We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Beautiful property, great staff, amazing wedding”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Pool and private beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and private beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
21 reviews
Pool and private beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
13 Bedrooms, 17 Bathrooms, Sleeps 39
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Candace B
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, great staff, amazing wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We were a group of 17 adults staying for 5 nights for my wedding at the beginning of January.

Property
Villa Bellamar is nothing short of amazing! During the drive from the highway to the villa through Akumal, I was wondering if the house would live up to the pictures (the other properties and hotels, although nice, are nothing like Villa Bellamar!). All of my worries disappeared as soon as our vans approached the house. Upon arrival, Helmie, the house manager was there to introduce himself, show us around the house, and introduce the staff. With a brief walk around, we quickly realized pictures don’t do the property justice - it’s even better!

Our group of 17 thoroughly enjoyed all of the amenities. The villa swallowed our group, giving us plenty of places to socialize, and also allowing for folks who wanted a little more privacy or time to themselves to have it. A few nice touches included the pool being beautifully lit at night, the staff didn’t hesitate to light tiki torches when we asked about mosquitoes, towel animals left in the bathrooms by housekeeping along with adorable sailboat tissue folds, pool toys and floats, the sound system (we connected via bluetooth since the system was for an older generation ipod with a connection we no longer have, and had music outside by the pool, under the terrace, and in the main living areas for a great party atmosphere). We particularly enjoyed the rooftop terrace in the evenings and the covered terrace next to the pool with the swim up bar (we spent a ton of time lounging on the furniture and hammocks next to the bar!)

Just something to know - we were visiting in January and had beautiful weather in the low 80’s during the day. Only the bedrooms in the house are air conditioned (by individual units in each room) and the other areas in the house definitely get warm during the day. A side effect of the heat and lack of air conditioning in common areas, and choice of tile floors in the home is very slick floors during the day which could be dangerous for children and/or the elderly especially with 4 flights of stairs without handrails.

Staff
The staff - also fantastic! For our size group, the house was staffed with two housekeepers, three to four cooks, two groundsmen, and we also opted to add a bartender for the length of our stay. They all even got into the spirit of our wedding with little gifts and surprises for us throughout our wedding day and night which we thoroughly enjoyed.

First the chefs - can’t say enough great things about Antonio’s crew. They went above and beyond for all of our meals leading up to the wedding (think adorable carvings on the buffet, artful presentations, huge spreads) and we also had them cater our wedding dinner. I can’t explain how they went beyond my expectations with presentation, attention to detail, flavor, and willingness to please. They did all of our grocery shopping and kept the bar fully stocked with all of our requests. We did run out of a beer a few times, but within an hour, more would show up. Antonio came each day with all receipts for the days purchases, and I’d reimburse him in cash. A few nitpicky things - Antonio would come to meet with me to iron out details for our menus, and I think sometimes those things were either not fully communicated or just not carried out by the cooks who were with us doing the actual preparation especially during our final day and a half after the wedding (I know we became spoiled in the days leading up to it!) Just an example - lunch the day after was supposed to be pork tacos and chicken quesadillas and ceviche, and we got chicken quesadillas, some little tuna fish sandwiches (never talked about tuna fish at any time), and no ceviche.

The groundsmen, Carlos and Aurelio, were also great. They washed down the area by the pool every morning, raked the beach, and kept all of the outdoor areas clean and tidy. The hot tub was more like a warm tub during our first day, and Aurelio quickly switched out the heating mechanism to fix it. By the end of our stay, also just a picky note, the hot tub water looked as if it definitely needed to be drained and refilled. A huge help for us - both Carlos and Aurelio volunteered to assist our wedding planner with endless details - setting up lights, lanterns, a bonfire - all things they certainly weren’t required to do but were happy to help with!

The housekeepers were always smiling and friendly - they’d come in each morning to clean, wash and replace towels, make beds in each room, etc. We did notice that sheets were not changed during our 5 night stay, but I’m sure that could be accommodated if requested.

Last, but certainly not least - our bartender Luis was worth every dollar! He kept the blender spinning with mango margaritas, muddled fresh mojitos - took care of each request, from morning to just after dinner each day.

Unfortunate final impression...
On our last morning, we could tell the staff had instructions to get us out and clean as soon as possible. Breakfast was pretty basic even though we asked and paid for a big spread because the cooks had instructions to leave a spotless kitchen as quickly as possible. We figured out that the owner had a photographer coming to take pictures of the house (not new guests coming). At 11:30, she showed up, didn’t introduce herself, and told me that check out time was at 11:00 AM (no one told us that - we would have been happy to make arrangements if we would have known). We let her know that our last van was coming at noon to take people to the airport (we’d be gone in less than 30 minutes) but she insisted that we all go upstairs and get out of the way for the cleaning crew to finish. Our fault for leaving late, but she could have handled that a little differently - especially since we felt like our trip was over with all of the cleaning and prep that was going on around us since 8:00 AM that morning. I would have just hoped for a better send-off, especially since we didn’t complain when she came the day of our wedding (didn’t introduce herself then either) and tried to blend in to take pictures of all of our decor and setup to use to further advertise and market her property.

Also something I have to note - about half of our group had stomach “issues” at some point during our stay. I have a feeling it’s just unavoidable with traveling to the area even though we took every precaution with bottled/filtered water for drinking, ice, cooking, tooth brushing, etc.

Summary….
Go! Villa Bellamar and its surroundings are gorgeous and the staff will leave you not wanting to return home to real life.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn
CO
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
3 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roger S
UK
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bontonbk
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Never wanted to leave this perfect house!!......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

After many months of research I booked this villa for my 50th b'day girls getaway trip, and it was a magical vacation! Although we were only 7 people, we felt the house was beautiful and inviting, and perfectly suited for us... And loved the Buddhas everywhere! We had Randi cook many meals, and bring his awesome salsa and guacamole to the pool along with the margaritas....life couldn't have gotten any better. The house staff did their jobs so well that we barely saw them but everything got taken care of..fresh beach towels, cleaned rooms, night beach security etc. Thank you Wilma for my birthday gift....a room for each of my special guests. I cannot stop raving about Akumal, and our unbelievable stay at Villa Bellamar!!! A few of my favorite things: rooftop deck for a 360 view, jacuzzi/ yoga deck , hammocks by the pool, beach chairs, and that incredible pool! Recommend renting golf carts with Marcello and Nayemi and just enjoying the area right in Akumal! PS Beds were soo comfortable, too!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Layout of house/pool, beds, staff,, chef, outdoor space
Liked least: No A/C in living areas, slippery tile in kitchen/ living area, a bit buggy
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fran c
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Potential Problem converted into a Fantastic Fantasy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 14 was double-booked into another seven-bedroom villa in the area. Two weeks before departing we were moved to this beautiful location. What a fabulous turn of events!

Bellamar makes you feel like you’ve graduated to “Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous” without the clamoring crowds or paparazzi.

An onsite cook, Randy, made many special items for us (ask about “cat-scratch eggs”). The cook’s assistant, Effriam, concocted fabulous cocktails. A friendly maid staff, Nayali and Inez, straightened the kids’ clutter and did our laundry at no additional charge. Onsite caretaker Aurelio came by on his day off to heat the whirlpool and drop off life jackets so the kids could kayak in the bay. Leo, the nighttime security guard patrolled the grounds from dark until daylight.

Picture yourself in any of the photos and know that it’s even better than that...a zero ground entry pool where you can bask in the cool shallow waters or sit at the poolside bar and sip fresh mojitos. Enjoy a book in one of many shaded perches. Swing in one of the four poolside hammocks. Kayak and snorkel in the ocean. Search for sea urchins. Count the numerous turtle nests on your seaside walk.

While ocean breezes blow through the house, each room as an individual air conditioning unit - which they ask that you use only when you’re in the room. And, each spacious room really will sleep four. The king bed can convert to twins. There is also a sofa with a trundle underneath. Each bedroom — yes there really are 13 and they are identical — contains it’s own private bath which the staff daily cleans and supplies with fresh towels, shampoo and body wash. The baths feature a long vanity with trough sink, commode, and a tub with a shower. There’s also a wall-mounted blow drier. In-room TVs play a host of channels in English, Spanish and Portuguese. There may be more options, but I never turned my set on.

Chef Randy and Effriam, were supplied by TulumChef.com. Their fee, except the purchase of groceries and tips, was included with the house. We selected from a menu and added a few Mayan dishes we’d always wanted to try. They offered the option to grocery shop with the staff and use a credit card, or supply cash (dollars or pesos). When the shopping was completed, they returned with change and receipts to account for every penny spent. The staff also worked with food restrictions for one of our members (no garlic, no dairy); and the finicky requirements of the children (chicken, pasta, homemade rolls, rice, more chicken, homemade donuts, chocolate cake). On the wedding day, they created a delicious heart-shaped Tres Leches cake. We often circled the bar like curious cats to see what was going on in the kitchen. Half of the vacation photos are of the meals and drinks we consumed.

We dined indoors and out, opting to come straight from the pool/ocean to the outdoor tables at lunch, and inside in the evening. The pool or living room were our night hang-out spots, even though there are big-screen TVs and DVD players in the game rooms on both the second and third floors. The third floor also features foosball and ping pong.

Cell phones, ipads, and e-readers were able to search the web, download, receive mail/messages and do whatever we needed them to do, thanks to Bellamar’s wireless network. We were also able to turn them off and enjoy the blissfulness of this location. Catch the sunrise or sunset on the rooftop terrace. The views are incredible! Few people roamed the beach. Perhaps a dozen more snorkeled in the bay. We felt as if we had Half Moon Bay totally to ourself.

If you can tear yourself away from the house or the cook, Akumal boasts 28 different restaurants and many are within walking distance of the house. Also a short stroll away is the Yal-Ku Lagoon. For $12 USD adult/$9 child, you can swim the still waters from 9am -5pm and view a wide variety of fish. Fin and masks rent for an additional $5 each. The house concierge, will book side trips with transportation to the ruins, zip lines, cenotes and various water attractions in the area. Besides the Mayan ruins, Xel-ha and Aktun Chen are two of our favorites.

We came to Bellamar to celebrate a wedding. It included three generations that spanned in age from 7 to 75, plus the blending of two families with children from 7 to 33. Despite the strong personalities and the varied interests, we could find little to argue about. We credit that to this beautiful house, grand location and incredible staff.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Overall luxury condition of the property
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2013
Dear Fran,

Thank you very much for your review. It's always a pleasure for the whole Bellamar team to do our best to make our guests feel in the paradise.

Best regards,
Wilma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Stuttgart
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Chile
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing