We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sixth visit to the Palladium”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We just returned from our sixth visit to this resort. We had another wonderful vacation. The food and the service were excellent (as usual). My husband has an MSG allergy and the staff at all the restaurants were so helpful in letting him know what he could eat. He didn't have any problems while he was there. We met so many wonderful people on this trip. It really does feel like our second home. Thanks Palladium for another great vacation. We can't wait for #7!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cormier_michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Greetings Cormier_michelle,

Thank you for sharing highlights of your sixth vacation experience with us.
We are very happy you had another fantastic vacation with us and that your husband received all the assistance required to ensure he had a great vacation.
We do look forward to hosting you for your seventh, eighth and ninth vacation here with us in Riviera Maya. Please advise us prior to your next arrival.
We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,721 - 1,727 of 5,465 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I visited for a belated honeymoon. We stayed in one of the colonial junior suites. Room was pretty standard but had everything we needed. This whole resort is a bit of a maze so took us a good few days to realise the beach and restuarants were 2 mins in the opposite direction to the paths we had been following. This is by far the best and cleanest resort we've been to. Food is incredible, the a la carte restaurants are better than most of the restaurants we've been to at home!! Each hotel has it's own reception area, bars, restaurants and with the free golf buggy type shuttle service it's almost like you're going out but with no extra costs!
The spa was great, beach incredible and plenty of sun beds. The adults only pool was amazing, ordering your next drink whilst floating in the pool is pretty surreal!
The memory of the constant sound of blenders creating beautiful fresh fruit cocktails will forever make me smile.
The worse thing about this place is that I'm struggling to find anywhere else that live up to this amazing resort.
We went on to the Atlantis submarine, pretty hardcore journey to get there (coach, boat and taxi) but 100% worth it. We also went to Coco Bongo, we upgraded to the VIP and had one of the best nights of our lives. Sad but true, truly awesome and worth every penny.
If you aren't sure whether to book this resort or not then stop wondering and do it, do it now!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheAllens20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Greetings TheAllens20,

Thank you for taking the time to share details of your belated honeymoon experience.
We are most delighted you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, food and beverage services, our luxurious spa and our adults pool.
We look forward to hosting you for another fantastic vacation, as such kindly inform us prior to your next arrival.
Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future should we be able to assist you in any way.
See you soon!

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I loved everything about this hotel, the staff was quite helpful and polite. The facilities are good and I liked the fact there was a pool only for adults. The beach was clean and the snack bars around the pool and the beach were great, kind of crowded sometimes but it didn't take too much time to get your order served. Something I loved about this place is the fact that both animals and guests could be in the same place, we saw lots of iguanas and other (harmless) animals I never seen before but it was really nice see how nature combined with the hotel. I would only recommend taking lots of repelent to avoid being the 'victim' of any insect around.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandrix_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Greetings sandrix_n,

Thank you for taking the time to share highlights of your vacation experience with us.
We are happy you enjoyed our beautiful and environmentally friendly grounds, adults pool and our food and beverage services.
We would be delighted to host you for another vacation, as such please advise us prior to your next arrival. Please do not hesitate to contact us should we be able to assist you in the future.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I thought the resort was very big and some will like that and some not. nice mini-club. good sport facilities. Lots of animals to see, good beach, nice food, plenty to do in the general area, eg. wel-ha and x-caret etc.....I had a good time generally, bit of a trek from airport.

They kept on trying to get us to join their travel club with free gift vouchers and beach bag and calling room - bit annoying.

worst problem was peanut was crushed in to things like pastries at breakfast and in chinese sauce on roast chicken salad in chinese restaurant, my daughter had severe reaction, throat closed up and needed epipen and my husband had to spit out multiple pastries. They were labelled with ingredients and nowhere did it say peanut on ANY label. If someone dies they will get sued badly. Do not believe the rubbish they tell you about the 'card system' were staff member shows you what you can eat - they go by labelling too and did not know themselves and also when i complained about a pastry to manager, who spoke good English, I went back 20 mins later and same pastries were still there, same label - palladium you have been warned.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ventia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Greetings ventia,

Thank you for sharing highlights of your avcation experience with us.
We are happy you enjoyed our mini-club, sports facilities and also our beautiful grounds.
We extend our apologies regarding the incidents you have highlighted and as such our management team has noted very seriously your comments so that we can take the necessary steps to improve on the issues you have highlighted. We would be very appreciative if you could contact us to provide additional information so that we can make the neccesary checks and verfications with our team. Please visit our customer service option on our website to enable this process.
Should there be anything in the future that we can assist you with, please do not heistate to contact us.
We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I am writing this sitting by the White sands adult pool taking a break from the sun using the free wifi which works fine. I arrived with my daughter on 22 April and were given a top floor room in villa 6 of the Colonial. I had e-mailed a week before arriving requesting a top floor room in this area and both requests were met. The rooms in the Colonial are a little dated but I knew this from previous reviews however I decided location was more important than newly painted walls. Everything worked in the room and we were more than happy with it.

The following morning we went down to the beach There were loads of empty beds so we picked out 2 on the front row next to the ocean. We soon noticed loads and loads of teenagers arriving I was surprised by this as I understood the hotel had a policy of not accepting spring breakers?? They filled all the spare beds on either side and behind us and then started dragging beds from other parts of the beach creating a new row directly in front of us until we were literately penned in!! This happened to us a second time at the adult pool the next day as well. Both times we picked up our stuff and moved to a different area but it was annoying to have to move or else have them shouting over the top of you to their friends on all sides of you. It was also slightly intimidating. Fortunately none were staying in our building but speaking to people who had them as neighbours it was pretty horrendous with the partying carrying on all night when they got back to the rooms. Thankfully they have now all gone and everyone can enjoy the resort.

The resort is BIG but that is a positive with so much going on you will never be bored. It is not as hard to get about as we expected it is easy to cut through from one side to another using the footpaths just make sure you take your map. We have never had a problem getting on the train on a night time either when wanting to go from lobby to lobby. Each lobby has a slightly different atmosphere so there is always one to suit your mood be it a quiet drink or a lively band.

We have eaten in the Al a carte restaurants every night and never had an issue getting a table even at 8pm. The choice in the buffet restaurants for breakfast and lunch is amazing and the service has been great we have never waited for coffee or a drink with a meal and refills were offered before our glasses were empty. The same goes for the bars the service is amazing and all the staff are a credit to the hotel. A special mention to Louis at the WS adult pool who makes sure you always have a drink and looks after everyone.

All in all this resort has something for everyone great facilities well kept and clean and outstanding service and amazing staff who really are a credit to the resort. Would I return? I would love to, but I would need some assurance I wasn't going to encounter hundreds of students out to party.

Anyway I have had enough shade so back to enjoy the last 3 days of my holiday and another of Louis' fantastic mudslides.

Room Tip: Colonial villas 5 to 8 are central to Colonial and White sands facilities and the beach. Top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jules61uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Greetings Jules61uk,

Thank you for sharing highlights of your vacation experiences with us.
We are delighted you are enjoying our fabulous resort and all its offerings.
We will definitely share your gracious comments with Louis regarding the service you have received.
Our management team has noted your feedback as your comments will help us in improving our services. We would be delighted to host you again for another wonderful vacation.
As such kindly contact us prior to your return so that we will be able to address any concerns or queries that you may have.
Should there be any way that we can assist you in the remaining days of your vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us at any of our reception or guest services desks.
We would be more than happy to meet with you.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Grand Palladium. Wasn't happy with our initial room assignment, it needs renovated. Fortunately my wife was persistent and got us into same area as 1st visit....much better. Totally enjoyed beach and pool areas! Food was same great taste/service. Really enjoyed Italian night at Colonial buffet. Service was exceptional!!! Really topped off a great week in Mexico.

Room Tip: Kantena was upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRXer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Greetings SRXer,

Thank you for returning to Palladium resorts and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are happy you enjoyed our wonderful beaches, pools and our friendly service staff.
We regret that we were unable to grant your accommodation request initially, however we are happy it was resolved in a timely manner.
We look forward to hosting you once more, as such kindly advise us prior to your next arrival.
If there is anything that we can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.
See you soon!

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at GPC March 22-29. The overall trip was nice and relaxing. We booked to stay at the Colonial section and when we got to our room we couldn't believe how old and dingy the room was! The shower curtain rod was rusty and tiles were chipped and broken and the room was really dark and small. We are not picky by any means. My husband has stayed in many old dingy rooms for work and he even thought the room was horrible! We went to the lobby to upgrade but of course there were no rooms left in that section but if we paid more $ then of course they could find us a room. We upgraded to the White Sands section, which was better but then it was far from everything. The whole upgrading thing took over 3 hours to do and by the time we finally got to our room it was almost 5 hours from the time we arrived at the hotel!

Don't get me wrong there was alot of good in this resort:
Pools/Beach: The kids area was fantastic for our 6 year old daughter and our friends 7 year old. They had a blast on the waterslides while we relaxed by the pool. The beach was very nice and we had no trouble getting chairs at either.
Food: Food was very good both in the buffets and Ala cartes. We never had to wait for more than 10 minutes and never had reservations. I find it funny that people complained in previous reviews about never getting reservations. We just went to the restaraunt we wanted to go to around 5:30 or 6 and never had a problem. The Japanese says you need reservations, but that is just for the "show". We sat a regular table and we got in right away. That by far was THE BEST food we had on our vacation. All the rest of the restaraunts were good with lots of variety at the buffets.
Staff: Staff was fantastic. Most were very friendly(except a few at the front desk) and they would do anything for you but you had to ask. I have learned when travelling now if you don't ask you don't get what you want!

The not so good:
It took almost 2 hours to get to the resort and then adding the 5 hours it took to check in made out to be a long day
Entertainment: Not alot of advertising as to what was going on at night. We would travel around to the different lobbies to find something to do.I found there wasn't alot going on unless you waited till 10pm.
Room in Colonial: Horrible. Small, dingy and dark. Beds were hard no matter what area you stayed in.
Resort too big: The resort is HUGE. The grounds were nice and clean but we got lost several times. Every path and corner and villas look the same! We ended asking the people on the golf carts to give us a ride and they had no problem driving us! Again, people complained in previous reviews the "bus" took too long. But if you just asked anyone sitting in a golf cart at the lobby to drive you they had no problem. Don't wait for the "bus", just ask someone! Can't stress enough that if you don't ask someone for what you want then you don't get it!
Overall the trip was good. Just too far away from the airport and the checkin process was horrible. Its a beautiful resort with friendly staff and had no complaints in that area but not sure if we would stay again. Maybe if the price was right!

Room Tip: Don't book in Colonial until they upgrade. Horrible, old rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Hello Jody M,

Thank you for sharing reviews of your vacation experience with us.
We are happy you enjoyed our pools, restaurants and friendly service staff.
Our management team has noted your comments so that we can verify your comments with the various departments accordingly.
Your feedback is important to us as it allows us to improve our services on a continuous basis.
Should there be anything in the future that we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
3.9 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
1.2 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
TRS Yucatan Hotel
TRS Yucatan Hotel
#4 of 22 in Akumal
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $238 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing