We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,666)
Filter reviews
5,666 results
Traveler rating
3,382
1,417
497
210
160
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,382
1,417
497
210
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsribsthe white sandsadult poolthe salt water poola la carte restaurantsfishel doradosports barmayan suitemain pooltravel clubpunta emiliajunior suitewhite partysegway tourriviera lobbymare nostrum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,738 - 3,743 of 5,666 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2005

Stayed at the Grand Palladium from 2/24/05 to 3/3/05. We were on the Colonial side. I couldn't quite understand the difference between the Kantenah side and Colonial side from the reviews I read previously. They are all connected and the two lobbies are right next to each other.
We stayed at the Bahia Principe Tulum for our 2 previous trips and wanted to try something different.
It is lovely. All of the pathways are wooden bridges or covered paths with low lighting. We were in building 9 which we initially thought was "miles" away from everything. However, once we became familiar with the path system, we found that we were surprising close to all the activities.
There is nightly musical entertainment in the bars and additional musical groups in the lobbies. It is so relaxing.
The food was fabulous. We ate at the Japanese restaurant, The El Dorado Steak house and the Medditeranian restaurant. The Japanese was the best with the El Dorado a close second. We were a little leery about going to a steakhouse as our experience at the Bahia's steakhouse was less than good. Let me tell you, the steaks were thick and melted in your mouth.
The rooms were nice. There are only 2 disappointments. #1 there are no ocean front or view rooms and #2 we requested a King bed, but got 2 full size. I guess they have very few Kings. They should at least offer 2 queens as the full size beds were a little cramped for 2 adults. The couch in the JR suite that we were in was very bad--the cushions sank into the frame so you couldn't really use it. But there were 2 other comfy chairs, so that was okay. The digital combination in room safe was a real plus. Didn't have to mess with keeping track of a key.
The beach was great. Didn't even need our water shoes as there weren't any rocks. We definitely would go back there.

29  Thank nypd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2005

My husband and I are both 30 years old. We have done several cruises..but this was our first all-inclusive.
Cons: 1. Size......Resort is very large...I do not recommend this resort if you have problems with walking long distances....there is no golf cart to take you around the resort. There is 1 spot to get your towels...so you have to walk there everyday to get your towel and return it...unless you keep the same towel all week. Same goes for any activities...the mini-golf, archery, basketball, tennis....you have to walk 15 min to get the equipment and then walk back to return it.
2. Dining......3 out of 6 of us had GI issues from eating off the buffet....also depending on the number of days you stay, you get dining vouchers for the restaurants...we stayed for 5 nights so we got 2 vouchers and you have to make those reservations upon arrival..otherwise they get full quickly.
Pros: 1. Service......excellent...no complaints at all .
2. Bar....drinks were not watered down
3. Cleanliness....other than having GI problems...resort was spotless
Tips: 1. Rooms: We had a standard room...we were in building 7...which we thought would be closer to the beach...I would recommend building 2-3 because it is closer to all the dining, entertainment, bars, adult pool, etc. It is a better place to be for easy access to the pathways that lead everywhere on the resort. Our room had a hairdryer, iron, ironing board, coffee maker, mini-refrigerator with sodas and beer and water
2. No need for a flashlight (recommended by someone else in the review....the resort is well lit) but do bring bug spray as the pathways all take you through a jungle like setting....we got quite a few bites.
3. Comfort shoes....can't wear high heels....some of the walkways have gaps large enough to get stuck in...so be careful.
4. Breezy in the evenings...bring a sweater....it also rained a few days we were there...umbrella would have been nice.
5. We took walkie talkies and that worked out great...I would highly recommend that....not many area on the resort to use phones.
6. Alarm clock for the room
7. You can email the resort and make you room building request ahead of time
8. Take something nice to wear to the dining halls...men must wear pants
Hope this helps to all of you going! You will not be sorry for picking this resort.

23  Thank ginger123snaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2005

My wife, daughter (9 yrs.), and I spent the week of Feb. 19-26 at the Colonial Palladium and we missed it by the time we got back to Hamburg, NY (10+ inches of snow)! The entire trip was very satisfying. We flew from Hamilton, Ont., Canada, which was only about 1 1/2 hours away. Sadly there were no charters from Buffalo available. Anyway, West Jet provided efficient check in and a quality flight. In Cancun, there was a slight hold up at customs as 4 flights came in pretty close together, but it was tolerable. The bus ride to the resort took about 1 1/2 hrs. at a leisurely pace, which was made better by the selling of Corona cerveza on the way! Check in at the resort was quick and easy. The room was clean, nicely, decorated and more than adequate for the three of us. The grounds of this resort are spectacular! Covered walkways through a rain forest guide you to your villa (we were in villa 1, which was close to lobby, but about a 7 minute walk to the pool). The walking over this large property wasn't a problem, since you need to burn off all the food and drink calories anyway! I carried a bunch of US $ to tip the wait staff and others ($1 or $2 each time). We left $2 each day for the maid and our room was left in great condition daily. There are plenty of activities to get involved in or if you prefer, get out early and grab a pool lounge and enjoy the sun. Although some may believe the theory that there are to be no chairs saved, it really isn't true. I was out and setting up for the day by 6:30 am and i surely wasn't alone! A trip to the gym or a walk on the beach, then off to breakfast. The food at the Palladium was very good in general. We were at the Bahia Principe 2 years ago, and a head to head comparison had the Bahia a step better on the food and service. But, without that previous comparison, I would have said everything was perfect. The breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets were good, although you do see alot of repeats. The a la carte restaurants were very good. Hint: plan your dining week immediately after check in as reservation for the restaurants fill quickly. We tried the Mediterranean, Steak House, and Japanese. All were great with the latter 2 the best. Hint#2: On Friday or Saturday, they throw a beach party by reservation only (250 peple). Find out when and book fast. We were never told that it was reservation only and were shut out of what looked to be a super time. Drinks were plentiful even though they may have been a little watered down. Water and ice on the property are purified and I heard of no one in distress. (They do recommend not drinking the water in your room, though). Pools and beach are huge and great!. Pick one or go back and forth to both. We enjoyed parasailing (although daughter got a little seasick, but it was after flying!) and rented a jet ski, which was a blast! The show at night are fun and provide some decent entertainmaent while your dinner is digesting. Then, its off to the disco (adults after 11pm) or they have a small band at another bar nightly. So you can dance to the head pounding disco or sit and enjoy the lighter sound. We did both and I'm 45 years old! All in all I would certainly without doubt go back to the Palladium for another outstanding week. Might try a return trip to the Bahia first though!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank jimrad121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chardon, Ohio
128
Reviewed March 2, 2005

Stayed at the Colonial Palladium Feb. 17-22. Five days were not enough! This was our 2nd trip to this resort. We have 2 daughters, 16 and 14. We booked two rooms and went through Apple. Flight times were great, we even arrived early into Cancun on USA 3000. Our shuttle van took us directly to our hotel. By 11:30 am we were having our first Miami Vice. I emailed the Palladium ahead of time, requesting that the 2 rooms we booked were close together. Check in went smoothly, our rooms were right next to one another. (Rooms 2113 and 2114, 3rd floor, bldg 21-great location). Early in the evening, a fruit basket and thank you note was delivered to each room. This was to thank us for being returning guests. (VIP's) Service was top-notch throughout the resort. We ate at a cook table in the Japanese Restaurant. This is the way to eat there as I heard the menu at the non-cook tables is quite different and not as good. We also ate at the Mediterranian Restaurant. Food was average but service and effort went a lot farther! We tipped in all the restaurnats and tipped our maid daily. I liked that the personnel did not expect a tip, but were very please! We will return again next year! Would go nowhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hamilton, Ontario
115
Reviewed February 27, 2005

I'll start off by saying, if this was our first time at a big resort I could understand why its getting 4 and 5 stars. But this is our second time in mexico and our fourth big resort stay. And it did not meet our groups expectations.

We flew WestJet down and it was Great, we have flown on many charters before and this airline was by far the best. The staff is very freindly and there is lots of leg room.

the drive from Cancun to the resort is a bit too long at 1:30 hrs, but thats personal choice. the check in was average, but for us they messed up a couple of things like we were the honeymooners but at check in our freinds got the package in error ( and this took 3 days to fix kinda, as it never fully got fixed) our friends and us were to be in the same villa or the same area, but ended up at two different ends of the resort ( a long long walk ) and when we asked this to be changed, we were told not possible.

The food was average at the buffets and it did get boring after a couple of days, though the a la cartes were very good. The service was average and the entertainment was ok. The dancers were not in sink, though it got a little better as the week went on. The pool was big and there was a adult pool if you needed to be away from the crowds, but they were both cold. the beach was narrow but good and had place to swim and snorkle which was nice. If you needed chairs at the pool you needed to be at the pool by 7:30am but the beach was no problem. The resort is very big and if you have a problem with walking I do not recamend this resort, as we made a wrong turn one night and it took 1 hr to get to our villa. As other people have said this is a big resort.

Another down side to this resort is the fact that the construction is running an average of 13 hours a day, and in our case it was outside our villa and being on our honeymoon the fact that we could not use our balcony because of the jack hammers and deisel fuel was not posible.

The resort is very close to other resorts in the maya R. but the service and food are lacking and needs improving. As a first timer its a good choice but if you have traveled before to a 5 star you wll be dissapounted. As we were and will not return. We will return to the Iberostar as this had far better service and food selection.

This resort is not bad but is not great either. I hope this helps

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews