We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay”
The infinity POOL, fabulous for a dip on a HOT day, and the placid Half Moon Bay (Media Luna)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The infinity POOL, fabulous for a dip on a HOT day, and the placid Half Moon Bay (Media Luna)
Living room view to ocean, also the view from master bedroom Spacious living room has views of ocean and jungle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The infinity POOL, fabulous for a dip on a HOT day, and the placid Half Moon Bay (Media Luna)
Living room view to ocean, also the view from master bedroom
Spacious living room has views of ocean and jungle
Soft Caribbean colors bring serenity to living room
in the LR enjoy drinks, TV, reading, snoozing...and the view of the turtles in the ocean below
Scintillating Half Moon Bay at dawn
Sunset at Playa Caribe #4, just before the tapestry of stars exhibition
View of Master bedroom out to the jungle
View the OCEAN from the master bed
View of JUNGLE from master bed with reading chair
Guest bedroom with private bath and terrace onto jungle
New SMART flatscreen TV; Dish Latina, watch net flicks and TV
Playa Caribe from the beach; #4 is second floor right
A view north from our beach with the fine white sand
A view to south of  Half fMoon Bay (Media Luna) from our beach
Hand-made sirenis (mermaid) with library and games
Master bath with double sink, shower & tub, view of ocean
Formal dining room (seats 6) with authentic regional masks
Female loggerhead returning to sea after laying her eggs--see her 'turtle tracks'
Dining table ready for a meal--who's cooking?
Freshly brewed coffee on the patio overlooking the ocean--watch the turtles from here
Cook to your heart's content in the fully appointed kitchen
Making bubbles while snorkeling and watching our 'resident' turtles
Serenity with views to infinity
Guest bedroom work area where you can see the jungle while you think
Hand-made turtle mosaic on bench, second bedroom
!TURTLES--Swim, snorkel, or dive with turtles!!
Central atrium in Playa Caribe building, with cascading ivy
Akumal is for the old and young, enjoyment for everyone
Playa Caribe condominiums from the road
A la noche, from the road
Early morning sunrise over Half Moon Bay--should we walk the beach or drink coffee on the patio?
Snorkeling in the Bay assures glimpses of TURTLES and reef fish
Guest watching huge female loggerhead turtle lay her eggs
Life affirming yearly hatch of baby sea turtles: July - Sept
Swim or snorkel in the unique freshwater cenotes (sinkholes/caverns)
Breath-takingly beautiful reef fish just offshore
The Akumal Arch, into the Akumal village and Playa Caribe #4
La Buena Vida, bar/restaurant about 50 yards away
Ixchel Boutique in Akumal, locally-made artisania
Hawksbill turtle waiting for you to take her picture
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzy L
Burlington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at Playa Caribe #4. We were expecting a lot from the pictures, but the condo was even better "in person". It was airy and light-filled with great art and furnishings. We loved the balcony, comfy beds, well stocked kitchen and, of course, the sound of the ocean was wonderful. We didn't realize there would be potable tap water, a helpful property manager and daily housekeeping. The pool, too, was deeper and bigger than we were expecting and plenty of beach furniture. The condo is well located... just a few minute's walk down the beach from our favorite restaurants (La Buena Vida and La Lunita). It is just a few minutes drive to the lagoon and Akumal beach and a good place to strike out for Talum and Chichen Itza. We highly recommend Playa Caribe #4.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2016
Thank you Suzy for your kind words. We want our condo to feel like your own completely furnished home, so we strive to make it bright and calming with soft colors and beautiful art pieces.. The windows with views allow you to wake up surrounded by nature every morning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreshNutr...
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved playa Caribe #4. Everything was exactly as decribed. The condo spacious, meticulous and beautifully appointed. We are a family of 4; 7 yr old boy, 14 yr old daughter. Sharon's attention to detail was phenominal. The wonderful sample itinerary she provides is spot on. The beach is spectacular. The pool a very lovely addition as I think its the only one on the beach. La Beuna Vida is a short walk for an evening drink or quick simple meal. Kids loved the bar swings...so did I! Augustine is a lovely fellow, very warm and helpful. Patty the cleaning leady was also a Gem... This may be irrelvant for many but for us a very pertinent piece of infomation I feel the need to share. As a Nutritionist & Chiropractor eating healthfully is imperative for our family. We did find this the most challenging aspect of our vacation. We arrived after dinner and felt too tired to stop for groceries on the way in...that was a mistake on our part as Sharon clearly outlined it's best to stop on the way to Akumal from the airport. Very basic necessities can be sourced at the very near by (by the Arch) Super Chomak grocery as well as another across the street. And what I mean by basic are things in a box or can, alcohol or odd refrigerated items(yogurt & milk). Don't expect to source quality, fresh, fruit, veggies or protein there. Had we listened to Sharons advice and shopped on the way to Akumal at a larger grocery centre this part of our vacation would have been as superior as the condo expereince itself. Thanks Sharon and Ron.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Spaciousness
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss_Alex...
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in Playa Caribe for six days (two couples). The place is just incredible – wonderful view, well equipped kitchen, comfortable and clean rooms. We have spent in Mexico three weeks and Akumal was our first stop – perfect place to just rest and relax. It was also our base to visit all the attractions nearby (Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Coba, Sian - Ka’an). Akumal town is quite small, but it is not a long drive to Playa del Carmen or Tulum where you can find nice restaurants and shops. During our stay we also cooked (usually typical Mexican dishes – at least in our opinion:) - be careful- small shops in Akumel are not well equipped but we made shopping in the mall recommended by the host which had great variety of food) – you can find in the kitchen all you need (even including spices). The host is amazing – very helpful, caring and giving a lot of useful tips. It is a place to stay for someone who does not like big hotels and very touristy places. If you are planning to spend more time in Mexico we definitely would also recommend San Cristobal - a place worth seeing (make sure that you spend there a night to enjoy the nightlife) – we took a road from Villahermosa to San Cristobal – challenging but the view will compensate the difficulty  I believe the 3 weeks in Mexico was our best vacation 

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon F
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect week!”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family stayed in Playa Caribe #4 for a week over the Christmas holidays. We had a great stay and highly recommend it!

Having been the victim of a scam through Homeaway, I was reticent to quickly jump into another rental. However, Shari quickly alleviated any concerns with her communications before the trip. She kept us updated about things going on in the area that might affect our stay. She also emailed a guide she wrote with suggestions for a "perfect week in Akumal." In particular, Shari's restaurant suggestions were great. We referred to it the entire week.

If you're looking for a calm, relaxing week, the little village of Akumal is a delight. It is far enough away from the traffic of Playa del Carmen yet close enough for a day trip to PDC, Tulum, Coba and other wonderful locales. Within Akumal, Playa Caribe is located a little over 1 km from Akumal Village where many restaurants, shops, small convenience stores, Akumal beach, etc. are located. There are many other condos and rentals along the way, but it never felt overcrowded. It's walking distance to 2 delicious restaurants -- La Buena Vida and La Lunita -- and less than a kilometer to the entrance of Yal-Ku Lagoon. There are also a couple of very small convenience stores very close by and it felt very safe to walk along the road. The condominium is located right on Half Moon Bay - there's a nice view of the water and very easy beach access.

The Playa Caribe staff is excellent. From the manager Agustin, to our housekeeper Patricia (such a treat to have her clean the apartment daily, especially given all the sand and despite our best efforts to take our shoes off at the door), to each of the maintenance crew, to all the staff cleaning the beach of seaweed day in and day out, to the night security, they were all friendly, helpful, wanting to make our stay easy, enjoyable and pleasant. We really appreciated them!!

The unit itself is in excellent condition. Very clean. The kitchen was small but well-stocked with sufficient plates, cutlery, glasses, casserole dishes, storage containers, etc. Bedrooms were very spacious, especially the master bedroom. Having filtered water come through the tap was great. And, last but not least, the wifi signal was consistently strong and fast. The only thing we wished we had had was access to a washer and dryer. Otherwise, our stay was indeed a "perfect week"!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G7062BHja...
Monticello, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were a group of two couples. The accommodations were perfect. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you would need and the pots, pans, dishes, serving pieces matched and were like new. Each bedroom had a private balcony, plenty of storage and a very nice bathroom. The on-site pool was wonderful as were the beach palapas, plenty of lounge chairs and tables with umbrellas and chairs. Patty was friendly and did a great job of keeping our place clean and tidy. the onsite manager was pleasant and very helpful. As we got ready to leave we unanimously agreed that on our next trip we will stay here again. It was simply wonderful. The pictures are as accurate as you can get but I would say the place was better in person. Great views and of course you can hear the ocean at all times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great. The place was well appointed, well kept and clean, light and airy.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passagerd...
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better then expected”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Great location, very clean, staff was very helpful. Sharon was very responsive prior to our arrival. We did arrive late and everything was ready as promised. Will stay again on next trip to Mexico. Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Better then expected
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Reviewed October 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and Master Bedroom
Liked least: Leaving after a week!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing