We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay generally. watch out if peanut allergy though!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I enjoyed my stay generally. watch out if peanut allergy though!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I thought the resort was very big and some will like that and some not. nice mini-club. good sport facilities. Lots of animals to see, good beach, nice food, plenty to do in the general area, eg. wel-ha and x-caret etc.....I had a good time generally, bit of a trek from airport.

They kept on trying to get us to join their travel club with free gift vouchers and beach bag and calling room - bit annoying.

worst problem was peanut was crushed in to things like pastries at breakfast and in chinese sauce on roast chicken salad in chinese restaurant, my daughter had severe reaction, throat closed up and needed epipen and my husband had to spit out multiple pastries. They were labelled with ingredients and nowhere did it say peanut on ANY label. If someone dies they will get sued badly. Do not believe the rubbish they tell you about the 'card system' were staff member shows you what you can eat - they go by labelling too and did not know themselves and also when i complained about a pastry to manager, who spoke good English, I went back 20 mins later and same pastries were still there, same label - palladium you have been warned.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ventia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Greetings ventia,

Thank you for sharing highlights of your avcation experience with us.
We are happy you enjoyed our mini-club, sports facilities and also our beautiful grounds.
We extend our apologies regarding the incidents you have highlighted and as such our management team has noted very seriously your comments so that we can take the necessary steps to improve on the issues you have highlighted. We would be very appreciative if you could contact us to provide additional information so that we can make the neccesary checks and verfications with our team. Please visit our customer service option on our website to enable this process.
Should there be anything in the future that we can assist you with, please do not heistate to contact us.
We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,078
    1,332
    472
    205
    153
See reviews for
1,817
2,087
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,012)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I am writing this sitting by the White sands adult pool taking a break from the sun using the free wifi which works fine. I arrived with my daughter on 22 April and were given a top floor room in villa 6 of the Colonial. I had e-mailed a week before arriving requesting a top floor room in this area and both requests were met. The rooms in the Colonial are a little dated but I knew this from previous reviews however I decided location was more important than newly painted walls. Everything worked in the room and we were more than happy with it.

The following morning we went down to the beach There were loads of empty beds so we picked out 2 on the front row next to the ocean. We soon noticed loads and loads of teenagers arriving I was surprised by this as I understood the hotel had a policy of not accepting spring breakers?? They filled all the spare beds on either side and behind us and then started dragging beds from other parts of the beach creating a new row directly in front of us until we were literately penned in!! This happened to us a second time at the adult pool the next day as well. Both times we picked up our stuff and moved to a different area but it was annoying to have to move or else have them shouting over the top of you to their friends on all sides of you. It was also slightly intimidating. Fortunately none were staying in our building but speaking to people who had them as neighbours it was pretty horrendous with the partying carrying on all night when they got back to the rooms. Thankfully they have now all gone and everyone can enjoy the resort.

The resort is BIG but that is a positive with so much going on you will never be bored. It is not as hard to get about as we expected it is easy to cut through from one side to another using the footpaths just make sure you take your map. We have never had a problem getting on the train on a night time either when wanting to go from lobby to lobby. Each lobby has a slightly different atmosphere so there is always one to suit your mood be it a quiet drink or a lively band.

We have eaten in the Al a carte restaurants every night and never had an issue getting a table even at 8pm. The choice in the buffet restaurants for breakfast and lunch is amazing and the service has been great we have never waited for coffee or a drink with a meal and refills were offered before our glasses were empty. The same goes for the bars the service is amazing and all the staff are a credit to the hotel. A special mention to Louis at the WS adult pool who makes sure you always have a drink and looks after everyone.

All in all this resort has something for everyone great facilities well kept and clean and outstanding service and amazing staff who really are a credit to the resort. Would I return? I would love to, but I would need some assurance I wasn't going to encounter hundreds of students out to party.

Anyway I have had enough shade so back to enjoy the last 3 days of my holiday and another of Louis' fantastic mudslides.

Room Tip: Colonial villas 5 to 8 are central to Colonial and White sands facilities and the beach. Top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jules61uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Greetings Jules61uk,

Thank you for sharing highlights of your vacation experiences with us.
We are delighted you are enjoying our fabulous resort and all its offerings.
We will definitely share your gracious comments with Louis regarding the service you have received.
Our management team has noted your feedback as your comments will help us in improving our services. We would be delighted to host you again for another wonderful vacation.
As such kindly contact us prior to your return so that we will be able to address any concerns or queries that you may have.
Should there be any way that we can assist you in the remaining days of your vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us at any of our reception or guest services desks.
We would be more than happy to meet with you.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Grand Palladium. Wasn't happy with our initial room assignment, it needs renovated. Fortunately my wife was persistent and got us into same area as 1st visit....much better. Totally enjoyed beach and pool areas! Food was same great taste/service. Really enjoyed Italian night at Colonial buffet. Service was exceptional!!! Really topped off a great week in Mexico.

Room Tip: Kantena was upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRXer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Greetings SRXer,

Thank you for returning to Palladium resorts and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are happy you enjoyed our wonderful beaches, pools and our friendly service staff.
We regret that we were unable to grant your accommodation request initially, however we are happy it was resolved in a timely manner.
We look forward to hosting you once more, as such kindly advise us prior to your next arrival.
If there is anything that we can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.
See you soon!

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at GPC March 22-29. The overall trip was nice and relaxing. We booked to stay at the Colonial section and when we got to our room we couldn't believe how old and dingy the room was! The shower curtain rod was rusty and tiles were chipped and broken and the room was really dark and small. We are not picky by any means. My husband has stayed in many old dingy rooms for work and he even thought the room was horrible! We went to the lobby to upgrade but of course there were no rooms left in that section but if we paid more $ then of course they could find us a room. We upgraded to the White Sands section, which was better but then it was far from everything. The whole upgrading thing took over 3 hours to do and by the time we finally got to our room it was almost 5 hours from the time we arrived at the hotel!

Don't get me wrong there was alot of good in this resort:
Pools/Beach: The kids area was fantastic for our 6 year old daughter and our friends 7 year old. They had a blast on the waterslides while we relaxed by the pool. The beach was very nice and we had no trouble getting chairs at either.
Food: Food was very good both in the buffets and Ala cartes. We never had to wait for more than 10 minutes and never had reservations. I find it funny that people complained in previous reviews about never getting reservations. We just went to the restaraunt we wanted to go to around 5:30 or 6 and never had a problem. The Japanese says you need reservations, but that is just for the "show". We sat a regular table and we got in right away. That by far was THE BEST food we had on our vacation. All the rest of the restaraunts were good with lots of variety at the buffets.
Staff: Staff was fantastic. Most were very friendly(except a few at the front desk) and they would do anything for you but you had to ask. I have learned when travelling now if you don't ask you don't get what you want!

The not so good:
It took almost 2 hours to get to the resort and then adding the 5 hours it took to check in made out to be a long day
Entertainment: Not alot of advertising as to what was going on at night. We would travel around to the different lobbies to find something to do.I found there wasn't alot going on unless you waited till 10pm.
Room in Colonial: Horrible. Small, dingy and dark. Beds were hard no matter what area you stayed in.
Resort too big: The resort is HUGE. The grounds were nice and clean but we got lost several times. Every path and corner and villas look the same! We ended asking the people on the golf carts to give us a ride and they had no problem driving us! Again, people complained in previous reviews the "bus" took too long. But if you just asked anyone sitting in a golf cart at the lobby to drive you they had no problem. Don't wait for the "bus", just ask someone! Can't stress enough that if you don't ask someone for what you want then you don't get it!
Overall the trip was good. Just too far away from the airport and the checkin process was horrible. Its a beautiful resort with friendly staff and had no complaints in that area but not sure if we would stay again. Maybe if the price was right!

Room Tip: Don't book in Colonial until they upgrade. Horrible, old rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello Jody M,

Thank you for sharing reviews of your vacation experience with us.
We are happy you enjoyed our pools, restaurants and friendly service staff.
Our management team has noted your comments so that we can verify your comments with the various departments accordingly.
Your feedback is important to us as it allows us to improve our services on a continuous basis.
Should there be anything in the future that we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Have been looking forward some good time. But this place did not deliver. The grounds, animals (lizards and ? ant-eaters), fish in the ocean were amazing. Not the ants in the rooms. Lots of ants. The beach is nice but rocky and some waves. Wear water shoes or walk to the clearer patch in ocean without any rocks. There are some. As always during busy seasons, get there early to reserve beach chairs. Salt water pool was also nice but not enough spots when there are lots of people (like during school break). Take the Segway tour-great to see all premises and fun. Just wear flats/ sneakers, no flip flops.
We went first time as members of Travel Club. This is "exclusive" membership with some extra upgrades. If anyone is interested to spent 3 hours of their vacation time to listen to a lecture about the membership- ask at front desk. We had our "exclusive" area on the beach with nice beach beds and butler service with fresh fruits and drinks. And we were entitled to reservations to any restaurant at any of Grand Palladium hotel branch. The exclusivity ended there. We had same problem with room key as everyone else and spent 2 hours stuck in the room waiting for the guy to come fix it. The maid's key worked well but not ours. The front desk hung up on us 3 TIMES! How rude! Our Travel Club representative, Joaquin, was not available at all. Would not pick up the phone. As Travel Club members, we were eligible to use blue cart to take us around the resort. Had to wait 15-20 min for it to arrive. Only 1 cart during busy school break time? Really?
Food had great presentation but restaurants are not worth it. More variety and better taste at the buffet.
Nightly shows were the same as at any all-inclusive hotel. POP (People of Palladium) team try but not hard enough. Friday night was kids' night. Entire nightly show for 5-year-olds. Considering there's not much to do in the evening anyway, that was a waste. They would have show in our hotel 9-10 pm, then show at different hotel 10-11 pm. Good luck getting a cart to get to another hotel. 100 people waiting to go there and maybe 4-5 carts to take them there. Each takes 10-15 min. Spa premises are beautiful with pool and sauna. I purchased 80 min massage. Masseur David was great. However, it seems they time it since moment you get to the room. So it's 20 min to undress/dress and massage really lasted only 60 min. Overall, I expected better.The Travel Club membership is not worth it at this location. Their service for members is not up to higher standards. They are not managing well large quantities of clients here. Maybe in less busy season the service is better but I would not come back to find out.

Room Tip: Don't go closer to pool unless you like to sleep 4 hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alemargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello alemargo,

Thank you for sahring details of your vacation experience with us.
We are happy you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, luxurious spa and the salt water pool.
We do extend our sincerest apologies regarding the issues you ahve highlighted.
Our management team has noted all aspects of your feedback so that we can improve our services.
We do hope that you would consider returning to the Palladium resorts, so that we could have another opportunity to demonstrate that this was an isolated case.
We do regret that you have left the resort with this impression, however your comments are valued.
If there is anything in the future that we can do to assist you, please do not heistate as we would be happy to help.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

we are returning to the colonial/kantenah after missing it last year, this will be our 3rd visit and we cannot wait for our. 2 weeks of heaven on earth, Everything was superb from check in to check out, the beach is fantastic, food was great expect to put on a few pounds.
all i can say is IT IS BRILLIANT,if you are thinking about going just book it you wont be disappointed.
Cannot wait to go back in 11 days

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello Diane D,

Thank you for returning to the Palladium resorts for a third visit.
We appreciate your gracious comments regarding your previous stays.
Please feel free to contact us and let us know if there is anyway that we could assist you prior to your arrival.
We look forward to seeing you in the upcoming days and wish for you another fantastic vacation experience with us.
See you soon!

Best regards,

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a large spread out resort connected by covered pathways and golf cart styled transport. Numerous pools, bars and restaurants that cater to families and couples alike. Great facilities for kids with adult only pools for those that want some peace and quiet. Close to Tulum and Koba . Be aware that it is about an hour and a half from Cancun airport by bus. Rooms are decent and staff is friendly and helpful although getting money from the front desk can be slow as there is usually one person doing checkouts and cash so check the lineups as you pass by or wait until you go into Playa del Carmen where the exchange rate is better. Good bus service. The buffet food is okay but disorganized but most of the ala cart restaurants do not require a reservation. Great beach, shallow and warm with a water side salt water pool.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are quieter than those facing the travelled pathways and those away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank splitrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, DIRECTOR ADJUNTO/ASSISTANT MANAGER at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Greetings splitrman,

Thank you for sharing highlights of your vacation experience with us.
We are happy that you enjoyed our pools, bars, facilities for kids and friendly service staff.
Our management team makes note of your feedback, as your comments will help us to improve our facilities and services.
If there is anything in the future that we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us as we would be happy to help.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,660 reviews
4.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
149.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
15.0 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
22.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#79 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Akumal
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing