We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, second visit”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Kantenah Jan 11-18th. We originally booked the Colonial and were evidently upgraded to one of the renovated standard rooms in the Kantenah section. The room looked really nice, we had two double beds which was fine. We each got to sprawl out in our own bed! On our last trip we booked a Jr Suite in the White Sand section. The only drawback to the standard room in our opinion was the much smaller bathroom. The lighting was much darker than we remember in the Jr Suite and it made it a bit harder to apply makeup before dinner, but overall was still totally fine. Our sink didn't drain when we got there, but maintenance fixed that by the next morning which we appreciated.

Don't let the negative reviews deter you from booking this hotel. Anyone who complains about the staff is probably a complainer to begin with. The staff works so hard and are always very friendly. Every department works their behinds off to make sure you have a great vacation. Miguel at the beach bar by the Colonial is always joyful, even first thing in the morning! Marco at the snorkeling area was very friendly and knowledgeable. Our maid made us lovely towel art almost every day. The beach was never dirty like some reviewers said. We always saw staff working very hard to make sure the beach looked orderly and clean. The sand was actually even softer and more plentiful than our first trip here two years ago.

The food is abundant and the buffets and a la carte's are never hard to get into. Our only disappintment really was the desserts. We just never had anything that was amazing. Two years ago we loved the crepe stations in the buffets, but this time they were really not good. On our last trip, they made each crepe fresh in the pan while you waited and had chocolate chips to melt down. This time the crepes were already made and they had what tasted like Hershey's syrup instead of real melted chocolate. Disappointing when we had such great memories of it before!

Our only other negative comment would be that there is so much smoking everywhere around the resort. We never saw any areas that were non smoking besides our rooms. It was frustrating to have to keep moving around the lobbies and bars at night to get away from the smoke, or to be laying by the ocean and suddenly be overcome with the smell of smoke drifting from fellow beach goers. It would be nice if there were some non-smoking areas in the resort.

They have a new kids area with water slides and activities, and the kids looked to be having a blast. We would recommend this hotel to both couples and families with children.

Room Tip: Email them the week before you go if there is a specific building you want to be in. They are very a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Laura H,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments. I appreciate your opinion.

If we can help you in the future with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,227
    1,509
    501
    187
    110
See reviews for
1,711
2,397
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a two week family holiday at this hotel. We were a little concerned reading the reviews prior to travelling but when we got to the hotel it was way beyond our expectations.

The check in at the hotel was really quick and we were given a room in block 45 in the Kantenah section of the hotel. The room was very clean when we arrived and was kept this way throughout our stay. The position of the room could not have been better just a short walk to the Kantenah lobby with views onto the trees and wildlife.

The food at the hotel buffets was lovely and was well presented, there was always something for us all to eat and enjoy. Although we had difficulties checking into the a la carte restaurants we did manage eventually to get reservations for both the Japanese restaurant and for punta Emilia. They were both enjoyable but would highly recommend the Japanese restaurant.

All of the staff at this hotel are very hard working and are dedicated to keeping the hotel clean and tidy at all times. The bar/restaurant staff were very hard working and always pleasant and happy in their work as were the entertainment staff who were always on the go keeping everyone, kids and adults, occupied, we had a couple of rainy days and even then the entertainment staff worked hard all day and night to entertain the guests inside.

We have no complaints about this hotel and would have no hesitation returning, fabulous holiday.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Claire O,

Thank you for taking time to share with us and other readers on tripadvisor your comments.

Don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything in the future.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Thanks again grand Palladium for another great holiday. Traveled with our sons & their girlfriends as a special University graduation trip for them. Dec 26th/Jan 2nd.
Emailed resort a week ahead with a few requests king beds & upper floors. We were booked at the Kantenah in standard rooms, but on arrival where surprised with free upgrades to the Mayan suites at the Colonial. Beautiful large suites. Loved the out door Mayan showers.The second day we had nice fruit baskets waiting in our rooms. Thank you.
The food and drinks where awesome, especially the a' la carte. restaurants . We ate at the a'la cartes all but one evening. The Japanese and Punta Emila where my favorites. We found if you went early 5:30 to 6:00pm no problem getting seated, which suited us fine.
The resort is huge, lots of walking but we knew this from reading the reviews.The exercise is welcomed after all the eating and drinking. This resort is beautiful and we found it very clean, from the rooms to the beach. The employee's work very hard to keep it this way. For being a busy week at the resort , we found the resort did a great job keeping up.
Did the Tulum and Xel Ha excursion for $125. a person US thru air Transat rep. We found Tulum too busy and where not impressed with tour but Xel Ha was lots of fun. Play del Carmen for part day cost $25. US . for a taxi each way.
A holiday is what you make it and we had some great family quality time. Sun and relaxation. It was hard coming back to -35c. I would definitely recommend going to this resort.

Room Tip: Mayan suites very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Donna M,

It a pleasure for me and for the rest of the team know that you have had a great time with us. Thank you for your time.

Have a nice day!!

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

People are so funny on reviews. This is a great hotel. There are four hotels in one at the Grand Palladium so there are tons of choices on where to go and what to do.

We stayed in a jr. suite very close to the ocean on the second floor which was nice. If you want a view you can't be on ground level because there is so much jungle! Our room was always kept very clean and we always had enough towels and all of that good stuff.

The beach is beautiful white sands and if you are picky about your seat head down early and sleep in the sunshine! Inside the water is a little rocky so if you're a super wuss bring some water shoes. Over closer to the Riviera side (one of the other resorts) there is a lot of coral which makes for some cool snorkelling!

The food is what it always is a all-inclusive resorts, they ship everything in to please the masses, which means keeping everything more plain. Pleasing 3000 people's food preferences can be hard. That being said I always found something yummy and healthy to eat. You aren't going to get authentic mexican food unless you out of your resort (pretty much the same as any country)

If you're picky about your alcohols go to the churchhill or hemingway bars in the kantenah, they serve premium alcohol and they are never busy so they can take there time with your drink.

The White Sands's pool tends to be less busy but the pool bar is better because your butt actually goes below the water. On the Colonial/Kantenah side it feels like more of a party, but only your legs dangle in the water. If you don't like hearing the people talking on the microphone all day at the pool go to the other side of the pool and it's barely audible.

The salt water pool is neat because it's just the ocean protected by rocks so it's a great place to practice or learn snorkelling because the fish come right in. This is also where the cabana beds you've seen in the pictures are. They also have the "white party" where you wear white on Monday. My boyfriend and I won some tequila and t-shirts it was super fun.

It's a big resort which means that there is a walk to go places. And what a bonus! With the amount of alcohol and food I was consuming I didn't gain a pound because I was moving around all the time!

The spa is beautiful and relaxing on a rainy day it gets pretty busy though. It was also free to go there, I'm not sure if that for year round though. My favourite was to so in the inferred sauna, dip in the cold pool and then hit the hot tub. I had a massage and got to shower in one of the outdoor showers surrounded by greenery, it was really neat. (we also haggled them down on the price at the spa)

Use your safe, but don't be so paranoid about people stealing your stuff, every night the staff get off their shift they go through a tunnel were they are frisked. If you're leaving gifts sometime you have to leave a note and sign it saying it was a gift for that person. I left money and jewellery out (because I'm reckless) and nothing was ever stolen.... until I got to the airport.... then the airport staff stole a bunch of stuff from my bag, so bring on the important stuff on your carry on!

Overall I had a great time. My only worry is about the bridges getting old. They got a ton of rain this year and the bridges are starting to rot. They should be replaced. Other than that I had a great time! Also I don't feel like spell checking this... so hopefully I didn't mess up too bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Emily R,

I am glad to know that you have had a great stay with us. Thank you for your time.

Regarding the bridges, we are working with this and with the rest of the installations. This is a continuos work.

Please, don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfalds, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

First trip to Mexico and this was a great place to start loving this country. The resort is actually 5 in 1 and as a guest of the Kantenah we had access to all areas of 3 other resorts plus our own. The only area off limits to us was the Royal Suites area. All amenities are free and the food is very good but the buffets do get a little boring. The open theater at the Colonial had good shows every night and we took in several of these. The weather in the second week of January was not great as about half the time it was raining or cloudy but being from Alberta Canada, where we have record amounts of snow, the rain didn't need to be shoveled. The time we spent around the pools swimming and lounging was definitely pleasant and we met a lot of friendly people. No large hotel style buildings here, each housing complex has about 30 rooms and is quite pleasant and quiet. The rooms are large and kept very clean by wonderful staff. The staff was wonderful in all areas of all the resorts and they certainly deserved the tips we presented to them. Tips are not required but are appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Derek W,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments. Please, if we can help you with anything in the future, don't hesitate to contact with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Cons - They seem to consider the lobby outdoor space and smoking is allowed there - since it rained quite a few days, this made the lobby a very unpleasant place to be. It was quite difficult to get away from second hand smoke everywhere actually. The hotel really needs to make the lobby non-smoking - it is not an outdoor space!
Confusing system of reservations for the a la cartes. Every person we asked seemed to have a different story about whether you could or could not make reservations - couldn't seem to get a straight answer from anyone. Finally we figured out that some people (those in the higher end suites) could make reservations, but the rest of us couldn't. This resulted in long line ups at the entrances to the a la cartes and sometimes 2 hour waits. Maybe this is on purpose to encourage people to eat at the buffets. If you go to eat at an a la carte before 6 pm though, you will likely get in right away.
Evening entertainment was soso - very loud, especially on New Year's Eve - that hurt my ears!
Glad to say there were more pros than cons. Pros - exceptionally clean resort, rooms and public spaces included, all staff were friendly and pleasant, comfortable bed (once we took off the rubber sheet), free wi-fi in lobby, room made up promptly every day, decent food in the buffet and better in the a la carte restaurants. Nice beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Penny M,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments about your vacation at Grand Palladium.

We respect your point of view about the A la Carte reservations and I would like to comment the following:
Our restaurants are without previa reservation. Only Punta Emilia, Teppanjayi & BBQ are with reservation.
The guests located in the Royal Suites & Palladium Travel Club can make reservations in advance.
We have a system with beepers. If the restaurant hasn't table available, the captain give you a beeper and you can wait in our lobbys.

Please, if we can help you with anything in the future, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Cordially,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I also try to write helpful and honest reviews; please DO NOT BELIEVE everything that you read on here!!!! ( ask my wife who was fretting......)
Firstly if you want to get a room first thing to do is going onto palladium addict and they had letters which you can copy to send to the reception desk. We were originally booked into the Colonial and after reading reviews on here we felt that we wanted to stay in the Kantenah, so we wrote a letter and asked for 4 requests. They managed to accommodate 3 .... Just not acceptable ( joking!!!), I think they did superb we got the following:
Middle floor : tick
Jungle view : tick
Kantenah : tick
Block 46/47 : Block 45
All we mainly wanted was to not have a road view, if you look at palladium addict they will tell you which rooms to book. We were very happy with 4511.
Check in was quick and easy and within 30 minutes we were in our room.
Rooms:
Really nice and well kept the chamber maid was fantastic and also kept the property clean

Food:
Buffet restaurants ere amazing and there was always something you could find to eat!!! My son has managed to put loads of weight on over this holiday and even my fussy daughter always found some food which she could eat whether this was fresh pasta, or fresh cooked burgers.
Christmas Eve and New Years eave Gala dinners were superb and you could have a posh surf and turf ( I had lobster as starter and then grilled lobster and grilled New York strip for my main) I know decadent!!!!!
Al a carte restaurants:
Mediterranean : first night and really nice food this was the start to come
Japanese Tepanyaki: superb and worth booking the day before the chef was really really good and ended throwing rice at us.... Which we were suppose to catch ..... My son well it ended up in his eye.... All part of the experience.
Ribs and more : probably the worst one out of our stay steak not cooked
El Dorado: perfect steak hmmmmmm and Caesar salad
Italian : lovely veal steak and so. Loved his pizza
Mexican : went here twice the food was amazing

Overall this is an amazing hotel BUT it is very big and everywhere is a long walk but it helps walk off the superb food.

Staff work so hard and are forever cleaning and keeping this place clean, they always have a smile for you and a "hello"

Entertainment team do a superb job and there was always something on.

Which we were still there :(

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Monkeyman2010uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Monkeyman2010uk,

On behalf of Grand Palladium team, I would like to give you thank you for your good comments. We appreciate this information.

Don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
14.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,843 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
20.9 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Kantenah are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantenah Palladium Grand
Grand Palladium Kantenah Hotel
Palladium Mexico
Palladium Grand Resort
Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah
Palladium Kantenah
Grand Maya Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort Spa
g Palladium Kantenah
Grand Palladium Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing