We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
18 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$190
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$205
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/21
Palladium
$161
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/01/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$190
Booking.com$240
ZenHotels.com$261
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,668)
Filter reviews
7,668 results
Traveler rating
4,603
1,829
681
323
232
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,603
1,829
681
323
232
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand palladium ribs the white sands adult pool el dorado a la carte restaurants fish sports bar mayan suite main pool travel club salt water pool junior suite outdoor shower something for everyone kids club kantenah lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,761 - 2,766 of 7,668 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Colonial for six nights in June. There were 29 of us, 7 families total. There were 13 adults, 3 teenagers, and 13 kids under 8 years old. After researching resorts it was between this one and Iberostar. They both have activities for kids of all ages and that was very important to all of us. We chose this one because they allowed 5 people in a room and Iberostar did not.

I was worried about the check in process after reading reviews but it was very easy and took like 20 minutes tops. Someone even came and offered us a drink while our other family members checked in.

My experience with the staff was 99%. I feel bad to even mention but one of the restaurant workers was rude. My theory is: you never know what someone is going through...we are all entitled to a bad day or moment, right??

There were only 2 restaurants that could sit all 29 of us together - the Mediterranean and Mexican, but we would all have to order the same menu item so we ended up not doing that. We did all try the steakhouse but were seated in 30 min increments 5-6 of us per table. We did the same thing at the Italian. I think the key is to get there by 6:30! After that we all gave up eating together and each family did their own thing for dinner.

My favorite restaurant was the Mexican and the Japanese was a close second (great sushi). Remember get there early otherwise there will be a wait! I thought it was cool that they would make a different restaurant "adult only" on certain nights. I loved the variety they had at the buffets for breakfast and lunch. There was something for everyone! Also, guys need to wear long pants, but don't worry if you forget you can borrow some at the front desk for $20 (refundable). My husband ended up keeping his as a souvenir (they had the Grand Palladium logo on them).

Also, I know that tip is included but we tipped at the restaurants because we got great service and they deserved it!

Make sure to bring mosquito repellant!

They have babysitting available in the kids club. The kids club looked pretty fun. Our kids wanted to be with us all day (lucky us); however, they did participate in a few kid activities. The teenagers enjoyed basketball, mechanical bull, volleyball, etc. My 18 year old went to his first disco!

The shows were great. I was surprised to see the girls from the kids club in the show. When do they sleep? Some of the shows were a little risky for my little ones. I hope they forget some of the one liners they learned before school starts.

The beach was beautiful. The pools were very nice. Make sure not to forget your beach toys, water toys, and inter tubes.

We brought 24 oz insulated cups so we wouldn't have to go to the bar so much.

We don't usually like to travel to the same place once but will definitely go to another Grand Palladium based on our experiences.

Not everyone in our family was as impressed as we were. Some complained about damp sheets, bad customer service, etc. I thought it was weird that we went on the exact same vacation and had totally opposite experiences.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank 375bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Assistant Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Greetings B S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your family vacation experience with us.
We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed our restuarants, pools and friendly service staff.
Our management team has noted your comments in order to improve our services.
We look foward to hosting you at our resorts for more vacations to come, as such kindly contact us prior to your next visit.
Should we be ale to assist you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I just returned from a 1 week stay at the colonial resort. Upon our arrival we were told our reservation was not at the colonial(which is where we booked) and that we were moving to the riviera section(allll the way in the corner near nothing). We refused that "upgrade" to the junior suites and were given a room at the colonial after being told multiple times there was no rooms available(which there was). We waisted an hour of our morning arguing with the front desk about the room situation. The resort itself was very nice and big. The train helped out a lot with not walking as much. 99% of the staff were absolutely terrible.... so rude and unfriendly and only cared about you if you had tip money in your hand. I will NEVER return to a palladium again after my experience this week. The only tip i would give to this resort is to get rid of their current staff (especially fredy at the swim up bar) and hire new workers who have a smile on there face and actually enjoy being there. The only staff who really stood out to me and always made me happy were Alan (Sports Bar Cook), Walter (Italian Restaurant Waiter), Emanuel (Ribs&More Waiter), and Victor (Waiter). The food at this resort did not impress me or my 12 travel partners. We were all sick in the room at one point or another. I would definitely recommend eating at the Brazilian Restaurant, Italian Restaurant, and Japanese Restaurant as the food was awesome at all 3 places.

The front desk people are rude as well. The 4th night of our stay we came back to the room to a huge leak in our AC and a huge puddle on the ground where my friend slipped and fell on her knee. I called the front desk to notify them of what was going on and I was hung up on twice. It then took them over 25 minutes to get there and no apologies were given.

The cleaning service left us 2 towels every day so we spent a lot of our time on the phone contacting them for more towels.

Beach was nice. Always lots of chairs open in the shade or the sun. Some areas of the beach were very rocky. The pool chairs got taken early so I would recommend getting there for a seat early. **THE POOL IS EXTRA EXTRA DEEP WE COULD BARELY TOUCH THE GROUND** .. if your looking to relax in the pool definitely don't go to the colonial pool because it is VERY deep. White Sands Pool was perfect size and the pool bar staff were a little better there.

Alcohol choices weren't very open. Most of the alcohol was watered down. Especially the shots. We were waiting over 15 minutes just to get one drink.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Assistant Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Greetings Nicki P,

Thank you for sharing details of your vacation experience with us.
We regret that your stay was less than satisfactory with us and that you have left with such a bad impression of the resort.
We would like to comment that we are always at our disposal throughout your stay to assist you in making your stay enjoyable. We regret that this was not the case for you.
Our management team has noted your comments in order to make the necessary checks with all the departments involved. Your feedback is critical to us so that we can keep on improving our services.
We will definitely comunicate your gracious comments to those team members whom you have mentioned.
We hope that we will have another opportunity to demonstrate that this was an isolated case and to demonstrate our usual excellent customer service.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should we be able to assist you in any way.

Kind regards,

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Returned this week from a fabulous 2 week holiday in Grand Palladium Colonial Resort. We were initially very disappointed with Mexico due to the poor standards on arrival of Mexico airport which has to be one of the worst airports in the world! However on arrival at our hotel, things just got better. Our room was spacious, clean and had comfortable beds. The resort is beautifully laid out, with plenty of palm trees and other vegetation, along with numerous wildlife wandering around - Iguanas, Raccoons, Agoutis and Coatimundis. Look out for small hermit crabs around the pool area as well. The beach is beautiful and the sea so warm and there are plenty of beds, although they could do with more sun shades. We were bitten a lot by midges and mosquitos but that is not the fault of the hotel but it's as well to take plenty of antihistamine! there are plenty of places to eat, with at least 8 Al la carte restaurants, our favourite was the Italian and we were disappointed with the Mexican, however everyone has different tastes. As a vegetarian, I was provided with a separate menu in all of the restaurants. There are also several buffet restaurants with plenty of choice. The swimming pools are lovely and big and constantly the staff ensure that they are kept clean. Plenty of beds around the pools, although more sun shades would help, as the ones under shade go pretty early in the day. It took us a while to get our head around the fact that there were 4 lobbies for the 4 different areas but this was probably down to us not taking in all the information given on arrival after our long journey, however maps are available and there are plenty of vehicles to get you around the resort, either use the small train or ask at reception for 'a lift'. The bar and restaurant staff were all great and very friendly and work very hard. There is a guy who wanders around drawing carcatures, we saw him in the White Sands lobby, they are interesting but funny! If you buy from the Mexican stalls which set up in the lobbies in the evenings, be prepared to barter, as they make the prices up as they go along, usually twice/triple what you actually can end up paying. We visited the spa, as they were doing a deal on massages, which meant we both had an hour and a half massage for £60 each, it was lovely, just as good but much cheaper than in the UK spas, although we were asked to choose our oil and then charged an extra £10 each which was a bit strange. We went on a couple of trips to see Chichen Itza (one of the new 7 wonders of the world) and a natural sink hole, a long day but interesting and also went to the unspoilt Isla Contoy which was beautiful. There were plenty of weddings taking place in the hotel and the little chapel is beautiful. All in all we had a fantastic, relaxing holiday and would definately return to this hotel as it was so good. Mexico airport departure is a lot better than the arrival!

Room tip: We were in room 1631, in villa 6, which was basic but we have no complaints. It wasn't noisy.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Assistant Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Greetings KCE E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday review with us.
We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our pools, beaches, wildlife and accommodations.
We look forward to hosting you once more, please do not hesitate to contact us should we be able to assist in any way.
See you soon!

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

On July 3 we will be returning there after a few years. When we first came to Grand Palladium Riviera Maya back in 2010, we fell in love with the resort and the people. The hotel was gorgeous, our room was very nice and spacious, the food and drinks simply great. We enjoyed our stay so much that we joined the Palladium Travel Club. Since then we have been once to Puerto Vallarta, once to Dominican Republic and twice to Jamaica. Now we are going back to Riviera Maya, hoping that our vacation is going to be as great as it was when were there for the first time.

The main pool in the Colonial / Cantenah part of the resort is huge and quite deep for a short person like myself. It features a pool bar. A similar pool at the other part of the complex is just as large, but not so deep. We never had any problems getting our sun beds by the pool. Many activities, including fitness classes and games occur by the main pool. If you prefer a quiet time you can enjoy one of the smaller, more private pools at the resort. We also went to the Spa and used the free amenities including the pool with great water jets and lazy river.

We enjoyed the buffet very much - it has great quality and selection of dishes, pastries, fruits, cheese, juices etc. comparable with the best of Las Vegas hotel buffets. We really liked the theme a la carte restaurants too. Also, we loved the Magnum ice-cream served at noon at the main pool bar and we love they still have it.

We highly recommend taking the time and opportunity to visit the magnificent Chichen-Itza, Tulum, Coba and other beautiful places in the area. Tours are offered by partner companies whose agents have their desks at the resort.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Assistant Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Greetings 2ak,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
We are very excited to host you once more at your home away from home.
Should we be able to assist you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact us or visit our Reception or Public relations desk located in our lobbies.
We look forward to your return visit in the upcoming days.

See you soon!

Kind regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Enjoyed resort very much but too much walking for seniors and for that reason would not return. Most of the staff were excellent but there were a few with attitude. Last night was very upsetting as we were supposed to leave at 6.30am and we received letter stating that our luggage would be picked up at 11.00 after our flight had already left. Some people may have thought flight had been delayed. While trying to sort this out spoke to a lady at reception who was very rude which put a bit of a damper on our holiday.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANNE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Assistant Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Greetings poppinsa,

Thank you for sharing highlights of your vacation experience with us.
We regret that your stay was less than satisfactory with us.
Regarding the issue of transportation, we would like to comment that there are trains and carts at your disposal to transport you from one area to another throughout the resort.
Our management team has noted your comments in order to verify with the specified departments your feedback.
We value your comments as they will assist us greatly in improving our services.
Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future should we be able to assist you in any way.

Kind regards,

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews