We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us!”
Review of Grand Oasis Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Oasis Tulum
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Returned June 26 after a five night stay and would like to thank the staff and management for a fabulous time. Food and drinks were solid, we were upgraded to a Grand Oceanfront room just steps from the water. Special thanks to Manuel, Cleo, Angel and Wincillis for taking good care of us. We will be back in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CozumelCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such lovely comments with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a fabulous time, and that you enjoyed the wide variety of food and drinks that we offer. Our team aim to make all our guests feel at home, so we appreciate the kind words directed towards them, rest assured we will congratulate those you mentioned for taking good care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 2,259 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel has the best beach I have experienced. This is a yearly trip we make to this area and by far, is one of the best hotels. The staff was great, especially the waiter Alfredo and Antonio at steak house. They were always ready to accommodate our party of 19 when it came to sitting us for dinner. We even got to meet cuban chef Bernabe, who was an excellent cook. The one complaint I have is the photo shop. My kids were taken pictures of but when we tried to look at them, the employee from the shop ,very rudely told us it was closed and to come back when they opened. We left the hotel not being able to buy our pictures.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Letty,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at our resort. We are happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed your time here. We are glad to hear you thought our staff were great, they always aim to make our guests feel welcome and at home. Rest assured we will congratulate those you mentioned for their fantastic service. In regards to your inconvenience we would like to offer our sincere apologies for this, and we thank you for mentioning it as we can know take the appropriate action to make sure this does not happen again. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort in the very near future.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My family of three adults and one young child thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The resort was nice, the food was decent and the service was excellent, especially Alfredo at Arrecife Steak, Josue at the Martini Piano Bar and the gentleman playing the piano in the evening. The poolside Chicken restaurant, Happy Chicken, was an unexpected and delightful treat. The Café del Mar rooftop bar was relaxing, trendy and well-groomed with excellent views of the Gulf. The size of the facility was good for us as it was not sprawling across many acres. The beach was also the right size. Little fish were visible in the water, the beach was soft and clean and the drinks were good and cold. While not five star luxury, it was perfect for a 4 or 5 day visit. My only complaints are that the lobby scent being piped in was odd, the store was not really well stocked and certainly overpriced, even for a resort. One afternoon, the music playing at the Oasis pool, which is next door and connected, was American hip-hop without edits for the seemingly endless stream of foul language that blared from the speakers. We enjoyed it there, it was quite relaxing. I give it a solid B.

Room Tip: Room 2339 is not an Ocean front room, but it has on ocean and pool view. Top shelf liquor is availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments regarding your stay at our resort. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a great time. Our team aim to make our hotel feel like a home away from home so it is a pleasure to hear that you thought the service was excellent. We will of course congratulate our team for their sterling work.
We thank you for choosing our resort as hosts to your family’s vacation and we greatly appreciate your feedback as it highlights areas where modifications can be made.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My siblings and spouses, and parents vacationed for the first time together ever. We celebrated my parents 50th anniversary. We were very impressed with the accomodations. Loved it being a smaller resort, since this was my parents first time ever to mexico. The Staff was exceptional! They suprised my parents with a special anniversary cake, gave our whole family special treatment, and more, but too much to list! Was skeptical due to the poor reviews but was glad we gave it a try. I would recommend bringing water shoes along, as the water has a lot of coral in it due to the reef off of the beach...Also, lots of sea urchins. :( Overall, I highly recommend the Grand Oasis!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Janelle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic comments regarding your stay with us. We are delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable time celebrating such a special occasion as your parents 50th Anniversary. We make every effort to create a unique and personalized experience for our guests, so in turn we are pleased to hear that your stay was so exceptional. Rest assured we will congratulate our team for their terrific service. We hope to welcome you back very soon, and if there is anything we can do to help you plan a future visit please do not hesitate to ask.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

When we entered the hotel we were not expecting all of the great service, amenities, charm and relaxing atmosphere this hotel offered us. We stayed at Grand Oasis for a week, and had a great experience that gladly would repeat in the future. My wife and I took our two daughters for vacations, and found this to be the best option we could have offered for their summer break.

Great service of all the staff, a wide variety of food options (from mediterranean to mexican, sea food, steaks, and even sushi!!!) Staff was always at sight and were not over you all the time. But whenever you need something they were there for us.

Our daughters felt free and comfortable all over the hotel, by themselves. They loved the coffee shop service (Coffee & Me), and if there was someone who deserves a special recogition from the staff that would be Noeli, who was always smiling and available for us and for our needs.

Beautiful sheashore, facilities, atmosphere, relaxing environment, bar service and food. Car rental options, amazing screen to watch FIFA world cup, evening shows and entertainment and several other activites we enjoyed. We would surely recommend this option if you are loooking for a relaxing and peaceful vacation.

Tip: Buy some fish food and take it with you. There is a nice reef right in front of the hotel. You would be amazed by seeing all the fish coming around you.

Tip 2: Make sure you take advantage of reserving all different options the hotel offers you for dinner. They are really worth it.

Tip 3: We really enjoyed waking up early (5am) to watch the sunrise, it was really beautiful my daughters really liked it. We really recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrián F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Adrián,

Thank your for taking the time to share such fantastic comments about your stay at our resort. We are extremely happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Our team aim to make all our guests feel right at home so we are glad to hear your praise regarding the service you received. Rest assured we shall congratulate them for their great work. In respect to the food options available, we are pleased to hear you loved the wide variety of cuisines available. We thank you for choosing us as hosts to your vacations and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The room so far away from the beaches, and all the restaurants. Food literally the same everyday, crowded not enough seats to accommodate big family we have (8ppl) , you gotta split up every meal time. Staff not friendly. Beaches are so dirty and you need to wear swim shoes. Beach Towel not available at all time. The room is very stinky, we have 4 rooms together and they are all dirty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Karen,

We are sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our hotel has dining options that include Mexican, Italian and Asian food in addition to an international buffet so it is sad to read that you thought the food was the same every day. Whilst your feedback is very much appreciated, please be assured that your experience is not representative of our usual standards of service. We very much hope that you will give us another chance to show you a truer representation of our resort.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I decided to spend a week in this resort to celebrate our 1st Anniversary. It was perfect for us to relax and enjoy. The beach was so beautiful with a deep blue turquoise.
The food was good, everyone in the staff tried to make us feel comfortable, the bar at the lobby was excellent.
We loved the wet bar at the pool as well as the infinite pool right in front of the beach.
I would love to come back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Aurora,

Thank you for taking the time to share such great comments about your stay with us. We are extremely happy to read that you had an enjoyable time celebrating your 1st Anniversary. It gives us a lot of joy to know that you liked the food and the hotels installations.
We hope to welcome you back very soon, and if there is anything we can help you with in planning your next visit please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
348 reviews
1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0 mi away
Oasis Tulum Lite
Oasis Tulum Lite
#23 of 23 in Akumal
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1.6 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#14 of 23 in Akumal
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oasis Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oasis Tulum

Address: Km 251 Carret. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez, Akumal 77776, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#11 Family Hotel in Akumal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $186 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oasis Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious vacation that is delightfully down to earth: Grand Oasis Tulum is the place to go for a unique experience. This is "The Calm Resort," a haven of tranquility far away from the hustle and bustle of the city where our guests can discover the wonders that nature has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Oasis Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oasis Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing