We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just returned from our vacation at the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort and we must back up what other trip advisor's have reviewed, it is a truly superb facility.Quite honestly it was very hard to find fault with the resort.On our arrival we were upgraded from a double room to a suite at no extra charge and had the added bonus of being adjacent to the pool complex and beach.We must commend the staff for the continual cleaning and high standard of maintenance observed during our visit, it was a pleasure to experience the high standards expected from this complex.The staff were very friendly and always eager to please and ensure that the guests requirements were always met.There was plenty of choice of eating venues from the eight al-carte restaurants and six multiple choice buffet restaurants delivering a varied choice of good quality well presented food.The all Inclusive package included International branded Spirits and local Mexican beers and wine.The Cocktail menu was very comprehensive and was also included in the package.The room we had included a mini bar that was replenished daily,tea/coffee making facilities, Ironing facility,Jacuzzi Bath,Internal/External Shower and large flat screen TV.The evening entertainment was probably the best we have have experienced in any hotel. The Palladium Peoples Ballet productions were again delivered to very high standard. The pirate show we enjoyed immensely.These were presented at 9pm and 10-15pm daily. The animation daily program was also to a very high standard and included Salsa dance sessions beach volley ball, soccer, bucking bronco, water polo and free pool scuba diving lessons to name a few. The evening entertainment also included live music in many of the complex lobbies.On Sunday the volley ball area played host to outside dining, where very large pans of paella were being prepared for outside pool dining.The very large complex is served by a very efficient and fast transport system to the Villa's, lobbies and Spa center.The Spa complex is very Impressive and offers many varied treatments. Some of the Spa facilities are part of the All Inclusive package but many of the treatments are at extra cost.The large pool area is supported by high number of sunbeds.The adjacent beach area has also a large number of sunbeds and the chance to experience the warm Caribbean waters.There is so much to do within this complex you should never get bored, but if you want to venture outside the the complex it is very safe to do so. The area operates a fast and frequent mini bus service to Playa de Carmen and Tulum for 35 Peso's per person/trip for that shopping/Mayan ruins and beach experience.Overall this was a very excellent first Introduction to Mexico and we must again thank the staff of the Grand Palladium for very enjoyable holiday experience.

Room Tip: Book a table early for the Al-Carte Restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Holey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Holey59,

Thank you for taking time for share with us your opinion. We appreciate your time.
If we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,031 - 2,037 of 5,352 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

First 3 trips were to Cancun so wanted to try something different. Beautiful beach. Not sure what people would complain about. So very many really nice employees. I am early 50's - my daughter/husband in 20's, granddaughter 5. Something for all of us. Take your snorkel mask since there are tons of beautiful fish right off the beach. Multiple shows each night, disco if you can stay awake late. I do not want to have to dress up when I've been relaxing all day and did not need to, but could at nicer restaurants/bars if I wanted. Honestly - once you pay for the resort you could easily just spend the entire vacation on the resort relaxing with no side trips (although we did day to Xel-Ha and took bus to city....) I would go back, and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 21 which was close enough to beach and lobby (breakfast!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KerryLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear KerryLP,

Thank you for your good comments.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend last two weeks of march 2013. The facilities, food, drinks and staff were all fantastic. We had a couples massage at the spa which was very relaxing and being able to use the other spa facilities for free was a real bonus.

We never go back to the same place twice until now, we have just booked two weeks in paradise arriving on the 31st December 2013. We are going with friends that we met during our visit in march. We can't wait to taste one of Carlos's amazing cocktails.

It should be a new year to remember, we (all four of us) are packing already.

Big thumbs up to all the staff at the colonial, see you soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear maison1,

Thank you for your good comments and thank you for confidence one more time in us for enjoy your vacation in december. If we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from another fantastic trip to Grand Palladium. This was our 6th visit spending June 2 through 9. We celebrated our 30th Anniversary and invited our 3 daughters and their Husband, Fiance' and Boyfriend to come with us. It was their first trip to the Grand Palladium. Everyone had a great time. We had requested in advance a couple of special arrangements as far as villas and rooms as we have a favorite location in the Colonial that we like to stay. Knowing that GP can not always accommodate every request we were hopeful and were not disappointed. Everything worked out great!

We found out about a week before we arrived that the Grand Palladium was sold out so we were a little concerned about over crowding but that was not an issue. We had a couple of nights where we had to wait about 1.5 hours for a table of 8 and a couple of nights where we were seated right away. The service and the food at all of the restaurants was great with several of the wait staff being very entertaining!

We have found all of the staff to be very friendly and willing to take care of anything that you want or need. The grounds are immaculate and are always be maintained. There are bands that play in the lobbies in the evening. A good mix of Latino and good ol rock and rock. We did not see anyof the shows this year but has always found them to be entertaining.

But I have to admit that my favorite spot is the Punta Emilia beach bar. It was great to see that my friends Ernesto, Freddy, Heri, Mayra and Arianna were still there. They all treated us spectacularly! We are looking forward to seeing them again next year.

I have to give a special thanks to the Apple Reps at the resort. They went above and beyond helping us out making some last minute arrangements at the end of our trip. Thank you Apple!!!

Looking forward to going back next year!

Room Tip: Villas 8,9 20, and 21 are a convenient location to both the beach and adult pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bfrench56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear bfrench56,

Thank you for your good comments and for your time.

Sincerely,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I was recommended this hotel by a friend. We visited this resort in March this year and booked with First Choice/Thomson. We have been on many all-Inc holidays but this has been the best by far.
The hotel is an hour away from Cancun Airport, the transfer service was simple. When we arrived at the hotel with were greeted by our First Choice Rep Jason (who is fantastic and extremely informative) and given information on the hotel and guided to reception where were were given a welcome drink and informed about our room up-grade. Our room (2112) was in a great location, easy access to all amenities and would love this room again when we arrive on 31st Dec. That's right,the hotel is that good we have booked already to go back.


The beach on the resort is beautiful, the only criticism i have, is there could be a few more umbrellas as there is very little shade.
The food: where to start?! champagne and smoke salmon breakfast, buffet lunches and great a la carte restaurants (My favourite is the mediterranean and Ribs & more). It was also great having branded drinks available, the cocktails are fantastic, we met some friends were we had a challenge of doing the whole cocktail menu (alcohol side) in one day.. it was a challenge. Only drink not nice is the manhattan (but that's just my taste).
We visited the Isla Contoy, it was beautiful (even though the boat trip over there wasn't so good) It was still worth the visit. We also went to Coco Bongos.. ITS A MUST FOR ALL AGES!!
I love this resort and I am very much looking forward to being back home on the 31st Dec.

Room Tip: Colonial rooms in building 21 are the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadestone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear jadestone1,

It's a pleasure to know that you have had a great experience with us.

Thank you for your good comments.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Do people just complain for the sake of it!

Do not believe any of the below bad comments! They are probably the sort that try and complain to get some money back!

The hotel it self is amazing the good choice is unbelievable the staff are clean and tidy and very welcoming! Not like the English and believe me I am British and work in the hotel trade!


Absolutely 1st class and 5 star!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crossfade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Crossfade,

I would like to give you thank you for your good comments. I am glad to know that you have had a great honeymoon.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My 5th trip to the area in the last 4 years, first time staying at the GPC. The property is nice, with good ammenities which were over-shadowed by poor service and penny pinching by the resort. I am used to all-inclusives trying to get more money out of you, but this resort takes it to a whole new level. The primary take-away was to bring everything you might need, as anything purchased at the resort will be 5X what you would pay at home.

I was traveling with my wife and two children 9 & 13. We arrived to be checked in by some fairly bad attitudes at the front desk, but this seems to be a common theme with many hotels in the region. Our rooms were in bdlg 5, which seemed to be recently updated. The hotel was nothing luxurious, but it was clean and well maintained which is all I ask for in this price range. The shower was actually very nice and looked new. The only major downside was the beds and pillows. I am not sure what torture chamber these mattresses came from, but I am sure they were used by the CIA to torture Al Qaida at one point. The pillows were not any better, hard as rocks. Fortunately we were so tired most nights by the time we went to bed we slept anyway.

Throughout the trip, the wait staff and bartenders seemed like a miserable lot, all seemingly doing their best not to quit. Even generous tipping did little to impact this. The common theme of the resort for us was poor service. Even at this price level, I would have expected a little more. For the first time in all my vacations, I really felt bad for the staff, they just seemed to hate their jobs!

Overall I gave the resort an average rating because we did have a nice vacation but our favorite days were not on the resort, but snorkeling and lounging on the beach in Akumal bay. While I would not warn anyone to stay away from the resort, I would not likely recomend it either unless the price is fairly good relative to other choices available.

One warning, bring misquito repellent!!! We forgot ours and had to pay $24 for a small can at the resort(normally pay $2 at home). My son got 20 bites in 2 days!

Room Tip: Building 5 in the Colonial has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GJAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear GJAJ,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your opinion. I appreciate your time because all comments are very important for us. This is the motivation for improve our work every day.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
149.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
6.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,563 reviews
4.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,473 reviews
149.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $234 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing