We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Firstly, I would like to say that I am unsure whether some of these reviewers stayed I the same place as us! One person has written that the bar staff & waiting staff were miserable!?! To be quite honest they were so upbeat it was ridiculous!!! Anyway to the review......

We arrived at the resort to be upgraded for free to a suite, we didn't ask it was given complimentary & we were so lucky as it was one which was adjacent to the pool & beach. 3105 (Lots of greenery so no view however this doesn't fuss us)

Pool: Plenty of sunbeds, no one seems to rise until 10am - I am a sun worshiper so enjoyed the choice of beds around the pool!

SPA: if you have no kids, this is where you want to be - its so tranquil & gorgeous pool.

Beach: Lovely.. A little busy however not an issue, plenty of sunbeds & a lovely breeze to keep you cool in the hot temperatures.

Food: Brekkie - We ate at the buffet for breakfast every morning, so much selection & very fresh. Lunch - We ate at the buffet next to the pool bar, again fresh & lots of selection, beach bar was ok however food a bit rough.
Dinner - Buffet most nights, they cook meat & pasta fresh to order, lots of variation of food & theme nights each night. We ate at the following a la cartes -Chinese, nice. Steak place (next to the Mexican) gross. Mexican - not good, Italian, nice.

Drinks & Bars - All bars were good, we really liked Hemmingways, adult only.
Drinks were good in all bars.

Playa Del Carmen - We got the bus as recommended by a couple that we met (who randomly live 30 mins from me in the UK!) It is 35 pesos per person each way & a great shopping day for me! Beach was ok there & lots of bars/restaurants.

Summary: A lovely place to stay, I have been to quite a few AI resorts long haul & this is up there as one of my favourite 3. I would recommend to anyone & to reiterate what I said at the beginning... This is a 5 star review... Anything less than a 4 I would be questionning......

Go & Enjoy!!!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Lucysreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you Buckmore for taking time to share with us your excellent comments. I appreciate your time.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,033 - 2,039 of 5,359 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have been in Cancun, Cozumel and Puerto Vallarta. So we wanted to try Riviera Maya this time. We chose Grand Palladium Colonial based on the price and the reviews. Overall, it was a nice experience.

Airport Transfer: We used USA Transfers. It took an hour to get to the resort. The van was very clean and comfortable.

Check-in: We arrived at the resort around 1:30 pm, and it took about 15 minutes to complete the process. Our room was not ready. So we lelf our luggage with the bellboy and headed to the buffet restaurant for lunch. We were able to check in our room at 2:40 pm.

Room: Our room in Villa # 7 on the top floor, which was what we wanted: easy access to the pool, beach, restaurants and lobby. (I sent a request a week before arrival.for a non-smoking room in villa closer to the beach.) Our maid did an excellent job as we found our room very clean very day. We loved the bathroom with the detachable shower. I agreed with other reviews that the beds, pillows and bedding sheets need to be updated. There was a mini bar in the room including with water bottles,sodas and beers. It was restocked daily which was very nice. There was TV in the room, it never worked. Although we marked on the card hanging to the door that we needed the TV to be fixed, but it never happened. Oh well, we were not there to watch TV anyway.

Pool/ Beach: We used the pool in Colonial. It was huge. There were always plenty of chairs no matter what time we got to the pool or the beach. There beach in front of Colonial was very nice: soft sand, no rocks. No water shoes needed at this section. We were there 7 days and there were 2/7 there was lot of seaweed, but that was due to the wind. It was calm. Even though it was red flag, it was still calmer than the beach in Cancun and Puerto Vallarta. There were lot of fishes right on the beach. We even saw 3 stingrays.

Restaurants: In the morning, we ate at the indoor buffet restaurant (La Hacienda). For the afternoons, we had lunch at the outdoor buffet by the pool El Gran Azul. For dinners, we tried the Chinese, Japanese, Steak House, Italian, and Ribs & More. Our favorite was the Steak House, Japanese and the Seafood night at the Buffet. Overall, we found the food was good.

Staffs/ Service: They all worked very hard and tried their best to please everyone. There were times the service was slow in a-la-carte restaurants, but when we saw managers cleaning the tables, we understood that they were under-staffed. We were on vacation, no hurry anyway.

Entertainment: We watched the nightly shows 5/7 days. In general, the dancers were very professional. They trained and worked very hard. As adults, we enjoyed the shows. However, we thought that the female dancers' costumes were a little
inappropriate for young kids.

The ground: Very nice and clean. The whole resort complex was huge. However, the were trams and trains to take guests to villas and lobbies. However, we loved to walk except at night due to mosquitoes. There were lot of mosquitoes. We were told that usually it was not that bad but because it rained 4 days in a row before our trip, so there were more mosquitoes than normal.

In brief, it was a very nice experience. The only drawback was the mosquitoes. My 6 years old got bitten badly all over his arm, and lower legs even though I reapplied the mosquito repellent every 2 hours but still couldn't keep up with it. We were bitten even in the a-la-carte restaurants and in our room (noted that we kept our room door closed all the time.) This was so far the only time that my husband and I couldn't sit on the balcony to enjoy a cup of coffee at night due to mosquitoes. So would we come back to Grand Palladium in Riviera Maya? We don't know.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank botbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear botbien,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments.
We appreciate so much your time and your opinion.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have been there for a wedding; actually, it is 4 resorts in one. Lots of Restaurants, couple of open Buffets too to choose from, Great swimming pools. The chapel was really nice, The Beach was clean, no sea weed.
Down side, might be the distance between the rooms and the pool or the beach (it depends on where is your room located). The quality of food was ok not great. There is no room service (to order food in the room). Also, no service around the pool (no server with drinks) you have to go to the bar to ask for one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Emad_10,

Thank you for share with us your comments.

Don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just returned from our vacation at the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort and we must back up what other trip advisor's have reviewed, it is a truly superb facility.Quite honestly it was very hard to find fault with the resort.On our arrival we were upgraded from a double room to a suite at no extra charge and had the added bonus of being adjacent to the pool complex and beach.We must commend the staff for the continual cleaning and high standard of maintenance observed during our visit, it was a pleasure to experience the high standards expected from this complex.The staff were very friendly and always eager to please and ensure that the guests requirements were always met.There was plenty of choice of eating venues from the eight al-carte restaurants and six multiple choice buffet restaurants delivering a varied choice of good quality well presented food.The all Inclusive package included International branded Spirits and local Mexican beers and wine.The Cocktail menu was very comprehensive and was also included in the package.The room we had included a mini bar that was replenished daily,tea/coffee making facilities, Ironing facility,Jacuzzi Bath,Internal/External Shower and large flat screen TV.The evening entertainment was probably the best we have have experienced in any hotel. The Palladium Peoples Ballet productions were again delivered to very high standard. The pirate show we enjoyed immensely.These were presented at 9pm and 10-15pm daily. The animation daily program was also to a very high standard and included Salsa dance sessions beach volley ball, soccer, bucking bronco, water polo and free pool scuba diving lessons to name a few. The evening entertainment also included live music in many of the complex lobbies.On Sunday the volley ball area played host to outside dining, where very large pans of paella were being prepared for outside pool dining.The very large complex is served by a very efficient and fast transport system to the Villa's, lobbies and Spa center.The Spa complex is very Impressive and offers many varied treatments. Some of the Spa facilities are part of the All Inclusive package but many of the treatments are at extra cost.The large pool area is supported by high number of sunbeds.The adjacent beach area has also a large number of sunbeds and the chance to experience the warm Caribbean waters.There is so much to do within this complex you should never get bored, but if you want to venture outside the the complex it is very safe to do so. The area operates a fast and frequent mini bus service to Playa de Carmen and Tulum for 35 Peso's per person/trip for that shopping/Mayan ruins and beach experience.Overall this was a very excellent first Introduction to Mexico and we must again thank the staff of the Grand Palladium for very enjoyable holiday experience.

Room Tip: Book a table early for the Al-Carte Restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Holey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Holey59,

Thank you for taking time for share with us your opinion. We appreciate your time.
If we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

First 3 trips were to Cancun so wanted to try something different. Beautiful beach. Not sure what people would complain about. So very many really nice employees. I am early 50's - my daughter/husband in 20's, granddaughter 5. Something for all of us. Take your snorkel mask since there are tons of beautiful fish right off the beach. Multiple shows each night, disco if you can stay awake late. I do not want to have to dress up when I've been relaxing all day and did not need to, but could at nicer restaurants/bars if I wanted. Honestly - once you pay for the resort you could easily just spend the entire vacation on the resort relaxing with no side trips (although we did day to Xel-Ha and took bus to city....) I would go back, and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 21 which was close enough to beach and lobby (breakfast!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KerryLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear KerryLP,

Thank you for your good comments.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend last two weeks of march 2013. The facilities, food, drinks and staff were all fantastic. We had a couples massage at the spa which was very relaxing and being able to use the other spa facilities for free was a real bonus.

We never go back to the same place twice until now, we have just booked two weeks in paradise arriving on the 31st December 2013. We are going with friends that we met during our visit in march. We can't wait to taste one of Carlos's amazing cocktails.

It should be a new year to remember, we (all four of us) are packing already.

Big thumbs up to all the staff at the colonial, see you soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear maison1,

Thank you for your good comments and thank you for confidence one more time in us for enjoy your vacation in december. If we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from another fantastic trip to Grand Palladium. This was our 6th visit spending June 2 through 9. We celebrated our 30th Anniversary and invited our 3 daughters and their Husband, Fiance' and Boyfriend to come with us. It was their first trip to the Grand Palladium. Everyone had a great time. We had requested in advance a couple of special arrangements as far as villas and rooms as we have a favorite location in the Colonial that we like to stay. Knowing that GP can not always accommodate every request we were hopeful and were not disappointed. Everything worked out great!

We found out about a week before we arrived that the Grand Palladium was sold out so we were a little concerned about over crowding but that was not an issue. We had a couple of nights where we had to wait about 1.5 hours for a table of 8 and a couple of nights where we were seated right away. The service and the food at all of the restaurants was great with several of the wait staff being very entertaining!

We have found all of the staff to be very friendly and willing to take care of anything that you want or need. The grounds are immaculate and are always be maintained. There are bands that play in the lobbies in the evening. A good mix of Latino and good ol rock and rock. We did not see anyof the shows this year but has always found them to be entertaining.

But I have to admit that my favorite spot is the Punta Emilia beach bar. It was great to see that my friends Ernesto, Freddy, Heri, Mayra and Arianna were still there. They all treated us spectacularly! We are looking forward to seeing them again next year.

I have to give a special thanks to the Apple Reps at the resort. They went above and beyond helping us out making some last minute arrangements at the end of our trip. Thank you Apple!!!

Looking forward to going back next year!

Room Tip: Villas 8,9 20, and 21 are a convenient location to both the beach and adult pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bfrench56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear bfrench56,

Thank you for your good comments and for your time.

Sincerely,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
149.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
6.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,565 reviews
4.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,474 reviews
149.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $234 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing