We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful as long as you don't mind walking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kamloops
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful as long as you don't mind walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went over the Christmas holidays and really enjoyed this resort. The room was decent and we had a nice walk out balcony. It's a quite a walk to the beach depending on where your room is located but the grounds are beautiful so it more than makes up for it. The buffets were all really good. This was my first time to Mexico without getting sick - I've been 6 times. The staff are very friendly. The Kantenah has the best beach of the 3 Palladiums that are connected at this resort. The White Sand was too far away from everything and we met people who came to the Kantenah or Colonial just see other people. If you like VERY quiet and no beach, White Sand would be a good choice. The only negative was that we arrived late at night and it was dark. They delivered our bags to our room but only gave us directions on how to get there. It's very dark and disorientating and we got lost. Luckily the golfcart with our bags come by and directed us to our room. Would recommend this resort to nature lovers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheriFictional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear CheriFictional,

It's a pleasure to know that you have had a great vacation with us. Thank you for your time.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,703
    1,332
    450
    177
    93
See reviews for
1,417
2,045
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My family went to this resort in January 2013 for a week and we thought it was great. The staff are very friendly and are quick to help you with anything. The resort is surrounded by nature and wildlife and we loved it, it's very beautiful and you get to see a lot of animals. The rooms and facilities are very clean and the water is safe to drink except for in the rooms. There are plenty of restaurants and buffets to choose from and the food was very good. The pool is nice and big and the beach is beautiful. The bar staff are excellent, if you find your drinks are weak, like we did, just tell them to make your drink strong. Go to the spa on a rainy day, it was very nice and relaxing. The only criticism I have is that at some of the restaurants the service was very very slow even though they were not very busy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M0n888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear M0n888,

I am glad to know that you have had a great vacation with us. Thank you for comments and for your time.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went there for a family wedding. The place was overrun with obnoxious eastern Europeans, who insisted on standing in the background of our wedding pictures in their skimpy swimwear gawking.
The food was horrid in both the buffets and the a la cart restaurants. All except 2 of the a la carts didn't take reservations. They wouldn't give you a table unless your entire group was present, so organizing a dinner for a group of 20 was virtually impossible, especially since the phones didn't work to call each others' rooms and make plans.
The service staff was attentive enough, but it was sometimes difficult to find staff to help you. Coffee refills at breakfast were sometimes non-existent.
There is no room service available, but the maids are nice and keep the rooms clean. You had to ask for more than 2 towels. The air conditioning and fans are set up on a motion sensor, so when you are not in your room or when the patio door is open, they turn off and it gets stuffy quickly.
Based on this experience, not only would we NEVER go back to this resort, we would never stay at a grand Palladium resort anywhere else either.

Room Tip: Stay in the White Sands area. it is the nicest between the Kantenah, Colonial, White Sands, Riviera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Ashley J,

I would like to offer you our sincere apologies for any incident that you might have had during your vacation. We always try to help our guest and when we have the information in the moment, it's more easy give a correct answer.

I am sorry to know that you left the hotel with this impresion and please, if you change your opinion and you decide to visit us in the future, it will be a pleasure to help you with anything.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayded at this hotel from January 25th to February 3rd 2013. Everything was EXELLENT during first week of our vacation. We liked it so much! One bad thing that happend very desappointed us. My wedding ring was stollen from our room on the 7th day of our vacation. We reported to the main office and they told us they will investigate that and send us a letter or give us a call during three days, but it is never happend. We didn't recieve any letter or call from them. We left that country with good and bad feelings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Olga M,

I would like to offer you our apologies for the incidents that you have had during your vacation. Please, if you can give me more details about your reservation, I could give you a correct answer.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
dtor.colonialkantenah@palladiumhotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just spent a week at the Kantenah with family (all older than 20yrs). Can't say enough good things about this resort. I had read some negative reviews and the pictures on the resort website made the facilities look out-of-date, so I was a little nervous about our stay. Our travel agent insisted we give it a try, and we were blown away by the resort. The facilities are modern, clean and absolutely breath-taking. The food was excellent. The beach was very busy, but it is so big, there is always room to swim and play. The resort hosts so many fun activities throughout the day, it is impossible to try them all - in fact, we only left the resort once, which is very out-of-character for us. We rode a mechanical bull, snorkelled, took scuba lessons (give it a try, you will LOVE it!), went to the dance club, hung out at the pool... I could go on and on. Most importantly, I have to pay a sincere compliment to the staff, who really make this resort stand-out. We befriended many of the resorts staff, who always remembered our names. They were friendly, hard-working and (very!) fluent in English. House-keeping did a great job, the grounds keepers were meticulous, the restaurant staff were on the ball and the bartenders were hilarious!!

We met many families and couples who have returned to the resort more than once, and I can say we will be joining the club. I'll be back.

Room Tip: In our opinion, the Junior Suite upgrade isn't really worth it. The standard room was more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tara S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Tara S S,

Thank you for your excellent comments. I appreciate your time. For us it's very important your opinion about your vacation in Grand Palladium.

Don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything in the future.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just arrived back from a one-week vacation at Grand Palladium in the Riviera Maya. This was our sixth visit to this resort. Our first was back in December 2008 when my daughter had her wedding there. Back then, we fell in love with this resort, a magical place and awesome all around accommodations and service. We have been back once or twice per year since then. Unfortunately at our fourth visit, we started to notice subtle changes in services which have been declining ever since. At our fourth visit we were hit up with the timeshare offer presentation. I was curious so we took the bait for a tour of the Royal Suites and an opportunity to hear their pitch, but their offering costs an exhorbitant amount of money and my research has shown that many people who have taken the bait have been quite disappointed. The hotel group that owns the Palladium chain, Fiesta Hotel Group has now rebranded themselves to Palladium Hotel Group and are now pushing their Palladium Travel Group. In our most recent visit, it has become abundantly clear, that it is no longer sufficient to be a guest at their hotel, as their travel group slogan is "From Guest, To Family" and if you are not a Travel Group member, you are not privvy to any perks, no matter how loyal you are to visiting their resort year after year. Our travel agent encouraged us to inquire about a free upgrade, as returning guests. Year after year we advise the resort we are repeat guests and inquire about a free upgrade and are always offered such things as a fruit basket in our room, reservations for a la carte restaurants (no longer required even for first time visitors) and a bottle of champagne. As it is an all inclusive resort, there is unlimited fruit and drinks available, so an offering of a fruit basket and champagne don't really seem like a perk. Service in the buffet restaurants was extremely lacking on this most recent visit. Waits to be seated, as tables are not set-up as quickly in past years. Seems to be a lack of enough glasses/coffee cups etc, coming out of the kitchen to keep up with the stream of required tables for guests. Once seated, difficulty to get a server who has time to stop clearing dishes from tables long enough to bring you a beverage and we were frowned upon if we presented to the bar area inside the buffets to get service from the person manning the soft drink fountain or pitchers of water. While it is still a very clean resort, with good food at the buffets and a la carte restaurants, we have been watching several areas deteriorate over the last few years. As well, if you want a king-size bed, be sure to email the resort ahead of time, as these are of quite limited availability. Needless to say, we will start investigating other all inclusive resorts to visit for our next vacation.

Room Tip: Check the Palladium Addict website for a detailed listing and description of rooms and areas of reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Debbie L,

First of all, I would like to offer our apologies for the incidents that you have had during your sixth visit to this resort. We always try to improve our service every day and in every moment.
The opinion of our guest is very important for us because is help and motivation for us.
I will take note about all of your observations and this will be shared with the rest of the team.
We respect your point of view but if you decide visit us again, please, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Wih best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

just back from 2 week stay at katenah, there were 10 of us in our party. this was one of the best resorts we have been to.after an 11hour+ flight and the transfer to the hotel we were all pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from the colonial to the katenah. as the complex is large it takes a couple of days to get your bearings went to main building several different ways till we sussed out the most direct routes. the food is great, booze is all premium spirits and the entertainment was good. only niggles are that food is warm rather than hot also it would be better if plates were in hot cupboards.went to coco bongo in playa del carmen and thoroughly enjoyed it also went to tulum on the bus, akamel beach and did shops in playa.
overall a brilliant time
Mr A and friends

Room Tip: we did email the hotel a week before travelling as we wantted 5 rooms close to one another
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mr A and friends,

In behalf of Grand Palladium team, I would like to give your thank you for your comments and your time. We are glad to know that you and your friends have had a good vacation with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
6.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
6.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#6 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Kantenah are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantenah Palladium Grand
Grand Palladium Kantenah Hotel
Palladium Mexico
Palladium Grand Resort
Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah
Palladium Kantenah
Grand Maya Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort Spa
g Palladium Kantenah
Grand Palladium Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing