We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty location with great facilities and lovely weather”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our room are nice and spacious and I'm glad we asked for a high floor given all the wildlife that roams freely around the resort, even snakes! Very good choice of restaurants each with its own first-come booking system that neatly overcomes the people who book and rarely turn up. Food in a most is excellent, though a couple didn't meet our expectations, like the Oriental. The staff across the whole resort were always pleasant and helpful and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. It was also quite entertaining watching them clean out the Alligator pens.Beaches are pretty, fine for swimming, there's plenty to walk around and see and the free facilities in the spa are a superb addition that few other hotels offer. Trips out were pre-booked with Mayan Adventures who I'd strongly recommend, except for when we took the collectivo into Play del Carmen, basically its a communal taxi. Playa/5th Avenue is an attack on all the senses.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mac187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Manager at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear mac187049,

Thank you so much for your excellent comments about your last stay with us. We are glad to realize that our daily effort is successful and comments like yours motivate us to keep working on it.

Kind regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,733 - 1,739 of 5,863 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first visit to Mexico. We arrived at the Colonial Lobby and were allocated a room in the Kantenah building villa 47. This turned out well as the rooms were newly refurbished and our block was close to the lobby, restaurants and a small quieter swimming pool, whilst still being handy for the beach and larger main pool area. The rooms were large and very clean! Infact all the public areas were clean and well kept.
Our first impression was shock at the size of the resort, and if I'm honest I did worry that it was going to be too big and too hectic. However, we soon got our bearings and the size was actually a bonus in the end as there was lots to see if you aren't the type who wants to sit in the sun all day long!
Food choice and quality was good with a range of buffet and a la carte restaurants to choose from with no restrictions. Our favourite was Mare Nostrum. Be prepared to queue at certain times of the day for the buffet breakfast and lunch, but its not for long and it's not worth worrying about. Again plenty of choice. Top Tip- long trousers needed for a la carte restaurants gentlemen! ( I think this rule could be reviewed as in some cases long wasn't always 'smart!')
The spa area is well worth a visit, check out the gym, sauna and jacuzzi even if you don't book a treatment.
Getting around resort is easy, either by foot or via the regular mini train service between lobbies. We enjoyed strolling around the many footpaths and bridges across the mangroves to check out the local wildlife.
Bars were plentiful (one on every corner)!!! with a good range of cocktails, spirits and did i mention 'tequila'? Top tip~ check out the Hemingway Bar and ask Melechio for the ' cafe menu' !!!
There were plenty of options for trips out including Chichen Itza and dolphin swims. I would also recommend the Segway tours around the resort- a fun experience at 35 Usd.
All in all a very enjoyable trip, the weather was great, with only an odd isolated shower and low humidity.
Overall a fantastic holiday destination and great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 4jspne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear 4jspne,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments about your vacation.

If we can help you in the future, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

just returned from our first holiday in mexico,Hotel was fantastic,a bit on large side for our taste,but we couldnt fault the resort or the staff.Everyone went out off there way to make every part of the holiday fantastic.A special mention must go to our first choice rep Jason nothing was to much trouble.Coco bongo nightclub is a must for anyone in need of a bit of action.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear paul h,

I am glad to know that you have had a nice time with us. Thank you for share your opinion.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Well organised check in, given free upgrade to Kantenah area block 50 which is newly decorated junior suites. The resort is huge but the train goes around and the bell boys are always happy to help, my husband had back pain for a few days and they were happy to pick us up whenever we asked. Small quiet pool area near block 47 was a favourite of ours, great little bar but water in all the pools was very cold. The main pool was great lots going on and swim up bar was great fun and nice and sunny at midday. All the restaurants, buffet and al a carte were excellent. Our favourite was The Mediterranean. All the bars were good offering an excellent range of drinks we particularly liked to Hemingway bar which is non smoking but the piano player needs more practice ! Beautiful beach but it was rather crowded near the bars but walk a little further away to get more space. We were pleased to see the efforts being made to protect the wildlife, beautiful butterflies and birds plus the flamingos, iguanas and racoons as others have mentioned. I personally to not think it enhanced our stay to have crocodiles in an enclosure though. All in all a very good holiday, this is our 4th time in Mexico and have been visiting Caribbean for the last 15 years and I would recommend this hotel resort as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Holidaycrazy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you Holidaycrazy51 for taking time to share with us your comments. The opinion of our guest it's very important for us.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

June 17-27,2012. This was our 8th trip to a Grand Palladium/Fiesta Group Resort. (1 trip was to Punta Cana, Grand Palladium Bavarro.
Again we chose to stay in the Kantenah Mayan Suites. Adults only, situated between the jungle and beach at the north end of the resort.Part of the Kantenah section was being renovated during our visit, but there was nothing to disturb our peace and quiet. We did not get a newly renovated room, as I found out later our building #34 was next on the renovation list, but the soft pastel colors of the room were welcoming.We love the outdoor shower and to tell the truth, use the jetted tub to store our snorkle equipment. Our suite was on the second floor beach side and were kept entertained by the singing birds and local fauna.The hammock is a nice place to relax, for a siesta, before dinner.
Please don't feed the coatis ,as they are becoming too used to humane contact and the Mngmnt. may have to relocate them so they don't become a nuisance. The aguotis are shy and will scamper away when you approach.

The resort is large and there are 5 sections including the Royal Suites Yucatan, which is adults only with butler service and access to the exclusive El Jardin restaurant, but their reserved section of beach is located infront of the Kantenah Mayan Suites.
The resort has a train system to get around between the different sections and those staying in the Royal Section has access to special cart and driver to get around the resort.

The resort is very ecologically minded. It is situated among the jungle and mangroves, which serve a very important purpose and must be protected. They have a team of biologists whose job is to protect the numerous sea turtle eggs, which are deposited on the beaches of the resort, during the spring and summer. Please do not distrub these nests, and if walking the beach @ night, please do not use a flashlight without a red lense, so not to disturb the nesting turtles.
Last year the resort started to use, reusable,washable plastic glasses for beverages on the beach. Please return used glasses to the nearest beachbar or deposit them in the marked containers to keep litter off the beach. My husband and I bring our own insulated travel mugs, because they keep the drinks cold.

There are numerous buffets and ala cartes to choose from throughtout the entire resort. If you want to make a dinner reservation, this should be done the day before and in the morning at the desk designated for this purpose in the lobbies. I've seen large groups of people get annoyed when they can't get into a restaurant when they arrive without a reservation, because they didn't think ahead to make a reservartion for their large group. If you want a "show table" in Sumptori which seats 8, definately make a reservation, even if there are only 2 of you, you'll be sure to meet new people. The Buffets are themed nightly and there's always a pasta station and grill station, no matter the theme.
Our favorite restaurants are. Sumptori (Japanese), Rodizio(Brazilian),Punta Emilia(Seafood on the Beach),El Dorado(Steaks) La Adelita(Mexican-not Tex-Mex, like we're used to in the states) and El Jardin(Royal Suites; when we've been afforded the pleasure to dine there). We've eaten in all the restaurants throught out our numerous visits and have enjoyed them all.Just like anywhere, you might find something that's not to your liking, just ask your waiter for something different if you like, and I know from experience they'll be hapy to bring you another selection.
People with Food allergies can get an "Allergy alert card" upon check-in,ask for it, to take with you when you dine to let your server know that you have a food allergy. They also have Gluten -free menues, so definatley get a card for this purpose also.

Yes, men are required to wear long pants to the ala-cartes and a shirt with some type of sleeves. TIP, guys buy a pair of pants that zip off above the knees, then unzip the lower legs and put them in the pants pockets after dinner while enjoying the lobbies or Disco.

Ladies, young and not so young, make sure you take some type of cover up, to wear over your swim suit. if you're going to eat anywhere other than the beach locations for lunch. A sorang is great with a tankini, no bare middrifts in the buffets or poolside buffets. It's okay to wear dry swimsuits to breakfast/lunch buffets, guys can wear a tank tops. If your swim suit is wet, bring a dry towel to sit on so you don't make the seat wet in the buffets for the next person.

True not everyone in the resort will not understand or speak English. Patience is the key and a smile and a little impromptu sign language can go along way. "Spanglish" is also a funway to interact.

Make sure you get a map and take it with you while exploring the resort. You can do as much or as little as you want , it's your vacation. There are alot of activities to choose from.

Some side trips might be a visit to Akumal Bay and stop @ the Hekab Be Biblioteca
( local Library that's run on donations.) ,the seaside ruins of Tulum, a trip to Playa Del Carmen, and a UltraMar ride to Cozumel. Shopping and bartering are always fun...

If you want to exhange money @ the front desk, take a color copy of your passport, as they need to keep a record of cash transactions, (Gov. rule). The bartenders and waitress' will be happy to exchange, US $10 or $5 bills for, 1's if they have them. US currancy is generally accepted for payment while shopping on and off the resort the exchange rate will be calculated.

Even though tipping is included, my husband and I acknowledge great service with a tip, but it is never expected.

The resort is qite an interantion l experience, with people from many different nations vacationing there. Not everyone will speak nor understand English, but a smile does go along way.

The resort is a little more than hour south of Cancun. For those visiting the first time, if you're travelling with a tour company, like Apple Vacations, defiantely add direct trasfer to the resort on your reservations. It will save you from riding a big tour bus and stopping at numerous resorts, you will be taken directly to the resort and is worth the sextra few dollars.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Firstmate362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Firstmate362,

Thank you for your comments and for your confidence in Grand Palladium. We appreciate your complete review.

Best regards from the Riviera Maya,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My fiance and I spent a week at this resort in February and we had a great time. Our room was clean, the selection of food terrific, and the grounds were really well maintained. Our room (4608) was in a quiet building, not far from the main pool, the lobby, and the beach. We were greeted by pink flamingos every morning. We never had issues with a la carte restaurants. In fact, you don't have to make reservations and if you don't want to have to wait for a seat (they give you beepers), just show up before 7pm. My favorites were the Brazilian, ribs and more, and the Mediterranean. The buffets were good, there was blue cheese and smoked salmon at almost every meal but we ended up eating mexican every day because it was so fresh. , The fruit selection was great. We thought they could improve the ice cream and some deserts. For us, the hotel complex's best kept secrets were the sea water pool and its bar (don't miss the fire show/party once a week there), the Hemingway bar to play cards and for international brands like Bailey's, the fabulous spa with free access to steam baths and jacuzzis, the sportsbar (they even organized a superbowl event). Things they could improve: the evening shows (they were late and boring), and more shuttles between hotels given the size of the complex

Room Tip: Kantenah is the quiet hotel on complex. It is far from hotel Riviera where shows are, but close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fabtheluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Fabtheluck,

Thank you for your time and good comments.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Four of us (two couples) stayed at the Kantenah last week of Jan2012. It was our first time at one of the Grand Palladiums and we can't say enough about the place. We've all been to many resorts and can say without a doubt this was our favourite one yet. And, it wasn't because of any one specific thing but the whole experience as a whole. To sum it up...no reservations required for a la cartes, no a la carte limits, unlimited access to all four resorts, two of the biggests pools you'll ever see in your life and a spa big enough to be it's own resort almost...and I'm not even a spa person, that is untill now :-)

We all agreed it was the first resort we would revisit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azoresbound55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Azoresbound55,

Thank you for share with us your excellent comments.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
3.6 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
5.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
6.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $235 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Kantenah are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantenah Palladium Grand
Grand Palladium Kantenah Hotel
Palladium Mexico
Palladium Grand Resort
Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah
Palladium Kantenah
Grand Maya Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort Spa
g Palladium Kantenah
Grand Palladium Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing