complex. Our room was right in the middle of the resot so everything was acessible. (101).
The room itself was fine, mini fridge and contents replenished daily. Loads of towels! balcony and 2 beds. There are towels provided for the pool / beach which can be changed daily if required.
The entertainment in the hotel was great, there are shows at each of the hotels which start at either 9 or 1o pm so you can always catch something.
The AI was brilliant.Named brands and a list of around 20 cocktails all included. The food was great too, there are 11 a la carte restaurants and loads of bars including a disco open until 0230 hours.
There is live music throughout the resort.
The pools are lovely, the entire resort is spotless. There are iguanas running around everywhere too!
There are buses which transport you around the complex and you can use the facilities at any of the hotels.
TIP regarding trips... we booked out trips via the man at the beach who is part of the hotel.... he was at the Akumel site.. cheaper than Thomas cook prices at the their welcome meeting!
I would definitely recommend this hotel and return. The staff could not do enough for you.
If you need internet access there is free access in the Hacienda reception.
One thing to be careful of... when we checked out there was a mystery purchase on our bill.... not ours~! the hotel does not ask for room ID when things are added to the room tab... just be aware..
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gem2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I agree with all recent posts in terms of Guest Services - they are excellent including Gracie and Melissa. If you have not experienced Mexico before you will love the GBP as they do things really well and you cannot fault the staff other than in Dom Pablo. Ari and Juan at pool bar are amazing as is Faustino in Tulum buffet. This hotel is nowhere near 5 Stars when compared to other hotels very close by. The bedrooms are very disappointing in size - the bathroom at a hotel down the road where stayed previously was bigger than the bedrooms at GBP! The timeshare people spoilt the visit to mealtimes every day and the people taking photos with animals wanted $13 for a photo the kids wanted that was printed from a paper printer and no GBP folder for
the photos - rip off! Re. Sunbeds there is plenty of space for the hotel to purchase more as when people took 3 or 4, there was lots of space but no sunbeds left. Tip the staff $1 regularly as they really earn it and truly want to do a hood job. Would recommend but we would not return as you can get real 5* close by for the same money. Sorry GBP.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Dear Sir/ Madame

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your impressions and suggestions, to improve the service we are offering.

We are very sorry to read that due to some inconveniences suffered we were not able to leave a positive impression on you and your family during your recent stay. We appreciate to know your opinion about some services present at our hotel that were not as you may had expected and we will do our best to improve the comments that are in our hands.

In the hope to be your host in the future we invite you to write us before your arrival to make your secod stay special.

Melchor Loria/ Fernando Rivas
Guest Services Gran Bahía Príncipe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

stayed in tullum section from 11th april for 2 weeks for our honeymoon
the grounds were immaculate , always somebody cleaning
the beach is a bit rocky in places .
the activity staff are brill enjoyed playing bech volleyball and water polo and the evening shows were good especially the michael jackson tribute (lev jackson)
the food was excellent especially the grand tortuga and the fillet mignon at arlequin was out of this world .
would def recomend this resort any body , cant wait to book again next year

Room Tip: we stayed in villa ten tullum section will partiaw
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank batandball95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickivanden, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Dear Sir/ Madame

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions and your suggestions, to improve the service we are offering.

The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort

It would be an honor to welcome you once again to our resort. Please write us a mail before your next visit and we will do our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kind regards

Melchor Loria/ Fernando Rivas
Guest Services Gran Bahía Príncipe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews