We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We are fortunate and have traveled Mexico many many times. The Grand Palladium is our favorite place. It has everything we want to experience in Mexico. The staff are amazing and so kind. The rooms are clean and quiet. The food is really good especially because I do not have to cook. We are happy. We love to scuba dive. The staff at Scuba Caribe are outstanding. Rudy and crew make sure you are having a wonderful dive experience. They assist the inexperienced divers and allow the experienced ones to have a great dive. You divers know what I mean. This place is a treasure. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Robynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Robynn M,

Thank you so much for your excellent comments.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,299)
There are newer reviews for Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,189 - 2,195 of 5,299 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Spent a week with family at this SUPER HUGE resort. Overall the experience was excellent. Resort caters to all ages and types (families, groups, couples). Property is 5 Grand Palladium resorts in 1, and you can use the facilities (restaurants, bars, pools) at all for the most part. They have a shuttle that will take you from one resort to the other. We stayed at the Grand Palladium Colonial. We asked one of the staff members what the difference was between our resort and the others. She said that the Grand Palladium White Sands and Riviera are only 5 years old so the rooms are more modern, but otherwise the service and main areas are the same. If I were to return, I might stay at one of these 2 instead, as the rooms at the Colonial were ok, but outdated, a touch musty smelling and done up on the cheap. They were satisfactory, don't get me wrong, but I would not consider them to be 5 star. Lots to choose from food wise. Brazilian restaurant was by far the best. Also enjoyed the Japanese and Mexican. They have a fantastic seafood restaurant on the beach at White Sands (Punta Emelia). The concept is great and very romantic...however, racoons come off the beach and scavenge for your food. There were multiple racoons crawling around and under our table the WHOLE time. In fact, if you skidish about animals roaming around, this may not be the resort for you. They are everywhere!! It is not uncommon to see an iguana on the pool deck, lemers on the path to your room, etc. Resort staff was super friendly and efficient. Pool area was fantastic and well maintained. Only strange thing about the pool is there are shallow pools (1 foot deep) for kids, or pools that are 5 foot 3 deep, and therefore most woman/kids can not touch the bottom!! Beachfront is gorgeous. White sand and clear blue water to die for. Spoke to a few couples who were married while we were there. They said their wedding experience was super. Hope this is helpful!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Travelbug155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Travelbug155004,

We appreciate your time and your comments. We are continually working in improve our work and facilities.

Don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our second visit to Mexico. The best way to sum this hotel up is to compare against our previous experience at the azul sensatori just 20 minutes up the road. We paid literally half the price this time around and perhaps due to this we had low expectations. Blimey were we wrong. This place was absolutely spotless, from our room to the restaurants to the lobbies and even the swimming pools. The food was way above average and in two weeks I can honestly say we only had one bad meal which was dealt with brilliantly. The bars were great (especially hemingways for couples) and the staff were polite and hard working. I even had to make use of the doctors surgery due to a couple of nasty mosquito bites, I was seen within minutes and the shot she gave me worked a treat within the hour. I have only one negative comment to make and had we not been so thick skinned this could have been a real downer - time share-. I understand that businesses need to make money but sitting down for a polite hard sell following a 10.5 hour plane journey did little to impress me. I would struggle to believe that anybody would see this as a positive, certainly nobody that we spoke with during our stay was impressed. Don't let this put you off, I'm sure this hotel group are not the only ones to employ these methods but don't be afraid to say no if you don't want the hassle.

Room Tip: Colonial is probably most convenient of all the hotels
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Craig H,

Thank you for your time and your comments.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just came back from a vacation at Grand Palladium Colonial from January 8th to 15th. We were 3 couples and 1 couple was experiencing their first all inclusive holiday. I will do my best to give the pros and the cons of this resort. First of all this resort is very large, it took us 2 days to get oriented.There is a lot of walking involved.The beach is beautiful at first glance , but be careful, there are many rocks to be stepped on. One person from our group did sprain his ankle when going in the water. There were signs to warn people but not everywhere, and not very large.. No service at all on the beach. The pools are kept very clean, but the service is inconsistent. They do a great job at keeping the grounds clean, which is a good first impression, but behind the scenes the quality does diminish. The room service can be very slow, and a lot of corners are cut. I am sure that the floor in our room was not cleaned during our week there. We found the beds very comfortable, and pillows to our satisfaction.
The buffet was mediocre at best with very little variety, and poorly laid out. I would have expected to see more Mexican food. The few things that they did put out one day were just awful. Taco Bell is gourmet compared to what was put on the buffet.
The "a la carte" restaurants were better, but extremely slow. We would show up, with reservations, and still had to wait. One night we did not reserve and waited until 9:45 pm before a table was given. The Mexican restaurant was very good, much better than what was on the buffet.The steak house, and Italian restaurants were also very good. The Chinese restaurant was quite an experience: They were serving Sushi, and the menu was Japanese. We didn't get a chance to try the Japanese restaurant but we were told that some tables were set up to have their food cooked on the spot.
We spent a lot of time at the adult pool. Carlos does a excellent job at mixing drinks, and giving beer, but you have to go to him. One day they ran out of tomato juice, it took 6 calls and a lot of time to have it brought to the bar. The next day they ran out of beer, we ended up going to another pool.
In summary this is a nice resort, but it's to big and understaffed. We still managed to have a great time and enjoy some very nice weather.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Delmar47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Delmar47,

Thank you for your comments and I would like to give you our apologies for the incidents that you may have had during your vacation with us.

We respect your point of view but we always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and make their vacation enjoyable and, the feedback we receive from most of our clients proves this.

If we can help you in the future, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our first stay at the Grand Palladium. The hotel itself is beautiful. And MASSIVE. I loved the grounds and the pools. You could always find a new place to go and take a different route through the jungle. Everything was within walking distance, but there was still a tram available for those who don't enjoy walking. Lots of kids, but that was expected. We also really enjoyed the immersion in local wildlife. Animals were found all over the pathways and they were always fun to see. The hotel lobbies were also beautiful. They had waterways surrounding restaurants and the lobby bars were great. The shows were repetitive but interesting as well. The Disco was less useful but the sports bar was GREAT. Especially during the start of NFL playoffs. They always had the game on for people who were interested. While on sports, the sports facilities here were also totally unexpected. Full soccer fields, tennis, badminton, volleyball, archery and mini golf were all available and a great way to spend some free afternoon hours before dinner. The Spa was also great. The services were fantastic and the free access to the 'wet zone' was perfect. I also note their gym facilities were great despite me preferring to spend gym time as 'bar time'.

They also had great access to day trips from the lobby. Everything was really easy to do.

The Downside:

The service here was half assed. Everyone who worked at the hotel (with the exception of the Spa personnel) was lazy and did not seem to enjoy their work. They were miserable looking and service was slow. Whether front desk, restaurant or bar. It was unfortunate because the hotel was otherwise so fantastic. The food was also average. Everything was overcooked. The a la carte restaurants always had a long wait, and then the food was average. The Sushi restaurant was great, but it was the exception. The buffets were decent, except the outdoor one and the snack bar. I don't know how they messed up hot dogs, but they did.

So, while my standards of food may be high, i would not recommend this hotel if you had any expectations of great food in mexico. However, despite food and service of food, I loved the colonial. I would definitely recommend it for familes and groups.

Safe travels!

Room Tip: You can request rooms, but they won't give you what you selected if they are even remotely busy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jklitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear jklitt,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments. I will check this information with the rest of the team. All feedback are very important for us.

Sincerely,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were there for the new year and had 2 fantastic weeks at this resort .The food was very good considering they were catering for lots of different nationalities.We tried most of the ala cartes where the food was outstanding and no major issues about getting in . Go early and you will get straight in .Go later get a pager and go for a drink until it flashes to let you know your table is ready .The resort is spotlessly clean and all the staff went out of their way to ensure your stay was as good as it could be. They really do work hard .
The jungle canopy can cause you to lose your way occasionally but if you use the map provided then nowhere is further than a 10 minute walk and most places can be reached in 5 minutes.There are also large map boards all over the resort .The golf buggies and train make getting around easy if you do not fancy walking.
The spa should not be missed as it is a beautifully peacefull area with hot and cold tubs /lazy river/pool/sauna and steamrooms all free.
The one issue we did not like were the many guests who appear to have no manners . A simple please and thank you goes a long way but some of the more mature guests appear to have no concept of this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CorkytheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear CorkytheCat,

I am glad to know that you have had a great vacation with us. Thank you.

Cordially,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Travelled to this hotel on the 28th Dec 2012, absolutely fabulous, cant fault it at all. The staff are wonderful, always happy. My son is 12 and he had a go at his first ever Scuba Dive and was taught by a fantastic chap from the dive centre called Bernie, he has got the Scuba Bug now so thanks Bernie you were great with him and have really got him hooked buddy.
Food was fabulous, couldnt fault it. Everything was beautifully clean, totally spotless. Never stuck for anything to do...............thats if you wanted to do anything!
Fantastic holiday............just dont think I could possibly stomach anymore Tequila ha ha ha ha.
Thank you all at the Grand Palladium, love the Coyle Family

Room Tip: If going with a family make sure you get a Junior Suite as we ended up with a standard and son and d...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Shirley C,

Thank you for share with us your good comments.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
149.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
4.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,718 reviews
149.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
17.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $224 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing