We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Rate Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“First Rate Holiday”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 14th June until 28th June 2013 and prior to us going read some of the reviews on here taking into account the good and bad ones. What are some people talking about with the bad reviews they must have been staying at another resort.

The location was excellent right on the beach although the sand was not as good as in Dominican Republic it was safe and good. The sea was warm and although a few rocks they didn't cause any problems, there was plenty of beds to lie on and soak up the rays after a nice swim in the sea. You didn't have go out to far to see fish swimming all around you and when I saw fish the size of some of them would make any anglers day.

When you have had enough of the beach go to one of the many pools that due to the weather which was hot was like getting into a warm bath. There was plenty of beds also and this is where the entertainment team work hard to get people to join in there games.

When you have enough sun there was a number of places to go for a drink or something to eat and having been to a number of different countries on all inclusive the food was plentiful and varied and if you couldn't find anything to eat then there was something wrong with you.

The rooms were not the best in the world but the beds were good and firm and there was always plenty of hot water for a bath or shower and the mini fridges were stocked with water beer and fizzy pop. The air conditions was a welcome when you had come in hot and bothered from the sun.

Ok the drinks in the bars are not as strong as we get at home in England but do you want to be drunk every night or do you go on holiday to relax and try a new cocktail or two.

The ala carte restaurants were very good and the staff were freindly and welcoming and would always introduce themselves to you.

The only problem that we found were the other guests who continued to feed the wild life that lived with us at the resort even when there was signs asking them not to do so. They all came out for photo shoots and we even found some having a early morning swim in the sea.

All in all this resort is well worth visiting if you want to have a good holiday in the mexican sun and I would like to thank all the staff in the resort.

Because this resort was so good we are thinking of booking to go the Grand Palladium in either Jamaica or Dominican Republic next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1460LythamStAnnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear 1460LythamStAnnes,

I am glad to know that you have had a great experience with us. Thank you for your confidence and please, if we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,926
    1,281
    458
    200
    148
See reviews for
1,700
2,017
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd trip to this wonderful resort. We came 4 years ago just after the swine flu epidemic, so only two of the four hotels were working so they were not very busy. This time the hotels were nearly full. The place was even better this time. I e mailed them before coming out as we were again celebrating our anniversary and birthday. On arrival we were upgraded and bottles of champagne and fruit in both of our parties rooms. Our maid - Laura left us towel art vitually everyday and even left us a note reminding us we had not locked our safe, for which we were very grateful. The food here is fantastic. From the buffets to the ala cartes were perfect. Brilliant service and everytime we went to the buffet we were offered antibacterial handwash. The choice of food would please even the fussiest eaters.The staff were all very polite, always smiling and happy. Can't wait to go back. Thank you so much for making our holiday so memorable once again.

Room Tip: We had a room in colonial block nine room 1935. Higher room nicer view and not so noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SLK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear SLK24,

I am glad to know that you have had a great holiday with us. I appreciate your good comments and your time.

Best regards from the Palladium team.

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

what can I say except we had a great time at this complex, food good plenty of choice, plenty of restaurants to choose from, mind bring long trousers men for the a la carte restaurants, staff very hard working and friendly, complex spotless staff always cleaning, this complex is huge so do take comfy shoes, there are trains and buggy's to get about from all the lobbies, plenty of loungers at pool area and at the beach which is a plus, mosquitos was a big problem for me so do take the strongest repellent you can with you, spa area is lovely well worth a visit, overall this complex was great and comes highly recommended, would definitely come here for a holiday again, and also a visit to coco bongo's is a must

Room Tip: we had a standard room which was fine, room spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear michelle n,

In behalf of Grand Palladium team, I would like to give you thank you for your good comments and for your time.

If we you decide to visit us in the future, don't hesitate to contact with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

just back from a two week stay - and we had a great time so sorry we had to come home!

our first time in mexico and first time staying at a 5 star all inc so really didnt know what to expect.

first of all the beach is stunning and the grounds of the hotel are out of this world, staff working tirelessly to clean, sweep and keep place looking beautiiful. lobbies are immaculate. pools are gorgeous and kept very clean. we particularly liked the rock pool at top of beach and the adult only pools. main pools were a bit too lively for a honeymoon couple but great for kids and activity likers!!

bar staff / restuarant and housekeeping staff were extremely helpful and friendly really made our holiday. our only bad encounter were the reception staff at both colonial and white sands end. not very friendly and couldnt be bothered with us. on check out we werent even greeted with a smile or asked if we enjoyed our stay which was a bit dissapointing for his class of hotel.

food - restaurants were absolutely beautiful inside and what a great service from the waiters treated like true vips!!!! our favourite was the italian and the steak house one! least favourite was ribs and more - dinner cold and service slow but maybe that was a one off who knows! overall restaurants beautiful!!! we normally got in straight away going to restuarants earlier but leave it till 8pm and be prepared to wait anything between an hour and 1hr30mins. we got a bit fed up with this especially since you were unable to book a table the day before etc (only take bookings for japanese and fish restaurant on beach). most guests were getting fed up with his system so maybe a better way of working it????? i do agree with earlier review that staff in buffet areas were too run off their feet, maybe a better system would be ideal, we only got coffee or tea about half of the time we asked for it, but staff v friendly just too busy i think. choice of food and freshness great. i did get ill twice and my new husband once, not sure the cause as the food seemed high quality and place seemed clean but what i will mention is that we were only offered sanitising gel maybe 4 or 5 times out of say our 30 or so trips to the buffet, so could easily be this or something else unrelated?? i heard a few guests complaining of sickness but its maybe very hard to control in a resort this size with the number of guests. everyone should be asked to gel their hands i think especially with the size of resort and number of people eating in the buffet areas.

cocktails were great and waiter service brill!! loved the sportsbar for a snack later on at night! the entertainment staff are great, very talented dancers who put on some really good shows. however we did get a bit fed up with the same type of show each night and would have liked more variety but maybe hard to please all age groups and tastes. maybe some singers and maybe talent shows or comedy nights or competitions????

we loved the variety of wild life in the grounds loved watching the monkeys and the big lizards were very comical and enjoyed posing for photos!!!! loved the tropical fish in the sea and the huge koi carp type fish around the restuarants. one thing that did affect our holiday - nothing to do with hotel - the mosquitos!!! i got eaten alive....never encountered this before and didnt realise this part of mexio is so bad with them. husband didnt get bitten but i was covered and took the pleasure off things a bit. please buy mosquitos bracelets from the rep and purchase OFF!! orange can of mosquito spray buy in mexico (try and buy online before trip), i took jungle formula from uk and it didnt work on mexican mozzies!!!

our room was very basic for a 5star hotel even after being upgraded to a kingsize room with bath and shower for honeymoon. tried looking furniture and bathroom, so was a bit dissapointed but was kept very clean so didnt bother us too much. we got a bottle of tequila and fruit basket for being honeymooners wich was a nice touch. we also got invited to a special honeymoon dinner night with about 100 other people, but we didnt really like the meal - very fishy - plus two guests collapsed with a reaction after eating shellfish soup - put us off a bit - maybe best not having this soup on a set menu!!! but overall was a nice touch from the hotel to try and make a special night for us.

overall we had a lovely stay at this hotel food and drink great and def had enough choice of where to spend our day, pools, spa, beach adult pools and rock pool were all great. nice touch of luxury!!!

Room Tip: higher floor - less mosquitos, try and get a room near a lobby - less distance to travel for pools a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolGraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you CarolGraeme.

I appreciate your time and your comments.

Don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help with anything in the future.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was my 5th time here and I really enjoy this place even though it is very big if you like to walk and I do there is a trolly if you don't I like to whole place the only trouble we had was frontier air lost our luggage and we did not get it for 3 days so we could not go to any of the specialty resturants because all we had was the clothes on our back so I would recommend to all travlers always take a change of clothes and a swin suit in your carry on. We have had trouble with frontier but this was the worst. the rooms are scattered out in the jungle which is cool with all the animals the colonial and kentnan have small bath rooms but the rooms are nice I am not for sure but I don't think any of the rooms can see the ocean unless you pay a lot of money for one and then you are a long way from the lobbies which there are 4 and the drinks are great and food was awesome the steak resturant was my favorite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony37093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Tony37093,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your opinion.

Don't hesitate to contact with me if we can help you with anything.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Directora Residente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We so enjoyed out trip! This is our 3rd time since it opened in 2004! It is an older hotel but the entertainment for a family is hard to beat!! If you book with Apple beware that if you go with people and try to get rooms together it does not happen! quite a disappointment, and the internet is not good for the rooms! They charged people in our group 400.00! It is a really neat place and Armi and Javier who are in the entertainment dept. rock. such great people!!! Will go back!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room close to the pool!!! it could be a long walk and take bug spray the mosquitos are awful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vangiet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear vangiet123,

Thank you for your comments and for your time.

Please, don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything.

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscobel, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our least favorite place that we have stayed in Mexico. We stayed June 11th-18th. We did have some mix up with check-in and our three rooms. Not a big deal. The grounds and beach are very nice. Many chairs available at the pools and beach. The beach is set up in sections, the swimming area at the north end, boats in the middle and an area to snorkel in to the south. As you look south there is a path that will lead to the sea water pool. This is very cool. The food was average to very good. The El Dorado was very good. Some of the staff were very friendly. Usually these were your housekeeping staff and bartenders. I had times when staff in management positions never even acknowledged me when walking by. We did have difficulty getting coffee and water when in the buffets. I know that I could get up and get it but is coffee too much to ask for? I really feel that it is more of a system problem then staff not wanting to help. They would have to clear and set up tables, get drinks, remove dishes, stock work stations, and walk across the dining room to refill coffee and water. They seemed to be working very hard but had little time to visit or say hello. Then that brings be to all 7 of us getting sick. We could not come up to one common item that we all ate or drank. I did get the hand gel when entering the dining areas but when staff is touching dirty and clean and after watching the bare hand food touching by other guests... drinking juice and refilling the same glass, taking a bite of ice cream with their mouth then adding cherries. I did notice the the glass shot glasses are just rinsed and not washed. Hope the alcohol kills germs. We have never got sick at a resort before and did nothing different this time. I know that we were not the only guests there at that time that were having the same problems so bring meds with you or you will pay 15 dollars + in the shop. The rooms were clean, and we did not have any odor issues. Average rooms. The plastic mattress cover drove me crazy and yes the mini pillows are on the bed unless you want to rent a different one. You can order wifi in your room for an hour or 24 hours otherwise it is free in the lobby. We have been to Mexico several times and would not return to this resort. Much nicer resorts for the same or less money. We did go to Akumal beach and snorkel with the sea turtles and the beach there is great. You do have to go and use the pool and hot tubs, steam rooms at the spa. This area is great and adult only. I am really easy to please and this resort could be great with some minor changes but just ok the way it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MBell555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear MBell555,

I would like to offer you our apologies for the incidents that you have had during your vacation. I will take note about all of your comments and I will share this with the rest of the team for improve our service every day.

We have personal in every moment for help our guest with everything. Sorry to know that in your case,it was not possible.

If we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Directora Residente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
23.5 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,910 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Akumal
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing