We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newyork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Had a great time!!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2006

I returned here for my 2nd time and brought my kid. We all had an exelent time!
~~~~~FOOD~~~~~
The food was ok... The buffet was good but you start to get tired of eating the same food everyday. I would say that out of all the resterants, the Japenese resturant was by far the best! we didnt enjoy the mexican resturant but only because we dont like mexican food. The ribs place and the Italian place were just ok. The service at all of these resterants is absolutly horrible! We had reservations at 6:30, and by the time we were done eating, it was about 9:00. you sit and wait for your food for ever!!!!
~~~~~Activities/entertanment~~~~~~
The nightly entertanment was nod as good as it used to be. if you have kids, they will love the children show, and if you very outgoing and dont mind being imbaressed in front of tons of people, then you will love the adult pre show. they had some dancing shows which we enjoyed, but many times we found the White sands side had better entertanment. We went to the disco 2 times. both times, it was completly empty! Activities around the pool are bad, they have some dancing lessons and games for the kids, thats about it! If you love the beach, you will find tons to do there. We rented Jet Skis... It is worth it! its only about 600 mexican (60) US, for 1 jet ski and 30 minuts. But, if you bring the men at the hut hamburgers and fries, they will give you an extra 10 minuts for free!! There was also Parasailing, this was a blast, and we also went scuba diving!
~~~~Rooms~~~~
The bds were horrible, there was a weird plastic under the sheets so every morning you woke up drenched in sweat. The maid service was average. we left are maid 3 dollars every day. somtimes she was extra nice and made animals out of our towels. The TV is all in spanish exept for a few channels. The worse part, was that one of the days, we were awoken to pounding and drilling at 6 in the morning. they were replacing the doors on everyones room!
~~~~~Overal~~~~~~
This was an exelent resort with a few very little irritations, however this will not keep you from having a good time. We would recoment this to anyone with kids of any age!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,048
    1,322
    469
    205
    153
See reviews for
1,787
2,077
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 21, 2006

Just back from four days at the Palladium Grand. Be assured the "Grand" in its name is well deserved. We were me at the curb by a porter who told us to return with our room number. We did and were given a ride to our upgraded room, a Mayan Suite on the Colonial side, with an ocean view. We relaxed a bit and visited the adult pool, had a few wonderful drinks.
Later, when we returned from dinner, we were surprised to find a bottle of champaign and a fruit basket. We were celebrating our aniversity and had mentioned this when requesting a room. A very kind letter was left with the presents.
The next day there was a problem with the A/C. Two workmen tried to fix it but we were not convinced it was 100%. While they were working on it the front desk called offering to find us a new room on the Kantenah side. Although reluctant to leave this great room with its ocean view and fine location, we packed up, hopped on the porter's cart and headed over to the Kantenah. We were amazed when we were taken to another Mayan Suite. This one was literally on the beach. I cannot imagine the staff of any resort treatng their guests better. The Palladium did everything they could to make us comfortable.
The propert is gorgeous, a combination of natural beauty and man made. Immaculately clean, the resort sparkles. All of the pools were clean, the beach was free of any trash, the rooms both public and private were spotless.
We stayed here in 11/2004 and fould the food at the buffets to be rather bland. It is very much improved since then. The steak at the Med. restaurant was excellent as was my wife's shrimp dish. The Asian restaurant was a bit disappointing to us, but others we talked to loved it. Poppers at the beach bar were a special treat.
Different resorts satisfy different people. The Palladium provides everyhing we need for a great vacation. We are already planning for our next trip there.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 19, 2006

Because I'm such a faithful user of tripadvisor, I thought it only fair to include my thoughts as well. I stayed at the Colonial Palladium for my honeymoon in June 2005. It was wonderful! The grounds were spectacular! Exactly what I had hoped for! A beautiful breezy lobby, shop, and restaurant area with marble walkways, high vaulted thatched roofs, fountains, and ponds with goldfish. I loved how the resort preserved the natural beauty of the lush and tropical environment: wooden walkways through the jungle, secluded adult pool, and green vegetation throughout. The grounds were immaculate. I loved the private adult pool with its own bar, a huge main pool with a swim-up bar, a volleyball court, an all-night snack bar, and a gorgeous beach with clear water, schools of white fish swimming at your feet, and plenty of chairs for sunbathing. We stayed in a junior suite which was very spacious and nicely decorated with a beautiful marble bathroom and a jetted bathtub that provided the most wonderful bubble baths. The buffets were bountiful, varied, and good tasting. My favorite place was the Japanese restaurant where we sat outside on a deck over a pond and had the best sushi I've ever tasted! All the employees were very nice and the atmosphere was very relaxed. I was surprised that the bugs hardly bothered us at all. Overall, I only have one suggestion for the resort and that is to make activities more accessible. We often didn't know what was going on or how to participate. This resort was wonderful and a great value (we booked through Expedia). I would recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful, relaxing vacation! I wish I could go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2006

Feb 13 thr Feb 19 2006. Grand Palladium Colonial/Kantenah Resort & Spa had a wonderful time. The walkways are bridges through the jungle and it is beautiful. We had a 3rd floor Jr Suite on the Kantenah side and it was big and clean. The beach is great and plenty of chairs, no towl games needed to be played. The pool was big, a bit cold, but the weather has been cool. The food was good and there is plenty to choose from. I can't find anything bad to say about this resort in Riviera Maya.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
18 Thank redtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 17, 2006

We enjoyed a week at the Colonial, and adjoining resorts. Service was great, tho alot of the staff didn't understand English (and us, no Spanish). We felt like royalty, and didn't want to leave when our time was over! Be sure to visit Caesar and Juan in the secret bar--they put up with alot of tourists' antics, so be good! We ate at "Ribs and More", "Portofino" and "El Dorado" for our ala cartes, enjoying excellent and polite service at all three, and amazing steak! Our resort appeared to be cleaner, more spacious and more luxurious than alot of the others we had to pull into, to pick up tourists for tours. I would love to go here again, if I could ever afford another trip!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2006

I just returned on Feb 10 from my first visit to this resort. I highly recommend it for anyone! Especially those who aren't sure whether they want to have a busy, fun-filled time, or bask in the sun and do nothing. The food was excellent in the buffet restaurants, and the selection was unsurpassed by any others I have seen. However, there is no divider or barrier or space between the smoking and non-smoking sections which means you might end up at a table right next to the smokers. Just tell the hostess who seats you that you want to sit far away from the smokers and they'll happily oblige. Staff were cheerful and helpful, even seeming to enjoy my pathetic attempts to speak Spanish. The room was very nice and clean. I would definitely come back! PS. The White Sand/Riviera side has more obvious hurricane damage and is within easy walking distance, if you want to see this.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank spyoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheaton illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2006

My husband and I went to GP on Kantenah side for the first week of Feb. We flew w/Apple. We hated the Big bus ride to the resort. Everyone was drunk and loud so we decided to do private transfer back to the airport $60.00 for 2-4 people. The resort is one hour away. We used the Collectivo buses to get around Riviara Maya for 1.50 per person. They run right outside the resort from Cancun to Tulum. LOBBY: Gorgeous, open, marble, chandeliers, fountains, shops, cool ocean breeze always floating through. That was the place to hang out in. MAYAN SUITE: 60 Steps to the ocean. Can lay in bed and see the shore. Landscaped w/lots of Palm Trees, quiet, outside shower which we really loved, beds are hard but my husband likes it, TV has about 6 US channels, always full fridge, safe for valuables, tub, biday SERVICE: Outstanding. Bent over backwards to do everything we asked immediately. This is the best service we have ever had (we were just at the Iberstar Tucan)Rooms were cleaned late in the day. Anything you need, just call front desk. They always do follow up calls at the end of the day to make sure someone took care of your problem or needs.BEACH: This was my sore spot. It was SOOOO rocky. You cannot go for a long walks up and down the shore w/out shoes. The Kantenah side is soft sand, The colonial side is rocky, The White sands is very small and the Riviera has no beach, just view of the ocean. The area North of the resort is still uninhabited and the beach is FILTHY. It made me sad to walk by it. We did find a hypodermic needle our last day, but it's not the resorts fault.FOOD: We have to give the food a C- It could be sooo bad (compared to the Iberostar) There were actually things that were completly inedible. The ala carte's were worse than the buffet. BUT, everyone can find something they like, so no one will go hungry. Drinks were great. Premium liquer. Cappacino's were awesome. The buffet's are all indoors which I don't like, but it didn't really matter. The pool restaurant was TERRIBLE.I spit out the first bite of my hotdog. Just aweful. I know they can do better than that POOLS: huge, clean and very cold. My husband loved the cold but I was frozen. I am sure it is better when it's 90 everyday. There is an adult pool which is so nice, quiet w/a bar WEATHER: 80 and sunny w/very little humidity, always a cool breeze from the ocean.ENTERTAINMENT: always some game going on at the pool, more for teens. Night shows were cute WHITESANDS: It is beautiful, but it needs time. It does appear dirty, just because of all the construction. The 3 story bridges are strange, most of the rooms are ocean view. It is surrounded by water. OVERALL this is a great place. Worth the money I spent. Lots of walking which is so good for you anyways. I would definately go if you are planning a trip to the area. Oh yeh, the worst part of the trip was Cancun Airport. Total Chaos. 2 hour wait in line for just the check in. Don't go on a weekend.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank lsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
5.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
4.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,843 reviews
15.2 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
16.9 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#51 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Akumal
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing